Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

1991 Toyota Carina II
    1.6 Petrol, manual
    No miles listed
    NCT 9/14
    €975
    Reliable old bus as we all know. €900 buys it I guess.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-carina-2-new-n-c-t-/5989113
    24720506.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,296 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Needs more badges!

Hang on.. That's across the road, guy sells lots of lovely old mercs, he was on here at some stage.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Needs more badges!

Hang on.. That's across the road, guy sells lots of lovely old mercs, he was on here at some stage.

Indeed, a friend of mine was supposed to buy a W123 Merc limousine from him.

This one, http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-limo-300d-barn-find/3866138

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

very nice 04 accord diesel, nct to aug. 2250 euro, could hopefully get it for 2

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/6190903

25722320.jpeg
    25722321.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    I myself wouldn't touch a car with a second hand replacement engine. You never know what miles are on the replacement unit or how it was cared for.

I know the same can be said for a car with it's original engine but at least you will be able to get some idea from the cars condition as to how it was cared for Imo.

Here's the thing.... I've been caught out before unwillingly with bodged repairs/clocked cars/replacement powertrains let alone the engine....

How would you feel knowing this was the state of the car after years of ownership?

A car I had years back had a poorly repaired chassis leg yet looked perfect on the outside for example....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Today I join bangernomics! :D

That SAAB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Nope.
    03 Mazda 6 touring hatchback
    111k miles
    nct Feb 2015
    no rust and in good nick
    needs a big clean but im looking forward to that :D

only 2owners from new too

€1500 from a KIA dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

It's an exciting life in bangernomics land :D:D

What did you get? That Saab from a few days back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I sincerely doubt that tbh

Never met any corolla, levin or Trueno that I couldnt beat on road or track...:D

Classic ae86 or the newer FWD versions with 20v 4ages ..

I know you are a are a toyota man at heart and even the unbiased comtempary road tests of the day from Autocar and co (86 -93 ish) show the mk2 16v Gti to be faster in every aspect 0-60, 0-100 1/4 mile ,top speeds too ..

PS pic of my much missed black 16v attached for the off topic lols:).

2001 Merc E320
    3.2 Diesel, auto
    120k, a bit low?
    NCT April 2014
    €1500
    Looks to be in good condition, and its got 4 new premium brand tires. Looks very smart, shame about the short-ish test.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2001-mercedes-e320-cdi/6191115
    25723290.jpeg

Nope.
    111k miles
    nct Feb 2015
    no rust and in good nick

€1500 from a KIA dealer

May she serve ya well:cool:
    Welcome to the bangernomics club;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,296 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Indeed, a friend of mine was supposed to buy a W123 Merc limousine from him.

This one, http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-limo-300d-barn-find/3866138

It's a bit basic/rough

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It's a bit basic/rough

Well originally the ad had photos up of another W123 limousine of his. His heart sank when he saw the photos of the actual car, and hence he didn't buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I myself wouldn't touch a car with a second hand replacement engine. You never know what miles are on the replacement unit or how it was cared for.

I know the same can be said for a car with it's original engine but at least you will be able to get some idea from the cars condition as to how it was cared for Imo.

I think it depends on the car though - I think one should judge each individual car on its own merits - especially when you get down towards the cheap end of the market.

Maybe im very wrong - but if the car is decent overall - and drives very well - I think id be inclined to take the risk - unless there was obvious issues with the car.

Just my humble and VERY unexpert opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Old diesel wrote: »
    I think it depends on the car though - I think one should judge each individual car on its own merits - especially when you get down towards the cheap end of the market.

Maybe im very wrong - but if the car is decent overall - and drives very well - I think id be inclined to take the risk - unless there was obvious issues with the car.

Just my humble and VERY unexpert opinion

Some cars I would be more reluctant to buy without a replacement engine.
    Nikasil affected cars for one, also any K series engine that had the HGF fixed.

nd wrote: »
    very nice 04 accord diesel, nct to aug. 2250 euro, could hopefully get it for 2

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/6190903

25722320.jpeg
    25722321.jpeg

Looks nice and all - but is putting a southern Irish car on to Nothern Irish plates such a big deal.

After all Mr Accord is now going to go off and buy a 2nd hand (I assume) northern irish car.

IF the Accord was decent - surely it would be easier - to simply get that registered up north.

Makes me wonder if something is up with it.

Of course he could simply want a newer car - but why not just say that then.

Could be perfectly fine of course :) - just find it hard to understand why putting northern Ireland plates is more hassle then selling

Some cars I would be more reluctant to buy without a replacement engine.
    Nikasil affected cars for one, also any K series engine that had the HGF fixed.

Good point :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Nope.
    111k miles
    nct Feb 2015
    no rust and in good nick

€1500 from a KIA dealer

Very nice, well wear. Look forward to seeing pics.

Seeing your BMW made me sad :(

But a 6 is a nice choice and they're absurdly cheap right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Motoring again at last Ardennes, well wear. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,881 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

davycc wrote: »
    Never met any corolla, levin or Trueno that I couldnt beat on road or track...:D

I know you are a are a toyota man at heart and even the unbiased comtempary road tests of the day from Autocar and co (86 -93 ish) show the mk2 16v Gti to be faster in every aspect 0-60, 0-100 1/4 mile ,top speeds too ..

You sir are talking out your ass. An AE86 has the same power output and weight as a MK2 gti 16valve exactly. They might be a dead even match but realistically an AE86 will be faster due to better traction off the line and better handling.

As for one of the newer ones with a 20valve will absolutely destroy your GTI. An AE111 has 40BHP more, 6 speed box the same weight. No contest at all :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    No contest at all :rolleyes:

Slightly off topic there lads. I'd hazard a guess a lot of it will have to do with the driver and his abilities also. :D

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    You sir are talking out your ass. An AE86 has the same power output and weight as a MK2 gti 16valve exactly. They might be a dead even match but realistically an AE86 will be faster due to better traction off the line and better handling.

As for one of the newer ones with a 20valve will absolutely destroy your GTI. An AE111 has 40BHP more, 6 speed box the same weight. No contest at all :rolleyes:

Im not trying to disrespect Toyotas at all just my own personal experience of 15yrs driving all makes of quick cars and I know what Im talking about here. I was even looking at Truenos and Levins in the summer before going for my EK4SiR instead in the end.a mk2 16v gti has more power and top speed and gets there a lot quicker than ae86 ..would sir care to see the Road tests for himself?

as for the 20v versions I played with plenty in my day and nippy but never had a bother beating one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭DeFinch89

Im not trying to disrespect Toyotas at all just my own personal experience of 15yrs driving all makes of quick cars and I know what Im talking about here. I was even looking at Truenos and Levins in the summer before going for my EK4SiR instead in the end.a mk2 16v gti has more power and top speed and gets there a lot quicker than ae86 ..would sir care to see the Road tests for himself?

as for the 20v versions I played with plenty in my day and nippy but never had a bother beating one

well that says it all i suppose :)
    cant argue with his first hand experience..
    suppose ye could agree that ya had one very quick healthy 16v GTi and you know well how to exploit it to the full, my hats off to you sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Maybe the Toyota drivers didn't know there was a race on though..eh?

While I have never drove a Mark II GTI in any form I have drove a handful of Mark III GTI's and plenty of lesser Mark II models along with a handful of Mark III and Mark IV's, 1.4, 1.6, tdi's etc. Not one of them let alone any VW I have ever drove would match an AE86 or fwd 20 valve Toyota for driving dynamics and overall driving pleasure. The toyota's just tend to feel crisper and more fluid a drive altogether.

I'm not entirely sure what model Toyota your drawing reference to when making the performance comparison with the 16valve Golf GTI but if it were me I'd take an AE86 or 20 valve corolla any day of the week for a blast along a quiet country road. You probably need to remember that there is a 2.0 litre in the Golf vs a 1.6 in the Toyota also. Even so I'd be skeptical about the Golf getting there ahead of the Toyota on a twisty road.

By the way I do like your Golf GTI. Despite my comments they were a fantastic car for their day. A pity subsequent models got so flabby after that. Good ones getting scarce now I'm sure.

Now my stab at a bangernomic for the day

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-93/6192168

1999 Saab 9-3 2.0 naturally aspirated 5 dr;
    9 months of NCT;
    117k miles;
    New tyres and battery were told;
    €700 o.n.o.

...I know there are more than enough SAAB fans on the thread.

So you actually thing the GTI is going to be faster to 100km/h and 1/4 mile than a 20v levin. Not sure if you are trolling or have no comprehension of what an extra 40bhp per ton is going to be like in terms of a race. The golf has 113 bhp per 1000kg and the levin has 160bhp per 1000kg. Get over yourself :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Maybe the Toyota drivers didn't know there was a race on though..eh?

While I have never drove a Mark II GTI in any form I have drove a handful of Mark III GTI's and plenty of lesser Mark II models along with a handful of Mark III and Mark IV's, 1.4, 1.6, tdi's etc. Not one of them let alone any VW I have ever drove would match an AE86 or fwd 20 valve Toyota for driving dynamics and overall driving pleasure. The toyota's just tend to feel crisper and more fluid a drive altogether.

I'm not entirely sure what model Toyota your drawing reference to when making the performance comparison with the 16valve Golf GTI but if it were me I'd take an AE86 or 20 valve corolla any day of the week for a blast along a quiet country road. You probably need to remember that there is a 2.0 litre in the Golf vs a 1.6 in the Toyota also. Even so I'd be skeptical about the Golf getting there ahead of the Toyota on a twisty road.

By the way I do like your Golf GTI. Despite my comments they were a fantastic car for their day. A pity subsequent models got so flabby after that. Good ones getting scarce now I'm sure.

John the mk2 16v gti (1.8l 140bhp model im refering to;) not the 2l mk3) has far better suspension ,balance and handling, bigger brakes, and a whole lot more fun factor to drive down a backroad than the 8v gti mk2 and miles better than plain granny spec golfs mk3 &mk4 your drawing your experiences from...If ya havnt driven a well looked after mk2 16v you probably wont realise its the last and greatest GTI Vw made imho..everything since is not my cuppa tea.

I swapped my black golf for an e30 and miss it immensly :)
    Stuck in a Honda now for my considerable sins :o

Anyway Id better stop dragging this off topic and start finding some more bangers to post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde