Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment- The Waiting to Apply Room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭chippy12

I believe they would fight it for you or at least attempt to, they could put it directly to Shatter and see what he has to say!

Worth a shot mate!

Thanks for the advice as I feel it's discrimination towards me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

chippy12 wrote: »
    Thanks for the advice as I feel it's discrimination towards me

Certainly is, especially since you were granted exemption from sitting it at School! Have the email printed out, as well as copy of exemption if possible, your leaving cert grades and a CV printed out(if it's a good one) for the TD. Just material he can present on your behalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

RE: GARDA RECRUITMENT UPDATE

Lads can I seek advice please , I'm a reserve who has four year service . Iv emailed pas today to ask if I could apply with out having irish or French ,I received a mail back saying no I could not apply I was exempt when I joined the reserve as I have dyslexia so I thought as I got it once it would still be ok. But they said no , can anyone advise me on what to do , as I think this is discrimination towards me. Just because I don't speak irish they won't let me in but I'm good enough too do it unpaid but now I want to get paid I get told no. I want this job. I'm asking for help from my co-works!!

This is typical, they build up the reserve and tell everyone how good it is and how they value it an they are a rank etc, they give reserves hope of a full time role and then pull the rug from under them. They should have made it clear when starting the reserve that it was likely the qualifications for a fultime role would be higher or they should have set the qualifications for reserves at the same level. I reckon there's feck all you can do and there will be many more in that boat. I think these new powers are to try and keep those in the reserve who don't make the full time job interested!

I would have thought he has a chance here Papa!

Certainly is, especially since you were granted exemption from sitting it at School! Have the email printed out, as well as copy of exemption if possible, your leaving cert grades and a CV printed out(if it's a good one) for the TD. Just material he can present on your behalf.

I'm already a reserve and have been for four years now and I was given it last time can't understand why not this time . But ya I'll pop to see the local TD

This is typical, they build up the reserve and tell everyone how good it is and how they value it an they are a rank etc, they give reserves hope of a full time role and then pull the rug from under them. They should have made it clear when starting the reserve that it was likely the qualifications for a fultime role would be higher or they should have set the qualifications for reserves at the same level. I reckon there's feck all you can do and there will be many more in that boat. I think these new powers are to try and keep those in the reserve who don't make the full time job interested!

Back when I joined the qualifications where the same for reserve and full time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Mark37

Can anyone tell me, if you have a Leaving Cert Applied they say you cant apply, however if you have a Degree in Business Studies can you apply?

Mark37 wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me, if you have a Leaving Cert Applied they say you cant apply, however if you have a Degree in Business Studies can you apply?

If they are working like the recent PSNI campaign, then no you can't apply , even if you have a PHD!

It's hard to tell from their phrasing, guess you should try contacting them to be sure to be sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Back when I joined the qualifications where the same for reserve and full time

Are you sure, I thought that they had watered things down for the reserve so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Mark37

I applied online - however it was only one page to be filled out? this couldn't be right is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Are you sure, I thought that they had watered things down for the reserve so to speak

The bar was set at the same I think but the leeway for reserves was generous enough even for medical, full time will be a different kettle of fish. They should have told him that the exemption he got for reserves would not happen for FT. I don't see any leeway no matter who he goes to at the end of the day the line has to be drawn somewhere and there was never any leeway for FT before and sure as hell there won't be now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Mark37 wrote: »
    I applied online - however it was only one page to be filled out? this couldn't be right is it?

Ya it's right they will look for more into as the campaign goes on. Qualifications birth Certs ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Donadea lad

I have a fetac level 6 cert for a trade which is equal to nfq level 6, so can i apply without the leavig cert.

Ya it was the same as in you needed the leaving Ect Ect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭as_mo_bhosca

Just wondering what the time frame from close of applications to entry to training college would be. If anyone could give any educated estimate I would be grateful.

It was in the guide on public jobs if you cared to read it ! :P

Well, thanks for the informative reply. I did look at that, but after a long stressful day at work I must have missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭want2b

Just wondering what the time frame from close of applications to entry to training college would be. If anyone could give any educated estimate I would be grateful.

In college in july

Thanks want2b. I read that in a news report online. Still unable to find it in the guidelines. Does anyone know if that fits in with how long the process would have taken in the past?

Shatter said he hopes to get boots in Templemore for Around start of the summer!
    Fair few stages before that happens though!

cqIu0Et.jpg

Yeah, I saw all the stages. July would be good. Time to put a financial plan into action. Just afraid that if I don't apply for this campaign that I will have to wait a long time until the next one again. A lot to think about. Def won't be for the money that I'd be applying! Ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

Yeah, I saw all the stages. July would be good. Time to put a financial plan into action. Just afraid that if I don't apply for this campaign that I will have to wait a long time until the next one again. A lot to think about. Def won't be for the money that I'd be applying! Ha!

well this is it lads

any one with a mortgage, lease, loans, family commitments will want to put a serious financial plan ino place - a personal troika if you will!

€184 a week will only contribute to travels costs home on friday and back on a sunday!

8months of thriftyness for many ahead

It is a sad state of affairs that you'd be four euro a week better off (possibly more) doing nothing at all than training to be a front-line worker for your country. Good old Ireland.

Defence forces trainees, be in enlisted or cadet, get full pay as far as i know

i think cadets get 22-25k a year for their 18month training period

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Faith and Justice

Scouser wrote: »
    Defence forces trainees, be in enlisted or cadet, get full pay as far as i know

i think cadets get 22-25k a year for their 18month training period

I don't know about cadets, but for enlisted it's €220 a week after deductions.

cadets definitely get proper salary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 dklfc

is a fetac level 5 in sports and recreation enough of a qualification ? reply please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Zane97

How much was a Gardai starting on before the cuts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭pah

Shatter said he hopes to get boots in Templemore for Around start of the summer!
    Fair few stages before that happens though!

cqIu0Et.jpg

I did the aptitude test at the start of February 2005, interview end of March and medical mid April I think and I was due to start May Bank Holiday, the Tuesday I think. Had to get Laser eye surgery so was deffered to August but there's no reason it wouldn't be similar this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭pah

Robbie G wrote: »
    How much was a Gardai starting on before the cuts?

Starting pay after initial training used to be €27,100 now it's €25,745 but since the cuts the net amount is down way more due to USC etc.