Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rav 4 - 2.0 or 2.2

• 02-02-2014 11:41PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭

My parents are looking to buy a Toyota Rav4 (2005 to 2008) as its higher up for getting in and out of, and its 4 wheel drive for the roads/dirt tracks around west cork. Which is the better engine... the 2.0 or 2.2, is there any real problems with one over the other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

If it's diesel the 2 litre 100%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

I could be totally wrong here but did the 2.2 not suffer from head gasket failure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

wesf wrote: »
    I could be totally wrong here but did the 2.2 not suffer from head gasket failure?

Yes. More common on the 180bhp version of that engine (at least it was 5 years ago anyway)
    Should be noted that the 2.0 diesel (old model) is hardly a paragon of reliability either having common DMF failures 10 years ago before it was fashionable to have them, then you've got dicky injectors and turbos.

In 05 it was €8000 more expensive to buy a diesel Rav4 than a petrol one, so anyone who was willing to spend that was either getting their diesel very cheap, towing, or needed the 4WD ability. Either way, it means finding a decent 05 2.0 D-4D will be hard work.

Now new model 2.0 petrols aren't particularly good on fuel, but they're cheap enough to buy and unlikely to give bother. They still have 4wd and are 2.0 tax as opposed to 2.3 tax for the diesel (pre mid 08)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Yes. More common on the 180bhp version of that engine (at least it was 5 years ago anyway)
    Should be noted that the 2.0 diesel (old model) is hardly a paragon of reliability either having common DMF failures 10 years ago before it was fashionable to have them, then you've got dicky injectors and turbos.

In 05 it was €8000 more expensive to buy a diesel Rav4 than a petrol one, so anyone who was willing to spend that was either getting their diesel very cheap, towing, or needed the 4WD ability. Either way, it means finding a decent 05 2.0 D-4D will be hard work.

Now new model 2.0 petrols aren't particularly good on fuel, but they're cheap enough to buy and unlikely to give bother. They still have 4wd and are 2.0 tax as opposed to 2.3 tax for the diesel (pre mid 08)

Thought so, remember hearing it about the Auris.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Thanks for the quick response. Finding a 05 -08 2.0 litre in good nick will be a hard job by the sounds of it. What are the alternative..... They dont want a "full sized" 4x4, and have had toyota all their lives. I thinks an landcruiser/pajero/ etc are too big for them. (and probably cost too much too)

Just to clarify. The 2.0 D-4D ran from 2000 till 2006, then it was replaced by the 06 model which ran till recently.

Do they do much mileage? What sort of trips do they do?

Just to clarify. The 2.0 D-4D ran from 2000 till 2006, then it was replaced by the 06 model which ran till recently.

Do they do much mileage? What sort of trips do they do?

They still would be doing 15,000 miles a year. Enjoying their retirement by travelling all over the country, And locally the roads are in sh1te.

the 06 model will probably be a jump up in price so, as being the newer model

Do they actually need 4wd or just ground clearance?
    What have they now?

Do they actually need 4wd or just ground clearance?
    What have they now?

The farther (retired farmer) has an very old pajero.... not road legal once the test is out and will be going on the scrap heap. My mother has a 06 merc. They need the ground clearance for the boreens around home and the higher position makes it easier for getting in and out of. My dad had a hip replaced 5 yeards ago and a knee replaced less than a year ago, so lets just say he's not flying aroud to the local yoga class :D

A good compromise would be the older (up to 06) 1.8 2WD. They'll do early 30s mpg and have the ground clearance. They're very very unlikely to give any bother.

Is this to replace the merc or paj, or some unnamed toyota (they've had Toyotas all their life?)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

How about something like one of these, a choice of 2nd-hand Skoda Yetis in Cork dealerships, 2wd & 4wd, 1.6 or 2.0 diesels?

Select "Yeti" in model and "Cork" in County - http://www.skoda.ie/usedcars

A good compromise would be the older (up to 06) 1.8 2WD. They'll do early 30s mpg and have the ground clearance. They're very very unlikely to give any bother.

Is this to replace the merc or paj, or some unnamed toyota (they've had Toyotas all their life?)

Toyota landcruisers, cressida, corolla, avensis etc.... both changed to non toyout for their last purchase and both said they were unhappy with their last vehicles. So they are trying to go back to what they were happy with. it'll be replacing both cars. The pajero to the scrap heap, and hoping to move on the merc (only had the merc a year)

Only thing is it'll be a major step back from the merc interior wise whether its new or old model rav4

What price cars have ye been looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

The 2.0 d4d is a good engine. If anyone doubts this then go and get in a taxi and ask how many miles has he on the clock.

After that OP you will probably buy the 2.0 d4d.

The 2.0 d4d is a good engine. If anyone doubts this then go and get in a taxi and ask how many miles has he on the clock.

After that OP you will probably buy the 2.0 d4d.

So what would you say to the OP?
    My parents are looking to buy a Toyota Rav4 (2005 to 2008) as its higher up for getting in and out of, and its 4 wheel drive for the roads/dirt tracks around west cork. Which is the better engine... the 2.0 or 2.2, is there any real problems with one over the other

Get the 2.0 d4d. They are very good. There are two threads here in the last week or so with lads having failed hg in the 2.2.

What about the dual mass flywheels regularly going on Rav4 2.0 D-4D's though?
    Or injectors?
    Or heavy clutches, man just had a new hip!

Flywheels give trouble in a lot of diesels. You will see lots of vws with this go wrong too. It is not an issue unique to toyotas.
    Injectors can fail too.
    But on the whole they are still a good engine. If you go looking on the internet you will find reports of faults with every engine. This doesnt mean that they are bad. It just means they are not perfect.
    As regards the clutch being heavy best let the lad who will be driving it have a go in one and see how he gets on.

Also worth noting that someone having an injury like this might have trouble with car seats. I have had some bad injuries to my back and find the mothers car (skoda superb) to have an uncofortable seat. Everyone else loves it.

I'm not going on internet searches, I'm going on having worked in a Toyota garage and seen so many of them coming with these faults. I'm going on warranty work on diesel Ravs I've sold charged to my commissions for these jobs, from members of my family and neighbours (die-hard toyota people) who bought them and had these problems.
    Anyway. Sorry OP for the derailment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Zane97

My sister has one. Just bought a new car.

Has it 4 years , trouble free.

Or injectors?

By the sounds of it, the petrol model sounds tge most reliable. The Toyota reliability factor doesn't seem to the diesel models.
    Just had a chat with my dad about all the info that ye have given me..... being a ex farmer, it'll be hard to convert him from diesel
    Thanks for all the info... and if there is more, keep it coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭Spipov

have the 1.8 2wd 2003 petrol.

its been quite reliable for us to be honest, have it for 2 years now. The only thing needed doing is the catalytic converter in december before the nct, and its been fine since.

its a strong little thing returning mpg of 36 for a mixed driving motorway/around town.

The only niggle is the fact it needs oil topups every few months (about 1l). i think thats common.

we are going to be selling soon, as though its been good to us, my wife is doing more motorway miles now with work, and the rav4 isnt that comfortable over long distances, road noise is a bit too annoying in it. Also, our heart isnt in it anymore as during the storms it took a tile to the windshield and dented the pillar a little bit. changed with windshield but wont put any money into it as insurance isnt going to pay. It kinda hurried our decision to move on.

we do like that rav4, other SUVs never floated our boats. i cannot speak for the 06 onwards models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭catastrophy

Hi op. I have a rav 4 and it being a 2.0 petrol auto I would never have considered it, however a bad injury means I have had mobility problems while recovering.

I'm currently getting 33 mpg so it's not terrible on fuel. Limited 4x4 is handy and on the rare occasion Ill need to pull a trailer it's fine. Less issues than the diesel. Driving position is decent too. In town you have to remember the boot opens out and it's not huge but the rear seat arrangement is nifty.

Even though I'm getting more mobile and getting back to normal Ill definitely be keeping it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Or injectors?
    I know someone who had a dmf fail on a pretty new(at the time) 2001 rav4. He got a solid flywheel fitted and had no problems in the many years he had it after.

The injectors I can't comment on but the engine itself isn't that nice of a unit Imo.

After all yer info about the rav4, I don't know about the parents getting one. I don't want them to be stuck with garage bills and no car for a few day s. I am really surprised by the poor reviews in general (not just on boards).
    Would a suzuki grand vitara be any better (if my dad would consider it)

After all yer info about the rav4, I don't know about the parents getting one. I don't want them to be stuck with garage bills and no car for a few day s. I am really surprised by the poor reviews in general (not just on boards).
    Would a suzuki grand vitara be any better (if my dad would consider it)

It would be worse tbh.

What is a similar sized alternative. .. or is the rav 4 the best of a bad lot. Sorry for asking such a dumb question, but I can't come up with anything

I would seriously nearly recommend a 6 speed Tucson diesel.
    Family member has one from new and its been spot-on.