If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Have you ever almost been abducted?

• 06-12-2013 10:58PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

I ask this because I was thinking back to when I was a child maybe 7yrs old. Myself and my 2 cousins were playing out and wandered a bit further than we were allowed. 2 older boys (looking back I would say were about 13) told us a little girl hurt herself and could we come and help.

Like three eejits we did. We went with them and they brought us to a disused nearby quarry. I remember a lot of shouting and they lay all three of us on the ground. I remember seeing they were talking amongst themselves about what to do next, I suddenly got up and ran. At first they didn't notice. Then ringleader guy saw me and roared to the other one "get her.". I remember just beyond the quarry was long grass.. and a short, chubby me - I could barely see over it. I remember feeling really alarmed and I knew I was in danger. I ran as fast as I could and hid. The [EMAIL="f@cker"]f@cker[/EMAIL] couldn't find me. He went back empty handed.

I ran home as fast as I could and told some people.. who didn't believe me. I kept saying "they have x and y still and I got away."

Sometime later my cousins reappeared. They said they were let go after I got away because they thought i'd gone to get help.

God knows what could have happened that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I was abducted.

Those aliens are a dab hand at the oul probing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Only by aliens.

The head alien was a gorgeous amazon and she forced me to make love to her...minutes later she showed me a baby and said "this is our child...he will be the Star King".

She never rang or texted afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,404 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I'm in a boot of a car right now, I really should be ring the police but boards is so damn addictive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

The question still left unanswered: Is the little girl who got hurt ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

My sister told us somebody tried to grab her into a car (around 1980 or 81) but she legged it home and I believe her as I vaguely remember the state she was in when she burst in to the house to tell us. I remember my aul fella running out of the house like a lunatic to see if they were still outside.

Makes me shudder to even think of it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I was abducted by rock'n'roll lovin' aliens :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭uch

No

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

Yep...was "legally" abducted about 10 years ago. I think they call it Marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭dukedalton

Once again a potentially interesting discussion is stymied by people being "funny". Yes, I know this is After Hours, but if you must try to be funny, please also make an effort to be original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,962 ✭✭✭brevity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I was locked one night in town, got seperated from my mates and some oul lad started talking to me, next thing I remember I'm on the otherside of town and he has his arm around me... A moment of clarity and I leg it and try and find my way back to the lads.
    Other adventures sprung up on the way home, helped my mate make a bit of money ( :pac: ) and I went home to bed after a bag of chips.

Good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Yeah I was walking home at about 8.30 at night taking the long way home around the outskirts of the local park. It was very dark and nobody seemed to be around. I saw a van behind me and it began to slow down. It slowed down fairly quick. My heart was in my mouth when I heard it coming to almost a complete stop.

Then I realised it was just slowing down to go over a speed bump.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

dukedalton wrote: »
    Once again a potentially interesting discussion is stymied by people being "funny". Yes, I know this is After Hours, but if you must try to be funny, please also make an effort to be original.

Oh okay.

Here's one:
    I've taken steps to make my house a bungalow

Good,yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I have now offically read it all on AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭uch

Specialun wrote: »
    I have now offically read it all on AH

Nah you haven't, wait till you hear what What's his name has to say !

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PopRocks

I was on holiday in December 2010 with my family. Was 18 at the time. Went out for a few drinks with my mam and met a crowd of people my own age-ish and decided to stick around and go to the nightclub with them.

Fast forward a few hours and I'm well full up and at a taxi rank with them in the absolute horrors. They're trying to convince me to go to a session with them but I'm not liking the look of some of the lads so I make my excuses and leg it off just as they're all packing in to the taxi. Was walking for a minute when I heard someone running behind me, one of the lads had hopped out of the taxi and was catching up with me. I'm a little nervous and had way to much to drink, he's telling me to come to his and demanding the sex. This goes on for a bit anyways and he's starting to get a little aggressive and grabby so I leg it and by chance run in to a police officer! Happy days.
    Explain whats going on and that I'm lost and I don't know where the resort is and I'm scared of the lad who's following me, he basically tells me to bugger off and walks on. I wander of lost for another few minutes and the lad spots me from the end of a street, starts running towards me and I start running again when a car pulls up beside me. Only one lad in the car and he tells me to hop in and I have to decide whether to take my chances with him or the guy on the road... so I got in. Looking back it was soooo dangerous on top of all the other silly decisions I'd made but I figured I was fecked if the other guy caught me (I wouldn't last long running)
    The guy in the car turned out to be an absolute sweetheart. Drove me around, found the resort, made sure I got in safe and drove off in to the night. I never got his name but I'll never stop being grateful to him.

Learned a lesson that night anyways and I don't think I've ever gotten that drunk again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Had this uncle from Kilkenny and his favourite prank back in the 80s, when he came to see us (his nephews and nieces) and whenever there were neighbours out on the green gawping at his car cause they didn't recognize it) was to run out and grab one us, throw us in the back of his car, then pretend to be looking around to see if he had been looking, before then jumping in and wheeling spinning off. Oh I'd say we only had the Guards maybe four or five times before they eventually knew his licence plate by heart and so knew not to bother coming round anymore.

Anyone remember the adverts on Saturday mornings in the 80s about not getting into car with strange men? Think they were on before Swap Shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

yes I was once abducted by a group of men that were wearing white sheets.
    I was walking home on my own when a van pulled up next to me and 3 men wearing white sheets jumped out and bungled me into the back of the van.
    They put a bag over my head so I didn't know where we were going we eventually stopped after what seemed like an eternity in my mind.
    I was brought into a room they said they were going to torture me so they were going to slice my face off and wear it on their ass so every time they were taking a sh!t they would be sh!ting out my mouth.
    Little did they know I had a knife hidden in my boots for protection. So as they go to grab me to begin the torture I reach down and retrieve the knife from my boot and proceed to stab one of my abductors in the neck slicing his neck open the blood starts pissing out everywhere 1 down 2 to go I stabbed the other 2 in the chest and escaped in there Van to freedom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

possibly ???. I had a few beers on me and was slumpt against a wall beside the bus-stop in a well lit housing estate area, and remember feeling very tired (basically drunk) as well. Then I saw a car pull up beside me and a woman got out and said is that my bus that is coming at this time because it was the last one of the night she said, I said no, as I was just a 2 minute walk from my house and was going to walk home.

As soon as I said no, "I'm not waiting on a bus, but thanks" I remember getting up to stand and at this time, it only felt like a few seconds, and I was in a huge field connected to Dublin airport and could not find a way out as there was barbed wire and ditches everywhere around me and no way out. How I got there is a mystery to me, but what I think is that I must have blacked out and some-one put me in a car for a joke and some-how managed to put me in a field at the back of the airport.

That's the truth, I have absolutely no idea how I got there, so I think I was abducted by some-one and dumped in the airport field, but it was like a hypnotist clicking his/her fingers and I awoke in a different area from where I was. Yes It's odd I'll agree, but it was like I was put to sleep by a hypnotist and then awakened by a hypnotist in the space of 3 seconds but finding myself in a different location in a dark field with the shine of the airport lights to see my surroundings.

I was drunk I'll admit, but How I ended up in a field with deep ditches and barbed wire all around me of which took an hour to struggle out of is beyond me. I can only assume that I was a prank abduction even though I don't remember any-one doing this.

Out there, but True. I still think of it till this day on what happened.