Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Well cheap in comparison to the asking price of most of them. I's say average asking price is prob. 1.8-2k.

And I presume people wouldn't be putting them up at that if they were selling them for way less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

nd wrote: »
    Well cheap in comparison to the asking price of most of them. I's say average asking price is prob. 1.8-2k.

And I presume people wouldn't be putting them up at that if they were selling them for way less.

Yes I agree its cheap compared to other Yarises.

The point is though - they aren't that cheap in the context of older cars generally - I think that's the point Unkle was making.

In fairness - they do have a very good reputation for reliability and been cheap to run - so lots of people want them

Supply and demand impacts on price really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

If it was me I would probably go and look at this one first
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-yaris/5917858
    slightly lower spec but better looking than the red one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

I think the main difference is the alloys.

alloys, colour coding, different steering wheel and seat fabric. The silver one still looks like a cleaner car though.

A frest one is on for 1150

NCT to sept,

looks fairly clean, no alloys though

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-yaris-for-sale/6241430

25969074.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Hal1 wrote: »
    Was this posted yet?

Looks well loved: http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-306-gti-6-1997/6227239

306 GTI-6 / Nct: 7/14 / €1800.

Want that so badly, but not home until may, if someone wishes to buy this and drive it for four months I will buy it in may assuming its decent and you haven't wrecked it! Now that would be perfect bangernomics, free motoring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,296 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

A frest one is on for 1150

NCT to sept,

looks fairly clean, no alloys though

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-yaris-for-sale/6241430

25969074.jpeg

Wheel trims nicked off a Yaris "blue" special edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,881 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,581 ✭✭✭✭unkel

looks fairly clean, no alloys though[/IMG]

I don't think an 89 year old nun cares much for having alloys :p

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

yeah I'm not a fan of their looks. I sat in the drivers seat of the aunts one the other day, and I don't think I could grow to like one.

They just seem like a good choice if you're after reliability and cheap motoring.

so i'll prob end up buying one! But I hope not!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

yeah I'm not a fan of their looks. I sat in the drivers seat of the aunts one the other day, and I don't think I could grow to like one.

They just seem like a good choice if you're after reliability and cheap motoring.

so i'll prob end up buying one! But I hope not!

i sold a lot of yari over the years.....if you buy, check for -
    1. rust
    2. mgnt light (as per prev post)
    3. rotten exhaust incl the 4 branch manifold
    4. clutch slip
    5. timing chain noisey
    6. original in dash toyota radio banjaxed
      and they burn a drop of oil

thing about yaris's is that whilst you have to pay out a bit more for one at the outset, you'll see a lot of it back when you'll sell up - and it'll serve you well enough. Thats why people buy em'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

MidlandsM wrote: »
    i sold a lot of yari over the years.....if you buy, check for -
    1. rust
    4. clutch slip
    5. timing chain noisey

thing about yaris's is that whilst you have to pay out a bit more for one at the outset, you'll see a lot of it back when you'll sell up - and it'll serve you well enough. Thats why people buy em'

Thanks for that. I think what I'll actually end up buying is prob a 02+ model corrola. Despite you saying they are soul destroying ect. Mazda 3's of the same era seem to be scarcer and significantly more expensive.

Anything specific to look out for with that corolla?

Thanks for that. I think what I'll actually end up buying is prob a 02+ model corrola. Despite you saying they are soul destroying ect. Mazda 3's of the same era seem to be scarcer and significantly more expensive.

Anything specific to look out for with that corolla?

yeah, sold lots of them too .........again.......

1. timing chain
    2. burning oil - (get one with a full service history)
    3. drivers seat belt not recoiling
    4. oil leaks @ rocker cover
    5. rotten exhausts
    6. clutch slip

and when testing one out, when driving down the road, be sure that your eyes don't glaze over,and you nod off after being hit by a tidal wave of boringness. Other symptoms include your penis shrinking down to the size of a peanut, you feel like you are slowly drowning into a large vat of cold wallpaper paste, and other general "losing the will to live" feelings and thoughts....

HTH's

yeah, sold lots of them too .........again.......

1. timing chain
    5. rotten exhausts
    6. clutch slip

and when testing one out, when driving down the road, be sure that your eyes don't glaze over,and you nod off after being hit by a tidal wave of boringness. Other symptoms include your penis shrinking down to the size of a peanut, you feel like you are slowly drowning into a large vat of cold wallpaper paste, and other general "losing the will to live" feelings and thoughts....

HTH's
    The timing chain does not give issues in the e12 corolla. For one to start rattling you would have to be seriously neglecting oil changes, even at that I know of plenty of abused examples and none of them have had any chain trouble.

The burning oil issues was pretty much sorted in this model. I've yet to see a properly maintained one burning oil. They will like many cars burn a drop if you go well over the service interval but other than that there is no issue.

I wouldn't get too hung up on a FSH though as it will be difficult to get on a car of that age but obviously a fsh is a huge bonus.

Most of the rest of the stuff you mention such as rotten exhaust and clutch slip are wear and tear items, they go in every car as they get older.

As for the last part of your post, well it's a way Ott. While the corolla maybe boring and bland it's no where as bad as you make out. It's got a good responsive engine for it's size, the cabin has a quality feel about it,it's quiet, refined and comfortable.

The 1.4 Mazda 3 you recommend over it isn't exactly nicer to drive or a better car than a corolla in my experience. While it may handle better, the engine is sluggish, it's not as quiet or as comfortable, the cabin feels much cheaper and it's got much poorer rust protection underneath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭DeFinch89

bear1 wrote: »
    You always know a car is bog standard if the person selling it mentions "velour upholstery" :D

the reason I buy cars is purely for that soft luxury sure :P

1. rust
    4. clutch slip
    5. timing chain noisey
    1. timing chain
    5. rotten exhausts
    6. clutch slip

to be honest these are a handful of the basic things to look out for on any 10year old plus car, not exactly specific to just the yaris and corolla.

IMHO: any decent yaris or corolla is a fairly safe bet for any buyer to invest in, with little going wrong I know a lot of newer generation corollas were recalled for potential ABS faults but im sure all if not most of these have been long rectified since.

But again in general it goes without saying to thoroughly inspect any car before handing hard cash over, and check all paperwork too like ownership details, VIN numbers and reg plates all match up, even to go so far as to very politely ask to see any id of seller

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    The timing chain does not give issues in the e12 corolla. For one to start rattling you would have to be seriously neglecting oil changes, even at that I know of plenty of abused examples and none of them have had any chain trouble.

The burning oil issues was pretty much sorted in this model. I've yet to see a properly maintained one burning oil. They will like many cars burn a drop if you go well over the service interval but other than that there is no issue.

I wouldn't get too hung up on a FSH though as it will be difficult to get on a car of that age but obviously a fsh is a huge bonus.

Most of the rest of the stuff you mention such as rotten exhaust and clutch slip are wear and tear items, they go in every car as they get older.

As for the last part of your post, well it's a way Ott. While the corolla maybe boring and bland it's no where as bad as you make out. It's got a good responsive engine for it's size, the cabin has a quality feel about it,it's quiet, refined and comfortable.

The 1.4 Mazda 3 you recommend over it isn't exactly nicer to drive or a better car than a corolla in my experience. While it may handle better, the engine is sluggish, it's not as quiet or as comfortable, the cabin feels much cheaper and it's got much poorer rust protection underneath.

John, I'd like a ticket to your planet?!?!?

They do give all the above issue's, TC and oil burn, and as for the cabin being quiet........fecking ell' - the road noise from them booms into the cabin.......and many corolla owners will tell you that themselves.

C0N0R wrote: »
    Want that so badly, but not home until may, if someone wishes to buy this and drive it for four months I will buy it in may assuming its decent and you haven't wrecked it! Now that would be perfect bangernomics, free motoring!

If I had the €1800 for this to spare, id buy it and dry store for you and take it for a good drive every week to keep her ticking over and a regular clean after every drive, and promise not to clock over 131K miles by the time your ready to purchase in may but by then id be asking for an inflated price, but it would be as fresh as a car then as is now.

Fair juice to the seller it seems he has put a lot of pug knowledge, passion and effort into restoring a genuinely good and exciting perfomance car to original spec and is probably just as good a car now as it was back when it had a mere 10K miles clocked up. :D

Id be damn near tempted to buy it for myself if I had the cash...

Not very familiar with jags but this seems cheap

04 Jaguar X type, nct to oct, 1750 euro

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-x-type/6242415

25973527.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

^^ The guy that owns that Jag used to be my neighbor before moving to cork a few years ago. He really liked that car, Couldn't tell you how well looked after it is but if he says it's well maintained I would tend to think it was :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-mondeo-tdci-150bhp-1000euros-today/6220273

Is it me or is half the front bumper missing?
    150bhp? Unless remapped I'd say more 130

/\ scrap ............ughhhhhhhh

John, I'd like a ticket to your planet?!?!?

They do give all the above issue's, TC and oil burn, and as for the cabin being quiet........fecking ell' - the road noise from them booms into the cabin.......and many corolla owners will tell you that themselves.

No problem MidlandsM. This is what it looks like in case you have trouble finding it :pac:

full-20earth2.jpg

cheers for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Mandzhalas

bear1 wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-mondeo-tdci-150bhp-1000euros-today/6220273

Is it me or is half the front bumper missing?
    150bhp? Unless remapped I'd say more 130

add clearly says that car needs new bumper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Okay - so straight question here

What are E12 Corollas actually like - sensible replies please

Weve got two completely different viewpoints here - so I really can't see both can be completely right.

I have never driven one - only been a passenger in one - but the 1.4 D4D seemed pretty refined for a diesel - and they aren't noticeably noisier then other cars ive been in.

Ride comfort seemed fine - and rear legroom seemed better then the previous model.

Bland black interior - but this is not an issue specific to the E12 or indeed even Toyota - and in any case its not noticeably worse then other cars.

Again I can't comment on how they drive or their reliability - so what is the actual story with them.

Not really into them myself - but I ask the question - on the basis that someone may be looking through this tread - thinking of buying one and is now probably confused with the conflicting viewpoints.

My neighbour does have one which uses oil - but ive no idea how much - but it didn't stop the car from passing its last NCT - and more importantly - it doesn't stop her doing an 80 mile round trip to work 2 to 3 times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

The corolla is a good car but there is a lot of people out there who just like to knock toyotas. They can burn oil but the majority do not. You should keep an eye on it once a week and your grand (as with any car). Aside from that they are reliable comfortable and the crack made about the cabin being noisy a few posts back are obviously being made by someone who has trouble telling his arse and elbow apart.

lol ..a typical fanboi response.... (look at user name):pac: ...you could'nt expect anymore......

this (as with any car) stuff - there's nothing like a toyota to burn oil ...the best built cars in the world. As for the 1.4 diesel, stock up on gearboxes.....the best built car in the world again....and the most recalls in the world ever with that!

And as for road noise.....sweet jeyus. they're like a biscuit tin, you hear everything....and I've had loads thru' here, they're all the same. Numb steering too. Boring yokes....but then so are washing machines.....and they perform a function, and that why people buy them and overpay for em'