Garda Ombudsman offices bugged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

To be honest it's not the worst idea..the report he viewed should be released...we are lucky he is from outside the country...if this was an irish journalist there name would be well blacked by now if this story had made it to print...
    He has appeared in couple interview today and seems willing to stand over this report

That being said I would support an independent team with international background...these are unreal accusations to be lightly passed off...also investigating team should have the best possible computer/internet security teampossible ..this sshouldn't be left off easily

You should be aware that there is an Irish edition of the Sunday Times and John Mooney is very much Irish. He has not been blacked despite having a history of publishing stories about the Gardai. He claims to have seen the evidence of wrongdoing in Donegal years ago even before it was sent to the politicians. And he appeared at the Donegal tribunal. He also wrote a book about John Gilligan.

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/news/donegal-news/garda-who-helped-mcbrearty-refused-legal-costs-by-morris-tribunal-1-1988448

Other parties who appeared before the tribunal during the module, including Brendan Howlin TD, Jim Higgins MEP, and two journalists, Frank Connolly and John Mooney, were awarded their legal costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

kell1 wrote: »
    People need to calm down and not jump to conclusions.There are many agencies/organisations that would benefit from very sensitive information in the possession of GSOC.It would appear to me that GSOC sat on this information as they were certain they had identified the suspect.After they conducted their own investigation it was inconclusive and somebody leaked the story.I have experience and although not a fan of Callinan/Shatter it would have taken a plot of Watergate proportions to carry this operation off.I am 100% satisfied that the Gardai had no hand,act or part in this and I hope that the truth will emerge.

Thank You

To be one hundred percent satisfied that "the Gardai had no hand, act or part in this" would be pretty amazing unless you know all the facts about what happened and who done it.

Do you? Or is it just a big fat guess?

Just asking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Just a thought that popped into my head: It's amazing how much people care about this, the ombudsman being bugged - and in comparison, how little anyone gives a toss about the NSA and GCHQ, who are spying on pretty much each and every one of us, still to this day.

the irony is not lost on everybody ;)

ignorance is bliss :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Boombastic wrote: »
    Attempting to and/or Perverting the course of justice is more serious than listening to Mary and Molly talking about shopping
    The entire country being spied upon, pretty much every single person in it - ombudsman and Gardaí communications included - as well as lawyer/client communications - is less serious than one instance of an office being bugged?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Just a thought that popped into my head: It's amazing how much people care about this, the ombudsman being bugged - and in comparison, how little anyone gives a toss about the NSA and GCHQ, who are spying on pretty much each and every one of us, still to this day.

Could maybe be due to the fact that people don't like to be under impression that a policeforce is above reproach and the independent office investigating it would be subject to quite a complex bugging/security leak..
    That internet spying is known with a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    To be one hundred percent satisfied that "the Gardai had no hand, act or part in this" would be pretty amazing unless you know all the facts about what happened and who done it.

Do you? Or is it just a big fat guess?

Just asking.
    Agree. There's only one person who could be 100% certain.

And that was an odd post.

Could maybe be due to the fact that people don't like to be under impression that a policeforce is above reproach and the independent office investigating it would be subject to quite a complex bugging/security leak..
    That internet spying is known with a long time
    The NSA/GCHQ are above reproach, and are spying on all of us though, right? Our police force is also able to use the legal 'out', of receiving intel from GCHQ/NSA about our own citizens, because they aren't directly spying on us - that presents many of the same problems, but on an enormous scale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

The entire country being spied upon, pretty much every single person in it - ombudsman and Gardaí communications included - as well as lawyer/client communications - is less serious than one instance of an office being bugged?

It wasn't just any office though was it? Tbh I don't care if the gardai are spying on me every day ( I'm sure they have better things to be doing, but maybe not ). How many bombs thwarted by intelligence and other terriost attacks in recent months? I rather be listened to than blown up. The government are fcking us over in worse ways.

I'm also not suprised that the gardai weren't called in, sure they couldn't figure out who was stealing all the money from the evidence locker in the gardai station and I wouldn't think they are capable of orgainising a piss up in a brewery.

It wasn't just any office though was it? Tbh I don't care if the gardai are spying on me every day ( I'm sure they have better things to be doing, but maybe not ). How many bombs thwarted by intelligence and other terriost attacks in recent months? I rather be listened to than blown up. The government are fcking us over in worse ways.

I'm also not suprised that the gardai weren't called in, sure they couldn't figure out who was stealing all the money from the evidence locker in the gardai station and I wouldn't think they are capable of orgainising a piss up in a brewery.
    So we should give up all of our privacy, because of 'terrorists'?

Do you not see that this is exactly the same kind of threat, as the ombudsman bugging is? Any whistleblowers or people exposing corruption to the ombudsman, could be directly spied on without them even going to the ombudsman in the first place - a huge and much bigger threat.

It can even be used to pervert the course of justice too, by listening in on lawyer/client communications.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

Not really, despite all of the NSA and GCHQ revelations (even spying on the Germans/French/EU), there are no claims whatsoever they actually use their mass intelligence to affect normal peoples' lives, much less destroy them. They undoubtedly use their information for political, economic and above all security reasons. Mine or yours emails, internet activity and telecommunications data *may* be in the hands of the NSA/GCHQ, but no real human being has or will ever come across it unless we are suspected of criminality or terrorism. The amount of terror attacks foiled in London, Paris, Munich, New York, Washington, etc. bears testament to the fact mass surveillance works, to that extent at least. I don't like it anymore than you do, but it doesn't affect my life at all personally speaking and in fact makes me feel a bit safer on air flights or when travelling abroad.

Most importantly regarding the Edward Snowden leaks, what's the alternative? No ones come up with one, just criticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Your post represents the political illiterate that keep making excuses for the failure of the people that are supposed to be our leaders. Cop on this is a serious matter.

EireGun wrote: »
    Not really, despite all of the NSA and GCHQ revelations (even spying on the Germans/French/EU), there are no claims whatsoever they actually use their mass intelligence to destroy innocent peoples' lives. They undoubtedly use their information for political, economic and above all security reasons. Mine or yours emails, internet activity and telecommunications data *may* be in the hands of the NSA/GCHQ, but no real human being has or will come across it unless we are suspected of criminality or terrorism. The amount of terror attacks foiled in London, Paris, Munich, New York, Washington, etc. bears testament to the fact mass surveillance works. I don't like it anymore than you do, but it doesn't affect my life at all personally speaking and in fact makes me feel a bit safer on air flights or when travelling abroad.
    Well, they do actually - they routinely use the NSA's capabilities to drop bombs on innocent people, as revealed by Glenn Greenwald today:
    https://firstlook.org/theintercept/article/2014/02/10/the-nsas-secret-role/

Our emails and Internet/mobile communications most defintely are in the hands of the NSA/GCHQ - absolutely no doubt about it anymore.

You are happy to completely eliminate your privacy, out of fear of 'terrorists', who these days largely exist because they are pissed off with the US bombing innocent civilians in their countries?

Destroying our civil liberties, pretty much means the terrorists have won - and our own governments get given the tools to erode/destroy democracy over time.

EDIT:
    EireGun wrote:
    Most importantly regarding the Edward Snowden leaks, what's the alternative? No ones come up with one, just criticism.
    Eh, how about not letting us all be spied upon, so that we can keep our privacy and civil liberties intact - and keeping any spying that needs to be done, under the jurisdiction of courts, that require warrants for starters!

Your post represents the political illiterate that keep making excuses for the failure of the people that are supposed to be our leaders. Cop on this is a serious matter.
    I'm making excuses for nobody - and if you don't see a problem with our governments non-response to the entire country being spied upon, that would be politically illiterate.

In either case, it's not my intention to distract from the topic at hand - but I will debate those trying to minimize the seriousness of the spying I pointed out, or the legitimacy of the comparison I made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

The NSA/GCHQ are above reproach, and are spying on all of us though, right? Our police force is also able to use the legal 'out', of receiving intel from GCHQ/NSA about our own citizens, because they aren't directly spying on us - that presents many of the same problems, but on an enormous scale.

To be fair after all that is leaked and known about that..you'd want to be quite a dim terrorist to be emailing around your ideas...still for all its spying realistically unless you use certain flash words or phrases...your not likely to be seen by hhuman eyes..it is too vast s set up to spend its time looking at emails of dancing cats and other ****e people be emailing....the main issue is I didn't think anyone in Ireland had capacity to put in place what is being suggested us after happening
    I do look forward to what should be if it's what it looks like on the surface...unavoidable political fallout...esp from a government that should have sleeowalked to the next election..as there is no realistic alternative

Well, they do actually - they routinely use the NSA's capabilities to drop bombs on innocent people, as revealed by Glenn Greenwald today:

Our emails and Internet/mobile communications most defintely are in the hands of the NSA/GCHQ - absolutely no doubt about it anymore.

You are happy to completely eliminate your privacy, out of fear of 'terrorists', who these days largely exist because they are pissed off with the US bombing innocent civilians in their countries?

Destroying our civil liberties, pretty much means the terrorists have won - and our own governments get given the tools to erode/destroy democracy over time.

Terrorists are largely pissed off with the Us bombing innocent citizens?...em, have you told our homegrown terrorists that is their aim? :)

So you are basically telling me that the NSA and GCHQ destroy random peoples lives in the US and UK (and Ireland???) for absolutely no reason whatsoever?

The people that work for the NSA and GCHQ (I know a few people who work for the latter, Irish and English) are HUMANS. Not robots. Not terminator-like secret agents with special powers. They are techies, normal people with a usually boring job who just have to be a little more sensitive with their own personal security.

Terrorism from Muslim extremists is still a big threat to European and America cities, including Ireland to a medium extent. My phone call conversations don't interest the NSA or GCHQ and neither do yours, and if you think that you clearly have an inflated sense of self-importance. The eavesdropping carried out by these agencies are on targeted individuals with links to criminals and terrorists - bad guys. Simple.

I'm making excuses for nobody - and if you don't see a problem with our governments non-response to the entire country being spied upon, that would be politically illiterate.

In either case, it's not my intention to distract from the topic at hand - but I will debate those trying to minimize the seriousness of the spying I pointed out, or the legitimacy of the comparison I made.

There is difference between a country spying on its people for security reasons
    most countries do that sort of thing. But to spy on an investigative outfit that is charged to oversee the compliance of our police force to conduct there duties in accordance with our laws, really is something completely different. Maybe you are not able to take that on board.

Terrorists are largely pissed off with the Us bombing innocent citizens?...em, have you told our homegrown terrorists that is their aim? :)
    As far as terrorists pissed off with the US are concerned, yes. What terrorists in Ireland are a threat to the population of the republic, as opposed to the north?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Youzername

They wouldn't have to go public. Just report it to the Mininster.

Anyway I have a theory. Some disaffected Garda/Gardai let out the whisper that GSOC was being bugged. GSOC spent €18,000 in bringing in consultants to indentify some "electronic anomolies", meaning there wasn't anything there. Disaffected Gardai contact the Sunday Times to give them the story. Cue embarrassment for the GSOC and the widespread impression being given that they do not trust the Gardai or the Government enough to report an apparent crime being committed on their premises.

I do not see any problem with this.

The whole point of the GOSC is to ensure (or atleast attempt to) that there is some sort of transparency within the guards. Which, regardless of the outcome of this case, there clearly isn't.

I would be more concerned if the GSOC took the Gardai's word as gospel tbh.

So you are basically telling me that the NSA and GCHQ destroy random peoples lives in the US and UK (and Ireland???) for absolutely no reason whatsoever?

The people that work for the NSA and GCHQ (I know a few people who work for the latter, Irish and English) are HUMANS. Not robots. Not terminator-like secret agents with special powers. They are techies, normal people with a usually boring job who just have to be a little more sensitive with their own personal security.

Terrorism from Muslim extremists is still a big threat to European and America cities, including Ireland to a medium extent. My phone call conversations don't interest the NSA or GCHQ and neither do yours, and if you think that you clearly have an inflated sense of self-importance. The eavesdropping carried out by these agencies are on targeted individuals with links to criminals and terrorists - bad guys. Simple.
    Who gives a **** if they are human? They participate in aiding the murder of innocent people.

Are Muslims and the innocent people NSA/GCHQ participate in killing, any less human? Does the right/wrong of what they do, depend upon the geographical borders they commit those wrongs?

The threat from muslim extremists is massively overblown: The biggest terrorist threat we have now from any set of muslims, are the terrorists created by the US bombing the shít out of their countries, killing people in their communities and families - which actually motivates them to retaliate, where they previous had no inclination to violence.

If the contents of all our communications weren't of interest to the NSA/GCHQ, they wouldn't be collecting them.
    They can target literally anyone they like from the gathered information - with no due process, no warrant, no legal accountability - nothing; if the ombudsman bugs are a threat to whistleblowers and Gardai informants, the NSA/GCHQ spying is the same threat, on a much bigger scale.

When has the NSA spying ever helped solve a crime in Ireland? Show me some proof of that - proof the the NSA spying aiding legal enforcement, not legal spying that is actually under the jurisdiction of courts.

Why the fúck would any Muslim try to attack people in Ireland?

Seriously authoritarian mindset from many posters here - willing to submit to any abuse of their rights, out of pure irrational fear of 'terrorists' - who are far less a danger to us, than a state with the ability to spy on an industrial scale, on the actions of every person in the country.

http://www.thejournal.ie/terror-arrests-in-ireland-are-third-highest-in-europe-160213-Jun2011/

THERE WERE MORE arrests over terrorism offences in Ireland than almost anywhere else in the EU last year, according to a new report.
    Some 62 terror suspects were taken into custody in the Republic – more than ten per cent of the European total. They included 57 people suspected of republican paramilitary activity and five in relation to Islamic militancy, Europol’s EU Terrorism and Trend Report reveals.

As far as terrorists pissed off with the US are concerned, yes. What terrorists in Ireland are a threat to the population of the republic, as opposed to the north?

If they are operating here, the are a threat

There is difference between a country spying on its people for security reasons
    most countries do that sort of thing. But to spy on an investigative outfit that is charged to oversee the compliance of our police force to conduct there duties in accordance with our laws, really is something completely different. Maybe you are not able to take that on board.
    The NSA aren't spying on us for security reasons - prove that the NSA spying on our citizens, was ever used to improve our security.

They are spying on us simply because they have the technical capability of doing it - if our government spied on us like that, it would be an illegal scandal far greater than the ombudsman bugging.

http://www.thejournal.ie/terror-arrests-in-ireland-are-third-highest-in-europe-160213-Jun2011/

THERE WERE MORE arrests over terrorism offences in Ireland than almost anywhere else in the EU last year, according to a new report.
    Some 62 terror suspects were taken into custody in the Republic – more than ten per cent of the European total. They included 57 people suspected of republican paramilitary activity and five in relation to Islamic militancy, Europol’s EU Terrorism and Trend Report reveals.

If they are operating here, the are a threat
    Your quoting terrorist arrests made with legal authority, and without the help of the NSA - if our government engaged in spying without any legal due process, like the NSA, it would be completely illegal.

The NSA aren't spying on us for security reasons - prove that the NSA spying on our citizens, was ever used to improve our security.

They are spying on us simply because they have the technical capability of doing it - if our government spied on us like that, it would be an illegal scandal far greater than the ombudsman bugging.

I appreciate your intelligent response.

You're not able to prove a single benefit to the NSA's illegal spying, that is not better served with legal means of spying that are subject to due process, that we already have written in law.

It's just blind subservience to authority - not even our governments authority either, but completely foreign governments infringement of our sovereignty.

It's ridiculous the attitude people have, in favour of excusing this massive spying.

You're not able to prove a single benefit to the NSA's illegal spying, that is not better served with legal means of spying that are subject to due process, that we already have written in law.

It's just blind subservience to authority - not even our governments authority either, but completely foreign governments infringement of our sovereignty.

It's ridiculous the attitude people have, in favour of excusing this massive spying.

You do not seem to be on the same planet of where this thread is.

Your quoting terrorist arrests made with legal authority, and without the help of the NSA - if our government engaged in spying without any legal due process, like the NSA, it would be completely illegal.

You question was 'What terrorists in Ireland are a threat to the population of the republic, as opposed to the north?'

Nothing about illegal authority or NSA

This really isn't the thread for a discussion about the NSA, GCHQ or the War on Terror... It's about the spying on the Garda Ombudsman.
    Can we get back on topic instead of having an anti-American ranting match... Please.

You do not seem to be on the same planet of where this thread is.
    Yes no counterargument, so just resort to ad-hominem: You do realize the hideous irony, in having a quote of Martin Luther King in your sig, when you're defending one of the greatest breaches in our collective civil liberties, in most peoples living memory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

Terrorism from Muslim extremists is still a big threat to European and America cities, including Ireland to a medium extent.

Wow, that must be some threat to justify the casual mass undermining of civil liberties the world over, with no due process or accountability!

I mean, being killed by a terrorist must have pretty high odds, right?

Say, 1 in 20,000,000?

Thank God they've prioritised the threat of dying in a bathtub, at 1 in 800,000, and are working tirelessly to save lives. Thank God we're all rational, well-informed human beings-- imagine the state of the world otherwise!