Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Wow I thought I would have missed loads and absolutely nothings happened :)

Pulled the gate into our site to start on the house today lads, long road ahead now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Apparently im trading the ST in for a sleigh and some reindeer after a little girl pointed at me while in the shop getting lunch and yelled to her mam.

"Look mammy that man has a Santa clause"

:p

Could have been worse, she could have said; "Look mammy that man has a Santa Fe"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Just back from halfords, buying a car jack, some gasket sealant etc
    And a few 'felt badges of course (not that I want to bore ye guys of course :pac:)

Anyway I digress. Burst out laughing at this:
    1186727_10152075821334528_1177314044_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

Shouldn't be funny.

But it is! :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Really cheesed off. My mechanic looked at the supposed worn link/bush on my car today and cannot see any justification for the NCT saying it is worn, he says it's in perfect nick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Stheno wrote: »
    Really cheesed off. My mechanic looked at the supposed worn link/bush on my car today and cannot see any justification for the NCT saying it is worn, he says it's in perfect nick.

Manys a time this has happened to me, done nothing with he car and sent it back only to pass. I believe some testers are absolute timewasters and want to waste peoples time sending the car back and forth

I've did things arseways again, no booze tonight as I shoved it all through my gut last night so I'm bringing the car to the reserve piss up. Go on, laugh at the dry sober sh*te :(

Still, always Sat night for another night out :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Saw a 132 Zafira earlier, talk about the oldest/worst design still being sold. It looks like it came of the production line in 1999. Hideous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Saw a 132 Zafira earlier, talk about the oldest/worst design still being sold. It looks like it came of the production line in 1999. Hideous.

I think you can still get the old one new...feckin old car now is right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Are they STILL selling the same model shape (-ish) as the horrible soccer mom MPV zafiras from the early '00s?

That is hilarious. And ridiculous at the same time.

Are they STILL selling the same model shape (-ish) as the horrible soccer mom MPV zafiras from the early '00s?

That is hilarious. And ridiculous at the same time.

A look on the website shows the 06 on is on sale and the new ones called the Zafira Tourer.

So not this one?

Opel-Zafira_Tourer_2012_800x600_wallpaper_1a.jpg

That's what they're calling the Tourer. They must have some stock of the old ones to shift.

That looks incredibly like an s-max!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Vauxhall monaros are holding their prices annoyingly well in the UK 2006-2007 models still around the 11-14k mark in the queens coin

Now here's one for you. Was just looking through old holiday photos and couldn't believe I hadn't remembered these before. All my life when we went on summer holidays we did house swapping. My folks have always loved doing it and found it a stress free way to do a holiday and still do. One of their favourite places to go being The Netherlands. A place which I now love.. OH is from there. :D Back in 2009 was the last time I went on summer hols with them and it was indeed to NL. I remember the first morning going out to their garage just wanting to check out the bicycles they had that we could use.. but what did I also find.. :eek:

7HhREin.jpg
    chzFE9M.jpg?1
    EuFjPmH.jpg?1

A registration check tells me it's converted to LPG and that he has owned it since 2000. It was unlocked and all. I have zero interest in bikes, but thought I should throw it in too. :P Hidden in the bushes in the front garden was an engine hoist. The daily was then a 99 Almera which belonged to the missus.

In short - that is how you do weekend toys. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Forget the car and bike.... I want the garage and tools! :D

Tyre on the bike is backways :confused::o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    Tyre on the bike is backways :confused::o

Oh those pesky dutch fellas, first they go reclaiming land back from the sea and now they're putting tyres on backwards :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Vauxhall monaros are holding their prices annoyingly well in the UK 2006-2007 models still around the 11-14k mark in the queens coin

Appreciation in the value of AUD against GBP from 2008 pushed the new price up from £35k to £50k for VXR8s and all those cars got a residual value boost.

Marcusm wrote: »
    Appreciation in the value of AUD against GBP from 2008 pushed the new price up from £35k to £50k for VXR8s and all those cars got a residual value boost.

The hope is in a year or year and a half that i can afford a 6 litre 400bhp one or if im lucky a 500 s/c but can't see myself spending more than 15k after currency change and vrt (god knows what vrt is on these as the model isnt even on the calculator)

So maybe a 9k car at most

Also lol @ this

Reclaiming land from the sea, it's the dutch rising our sea levels :)

In other news there was a failed attempt at a robbery of my friends s14a, she's now been moved to a more secure location underground :)
    In all fairness, they cut the lock into the yard and then must have been spooked!

Also lol @ this

That is the worst ad I have ever read, I didn't realise you could add infinite maps on top of each other to reach any power figure imaginable :rolleyes:

Apparently someone txted him from focus st oc and he said he got the 40bhp extra from a catback and a k+n panel filter :p

This wins it for me

"like u can c not half a job full job only thing is missing is the real engine"

What does it have then?? do you have to wind it up to get it to go forward?? :pac:

This wins it for me

"like u can c not half a job full job only thing is missing is the real engine"

What does it have then?? do you have to wind it up to get it to go forward?? :pac:

Flintstones style maybe? :D

Apparently someone txted him from focus st oc and he said he got the 40bhp extra from a catback and a k+n panel filter :p

Ah the old believing the power figures printed on the boxes :rolleyes:
    170bhp and thats without the remap :rolleyes:

pajor wrote: »
    Flintstones style maybe? :D

she has some efficiency biiiiy! I can get 78 blisters per mile with this yoke :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I started reading that like dizzee rascal and gave up :pac:

Forgot to mention, there is an E46 M3 knocking about Navan, a red un at the Round O to be specific. I was delighted to see that the gentleman who owns it brings his very young children in it, ie there is a baby seat in the back.

So to any other gombeen saying you need rear doors or some soul less blandbox for carting infants about, ya have yer sh*te :pac:

OSI wrote: »
    Sitting in Autoglass watching my windscreen get replaced. Hate being able to see someone else work on the car, constantly have to stop myself yelping "CAREFUL!!"

I'd be apprehensive about letting a strange man touch my crack this early in the morning too.

OSI wrote: »
    Much prefer showing kids your Santas sack, eh? :pac:

Jaysus !