Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭carzony

baldshin wrote: »
    Just picked up this golf for €600, passed nct last month and taxed til the end of the year, running pretty well, just needs spark plugs changed and seller included new plugs. Bangernomics!?

nice little car. I'v seen them sell for mad money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Just picked up this golf for €600, passed nct last month and taxed til the end of the year, running pretty well, just needs spark plugs changed and seller included new plugs. Bangernomics!?

Well wear pal. Can it move half decent a'tall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭baldshin

Jesus. wrote: »
    Well wear pal. Can it move half decent a'tall?

Wouldn't be the quickest motor in the world, seems a lot heavier than I thought it would be. Acceleration from standstill is slowish but it moves well in the higher gears. I wouldn't have huge experience with quick cars to compare it though, previous cars were a 1.2 punto and a 1.4 MG ZS.

Heading to oz in a few months so if I get 6 months from it I'll be happy out!

Wouldn't be the quickest motor in the world, seems a lot heavier than I thought it would be. Acceleration from standstill is slowish but it moves well in the higher gears. I wouldn't have huge experience with quick cars to compare it though

Either would I to be honest. I've only ever owned sh*t boxes.

Sure as long as she moves half daycent you're doing alright boss ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Wouldn't be the quickest motor in the world, seems a lot heavier than I thought it would be. Acceleration from standstill is slowish but it moves well in the higher gears. I wouldn't have huge experience with quick cars to compare it though, previous cars were a 1.2 punto and a 1.4 MG ZS.

Heading to oz in a few months so if I get 6 months from it I'll be happy out!

She'll still be running in 6 months and you probably get back what you paid too i'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

seriously tempted by this blandness.

I'm toying with the idea of getting an obsolete car until my own is back on the road or replaced.

It needs an NCT, budget is about 200 - 500 euro, so this is slightly over.

Anything out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

JJJJNR wrote: »
    seriously tempted by this blandness.

I'm toying with the idea of getting an obsolete car until my own is back on the road or replaced.

It needs an NCT, budget is about 200 - 500 euro, so this is slightly over.

Anything out there.

I had one of those Opel's about 7 years ago, and it was a grand car. No problem just got it serviced twice in the 2 years I had. Until one off those trash trucks knocked off the bumper and whole front and ran off - that's another day's story though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I had one of those Opel's about 7 years ago, and it was a grand car. No problem just got it serviced twice in the 2 years I had. Until one off those trash trucks knocked off the bumper and whole front and ran off - that's another day's story though.

Think Opel took a big step backwards interior wise on the Astra that came after that one.

The 91 to 98 model Astra seems a nicer place to sit in compared to the 99 to 04 model - imo.

Old diesel wrote: »
    Think Opel took a big step backwards interior wise on the Astra that came after that one.

The 91 to 98 model Astra seems a nicer place to sit in compared to the 99 to 04 model - imo.

Yep I had the previous one, they brought a new model at the end of 98.

2006 mondeo in Bangernomics
    Short NCT : 02/0214
    asking : 1950

25058900.jpeg

2006 mondeo in Bangernomics
    Short NCT : 02/0214
    asking : 1950

25058900.jpeg

If it all checks out - its a very compelling argument for opting for bangernomics rather then buying nearly new.

Things have progressed nicely over the years - in 1994 that same money would have bought something like an 85 Nissan Sentra.

But if its now buying a Mondeo which is 3 years newer now - but is so much safer and modern etc - then the world of buying older cars is moving some way in the right direction.

Good times will have to come to an end however as in a few years - we will have too many diesels with all that means in terms of potential issues - a shame.

This is a golden era in cheap cars - that may never be repeated :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/04-volvo-s60-diesel-n-c-t-tax/6125153

s 60 2.4 diesel 94k miles, high spec

eur 2250 asking but "4 good tyres car has (14 months n.c.t) + (6 months tax)"

25393720.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭daz16

1998 Audi A4 Avant tdi
    NCT01/15
    Looks clean and I think these have always been fairly stylish and practical.
    €1250
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4-estate-1-9-tdi/6015938

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭daz16

Interslice wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/04-volvo-s60-diesel-n-c-t-tax/6125153

s 60 2.4 diesel 94k miles, high spec

eur 2250 asking but "4 good tyres car has (14 months n.c.t) + (6 months tax)"

25393720.jpeg
    Seller seems to be atrader but having said that the car looks tidy. With all that tax and nct its worth 2g of anyones money.

If it all checks out - its a very compelling argument for opting for bangernomics rather then buying nearly new.Things have progressed nicely over the years - in 1994 that same money would have bought something like an 85 Nissan Sentra.But if its now buying a Mondeo which is 3 years newer now - but is so much safer and modern etc - then the world of buying older cars is moving some way in the right direction.Good times will have to come to an end however as in a few years - we will have too many diesels with all that means in terms of potential issues - a shame.This is a golden era in cheap cars - that may never be repeated :(

They're good points there diesel. I was just looking at the bloke's '99 Accord above that he's selling for 700 quid. Its not long NCT'd and he says it'll have no problem passing again. 710 notes per year tax so lets say, if you're lucky, you get 3 years out of it. Compared to a 1.4 L you'd be paying an extra 325 per year so that would work out at a grand extra. So 1700 euro and obviously a good bit more in fuel because she'd be thirsty but you're still coming out of it okay compared to buying a newer car but with a small, toothless engine.

Would you be better off going for something really cheap like this or buy a slightly newer, smaller car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

A little pricey, but looks genuine.
    Leather
    Test 03/14
    Asking €1800

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-bmw-318ci-coupe/6084617

25196604.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

W123-80's wrote: »
    A little pricey, but looks genuine.
    Leather
    Test 03/14
    Asking €1800

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-bmw-318ci-coupe/6084617

25196604.jpeg

I wouldn't say pricey I would say about right on the money.

In saying that...

At that mileage it would want to have had a lot of the suspension components changed and possibly some of the cooling parts. If it has then happy days, if not then you would want to get someone knowledgeable to look at it beforehand, could have some costly maintenance due

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

daz16 wrote: »
    1998 Audi A4 Avant tdi
    NCT01/15
    Looks clean and I think these have always been fairly stylish and practical.
    €1250
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4-estate-1-9-tdi/6015938

http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/all/for-sale/Ireland/?uid=771448

Some amount of cars for sale to make way for the new arrival......:rolleyes:

They're good points there diesel. I was just looking at the bloke's '99 Accord above that he's selling for 700 quid. Its not long NCT'd and he says it'll have no problem passing again. 710 notes per year tax so lets say, if you're lucky, you get 3 years out of it. Compared to a 1.4 L you'd be paying an extra 325 per year so that would work out at a grand extra. So 1700 euro and obviously a good bit more in fuel because she'd be thirsty but you're still coming out of it okay compared to buying a newer car but with a small, toothless engine.

Would you be better off going for something really cheap like this or buy a slightly newer, smaller car?

Theres nothing wrong with the Accord - assuming its in decent order - but I was making the points in relation to the much newer Mondeo above.

I would say that you could win out with the Accord if the smaller car was an 06/07/08 type small car.

But if its a 00 Yaris - I reckon financially it would make back the extra purchase cost easily enough if you kept it long enough.

Aside from purchase price - everything else is cheaper - tax, insurance and most important of all fuel.

Although I accept that the gap between Yaris and Accord in terms of fuel would close up on motorway type journeys - as the 1.8 engine should have an easier time of it then a 1 litre.

Mondeo though - vs a typical post 08 diesel at big money is a different ball game.

Your already so far ahead of the game purchase price wise that its ridiculous. And most of that Mondeos depreciation is already done.

Theres a big gap to make up - and the newer car has a lot of depreciating left to do. And that Mondeo should be free from modern diesel type bills.

Yes I realise that modern diesels probably aren't as bad as many of us make out. But even things like turbos etc can go into a bit of money should they go wrong.

And for many drivers - they may be able to pay 1,950 cash - but if they go to an 09 or 10 diesel - they may well taking out a loan - something no one ever seems to factor in when calculating the savings on a new diesel.

Couldn't give you an interest rates or likely figures for interest - but its a definite consideration.

But if your buying a newer car for 15 grand - its going to take a lot of fuel and tax for that Mondeo - to make back the 13 grand extra expense.

And its still a very safe place to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Slightly over budget but I'm sure there's wiggle room on the price:

http://www.adverts.ie/car/suzuki/alto/2004-suzuki-alto/4407657

NTAzMzc5NDk3NmFlNjJjMzBhMTRjYjYyN2M4MmUzMDYUr_v8vLk-gYXAG-yTbRJRaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vMzFjYjUyZjAxMWFlY2M0YTI4NmIwN2RiNzYzYjRmNjcxMmM3N2M0ZmE4ZDAzNWZlYWY4NWVjNTAwMmUwOTYyMC5qcGd8MzkzfHx8fHx8aHR0cDovL3d3dy5hZHZlcnRzLmllL3N0YXRpYy9pL3dhdGVybWFyay5wbmd8fGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS9jYXItaW1hZ2UuanBnfA==.jpg

Just NCT'd aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Fathead wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/all/for-sale/Ireland/?uid=771448

Some amount of cars for sale to make way for the new arrival......:rolleyes:
    new arrival forces reluctant sale.
    LOST MY JOB LAST WEEK AND I CANNOT AFFORD TO RUN IT.
    Now longer need 7 seater as our kids have out grown us.

But if its a 00 Yaris - I reckon financially it would make back the extra purchase cost easily enough if you kept it long enough.

I suppose it also boils down to whether you'd rather drive around in a decent sized yoke or a birds car!

That 2 liter would be quare thirsty though. About 30 mpg mixed?

I suppose it also boils down to whether you'd rather drive around in a decent sized yoke or a birds car!

That 2 liter would be quare thirsty though. About 30 mpg mixed?

Well clearly the Accord is going to be the nicer car to run around in - but I mean in financial terms.

Would be fond of a drop of petrol no doubt - kind of goes with the territory to a point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

Interslice wrote: »

and the 7 seat frv wasn't big enuf last week, new arrival meant they needed a bigger car. I hate clowns like that, enough people genuinely in those situations without fools like him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭carzony

Lads I'm off work for 3 weeks so it gives me the perfect opportunity to get rid of the focus and maybe get something with nct.. What are the chances of picking up a half decent yoke for like 600 euro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

look back through the last couple of weeks here and start with all the primeras. You will get something in less than three weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

carzony wrote: »
    Lads I'm off work for 3 weeks so it gives me the perfect opportunity to get rid of the focus and maybe get something with nct.. What are the chances of picking up a half decent yoke for like 600 euro?

What about this :)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-avensis/6126290

25399934.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

carzony wrote: »

I know that this is from the guy with multiple personalities and babys coming and going and It needs a back brake caliper -for the NCT, but €450?
    I had the 2.0l ver of this car and couldn't recommend them highly enough.
    The rear calipers are a known issue. I had to get mine rebuilt. But for a cheap car, I wouldn't be looking past this yoke.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bargain-mazda-626/6031112

Edit: just saw comment about NCT....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,579 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    What about this :)

I can't see the toebar anyhwere :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads