Exactly what percentage of the population is "christian"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,644 ✭✭✭swampgas

Jernal wrote: »
    *Checks to see where swampgas' modhat is. *
    Must be in the back seat somewhere.

Point taken :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

swampgas wrote: »
    Point taken :)

Good. :)
    cartman-500-x-341.jpg

:p

/power trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

*Checks to see where swampgas' modhat is. *
    Must be in the back seat somewhere.

He has a point in fairness.

There is an interesting discussion to be had on when a religion (any religion)so permeates a society that it becomes so inextricably interwoven with culture as to be near impossible to separate.

Granted, this is an aspect of this discussion but, given the thread title, should be confined specifically to Ireland and focused primarily (but not exclusively) on Roman Catholicism as it impacts directly on the lives of most of us posting here.

There is room for a wider ranging discussion that looks at all religions and takes a global perspective but I do think that is for another thread and - seeing as BB doesn't seem to be interested enough in the topic to start that thread- it does appear that what he is doing is deflecting and introducing whataboutry to this thread by constantly referencing Islam and Breivik rather than sticking to discussing Ireland.

He has a very valid point. I just don't like it when great ideas that should be Rob, Dades or mine are stolen by others. :P This is an autocracy after all. So get with the programme.

We may split the thread depending. Or if Bb wishes he can start another thread. Though, I suspect there may be broad agreement on the point of islam being stereotyped as terrorists. Didn't Jon Stewart or someone (Charlie Broooker?) produce a hilarious clip of the news of Brevik's actions. All the 'experts' the media had saying it probably wasn't al queda but then Sky, Fox et al asking "What if it was?". Can't remember if that was for Brevik or something else. Either way it was hilariously bad and damming of the media.
    Now, um, as you were folks.

• Site Banned Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭Brown Bomber

Sorry, BB, but this thread is mostly about how and why Irish people self-identify as Christian, something of significant interest to many on this forum. You seem to want to derail it and use the thread as a platform to bang on about discrimination against Muslims. You might want a different thread, or even a different forum for that.

Not saying it isn't an interesting topic in its own right, but not one I feel like getting stuck into right here.

The topic is if the census is accurate on it's religious statistics. The people saying it isn't because to be Christian means that you must do X, Y and Z and must not do A, B and C or you aren't Christian make it part of the discussion by not applying this the same standards in all cases. Muslim terrorists who act unislamic in their normal life should have the same are they actually-a-member-of-that-religion test applied to them as people who fill out the census. That is the point I am making, it has nothing to do with discrimination against Muslims, it is more of an overall anti-religious bias that accepts the self-identification of religious people uncritically provided they have done something that can be linked to their religion that portrays it in a bad light.

In fairness, it's not like I was throwing it out apropos of nothing. It is a valid point to raise and I've just been responding to people who have responed to it. I am quite happy to not mention it anymore, but then there needs to be a similar response to the raising of less relevant topics such as child abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Muslim terrorists who act unislamic in their normal life should have the same are they actually-a-member-of-that-religion test applied to them as people who fill out the census. That is the point I am making, it has nothing to do with discrimination against Muslims.
    All well and good in principle, but I doubt many people posting here know enough about Islam be able to say that with any degree of authority.

I imagine that most, if not all the people posting here were raised in places (the UK and Ireland mostly) with predominantly Christian/Catholic religious influences and whether or not any of us believe, or have believed in any if it, it's what we were brought up with and would have the most knowledge/experience of outside of what we could find via Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭AerynSun

vibe666 wrote: »
    I imagine that most, if not all the people posting here were raised in places (the UK and Ireland mostly) with predominantly Christian/Catholic religious influences

You can put it down as "most". There's at least one of us was raised in a multi-cultural, multi-faith environment.

I come from a happy place where the single biggest 'religious' grouping on our national census 2012 is for "No Religion" - at a whopping 15.1% of the total population.

We have the RCC at an earth-shaking 7.03% of the total :)

Aside: This translates to 3,151,791 people - which is not too far off the Irish number of 3,861,335 people counted as Catholic... and if we had to have an arm-wrestling competition between 'our' Catholics and Irish Catholics about dogma and doctrine... say ours would trump yours, and some rule books and constitutions and catechisms would have to change on the strength of what the majority of Catholic people actually believe (as opposed to what the lads in Rome would have us believe).

Other numbers:

Muslim - 1.46%
    Hindu - 1.23%
    New Age - 0.56%
    Jewish - 0.17%
    Buddhism - 0.07%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

He has a very valid point. I just don't like it when great ideas that should be Rob, Dades or mine are stolen by others. :P

You can always just take it back off him, say he was floating the idea on your behalf.

I might just hire you are as my personal assistant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,823 ✭✭✭weisses

So now after more then 1900 posts

What do individual people believe are the correct numbers regarding the actual/true figures asked in the OP when looking using census/polls/referendums/moon cycles/fortunetelling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,644 ✭✭✭swampgas

weisses wrote: »

What do individual people believe are the correct numbers regarding the actual/true figures asked in the OP when looking using census/polls/referendums/moon cycles/fortunetelling?

The correct numbers are unknowable given the lack of reliable data and the lack of agreement on what defines Christian. It may be possible to estimate upper and lower bounds for certain definitions of Christianity, but even at that, it's more speculation than anything else.

It's interesting (to me anyway) that something that seems superficially quite simple - count the number of Christians in a population- actually turns out to be extraordinarily difficult once you try to be precise about what "Christian" actually means. (And as BB's comments on Islam have shown also, this isn't a problem unique to Christianity.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Once again - since when does a crime have to be reported to constitute being a crime?

If a woman is raped but does not report it - does that mean no crime was committed?

That is what you are saying.

You seem to have gone silent on the issue of whether the 'laws' of a religion should trump the laws of the State...Care to explain why you are arguing that this would be an appropriate course of action for an elected representative?

If I had reason to believe a crime had been committed, I'd go straight to the Gardai. If you believe someone is committing treason, as you claim, you should really go to the Gardai.

I don't believe the laws of religion should trump the laws of the state. Please give me an example where this has occured.

Impossible to get a "correct number".

As religious beliefs (or lack of them) are a personal matter, the best thing to do would be to ask people. Best thing after that is to ask the head of each household.

The census results give the best approximation of numbers of christians, muslims, atheists, etc in Ireland. No other assumptions/approximations/extrapolation of opinion surveys come close to the census.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

I don't believe the laws of religion should trump the laws of the state. Please give me an example where this has occured.
    All kinds of people and all kinds of institutions have demanded special treatment and special exemptions while claiming that they're "practicing their religion".

For example, why do self-interested corporations have to pay corporation tax, except for churches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,770 ✭✭✭✭Penn

So if it became a law that everyone must report instances of child abuse to the gardai if they're made aware of them, and someone during confession to a priest admitted abusing their child, you would agree that the laws of the state should trump the laws of religion, and that the priest should inform the gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

If I had reason to believe a crime had been committed, I'd go straight to the Gardai.
    You mean such as institutional child abuse on a massive scale over decades and an international conspiracy to conceal that from the authorities?

It's a good job nothing like that ever happened in the church or there wou....oh wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

AerynSun wrote: »
    You can put it down as "most". There's at least one of us was raised in a multi-cultural, multi-faith environment.

I come from a happy place where the single biggest 'religious' grouping on our national census 2012 is for "No Religion" - at a whopping 15.1% of the total population.

You are not alone. I come from a happy place too. Roman Catholicism 11%. No religion (combined with 'undeclared' which basically means 'refused to answer) outnumbers all Christian denominations combined. This is new with the counting of the 2013 census.

Religion in New Zealand (2013)[1]

No religion (37.6%)
      Undeclared (11%)
      Protestant (33.2%)
      Roman Catholic (11.3%)
      Hinduism (2.1%)
      Buddhism (1.3%)
      Islam (1.1%)
      Other Religions (2.4%)

Source: http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religion_in_New_Zealand

Did I really leave a country that is pretty much 50% Athiest/Agnostic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

Impossible to get a "correct number".
    Certainly not going to be possible to get a better one, if people insist on an approach of "'tis grand, carry on as always."
    As religious beliefs (or lack of them) are a personal matter, the best thing to do would be to ask people. Best thing after that is to ask the head of each household.
    Possibly something you should pass on the CSO, then, because as has been pointed out repeatedly, this isn't what the census does. So, it's no measure at all of that whatsoever.
    The census results give the best approximation of numbers of christians, muslims, atheists, etc in Ireland. No other assumptions/approximations/extrapolation of opinion surveys come close to the census.
    Well, thanks for clearing that up, then. Be sure to also write to your local bishop, and tell him not to be wasting any more parish dues on measuring the rates of "Catholics" that don't believe in god (and/or pretty much any other "religious belief" that you might associate with that "religion").

The correct numbers are unknowable given the lack of reliable data and the lack of agreement on what defines Christian. It may be possible to estimate upper and lower bounds for certain definitions of Christianity, but even at that, it's more speculation than anything else.
    That seems about right. The definitions are arguable, and a lot of the data is necessarily going to be of a very low grade, when people's opinions on the matter are characterised by a mixture of apathy and ignorance.
    It's interesting (to me anyway) that something that seems superficially quite simple - count the number of Christians in a population- actually turns out to be extraordinarily difficult once you try to be precise about what "Christian" actually means. (And as BB's comments on Islam have shown also, this isn't a problem unique to Christianity.)

That seems an unduly generous characterisation to me, but sure, it's not an exact science to distinguish between a "good" Christian (or Muslim) and a "bad" one, and between a "bad" one and one that's not really one at all in any meaningful sense. (Or one that's clearly showing a quite a bit of effort, but is doing it in a fundamentally wrong-headed manner, as many religious denominations clearly think about each other, or that almost everyone would say about the perpetrators of "religiously motivated" atrocities.)

AerynSun wrote: »

We have the RCC at an earth-shaking 7.03% of the total :)

Aside: This translates to 3,151,791 people
    I don't like either to pry, or to sound a bit thick... Maybe my maths or google-use is failing me today, but I can't for the life of me work out what country you're referring to. Sounds like an extreme version of the Netherlands' demographics, but several times the size.
    Muslim - 1.46%
    Hindu - 1.23%
    New Age - 0.56%
    Jewish - 0.17%
    Buddhism - 0.07%

So... what happened to the other 74.38% of the population? Split between a whole series of diminishing-returns Protestant denoms?

Muslim terrorists who act unislamic in their normal life should have the same are they actually-a-member-of-that-religion test applied to them as people who fill out the census.
    There's a massive difference between "people that fail to live up to all the standards of their religion" and "people that fail to live up to any of them". There are plenty of self-described Muslims that would claim (some degree of) belief, and carry out (some degree of) religious observance, while also "lapsing" in pretty big ways. I don't think anyone is saying these people are "not Muslim". (Or if some people are, I'm not one of them.)

For me, personally, while still caveating the difficulty (and to large extent fruitlessness) of making cross-religious comparisons, I'd put "Catholics using contraception or never going to mass" (or, Mormons drinking coffee, let's say) along with "Muslims drinking or eating pork" into the "bad" category, not the "non-" one.
    That is the point I am making, it has nothing to do with discrimination against Muslims, it is more of an overall anti-religious bias that accepts the self-identification of religious people uncritically provided they have done something that can be linked to their religion that portrays it in a bad light.

This is a very "framed a guilty man" sort of conspiracy theory. I think for most of us here, "religious people doing things that show their religion in a bad light" is the rule, not the exception. Now, there's clearly quite the broad continuum, and some of them other religious people would happen to agree "look bad", and others not, but it's hardly indicative of an accurate model of what people can (and do) criticise religion for. After all, it's you that brought up the terrorists, not anyone criticising religion on those (or any other) grounds.

The Census is imperfect due to human nature, just like any survey but is in theory is a rigidly exact science.

The unintelligible and intangible objections to it are at best no more than objections and are in no cases a replacement.

We can speculate and estimate until the next census but it won't change anything.

As well as this we need to respect that the freedom of self-identification is equal amongst all citizens. While we all may have diverse opinions on what is a Catholic, what is a Lutheran and so on ultimately the only opinion that matters is the opinion of the person making this choice for themselves. We need to learn to respect others people's opinions.

alaimacerc wrote: »
    There's a massive difference between "people that fail to live up to all the standards of their religion" and "people that fail to live up to any of them". .
    Yeah, I know. That's why I've been saying for ages, that a survey showing X amount of people go to mass does not tell us how many Catholics there are.

Pretty sure you disagreed then, but nevermind.

What I have been trying to explain over and over again. Is that these surveys which have been shared do not discredit the census with exception of the small number of self-professed Catholics who don't believe in God. Everything else can be explained with the respondent remaining Catholic,
    Then you need a considerably better set of explanations. BC survey samples rate of unbelief (in any sort of god) at 10.1%. That's a "very small" 389,331 (rounding up by about quarter of a person). You largely "explain" this by belittling the surveys you don't like, cherry-picking ones you like slightly better, and completely misunderstanding the nature of the statistics of population-sampling.

You're yet to spell out this set of "rudimentary spiritual beliefs", but if they don't include (some degree of) belief not just a god, but in at least some version of a theistic, anthropomorphic, and indeed triune deity, in the virgin birth, in the resurrection, and in heaven, then you're not within a bull's roar of "Christian", much less "Catholic". (And the survey evidence is that non-belief in those is all higher still.)
    On the other hand, we have people accepting Breivik as a Christian based purely on his self-identifying.
    Eh, no, we don't. We have people describing him as a Christian based on his self-reported beliefs and actions. (Which are clearly very, very warped, and very possibly entirely insincere anyway, but if you're going to attempt to make inferences from his statements, you have to give them some degree of credence.)
    Even then, this opinion formed from the outside that you have of an indiividual never carries a greater weight than the opinion of themselves and their personal and private relationship between themselves and their Church. This is a matter of personal freedoms and liberty and to not be pidgeon-holed by others.

This is IHI's argument from earlier, that (s)he's had the decency to at least row back on somewhat. Your right to swing your fist ends at my nose. Your (and more to the point, religious slackers that won't care anyway's) "personal religious freedom" ends at my right of free speech. (Assuming I'm not actually libelling anyone or inciting hatred, for example, which I think I'm on pretty safe grounds with saying "people with no religious belief or religious practice aren't actually religious, regardless of what box they ticked on the census".)

Yeah, I know. That's why I've been saying for ages, that a survey showing X amount of people go to mass does not tell us how many Catholics there are.

Pretty sure you disagreed then, but nevermind.

Pretty sure I didn't suggest this as any basis for the number of Catholics, as not attending mass merely makes one a "bad" Catholic, and the requirement is sufficiently particular to the RCC that it doesn't (necessarily) even make one a "bad Christian". (The prevalence of "Catholics" that don't believe in Marian dogma, transubstantiation, and church teaching on "moral" matters, but do consider themselves too Irish and Rangers-hating to be Protestants would be an interesting question in itself, but isn't very material to numbers of Christians, per the OT.)

Though it's not entirely without significance, as if someone has no real belief, but gamely goes through the bulk of the practice anyway, you'd have to count them as some sort of Catholic, albeit a rather strange sort.

Brevik's manifest consolidates his position as a troll. I think he just wrote heaps of those words so they could be put into nice easy quotes for the media to harp on about. He covered just about every section of society in the darn thing.

There's some truth to that, I'm sure, but it's not clear how to "correct" for that. Is he primarily concerned with trolling the Christians, and hence wanted to overstate the degree to which Christianity provided his motivation and "framework"? Or was he primarily seeking to troll everyone else, which could equally well cause him to wish to downplay that?

You think that "moral" = "relating to sex". Wow.

Did you somehow miss the "scare quotes" in my post? This is precisely the way the phrase the RCC and its political apologists use the term. When the Reform Alliance people starting crafting phrases like "freedom of conscience on moral issues", did anyone really think they were talking about the morality of levels of wealth and income disparity in modern capitalist societies?
    And you say the RCC is obsessed with sex!?
    That's exactly what I say, and indeed, what I was saying in the post you were endevouring so hard to miss the point of.

I seem to recall suggesting (or agreeing to the suggstion) that these privately owned and state funded schools be called "state-funded schools".
    To be precise, I used it to clarify "state school", and you piggybacked in the fee-payers, in a way clearly designed to dilute the sense of that.
    This reflects the reality.
    In a funhouse mirror fashion, at best.
    Calling privately owned and managed schools "state schools" is entirely misleading. It suggests that the Govt need only issue a circular and every school will cease to be unique and become Public School No. 1, Public School No. 2, etc.

No, it suggests that a) they're largely built by the state, b) they're very largely funded by the state, and c) people's entirely reasonable expectation that it be run in line with what the DoE says, rather than the Vatican.

What modest steps beyond a "circular" would be required to get provision more in line with demand is an interesting but distinctly "drifty" topic. (But it's clearly not the "suspend the constitution, ban religion freedom, violate private property rights, socialist secular nightmare!" vista you're apt to try to conjure up.)

robindch wrote: »
    All kinds of people and all kinds of institutions have demanded special treatment and special exemptions while claiming that they're "practicing their religion".

For example, why do self-interested corporations have to pay corporation tax, except for churches?

But these exemptions are codified in the laws of the state. The laws of the state are not being trumped - they are being followed.