2 shot, 1 dead, for texting in a Florida cinema

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Worlds Biggest open air asylum

lunatics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭red_bairn

Well at least they weren't playing chess...

...sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

The right to bear arms eh

major bill wrote: »
    Worlds Biggest open air asylum

lunatics

This kind of thing drives me nuts.

It's a country of 316 million people. You're going to get more crazies.

It's also populated with some of the most intellectually adept people on the planet. It's home to 7 of the top ten universities by reputation in the world. Some of the worlds finest creative minds are American, some of the worlds best contemporary culture is American, certainly some of the currently greatest literature.

But yeah, 'Muricans, guns, fatties, whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Candie wrote: »

I agree to a point, in that I think people who dismiss Americans like that are just as bigoted as anyone who makes stereotypical comments about any other country.

But when it comes to guns- America is moronic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

wexie wrote: »
    I'd prefer going to the cinema and not be knifed, bludgeoned, stabbed, shot blown up or otherwise harmed.

Y'know....like we used to do in Ye Olden Days

When the worst that could happen was a dose of lung cancer from the smoke or crabs off the cheap seats:D

Meangadh wrote: »
    I agree to a point, in that I think people who dismiss Americans like that are just as bigoted as anyone who makes stereotypical comments about any other country.

But when it comes to guns- America is moronic.

Yes of course, and it's hard to understand the entrenchment of the pro gun views from a European perspective, but that poster dismissed an entire nation as lunatics.

Its like calling everyone in Ireland a terrorist...bigoted and narrow minded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭cerastes

He'll see it before the dead guy.

might not, doesn't Florida have the death penalty? not sure if this is punishable by death though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

anncoates wrote: »
    I'm going to hazard a tiny guess that the shooter was a lunatic and wasn't expressly prompted into doing it by the texting.

The shooter is a nutcase alright. He's also a retired fcukin cop. Can you imagine a freak like this being tasked with upholding the law?

What the hell would he have done on the job if he encountered some kids skateboarding? Taken a flame-thrower to them and then mowed down their parents, relatives and all their acquaintances?

Don't they have tests to weed out lunatics like this for the police force in America?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

MonaPizza wrote: »
    The shooter is a nutcase alright. He's also a retired fcukin cop. Can you imagine a freak like this being tasked with upholding the law?

What the hell would he have done on the job if he encountered some kids skateboarding? Taken a flame-thrower to them and then mowed down their parents, relatives and all their acquaintances?

Don't they have tests to weed out lunatics like this for the police force in America?

Exactly..retired..you don't know what has gone on in his life since then.

He might have been the perfect cop but people and circumstances change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Madsl must be very busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭teddansonswig

I was just thinking that. Must be a very brave individual.

The shooter was likely unhinged anyway and if guns weren't around it'd be his fists, a samurai sword, a kitchen knife or an iron bar instead.

The fcuker was 71 and an ex-cop. Doubt he'd ever have the balls to use his fists in a one-on-one.

Why risk a punch back when you can shoot from safety. Gutless, psycho turd.

This kind of thing drives me nuts.

It's a country of 316 million people. You're going to get more crazies.

It's also populated with some of the most intellectually adept people on the planet. It's home to 7 of the top ten universities by reputation in the world. Some of the worlds finest creative minds are American, some of the worlds best contemporary culture is American, certainly some of the currently greatest literature.

Yeah. And just think how great the place could be if you weren't allowed to buy a gun and smoke somebody because you're a fcuking nut.

Blay wrote: »
    Exactly..retired..you don't know what has gone on in his life since then.

He might have been the perfect cop but people and circumstances change.

He had the wherewithall to leave the theatre and return with a damn gun and proceed to kill someone. If this happened in Ireland and you spoke of wanting to understand what he may or may not have gone through in his life you'd be slagged off as some kind of soft-on-scumbags tree-hugger.

He shot somebody and then sat there awaiting his own arrest. Does that sound like the remit of someone who was defending himself?

I don't give a fcuk if the victim was urinating on people's heads and throwing bottles at the screen. It's not a justification for death.

I bet the 3 year-old misses her dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

He had the wherewithall to leave the theatre and return with a damn gun and proceed to kill someone. If this happened in Ireland and you spoke of wanting to understand what he may or may not have gone through in his life you'd be slagged off as some kind of soft-on-scumbags tree-hugger.

He shot somebody and then sat there awaiting his own arrest. Does that sound like the remit of someone who was defending himself?

I don't give a fcuk if the victim was urinating on people's heads and throwing bottles at the screen. It's not a justification for death.

I bet the 3 year-old misses her dad.

I never said he was defending himself..I said you do not know what has gone on in his life in the years since he retired as a police officer. Therefore it is ridiculous to bring up the fact that he was a cop at all. It makes no difference, being a cop i the past doesn't mean you're rock solid mentally in your older years.

Look at the case of the Garda who retired, visited the station later, gained access to the station's armoury and shot himself in the head. That Garda was only retired a few weeks and he snapped, imagine what could have gone on in this guy's life in 10/15 years.

Since you're a fan of the 'what if' game..what if that Garda had decided that killing a load of Gardai in the station was better than suicide.

Everyone has problems...'tests' like the ones you mentioned can't predict someone snapping in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

That ain't a gun on my pocket ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭chuckliddell

'MURICA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Epi

Can we just take a second to look at the fact that the movie wasn't even running? If it was only the previews, why the **** should you even care, he was surely going to put his phone away once the movie started....jesus, this is just sad and crazy. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭chuckliddell

'MURICA

'MURICA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The solution is everyone should bring a gun to the movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

"Viewers are asked to ensure cell phones are switched off and side arm safety catches are on"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

if you weren't allowed to buy a gun and smoke somebody because you're a fcuking nut.

I'm reasonably certain that's currently frowned upon as well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

People texting while you trying to watch a movie is annoying, but not that annoying 0.o

The Movie hadn't even started, they were showing trailers :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭ZiabR

fatbhoy wrote: »
    Ah here...

Ah here... what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭Shred

The **** is wrong with some people?

It's unbelievable isn't it? They just can't keep their phone out of their hands for 2 fcuking hours, sad bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 491 ✭✭Wildlife Actor

Wait for the NRA statement: "The problem was that the deceased gentleman didn't have a gun to protect himself. If everybody in the cinema had a handgun, this tragedy would not have occurred."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Wait for the NRA statement: "The problem was that the deceased gentleman didn't have a gun to protect himself. If everybody in the cinema had a handgun, this tragedy would not have occurred."

This.

"If more people carried guns, everyone would be safer". It's such a bizarre point of view. The only people who carry guns are the kind of people who think they should use them. Therefore, more people get shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Guy and girl texting while previews are on.

Words are exchanged,

Guy goes to his car and gets a gun.

More words are exchanged (maybe some popcorn thrown)

Guy pulls gun and SHOOTS unarmed man and woman.

And people come in and defend his actions!:confused:

bumper234 wrote: »

Guy pulls gun and SHOOTS unarmed man and woman.

And people come in and defend his actions!:confused:

Who defended his actions?