If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Do you think the Iona Institute are homophobic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

No
    RobertKK wrote: »
    I will not call anyone here a ****wit, as I don't think it is acceptable if one wants to be taken seriously.

I notice the double standards, people wants to be treated equally in a debate and rightly so yet I get replies 'since this is coming from you', which implies what I post is somehow inferior and the derision is an attempt to shut down debate.
    Because you have previously stated that gay marriage will be taken advantage of by paedophiles. You appear to have moved from that now and claim that your real issue is state marriage. You're moving the goalposts ever 35 seconds and tend to be of varying degress of offensiveness.
    So calling people names is ok?

You may see that as inferior, but no one should be getting called names whether that is a homosexual person, David Quinn or whoever.
    That is what is inferior - name calling.

I have a thing about this as I was bullied as a child and I can't stand seeing people being called names, however justified one thinks it is, it is not good.
    I was also bullied throughout my teens and childhood. However I'd hate a world where we can't call something for what it is.An organisation that campaigns for the right to fire gay teachers and not allow them to marry is by definition homophobic.

People get bullied because of their sexuality,Iona are of no help to such a situation and contribute to it but saying that the fabric of the world will collapse because of gay people marrying. So I would loath a world where we can't point out prejudice when it's obviously present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

No
    The 3 K's is a reporting issue for me, given it has happened before and implies I am racist.

Are you actually going to reply to any of the posts asking you to justify your position on the topic, or just sit pack and play passive aggressive games until someone calls you out for being a <<insert 4 letter word>>?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

No
    It's ok. I know David Quinn and yourself don't represent all straight people. I won't judge all heterosexual cisgender people on what you or David Quinn say.

Oh, thank f*ck, I've been worried that Quinn's bigoted asshattery has been giving us all a bad name. Appreciate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

No
    Sarky wrote: »
    Oh, thank f*ck, I've been worried that Quinn's bigoted asshattery has been giving us all a bad name. Appreciate it.

Don't worry Sarky, your bad name is 100% your own doing, and you can be proud of that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

In all fairness you have used the argument that marriage equality will be abused to facilitate child abuse.

Posted about cases in Australia and the UK and no one wanted to hear it.

In Australia, one was campaigning in the media for same sex marriage, three years later himself and the husband in jail for using their child for paedophilia. Took their child abroad to be abused by other paedophiles. The fault was not with homosexuals, just how it can easily be abused by people, everyone - that heterosexual and homosexual people would abhor.

I posted examples to back up claims. But then people got upset over that and how it wouldn't happen, even though it has happened elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

No
    Don't know if this has been posted already. Today's Dail debate on Rte's paying out of compensation to Iona.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

No

In Australia, one was campaigning in the media for same sex marriage, three years later himself and the husband in jail for using their child for paedophilia. Took their child abroad to be abused by other paedophiles. The fault was not with homosexuals, just how it can easily be abused by people, everyone - that heterosexual and homosexual people would abhor.

I posted examples to back up claims. But then people got upset over that and how it wouldn't happen, even though it has happened elsewhere.

That is something that any straight couple can do, and is not a danger posed by gay people, unless you were to argue that gay people have a greater propensity to be paedophiles and pose a unique threat? Which seems to be what you are suggesting. Abhorrent view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

No
    cloudatlas wrote: »
    Don't know if this has been posted already. Today's Dail debate on Rte's paying out of compensation to Iona.

Loved how RTE cut all the giving out about RTE bits in their news report.

So subtle I hardly noticed.

No

Sorry, what was your point about bringing these cases up ?

#strawman

SSM rights change nothing in this regard, as same-sex couples already have the right to adopt children.

You argument, like a broken pencil, has no point.

No
    Sorry, what was your point about bringing these cases up ?

#strawman

SSM rights change nothing in this regard, as same-sex couples already have the right to adopt children.

You argument, like a broken pencil, has no point.

Correction there.

Gay individuals can adopt - gay couples can't as a couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

No

Adoption by heterosexuals is open to abuse

http://edition.cnn.com/2013/09/23/justice/massachusetts-adoption-rape-sentence/

The raising of children by their biological parents is open to abuse

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/pa-parents-convicted-third-degree-murder-horrible-abuse-6-year-old-boy-article-1.1470059

Let's ban those too?

The gaping holes in your argument were pointed out to you the first time you raised them.

Links234 wrote: »
    That is something that any straight couple can do, and is not a danger posed by gay people, unless you were to argue that gay people have a greater propensity to be paedophiles and pose a unique threat? Which seems to be what you are suggesting. Abhorrent view

Most paedophiles are men, in the Australian case, they paid a Russian woman to have a child for them so they didn't have to adopt or foster.
    They were reported as being the perfect family in Australian media, the reporter said after the convictions, if they had only known the truth.

No, nothing to do with homosexuality, heterosexual men can marry heterosexual men if they also have an interest in children.
    Same sex marriage doesn't mean the couple have to be homosexual.

No
    Most paedophiles are men, in the Australian case, they paid a Russian woman to have a child for them so they didn't have to adopt or foster.
    They were reported as being the perfect family in Australian media, the reporter said after the convictions, if they had only known the truth.

No, nothing to do with homosexuality, heterosexual men can marry heterosexual men if they also have an interest in children.
    Same sex marriage doesn't mean the couple have to be homosexual.

If most paedophiles are men then following your logic only Lesbian couples should be allowed to have children.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    If most paedophiles are men then following your logic only Lesbian couples should be allowed to have children.

I do believe the risk to children would be way lower in these cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

No
    OMG WHO IS THIS PADDY MANNING LOOPER?!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Lol, the other guy not in favour of same-sex marriage is significantly camp/animated... ironically.

Edit: OMG he actually is gay! :confused:

No
    Lol, the other guy not in favour of same-sex marriage is significantly camp/animated... ironically.

Edit: OMG he actually is gay! :confused:

Yeah he's gay.

Okay so you don't want marriage for yourself Paddy. Fek off out everyone else's life so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

No
    And on tomorrow nights show, the Grand Wizard of the KKK will be on to speak to us about racism.

:cool:

could be fun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭Daith

No
    Ivana spot on that Iona were against Cp too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

No
    amdublin wrote: »

This is the 3rd time I've heard him in 3 days. They can't pretend this extremist eejit is representative of anyone except himself.

Oh. My. God. Quinn acting like he let RTE off lightly? Pr*ck. The poor, hard-done by pr*ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,076 ✭✭✭✭road_high

No
    David Quinn defending his money grabbing ways...

No
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!!!!!! :D:D:D:D

:):):):):)

Panti's facebook status:
    "Love that the sneaky gays in RTE stacked the ‪#‎Primetime‬ debate in favour of the gays by booking Paddy The Crazy Gay to argue against the gays. Sneaky gays!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

No
    I don't think he's gay- just starved of attention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

No
    The 3 K's is a reporting issue for me, given it has happened before and implies I am racist.

at a guess the KK is for kilkenny but considering your posts make you look like a bigot it isnt much of a leap to add an extra K.

You've been asked numerous questions(politely) and you've refused to answer them.Its your own fault if you dont like getting constantly pulled up on it.

And as for your bizarre straw men argruments...no comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Think I'll tune in, Quinn is a rather dislikeable person, I'll put it that way in case Robertkk gets offended, but him vs. Ivana should be hilarious.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

No
    Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Correction there.

Gay individuals can adopt - gay couples can't as a couple.

Apologies, I was unaware.

Either way there are twisted psycho's in every walk of life, affording gay couples the right to marry changes nothing about children's exposure to paedophiles. its just another straw-man, and another example of sinister comparisons being drawn between homosexuality, sexual predation and deviance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

No
    amdublin wrote: »

An extreme right wing blogger on a personal platform

He's very mysoginist too (see twitter where he called women who had abortions murderesses) and admires Michelle Bachman

http://twitter.com/Nerin_/status/430814997875154944/photo/1

http://thickerthantalk.blogspot.ie/

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

The Iona institute seems to be populated by up yer own hole pseuds, if not homophobes. And if they say gay marriage will damage the institution of marriage, is that in itself not homophobic? feckin mystifies me why anyone paid them anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,076 ✭✭✭✭road_high

No
    returnNull wrote: »
    at a guess the KK is for kilkenny but considering your posts make you look like a bigot it isnt much of a leap to add an extra K.

You've been asked numerous questions(politely) and you've refused to answer them.Its your own fault if you dont like getting constantly pulled up on it.

And as for your bizarre straw men argruments...no comment

Please don't say that...a proud kilkenny man here. Paddy manning is enough of an embarrassment already lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

No
    K-9 wrote: »
    Think I'll tune in, Quinn is a rather dislikeable person, I'll put it that way in case Robertkk gets offended, but him vs. Ivana should be hilarious.

It's just finished. Off to watch Charlie Brooker on BBC2 as an antidote ;-)