If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Do you think the Iona Institute are homophobic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

No
    Well, that went nowhere. Paddy Manning in particular is infuriating, constantly contradicting himself. This is the man who had no problem calling women murderesses for aborting unviable pregnancies. He is most certainly not representative of the majority of LGBT folk (and he's probably not getting the ride for a long time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

No
    Lol, the other guy not in favour of same-sex marriage is significantly camp/animated... ironically.

Edit: OMG he actually is gay! :confused:

Yes he was on Vincent Browne saying that he had been beaten up by a straight man who he had propositioned whilst drunk and he was perfectly fine with that! i think he melted Vincent's head a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭eorpach

Obliq wrote: »
    This is the 3rd time I've heard him in 3 days. They can't pretend this extremist eejit is representative of anyone except himself.

Oh. My. God. Quinn acting like he let RTE off lightly? Pr*ck. The poor, hard-done by pr*ck.

I think you'll find that Manning has participated in this thread extensively (using his surname). And he was on Vincent Browne on Tuesday night participating in the same debate. Blathering on about how Ireland is safer for him than any woman. A redundant red herring.

By my estimates David Quinn/Iona dominated that panel discussion in terms of airtime. Quite ridiculous really; it moved away from a discussion about homophobia to a debate about how much Iona were/were not injured by Rory O'Neill's interview.

David Quinn is wrong about one thing though; the Saturday Night Show didn't ruin his / Iona's reputation; the public comments made prior to it by Iona and the lawsuit that followed it, did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,078 ✭✭✭✭road_high

No
    cloudatlas wrote: »
    Yes he was on Vincent Browne saying that he had been beaten up by a straight man who he had propositioned whilst drunk and he was perfectly fine with that! i think he melted Vincent's head a few times.

And we all needed to know that from him why exactly? Attention seeker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

That guy on Prime Time, who was also on Vincent Browne the other night, think i've heard him on the radio too recently, is getting more exposure and opportunity to express his opinion than anyone who's being shut down and not given the opportunity to express their opinion i've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,078 ✭✭✭✭road_high

No
    eorpach wrote: »
    I think you'll find he has participated in this thread extensively. And he was on Vincent Browne on Tuesday night participating in the same debate.

By my estimates David Quinn/Iona dominated that panel discussion in terms of airtime. Quite ridiculous really; it moved away from a discussion about homophobia to a debate about how much Iona were/were not injured by Rory O'Neill's interview.

David Quinn is wrong about one thing though; the Saturday Night Show didn't ruin his / Iona's reputation; the public comments made prior to it by Iona and the lawsuit that followed it, did.

Everyone I've spoken to is giving out about them grabbing tax payers money now really.
    Pr disaster for them as they have hit everyone where it really hurts as this is effectively taxpayers money via a state institution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

No
    I thought Claire Byrne was actually fairly good - except where she completely mis-defined phobias.

I particularly liked where she pointed out that using legal threats was the best way to silence somebody. kind of under cut their argument to a certain extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭Daith

No
    The best argument is to point out they were against Civil Partnership too.

No
    darced wrote: »

Yes exactly. Gay people are individuals and we are not one big "gay lobby"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

No
    RobertKK wrote: »
    Posted about cases in Australia and the UK and no one wanted to hear it.

In Australia, one was campaigning in the media for same sex marriage, three years later himself and the husband in jail for using their child for paedophilia. Took their child abroad to be abused by other paedophiles. The fault was not with homosexuals, just how it can easily be abused by people, everyone - that heterosexual and homosexual people would abhor.

I posted examples to back up claims. But then people got upset over that and how it wouldn't happen, even though it has happened elsewhere.

A minority example if ever there was one though. Sadly one that has been used in Russia to pass laws that wouldn't have looked out of place in Nazi Germany

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Daith wrote: »
    Yes exactly. Gay people are individuals and we are not one big "gay lobby"
    I bet you all agree Claire Byrne's hair looked fabulous though! :pac:

No
    I bet you all agree Claire Byrne's hair looked fabulous though! :pac:

I couldn't get pass Paddy's suit.

No
    Don't know if this has been posted already. Today's Dail debate on Rte's paying out of compensation to Iona.

How did Ming get elected?? Does Mick Wallance ever wash his tshirt?

Edit - Catherine Murphy mentioned a change in the BAI code of conduct on the day of the payout.

Does anybody know what she was talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭eorpach

How curious that David Quinn didn't sue for being called a "woman hater" in a previous debate; he must not mind being labelled a misogynist. Bit of a double standard there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

There are social conservative gays? Who'd have thought it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

No

Hello. I am a Gay person and I am more beige actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

No

Is somebody going to force Manning to marry? The man still can't put together a rational reason to prevent ssm tbh.

No
    Corkfeen wrote: »
    Is somebody going to force Manning to marry? The man still can't put together a rational reason to prevent ssm tbh.

I think the real crime would be forcing somebody to marry him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,192 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

No

He perplexes me. Why would he want the approval of the same pricks who would have turned a blind eye to a few skinheads beating the shit out of him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

No

From what I've seen of his behaviour it's more likely someone would have to be forced to marry him.

No

That's because no one can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

No
    You know, something I've noticed lately is that I can't seem to make a post on boards without getting loads of thanks. Like, quite seriously, it seems like I've suddenly become the voice of reason around here. This is interesting to me, because when I first started posting on AH, I found general opinion against me, and even quite hostile to a degree, especially on threads like this and similar, I felt my opinion was very unpopular.

Now, either people have started taking me a lot more seriously since I changed my avatar, and who could blame anyone for that, when you see L you think genius detective and just want to agree regardless... Or attitudes towards LGBT people have changed in the past few years, and that is really quite heartening. :)

That represents quite a sea change. Or a lot of Death Note fans. I'm not sure which.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

But... you're the one arguing that it's black and white. Why are you arguing with yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

No
    He perplexes me. Why would he want the approval of the same pricks who would have turned a blind eye to a few skinheads beating the shit out of him?

He perplexes me too. I know everybody's entitled to their opinion but what possible good does giving his outright irrational viewpoint a platform do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

No

It's ok - The poll above proves not all heterosexual cisgender people are of the same mind.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

No

He reminds me of Samuel L Jackson's character in Django.

No
    What are Iona's position about gay teachers? I'm fairly sure I know but if someone knows a quote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

No
    He crazy utterances sound a bit more like The Boondocks' Uncle Ruckus (no relation).

"Damn it King, some of us LIKED it at the back of the bus!"