Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gameweek 17 transfers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭Invincible

Lemlin wrote: »
    I don't agree with it either but Rooney is going one way and Aguero the other so hands are tied.

Sure people were making the move yesterday before Rooney had even played against Villa.

I have little faith in Rooney, but with rivals having/getting him in, there's not much choice.
    Any time in the past i've got him in the past he returns to true (donkey) form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Invincible wrote: »
    I have little faith in Rooney, but with rivals having/getting him in, there's not much choice.
    Any time in the past i've got him in the past he returns to true (donkey) form.

I'm the same. I've no faith at all in him but I can't afford not to have him. He and Silva are the best way to get coverage for both Utd and City IMO. I wouldn't be at all surprised to see Negredo outscore Rooney over Xmas.

I reckon the Board here is indicative of the game in general though. There seems to be a serious amount of transfer activity today so I think the Aguero injury news has alot of people taking hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Neoulous

If you had the option would you sell (this week) Terry (may hold...), Dawson (will certainly drop £0.1m at least this week - if I sell now I make a £0.1m profit but I'll lose it on Vlaar) or Vlaar (drops tonight) ?
    My 2 other def are B. Turner and Distin. Dawson and Vlaar have good fixtures coming but the former is in crap form and the latter is injured... I need to have players able to play since Cardiff have awful away fixtures coming...

I'm considering Chester (cheap), Williamson (cheap and fixtures)...

Next GW I'd be tempted to get a Fulham def (they have smooth fixtures over Christmas) and/or an Arsenal or City def (their fixtures ease after this GW and they're on great form, Mert or Zab could be good investments right?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Neoulous wrote: »
    If you had the option would you sell (this week) Terry (may hold...), Dawson (will certainly drop £0.1m at least this week - if I sell now I make a £0.1m profit but I'll lose it on Vlaar) or Vlaar (drops tonight) ?
    My 2 other def are B. Turner and Distin. Dawson and Vlaar have good fixtures coming but the former is in crap form and the latter is injured... I need to have players able to play since Cardiff have awful away fixtures coming...

Next GW I'd be tempted to get a Fulham def (they have smooth fixtures over Christmas) and/or an Arsenal or City def (their fixtures ease after this GW and they're on great form, Mert or Zab could be good investments right?)

Joel Ward off Palace is playing well and rotates with Ben Turner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

Neoulous wrote: »

In terms of value for money, Terry is pretty bad.

Dawson is a bit of a wildcard right now. With AVB gone you don't know what way it will impact the Spurs teams, whether in a positive or negative way. Could bring them back to life a small bit.

Vlaar is injured at the moment so if I had to pick just one to get rid of it would be him. At least the other two can play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

I wouldn't be at all surprised to see Negredo outscore Rooney over Xmas.

Having been in possession of Aguero, Rooney and Suarez, I didnt see much option other than getting in Lukaku for Aguero. This let me get Walcott for Brady.

But Im worried after the Wellbeck factor came into play and was thinking exactly the above myself. I'll be watching that closely and may be tempted to go Rooney to Negredo next week if Rooney looks like playing that deep ongoingly.

The Aguero move means no hurry on the downgrading to cheap defenders as I've nothing to do with the money, may even be tempted to go for Coleman or Zab yet.

Again awaiting the FFS Cup draw with interest, have already done -4, unlikely to do more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

Danger781 wrote: »
    In terms of value for money, Terry is pretty bad.

Dawson is a bit of a wildcard right now. With AVB gone you don't know what way it will impact the Spurs teams, whether in a positive or negative way. Could bring them back to life a small bit.

Vlaar is injured at the moment so if I had to pick just one to get rid of it would be him. At least the other two can play.

Am in a similar boat... Think it'll be Vlaar out then... Hopefully Spurs can tighten up at the back with their new manager...

Navas OUT, Silva IN done..

Currently on a -4 so I really hope Vlaar, Dawson, and Clyne don't get a second drop this week.. And that Chester doesn't rise until Saturday night :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Whatever about taking hits to change your team around, I think any talk of taking immediate hits due to losing 0.1 or 0.2 on a player is crazy.
    The way this year has gone you can have a very strong squad for 100m (plus your rises to date).

Plenty of options to have a cheapish defence, 2 or 3 big hitting midfielders with decent mid priced coverage and a strong trio up front.
    Cash isn't really coming into it and barring some Phoenix like rise from RVP next year, I don't think it will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

Hogey007 wrote: »
    done rooney in for aguero.

Need a bit of feed back on the next one, my current keepers are the 2 Cardiff lads, marshall who plays and lewis who doesn't.
    I've had Lewis since the start as had Mignolet all season and didn't want to get caught rotating keepers like last season.

Is mannone likely to hold his place when westwood comes back? if he is, I think he's perfect for 4.2 as he rotates nicely with marshall.

Although, with both Cardiff keepers, I should never get caught without a keeper, but their next 4 away games are Liverpool, arsenal, city and united. I'd prefer to have someone else to come in for those without spending much.

I'd be looking at a 4 point hit, but giving that marshall is away to Suarez FC this week I reckon he'll get 1 point maximum, whereas mannone is home to Norwich so could get a cs and cancel out the points hit and also then leave me with 2 keepers to choose from in future.

So for all that, I really just want to know if people think mannone has done enough to stay number 1?

anyone able to shed some light on if they think Mannone will stay number one when westwood is back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭steve_r

PARlance wrote: »
    Whatever about taking hits to change your team around, I think any talk of taking immediate hits due to losing 0.1 or 0.2 on a player is crazy.
    The way this year has gone you can have a very strong squad for 100m (plus your rises to date).

Plenty of options to have a cheapish defence, 2 or 3 big hitting midfielders with decent mid priced coverage and a strong trio up front.
    Cash isn't really coming into it and barring some Phoenix like rise from RVP next year, I don't think it will.

I'd agree with this. Not sure what the love is for Silva. He's a cracking player IRL, one of the best in the league, but in terms of points scoring he's got double figures once this year. He often makes the pass before the assist, if that makes sense.

Also there are CC fixtures this week so I'd say to hold off on transfers to see how that shakes out, i.e. more injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

steve_r wrote: »
    I'd agree with this. Not sure what the love is for Silva. He's a cracking player IRL, one of the best in the league, but in terms of points scoring he's got double figures once this year. He often makes the pass before the assist, if that makes sense.

Also there are CC fixtures this week so I'd say to hold off on transfers to see how that shakes out, i.e. more injuries.

I was more so talking about the Clynes, Vlaars, Migs and even Terrys of the game. Silva is being brought in as City cover due to Aguero's injury, while it would be nice if everyone decided to wait till Friday to do their transfers, I can see why risen.

Silva is averaging over 6 points a game, he's only played 8 and from what I can remember a nice chunk of these were at the start when City weren't firing as well as they have been. I'm a big fan of him in this but I can see the assist the assister angle. That makes himself and Ozil in my team. I'll be keeping both despite that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Im going to do aguero to rooney. Will wait till Wednesday night as I didn't lose anything on agueros first drop. In 5 years playing this game its one of the few times I'll have rooney in my team. I don't think he will play as deep Saturday as they are at home and will probably approach the game in a different mindset. I plan to transfer rooney to dzeko in 2 gws time if it looks like dzeko will start against Palace. No hits for me this week quite happy to play terry I actually fancy him to score against arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

CSF wrote: »
    Think you could definitely have phased some of them transfers in over the next week or 2 with your free transfers.

You reckon? That was my first idea, but it didn't seem to be working out with the figures and potential price increases/decreases. I also didn't have much time to decide which made me a little impulsive :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Did Aguero to Rooney last night to catch the former's price fall and the latter's price rise.

I'm still going to do Terry to Gabbidon after the cup competitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,486 ✭✭✭✭CSF

You reckon? That was my first idea, but it didn't seem to be working out with the figures and potential price increases/decreases. I also didn't have much time to decide which made me a little impulsive :o
    How many of them would you consider odds on to justify their 4 point hit in the first week? In work so I don't have your team in front of me but I remember Walcott being one in particular who'll be a good signing going forward, but worth the 4 point hit this weekend? Probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Hogey007 wrote: »
    anyone able to shed some light on if they think Mannone will stay number one when westwood is back?
    paully D(regular poster) is a sunderland fan he should know. mannone hasnt made any major mistakes and kept a few clean sheets but wouldnt know for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭ItsChecoTime

Is Fonte to Bardsley worth a 4 point hit? Other defenders are terry, olsson (norwich), chico and coleman

No. Definitely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Here are some lies, damn lies and statistics for ye:
    * Christian Benteke has created the most number of chances in the PL (26) without registering an assist.

* Eden Hazard created six chances v Palace but was also dispossessed five times and lost the ball a further four times with a poor touch.

* Steven Pienaar made six key passes v Fulham on Saturday but was the only outfield Everton starter who didn't take any of their 22 shots.

* Philippe Coutinho failed to find a teammate with any of his eight attempted crosses v Spurs.

* Gary Hooper has scored four goals from just 16 shots as a PL player.

* Nathan Redmond attempted a massive 16 crosses v Swansea and six of them reached a teammate.

http://www.football365.com/f365-features/9077381/Numbers-Stats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

CSF wrote: »
    How many of them would you consider odds on to justify their 4 point hit in the first week? In work so I don't have your team in front of me but I remember Walcott being one in particular who'll be a good signing going forward, but worth the 4 point hit this weekend? Probably not.

Alas, that transfer was key to the others because it freed up a decent bit of funds. I'll probably be at a loss this GW, but reckon it'll work out over the winter schedule. I may have been able to phase them in a bit more, but one or two price rises in either direction could have scuppered everything. At the moment I'm only able to get at it every couple of days, and finding it hard to stay on top of things so odds are I'd have missed out on the rises/falls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

FHFC wrote: »
    Not too often you put your shirt on him as a captain choice.

I agree with this, I wouldn't risk captaining him;
    Today was his third jammy assist in a row. That can't continue forever.

Plus Everton are scoring freely in some matches like today yet he's not exactly pulling in large scores.

4 team goals today and just an assist to his name. 4 team goals two weeks ago against Stoke and just a goal to his name.

No, he'll move onto goals then, as someone has pointed out, he is in the middle of a goal drought, and for such a return, it's not a bad one.... it's not like he can't score, he's proved he can earlier in the season and of course the season before. Lukaku is the best second string striker to have imo undenreath Aguero, Suarez et. al... in terms of consistency and points overhaul, I believe he is worth keeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I'm not really looking to change my front three of Lukaku, Rooney, Suarez. I expect a few goals from Lukaku over Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Lukaku this season reminds me of Adebayor 2 seasons ago. Consistent good points returns for a long spell but watching him play was a different story and you wonder how he scored points at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Slightly surprised Lukaku not getting more transfers from the Aguero sellers.

Looks like most who had Aguero already had Lukaku too, or shared the concerns about his returns of late!

Hoping he gets a few rises to offset the Ageuro hit somewhat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

paully D(regular poster) is a sunderland fan he should know. mannone hasnt made any major mistakes and kept a few clean sheets but wouldnt know for sure.

Sorry, just saw this now. Mannone should stay first choice. As you say he has done nothing really wrong and our defence looks settled for the first time in ages. Mannone is better with the ball at his feet which suits Poyet's gameplan of playing out from the back, so I'd be quite surprised if Westwood came back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Not sure what the rush is on Silva. He has 4 yellow cards and one more will mean a suspension for him. Can't beleive people are transferring him in before the cup game.

zarquon wrote: »
    Not sure what the rush is on Silva. He has 4 yellow cards and one more will mean a suspension for him. Can't beleive people are transferring him in before the cup game.

I jumped because he rising tonight, and likely to rise at least once more this week

Wilshere and Kos out for next GW if anyone has them

Any word on the length of Koscielny's injury? Is Wilshere suspended for the gesture?