Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Decent C180 Auto if its genuine.
    looks clean. Mileage ok. Nice interior. Don't think the alloys are original to that car but they are nice.
    Test 08/14
    Asking €875

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-c180-automatic-new-n-c-t-/6420911

26853924.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Folks my housemate is selling a car so I thought I'd give you guys a heads up first.

Its a 1996 Honda Civic 1.4L auto (ek3?) with tax until the end of March and NCT until 17-9-14.

It has 61k miles from new and the current owner has it about 10 years I think. Previous NCT Certs are included. Tyres are all good premium tyres and its working perfect. Sunroof fitted with no leaks. Dark navy in colour and the body is good and straight.

PM me with reasonable offers are invited bearing in mind the tax and test are both very good.

I'll take pictures in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Folks my housemate is selling a car so I thought I'd give you guys a heads up first.

Its a 1996 Honda Civic 1.4L auto (ek3?) with tax until the end of March and NCT until 17-9-14.

It has 61k miles from new and the current owner has it about 10 years I think. Previous NCT Certs are included. Tyres are all good premium tyres and its working perfect. Sunroof fitted with no leaks. Dark navy in colour and the body is good and straight.

PM me with reasonable offers are invited bearing in mind the tax and test are both very good.

I'll take pictures in the morning.

Any idea on an asking price?:)

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Any idea on an asking price?:)
    Open to offer :)

I reckon with the tax and test its worth about 700. As it's not my car I just offered to throw it up here and see if a hassle free sale could be done so don't feel an offer will be insulting. It's honestly very good and has lead an easy life. It drives up and down to cork once every couple of weeks and that's it so the mileage isn't from short trips to the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,752 ✭✭✭Bigus

Saloon or 3dr hatch, not a rover civic I hope ?

Bigus wrote: »
    Saloon or 3dr hatch, not a rover civic I hope ?

3dr hatch not the rover type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Open to offer :)

I reckon with the tax and test its worth about 700. As it's not my car I just offered to throw it up here and see if a hassle free sale could be done so don't feel an offer will be insulting. It's honestly very good and has lead an easy life. It drives up and down to cork once every couple of weeks and that's it so the mileage isn't from short trips to the shops.
    A 3dr, 1.3 civic(presuming it's a jap import) with low mileage and in good condition should fetch 700 no problem. The only thing i can think of that maybe off putting is the auto box.

A jap 1.3 civic will be an ek2 whilst the European variant will be an ej9 and will be 1.4 instead of 1.3 . The ek3 was a 1.5. :)

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    A 3dr, 1.3 civic(presuming it's a jap import) with low mileage and in good condition should fetch 700 no problem. The only thing i can think of that maybe off putting is the auto box.

A jap 1.3 civic will be an ek2 whilst the European variant will be an ej9 and will be 1.4 instead of 1.3 . The ek3 was a 1.5. :)
    I know very little about Hondas. It's originally a UK car that was imported when reasonably new by the lads uncle. It's not a jap import I know that much. It's definitely a 1.4 anyway as its got the badge on the boot and is taxed as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

I know very little about Hondas. It's originally a UK car that was imported when reasonably new by the lads uncle. It's not a jap import I know that much. It's definitely a 1.4 anyway as its got the badge on the boot and is taxed as such.

it's an ej9 so. Tbh they are actually better than the ek2 variant imo as they have a bigger engine, albeit slightly, and they have better rust protection.

€700 as I say should easily be got provided it's in reasonable condition. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/sale/6424707

26871857.jpeg

NCT 11/14

1.9 tdi lad 136k miles

1700 euro

more daysul

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2005-ford-mondeo-2lt-diesel/6385694

26705702.jpeg

2.0 paddy spec mondeo - 80k miles

NCT 12/14

reg can probably be worked out from nct disk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Interslice wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/sale/6424707

26871857.jpeg

NCT 11/14

1.9 tdi lad 136k miles

1700 euro

Must be worth the money, it has a Nuremberg ring sticker on the back. Deffo not even gona look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

Interslice wrote: »
    more daysul

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2005-ford-mondeo-2lt-diesel/6385694

26705702.jpeg

2.0 paddy spec mondeo - 80k miles

NCT 12/14

reg can probably be worked out from nct disk

1995(1800/1700) for 05 daysul with only 80K miles not bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

9 years old diesel with 80K? find it hard to believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭daz16

2003 520
    leather
    manual box
    nct 09/14
    Looks very very tidy
    €1800 (1500 might do it)
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-520-manual/6425657

2004 v70
    leather
    good color
    original dealer sticker and plates
    nct 8/14
    looks straight
    €1999

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,952 ✭✭✭RayCon

2004 Saab 93 2.2 tid
    New NCT
    127k miles

Just reduced to €1950

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-93-2-2-tid/6299377

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

RayCon wrote: »
    2004 Saab 93 2.2 tid
    New NCT
    127k miles

Just reduced to €1950

Cue the "it's a crap engine" posts :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Nice looking Avensis Estate.
    Test 02/15
    Looks well looked after.
    Decent runabout for less than 1000 notes
    Asking €1,000

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-avensis-estate-new-nct-hi-spec/6263331

26077349.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭daz16

2000 e200 auto
    nct 2/15
    tax either 2/14 or 5/14 (bad ad)
    €1200
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz/6161739

1998 corrolla hatch
    tax 6/14
    nct 4/14
    looks tidy, it is what it is.
    €900
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla/6426594

Must be worth the money, it has a Nuremberg ring sticker on the back. Deffo not even gona look at it.

Great logic there.

It's Nürburgring btw, near Nürburg. Nowhere near Nuremburg :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭jharr100

RayCon wrote: »
    2004 Saab 93 2.2 tid
    New NCT
    127k miles

Just reduced to €1950

Nice engine in those 2.2's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Get the popcorn ready lads!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-coupe-2002/6427323

26885556.jpeg

2.0 petrol - No mileage
    NCT - Jan 15
    1250 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

daz16 wrote: »
    2003 520
    leather
    manual box
    nct 09/14
    Looks very very tidy
    €1800 (1500 might do it)
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-520-manual/6425657

2004 v70
    leather
    good color
    original dealer sticker and plates
    nct 8/14
    looks straight
    €1999

That e39 is just beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Locky_luck

Locky_luck wrote: »
    First time on here (or any blog in fact..), but long time viewer of the info and advice on Bangernomics. Thanks a mill to you all for the help.

I bought my banger for €550 in Jan 2012, and now have it up for sale again for more 0:), 20k miles later. I came across another Banger I couldn't resist..

Link below, and I'd appreciate your collective steer on the ad. I've had a few calls (mostly headers), but no viewers to date.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-primera-00-1-6-petrol-tax-test/6378847
    Bigus wrote: »
    Only thing slowing sale of that down is it's not dublin viewing, good advert, not much point in lowering price either as they nerve pay asking.
    Thanks folks - sold the Primera today. Settled for €450 in the end, as the buyer (good luck to him) may have had a point about the clutch being on the way out.

Still, that's just €100 less than I paid for it in Feb 2012 - Bangernomics or what?! The info in this thread saved me a few grand in motoring costs there, and the posts by Limerick Man really helped me move the old banger on.

BTW1 - Yes Jesus, the seats in the Primera were nice and firm.
    BTW2 - My new Banger is a high mileage 2004 Peugeot 407 with a genuine FSH. Here's hoping for another couple of years cheap motoring..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

BTW2 - My new Banger is a high mileage 2004 Peugeot 407 with a genuine FSH.

Best of luck to ye Locky. Just goes to show that if you use your noggin you can save a nice few notes.

I'm an awful whore though in that I'm not up for the messin' of buying and selling privately. I just go to a yard-type dealer at the bottom end of the market and he takes my junker as part trade-in on a new banger. I'm a lazy git really :)

What engine's in the 407? How does she drive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,581 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Nice one Locky_luck :)

How much you pay for the 407?

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Locky_luck

Ah yes, it's a 1.6 Diesel "ST comfort" with 188k miles.

I got it within Bangernomics budget. I've known the car and previous owner for years. I actually introduced the last owner to my own mechanic, who vouched for the car. I've read up what I could on the Peugeot, and the only major component not yet replaced / fixed in it is the turbo. By all accounts, meticulous oil changes should keep this from seizing up.

It drives like a limo, and efficient as hell. Haven't had it long enough for brim-to-brim mpg calculations yet, but looks like 50mpg + easily. I recently realised that it's a 2 tonne car, but the engine seems well able for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,581 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I got it within Bangernomics budget. I've known the car and previous owner for years. I actually introduced the last owner to my own mechanic, who vouched for the car. I've read up what I could on the Peugeot, and the only major component not yet replaced / fixed in it is the turbo. By all accounts, meticulous oil changes should keep this from seizing up.

Indeed, that's the way to do it. If the belt was done recent enough, your only major worry is DMF - I presume these don't have DPF? Either of these is nearly an economic write-off. The pleasure of bangernomickin' a modern diesel :D

I recently realised that it's a 2 tonne car

No it isn't, it's about 1.4 tonne :)

Dunno where people get this. A very well known and respected English motoring journo wrote in an article recently that a base Porsche 911 weighs 1 and 3/4 tonnes. Very far off he was too :)

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads