If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

It's now fun to run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Nice session Daz. Did you take recoveries after each rep or just at the end of each set?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭dazza21ie

Nice session Daz. Did you take recoveries after each rep or just at the end of each set?

Thanks, equal jogged recoveries after each rep (think that's right!). The 800m recovery actually felt quite long but I think later in the plan the recoveries shorten.

Thursday 10th October 5.15 miles @ 8:53
    A bit of a head cold came over me on Wednesday afternoon. It has gone through the house and the little man was hit by it too so we all had an unsettled night sleep that night. So wasn't feeling great on Thursday and debated whether or not I should bother going out. Sold it to myself that it was only going to be a recovery run and it might help sweat out what was in the system. Once out the door felt much better and run was quite enjoyable. Felt good on return but that didn't last for too long. :(

Friday 11th & Saturday 12th October 0 miles :(
    Made the call on Thursday evening that I wouldn't go out on Friday morning. Plan was to bring Sunday's rest day forward and hopefully get two runs over the weekend. Didn't feel much better on Friday evening. No doubt I could have run either Friday or Saturday but was worried it could do more harm than good.

Sunday 13th October 7 miles @ 9:17 :D
    Nice very gentle run just to get going again. Put on an extra layer just on top just in case!

Monday 14th October 6.06 miles @ 8:35
    Am still a little blocked up in the sinuses but the general feeling of lethargy has passed. Again once I got going everything felt fine. Was in Aldi this morning and got a couple of things from their running gear including a heart rate monitor. Probably not the most accurate but it's more for experimental purposes anyway. Wore it on the run today but didn't pay too much attention to the numbers as not sure what my max heart rate is yet.

Tuesday 15th October 6.06 miles @ 8:35

Pretty much identical run to Monday. Cold had pretty much lifted by then except for a running nose.

Wednesday 16th October
    Session: 3 x 10 mins @ T (6:51 Mins/mile)

This was supposed to be the 2nd of last weeks sessions but didn't get it done so decided to carry it forward to this week as opposed to starting the next week's sessions in the plan.

Done a two mile warm up and then got into the tempo bits. There was a bit of a breeze out there but not as bad as a couple of weeks ago. First ten minutes felt ok, probably had the breeze at my back for this one. Second one started into the wind and felt tougher. Was out of the breeze again for the third one. Another two miles were done for a gentle warm down.

Thursday 17th October 5.14 miles @ 8:49
    Bit of a confused run. Started off with the legs feeling a bit heavy which was fine, only needed to do a recovery run anyway. A mile in and legs were fine again and it was hard work to hold the pace back. Overall it felt quite gentle.

Saturday 19th October 13.1 miles @ 8:54
    Really enjoyed this run. Was out early so it was pretty dark which makes it easier to ignore pace etc. Just let the legs take me along at whatever pace suited them.

Sunday 20th October
    Session: 5-6 x 800m @ I pace with 3 mins recover jogs

An early start coupled with the fact that our little man had a disturbed night's sleep meant that I didn't get as much sleep as planned before this. Gave myself licence to take shortcuts if needed with the session :D Decided that 5 reps should be plenty if I got that far. Done two slow miles warm up. Was so sluggish I done a few short strides before starting the 800s just to avoid shocking the system altogether with the increased pace. Rep splits were:

3:11, 3:11, 3:06, 3:06, 3:04

The target pace was 3:08 so it went alright. For the first two reps it was more a pacing issue rather than not being able to hit the pace. I knew the pace should feel somewhat easier than "R" pace, just took a few to get the feel.

Done another mile and a bit warm down to bring up a total of 7.3 miles.

Monday 21st October 6.07 miles @ 8:38
    Lovely day out for this run, especially for this time of year.

Tuesday 22nd October

Session: 4 x [200m @ R pace with 200m jog recovery, 200m @ R Pace with 400m jog recovery & 800m @ R Pace with 400m jog recovery]

Have had to move runs around this week so this session came a day earlier than normal. Was out early and done usual 2 mile warm up bringing me to the usual spot for this type of session. Target times were same as before 44 seconds for 200s and 2:56 for the 800s. Splits were:

Set| 200m| 200m| 800m
    1. | 39secs| 43| 2:54
    2. | 42 | 42| 2:56
    3. | 42| 41| 3:04
    4. | 42| 44 | 2:59

800s are tough!! Probably was a little too close to Sunday's session, probably didn't take Monday's run easy enough but either way found this session tough. That said, first two sets went alright. I could feel the legs tiring as the session was progressing. The 3rd 800 I was really feeling it. Main aim for the 4th 800 was just to try and be quicker than the 3rd. A mile and a bit cool down took me to 8.70 miles.

Wednesday 23rd October - 5 Miles @ 8:47
    Mrs. Dazza was allowed the morning running slot so I had my first late run for quite a while. Was after 9 before I went out. Plan was just to keep it an easy/recovery run. Legs felt grand going around, had to ease off a bit at times. While it was a lovely evening for a run still would pick mornings or lunchtime over evenings for running.

Thursday 24th October - 6.07 miles @ 8:19
    This run was quite therapeutic as had a few work things bouncing around in the head. Knew from the mile splits that the pace was a bit quicker than normal but didn't feel any real difference.

Saturday 26th October - 13.1 miles @ 8:38
    Quickest long run for a while now. Pace was quite consistent and felt pretty comfortable. A little pick up near the end without ever feel like I was making the legs work.

Monday 28th October
    Session: 40 mins tempo
    Plan was to do this run on Sunday morning. I woke up to hear a gale blow outside so reckoned wouldn't ideal tempo weather. Meant to get out Sunday evening for a short run but when evening came convinced myself that it would only make Monday morning's run harder.

Anyway was out early and although there was a light rain failing, which quickly stopped, there was no breeze to worry about. Done a little over 2 miles of a warm up and got started with the tempo run. Adjusted tempo pace according to JD is 7:05 so by my calculations was aiming to complete 5.65 miles if I ran on pace. End result was 5.72 miles in 39:48 mins @ 6:57. The miles splits were 6:52, 6:48, 7:00, 7:01, 6:57, 7:11 (pace).

Went out a bit too hard for the first mile and second mile had a nice downhill which obviously made things easier. After that was just a case of keeping it ticking over. Seemed to get the feel for the pace and was able to keep it steady without having to check the watch too often. Turned into a bit of a headwind after the 5 mile mark which knocked pace off for the last bit but other than that pretty happy how it went. Have noticed that I actually managed an unofficial PB for the first 5 miles of 34:38 (PB 35:35).

Tuesday 29th October - 5.14 miles @ 8:34
    This was supposed to be a recovery run in around 9 mins/mile pace so not sure what happened to that plan. Legs felt pretty good. Tried to rein them in a few times but eventually just let them carry on at what felt pretty easy. Might regret that when doing 400s tomorrow!

Wednesday 30th October
    Session: 10 x 400m (with 400m jog recoveries)

Splits: 88, 87, 87, 85, 85, 83, 86, 84, 83, 82

Done the usual 2 mile warm up before getting these started. 88 Seconds was the target time again. It was dry out this morning and only a slight crosswind to deal with. Once the first 2-3 were out of the way seemed to get into a rhythm. Was tiring near the end which made me dig in that bit more and ended up with a few quicker reps. Another 2 or so miles warm down brought up 9.3 miles in total. Done this session a month ago and was averaging 88 seconds and the average for this morning was 85 seconds so its going in the right direction :D

Thursday 31st October 5.42 miles @ 8:31
    Managed to get out when the heavy rain had stopped and the sun actually came out. Was quite pleasant out even with a strong breeze. Pace felt quite gentle going around.

Monthly Summary
    Month| No. of Runs| 2012 | No. of Runs | 2013
    January| 14 | 34.22 | 23 | 127.01
    February|16| 46.21 | 11 | 59.82
    March|16| 52.11 | 23 | 137.57
    April|14|49.98 | 27 | 174.19
    May|22| 95.18 | 27 | 154.79
    June|17| 85.79| 23| 150.07
    July| 18| 101.16| 26| 194.29
    August| 17| 126.55| 25| 181.85
    September| 18| 151.64| 26| 190.85
    October| 16| 115.04| 24| 182.57
    November| 21| 91.63
    December| 16| 89.14
    Totals | 205| 1,038.51 | 235 | 1,553

A couple of missed runs here and there but overall decent enough monthly total. :)

Friday 1st November - 6.08 @ 8:12
    Got lucky again with the weather. Had been miserable most of the morning but was grand by lunchtime.

Saturday 2nd November - 13.1 @ 8:15
    I remember doing this route during the summer averaging 8:22 pace and that was a bit of a progression run with the pace been really push at the end. With that still in mind it was extra pleasing that this actually felt quite easy. Was running by feel and just checked the mile splits as the came. Was expecting the legs to tire near the end but felt good throughout.

Wore an extra layer and was glad as it is a bit cooler in the mornings. Had it dry until 5 miles from home when the heavens opened and after which i came back soaked.

Monday 4th November 6.06 miles @ 8:03
    Nice easy lunchtime run. Got lucky again with the weather and it was quite pleasant out.

Tuesday 5th November 5.43 miles @ 8:03
    Same as Monday's run only a bit shorter as I was later going out.

Wednesday 6th November

Session: 4 x [200m @ R pace with 200m jog recovery, 200m @ R Pace with 400m jog recovery & 800m @ R Pace with 400m jog recovery]

Sleep was a bit disturbed by the little ones so wasn't the most enthusiastic when the alarm went off this morning. Same as before done usual 2 mile warm up and target times were same as before 44 seconds for 200s and 2:56 for the 800s. Splits were:

Set| 200m| 200m| 800m
    1. | 38secs| 42| 2:54
    2. | 41 | 43| 2:57
    3. | 42| 43| 3:00
    4. | 43| 44 | 2:58

800s are still tough!! A little improvement on the 800s since the last time I done this. I think having done it before helped in that I couldn't bail knowing that I had completed the session the last time.

Done 2 and half miles warm down to bring up 9.5 miles in total.

Been lazy updating and a bit lazy with running. Getting miles in but has been only easy runs most of the time. Finding it too easy to skip a planned session.

Thursday 7th November - 5.35 miles @ 8:52
    Just a gentle recovery run with a tempo run on Frriday morning in mind, but that didn't happen.

Saturday 9th November - 13.1 miles @ 8:36
    Nice evenly paced run. It was cool but nice out.

Sunday 10th November - 6 miles @ 8:53
    This was supposed to be the tempo run that was planned first for Friday but I found another excuse. I was out early and it was very slippy after a sharp overnight frost. Concentrated on just keeping footing alright and cut run a bit short.

Tuesday 12th November - 6.05 miles @ 8:20
    Didn't get out on Monday as was away with work all day. From memory it was quite pleasant for this one.

Wednesday 13th December - 7 miles @ 8:27
    Was out early but managed to talk myself out of doing a session again. Had a slow start to this but pace picked up as it went on.

Thursday 14th November - 6.03 miles @ 8:15
    Another nice day out, a bit windy but still easy going.

Saturday 16th July November - 13.1 MILES @ 8:35
    Alarm let me down on Friday morning and as I was out early for this run Friday evening didn't Dr really suit. Anyways another easy run and it felt pretty comfortable.

Sunday 17th November - 8 miles @ 7:51
    Finally convinced myself to do something a little quicker than easy pace. Was only a progression run but still counts! A couple of easy miles to let legs warm up and then pace dropped from 8:00 to 6:45 over next four miles and kept it steady for last two miles.

Have a Local 10k next weekend so this week will be kept pretty easy too. Have entered Derry Marathon for next June too!

Monday 18th November - 5.36 @ 8:17
    Easy run to start the week with.

Tuesday 19th November - 4.24 @ 8:12
    Easy run with a few strides thrown in. On way back in could see the clouds assemble above me and knew that it wasn't going to be pretty when they opened up. Was just back at the office before a heavy hail shower.

Wednesday 20th November - 5 @7:57
    Had planned to go out in the morning for this but there was a gale blowing outside when I woke so quite conveniently postponed it until the evening. By that stage I wasn't really up for anything too demanding. Done two miles easy and then dropped pace to steady for last 3 miles.

Thursday 21st November - 4.15 @ 8:26
    Had planned to go a bit longer but was feeling a few strange niggles and aches in the legs that were also feeling a bit heavy. Decided to shorten the run to be on the safe side.

Saturday 23rd November - 3.36 @ 8:42
    Just a short one to loosen out the legs. Kept it handy and then done a few strides at the end.

Finn Valley Ac Remembrance 10k 24/11/13
    So had been taking it handy all week in advance of this. First race since the half in September. Hadn't specifically targeted but once it was advertised had decided I was doing it as it passes by our house, cannot really get more local than that. My motivation levels seemed to have dropped off over the last couple of weeks so wasn't really sure where I was coming into to this one. PB before today was 44:33 set back in August after giving the McMillan 10k sessions a decent go. That was on a hilly course so knew there was a bit to come off. McMillan would have had me at 41:11 based on my 5k PB but reckoned that would be a push too far. Didn't really have a strategy or target time lining up at the start. Plan really was to just give it a go and see where that took me.

Jogged over to the athletic club for registration. Done a couple of laps of the track with a few strides before jogging back to the start which wasn't that far from the house! Ended up cover 2 miles of a warm up. Legs were feeling good and was starting to feel confident. We had a minute silence before the start and a few balloons were released. I looked around and realised this was more than just a race for quite a few doing it.

We were set off by our local world silver medallist Jason Quigley. It was a slow take off as I weaved through the crowd in front. Seen a lad in front who is usually quite close to me in recent races so closed the gap to him and used him as an early pacemaker. However he did't seem to be moving as quickly as I wanted so I went past and tucked in behind lads from Finn Valley and Lifford. Didn't want to head out too hard as I knew the 2nd mile was probably the toughest and reckoned the 2nd half of the course should be quicker for me as I would have regularly done any intervals, tempos etc around it. The pace went a bit above 7mins/mile so decided to move on from the lads. Brought the pace back down a bit without overdoing it. Mile 1: 6:50

Was wondering if it had taken it out too easy after the first mile. 2nd mile was hardest of the course, going up through Drumboe woods with a few little climbs and bit of a drag up. Tree cover was quite thick so knew garmin pace wasn't going to be too accurate either. Tried to keep a consistent effort up, and passed quite a few people especially on any climb Mile 2: 6:54

A nice downhill stretch started the third mile before another short climb and then the course flattened out. Closed on a group in front of me and was able to make up a few places by knowing the racing line through a twisty section. Out of the woods and back onto the main road heading back towards town and I was still feeling alright. Mile 3: 6:40

The fourth mile looks pretty flat to the naked eye but there is the slightest drag up that always gets me when doing any quick miles and it seemed to go on a bit longer than usual today! I focused on a few in front of me and start reeling them in slowly. Pass a junior lad and an older fella and then a Finn Valley lady on the way back into town. Then see three lads running side by side and close the gap on them as we get into the town. We get onto the main street and then back off and the 3 in front split and I get up alongside one of them and trail the other two. Mile 4: 6:44

We are now at Finn Park and I would loved to have run straight on, would have been onto to my interval stretch but instead we turn right and into a bit of a headwind. This stretch always seems to be tough with wind and has a slight drag too. I tucked in behind the two lads in front of me. Unfortunately there not the biggest and I didn't think I was getting much shelter. But when I briefly move out to one side and I can feel the wind is much stronger so back in I went. I knew the stretch was less than half a mile before we turned again. I moved up along side the two lads as we turned left. I get by them easily and then another older fella in front of us but I can hear their heavy breathing behind me for the rest of the mile. Mile 5: 6:37

Had upped the pace for the 2nd half of the 5th mile and carried this on into the 6th. Back out onto the the Navenny Road and shortly passed our estate. This stretch is the start of every run I would do from home. I knew there was less than a mile to go now. Running solo and I could only see those in front in the distance. Just tried to keep the rhythm going, breaking it up into little sections in the head, get pass this house, or that junction. Back through the start line before turning left back towards the club and track. Had closed the gap to those in front a bit but hadn't a chance to catch anyone. Slight climb up as you cross over Drennan Bridge and I was glad to see the marshals pointing me in towards the track through the club's cross country training track. It was awkward running on the grass/sand for the 20-30 metres but the track came quick enough, though we were running clockwise on it! 3/4 of a lap later and I made it through the finish line. Mile 6: 6:29, last bit 6:16 pace

Result: 41:29, 51st/420 :D

Had my time called out as I went through the finish and had to check the watch to make sure I heard right. Knew things were going well out there but was pleasantly surprised with the end result. Had I been offered that on the start line I would most definitely have taken it. Happy with how the race as a whole went. Can't remember a single person passing me during the race and I passed quite a few. Ran a negative split for the first time. It felt good finishing the race so strongly.

Next race will probably be 5k on St. Stephen's Day which again is put on by local club and takes in a good bit of the 2nd half of today's race. Will keep it easy this week but will have to try and get back into the swing of things with sessions then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

dazza21ie wrote: »
    Monday 18th November - 5.36 @ 8:17
    Easy run to start the week with.

Tuesday 19th November - 4.24 @ 8:12
    Easy run with a few strides thrown in. On way back in could see the clouds assemble above me and knew that it wasn't going to be pretty when they opened up. Was just back at the office before a heavy hail shower.

Wednesday 20th November - 5 @7:57
    Had planned to go out in the morning for this but there was a gale blowing outside when I woke so quite conveniently postponed it until the evening. By that stage I wasn't really up for anything too demanding. Done two miles easy and then dropped pace to steady for last 3 miles.

Thursday 21st November - 4.15 @ 8:26
    Had planned to go a bit longer but was feeling a few strange niggles and aches in the legs that were also feeling a bit heavy. Decided to shorten the run to be on the safe side.

Saturday 23rd November - 3.36 @ 8:42
    Just a short one to loosen out the legs. Kept it handy and then done a few strides at the end.

Finn Valley Ac Remembrance 10k 24/11/13
    So had been taking it handy all week in advance of this. First race since the half in September. Hadn't specifically targeted but once it was advertised had decided I was doing it as it passes by our house, cannot really get more local than that. My motivation levels seemed to have dropped off over the last couple of weeks so wasn't really sure where I was coming into to this one. PB before today was 44:33 set back in August after giving the McMillan 10k sessions a decent go. That was on a hilly course so knew there was a bit to come off. McMillan would have had me at 41:11 based on my 5k PB but reckoned that would be a push too far. Didn't really have a strategy or target time lining up at the start. Plan really was to just give it a go and see where that took me.

Jogged over to the athletic club for registration. Done a couple of laps of the track with a few strides before jogging back to the start which wasn't that far from the house! Ended up cover 2 miles of a warm up. Legs were feeling good and was starting to feel confident. We had a minute silence before the start and a few balloons were released. I looked around and realised this was more than just a race for quite a few doing it.

We were set off by our local world silver medallist Jason Quigley. It was a slow take off as I weaved through the crowd in front. Seen a lad in front who is usually quite close to me in recent races so closed the gap to him and used him as an early pacemaker. However he did't seem to be moving as quickly as I wanted so I went past and tucked in behind lads from Finn Valley and Lifford. Didn't want to head out too hard as I knew the 2nd mile was probably the toughest and reckoned the 2nd half of the course should be quicker for me as I would have regularly done any intervals, tempos etc around it. The pace went a bit above 7mins/mile so decided to move on from the lads. Brought the pace back down a bit without overdoing it. Mile 1: 6:50

Was wondering if it had taken it out too easy after the first mile. 2nd mile was hardest of the course, going up through Drumboe woods with a few little climbs and bit of a drag up. Tree cover was quite thick so knew garmin pace wasn't going to be too accurate either. Tried to keep a consistent effort up, and passed quite a few people especially on any climb Mile 2: 6:54

A nice downhill stretch started the third mile before another short climb and then the course flattened out. Closed on a group in front of me and was able to make up a few places by knowing the racing line through a twisty section. Out of the woods and back onto the main road heading back towards town and I was still feeling alright. Mile 3: 6:40

The fourth mile looks pretty flat to the naked eye but there is the slightest drag up that always gets me when doing any quick miles and it seemed to go on a bit longer than usual today! I focused on a few in front of me and start reeling them in slowly. Pass a junior lad and an older fella and then a Finn Valley lady on the way back into town. Then see three lads running side by side and close the gap on them as we get into the town. We get onto the main street and then back off and the 3 in front split and I get up alongside one of them and trail the other two. Mile 4: 6:44

We are now at Finn Park and I would loved to have run straight on, would have been onto to my interval stretch but instead we turn right and into a bit of a headwind. This stretch always seems to be tough with wind and has a slight drag too. I tucked in behind the two lads in front of me. Unfortunately there not the biggest and I didn't think I was getting much shelter. But when I briefly move out to one side and I can feel the wind is much stronger so back in I went. I knew the stretch was less than half a mile before we turned again. I moved up along side the two lads as we turned left. I get by them easily and then another older fella in front of us but I can hear their heavy breathing behind me for the rest of the mile. Mile 5: 6:37

Had upped the pace for the 2nd half of the 5th mile and carried this on into the 6th. Back out onto the the Navenny Road and shortly passed our estate. This stretch is the start of every run I would do from home. I knew there was less than a mile to go now. Running solo and I could only see those in front in the distance. Just tried to keep the rhythm going, breaking it up into little sections in the head, get pass this house, or that junction. Back through the start line before turning left back towards the club and track. Had closed the gap to those in front a bit but hadn't a chance to catch anyone. Slight climb up as you cross over Drennan Bridge and I was glad to see the marshals pointing me in towards the track through the club's cross country training track. It was awkward running on the grass/sand for the 20-30 metres but the track came quick enough, though we were running clockwise on it! 3/4 of a lap later and I made it through the finish line. Mile 6: 6:29, last bit 6:16 pace

Result: 41:29, 51st/420 :D

Had my time called out as I went through the finish and had to check the watch to make sure I heard right. Knew things were going well out there but was pleasantly surprised with the end result. Had I been offered that on the start line I would most definitely have taken it. Happy with how the race as a whole went. Can't remember a single person passing me during the race and I passed quite a few. Ran a negative split for the first time. It felt good finishing the race so strongly.

Next race will probably be 5k on St. Stephen's Day which again is put on by local club and takes in a good bit of the 2nd half of today's race. Will keep it easy this week but will have to try and get back into the swing of things with sessions then.

Savage time dazza. Looks like you will have have some fun with mp runs in the spring if u throw that time into mcmillan for derry !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Well done Daz. That was a very good run you must be delighted :D

tomred1N wrote: »
    Savage time dazza. Looks like you will have have some fun with mp runs in the spring if u throw that time into mcmillan for derry !!

Thanks, yeah that McMillan fella can throw out some scary numbers. Will worry about MP at end of January :)
    Well done Daz. That was a very good run you must be delighted :D

Was like this for a while afterwards :D:D:D:D:D and then the All blacks went over in the corner so was only :D:D:D and then Cardiff feckin equalised :( but still pretty :D about the run!

Monday 25th November - 4.12 miles @ 8:50

A gentle recovery run at lunchtime. Legs were a little tired but nothing sore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Great run Dazza. 3 minute PB in just over 3 months. Excellent stuff.

I'm not great at logging lately. Things been busy at work and I have tried to update a couple of times with the Ipad only to encounter some technical difficulties:( Anyways could be worse, at least I have been running:D

Wednesday 27th November 8 miles @ 8:33
    Out early for an easy run. Was quite enjoyable.

Friday 29th November 7 miles @ ???
    Early run. Garmin give up on me less than a mile in. Probably should have took it as a sign as after two miles started to get some cramps in stomach that was pretty uncomfortable. Ease off the pace and made it around ok.

Saturday 30 November 6 miles @ 9:06
    Alarm clock problems again. Woke up over an hour later than planned. Was thinking of just giving up on the run altogether but managed to convince myself otherwise. Stomach wasn’t great again for this one, but it was more self inflicted as I ate all the wrong things the night before. Probably a good thing I didn’t try and do too much longer.

Monthly Summary
    November| 21| 91.63| 23| 160.63
    December| 16| 89.14
    Totals | 205| 1,038.51 | 258 | 1,713

Sunday 1st December 10 miles @ 8:40
    This was an attempt to get something a bit longer into the legs but didn’t really have too much time on hands so made the best of what was available.

Monday 2nd December 6.02 miles @ 8:09
    Lunchtime run, legs (and stomach) seem back to normal. Run flew by.

Tuesday 3rd December 5.12 miles @ 8:24
    Switched my lunchtime route for a change. Just ran by feel, keeping it easy.

Wednesday 4th December 9.11 miles @ 7:53 (including 40 mins @ tempo)
    Was out early for this one. First proper session for a while. Decided to try a longer tempo run that I have tried to avoid in the past. Adjusted tempo pace target was 7:05 mins/mile. Done two and a bit miles warm up and then started into the tempo. Mile splits were:
    7:02, 7:01, 7:00, 7:02, 7:02, 7:00 (pace)
    Total tempo: 5,72 miles @ 7:01

Thursday 5th December 5 miles @ 9:11
    Another early run. Knew the forecast was for a stormy morning and could hear the wind growling when I woke up. Always think the weather sounds worse while you are in bed. Yeah it was as bad as it sounded when out. Only had a recovery run planned anyway. Hardest part of the run was find a way round a tree that had fallen down and was blocking a back road.

Friday 6th December
    10 x 400m (with 400m jog recoveries)
    Been a while since I have managed two sessions in a week so kept this one simple. Target for the 400s was 88 seconds. Times were: 90, 90, 87, 85, 84, 85, 83, 84, 85, 84.

Had done two mile warm up and a mile and a bit warm down to bring up 8.3 miles in total. Reps felt good. Warm up was a bit sluggish so took a few reps just to get going.

Sunday 8th December 12 miles @ 8:57
    Legs were a bit tired during this and didn't want to go any faster. Overall was happy enough to get 12 miles done.

Tuesday 10th December 8.2 miles @ 8:35
    Didn't get out yesterday so went out early this morning to get a slightly longer run in. Was a lovely morning for it, dry, mild with only a slight breeze. This week is going to be a bit hit and miss for running so just need to take opportunities when available.

Wednesday 11th December A.m. - 6 miles @ 8:38
    Had to be back a bit earlier than usual so just got an easy run in. Nice morning out.

p.m. 5.07 miles @ 8:32
    Decided I would give a double a go for the first. Reckon will have to do a few when marathon training starts. Just ran by feel and it didn't feel much different to any other run.

Friday 13th December 8 miles @ 9:15
    Bit of a head cold came on Wednesday evening. Had planned to do a tempo run but wasn't feeling to energetic, actually was quite sluggish. Let the legs decide the pace.

Sunday 15th December 13.1 miles @ 8:46
    Nice run this morning. After the heavy rain here yesterday it was quite dry out. Bit of a strong and cold wind felt at times and for most of last 5 miles. It didn't take as long to warm up but there was no real pick up in pace as the run went on either.

Starting a new job tomorrow which will probably rule out lunchtime runs for the foreseeable future. Plan will be to get most runs done in the mornings but will have to be better at getting out in the evenings if mornings not an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Good luck wit the new job dazza, don't ya hate it when life gets in the way of running ;)

Runchick wrote: »
    Good luck wit the new job dazza, don't ya hate it when life gets in the way of running ;)

Thanks Yeah a few weeks ago I had to choose between a job interview and going for a run and I did briefly think about it!

Monday 16th December -7.04 miles @ 8:57

Legs felt tired for this run out early this morning. Was nearly finished by the time they felt normal.

Tuesday 17th December - 7 miles @ 9:11
    It was cold and icy out this morning. Legs felt much more alive today but conditions kept the pace very easy.

Wednesday 18th December 7 miles @ 9:14
    Pace seems to be getting gradually slower as the week progresses. No ice to worry about this morning but legs weren't really interested. Only real target this week is to get the 6 days running in. Outside chance I might get that elusive 50 mile week that has been so close before.
    Changed my route slightly for the last couple of miles for a bit of variety. Found the entrance to a trail loop that looks interesting. Had known about it before but never went out of my way to find it or run it. Might give it a go tomorrow for a change.

Thursday 19th December 5.2 miles @ 9:51
    Decided to give the new found trail a try. Wasn't the smartest plan in the book given that I was trying it in the dark, the morning after a pretty bad storm. Storm damage was plain to see with a few trees down. It was a bit stop start of a run as wasn't sure whether I was staying on the trail or not.

Sunday 22nd December 8 miles @ 8:41
    Little dazza's 1st Birthday party was on in the afternoon so only window for running was the morning one again. Plan was to go a bit longer but abandoned that when a nasty thunder and lightening storm kicked off.

Monday 23rd December 5 miles @ 8:24
    Out late in the evening for this one. Was a chance to have a spy on all the neighbours Christmas lights. Very few leave them on for morning runners to see :(. Legs felt good and wasn't getting punished by body for all the crap I was eating :D

Tuesday 24th December 3 miles @ 8:49
    Only wanted to get a short one in and knew that an evening run was out of the question. Would preferred a little longer than this but got caught up in a bit of a blizzard which wasn't too pleasant and all seemed a bit pointless.

Thursday 26th December Finn Valley St. Stephen's Day 5k
    Result: 20:56, (Mile Splits: 6:32, 6:53, 6:53, & 0.11 @ 5:50 pace)

Only for this race was on home turf wouldn't have bothered. Knew that my laziness over the last few weeks months was going to catch up on me in a race. Hadn't even managed as much as a few strides in the weeks before this so it was expecting a lot to be ready for a race. There is always that little part of you that thinks you might get away with it and still run a good race.

Race start was less than a mile from the house and just back from the club track. Had picked number up on Monday so was able to head over pretty close to the start time, get an easy mile in before a couple of laps around the track with a few strides. Conditions were good, still icy on the footpaths but the roads were fine. Mrs Dazza was doing it too, first time we both done a race together. Walked back to the start line with her before trying to position myself as far forward as possible. There was nearly 700 doing it so it wasn't easy getting away.

Had hoped to get a low 6:20's first mile in which would have given me a chance of another sub 20. But was coasting a bit too much waiting for the pace to pick up without really putting in the effort. And that was the story of the race. Tried to go past a few people at times but didn't match the thought with the extra effort. We finished back at the track and I only seemed to get going coming off the bend towards the finish line.

Even though I was a good bit off from my best it was good to get a race. Hopefully I can use it too motivate myself to train better and more consistently.

Waited for Mrs dazza, who had a good race, before the short distance home to start another big dinner!

Friday 27th December 5 miles @ 8:59
    Kept this easy enough, legs weren't really feeling too much from Thursday race, a sign of how much effort was used. Was quite windy out but was dry and seemed to miss the worst of the weather that day.

Saturday 28th December 7.3 miles @ 8:50
    Nice morning run. Decided to mix the route up a bit and went off road down along the river for a couple of miles. Decent enough path along this way.

Sunday 29th December 7 miles @ 9:06
    Quite icy out this morning and cold too!! Plan would have been to try a get a bit longer of a run in but with no strict structure going at the moment plans are very loose :).

Monday 30th December 8 miles @ 8:43
    This was supposed to be a morning run but I conveniently changed my mind about that when the alarm went off. So was heading out after nine in the evening. To make it a little more challenging we had a Indian takeaway for dinner a few hours beforehand. Don’t think Balti chicken is the wisest pre-run meal. After about a mile I could feel a bit of a burn in the back of my throat which was more prominent whenever I was going uphill. But apart from that the run passed off without incident. Was a lovely mild night out which made for a pleasant run.

Tuesday 31 December - 8 miles @ 8:35
    No chance of a late run this evening given the time of year it is so couldn’t ignore the alarm clock this morning. Was mindful that it was no more than 8 hours since my last run so legs had a right to be tired. As it turned out they felt fine. Was mild starting off out there with a slight drizzle that got heavier and colder as the run progressed.

So that is it for another year. Time to review the year and look forward to the new year.

2013 Review
    Race Distance|2013 Target | 2013 Best
    5k| 19:59 | 19:50
    5 Mile| 37:59 | 35:35
    10k| 47:59| 41:29
    10 Mile | 1:19:59| DNA
    Half Marathon| 1:44:59| 1:38:47

Monthly Summary
    November| 21| 91.63| 23| 160.63
    December| 16| 89.14| 25| 178.17
    Totals | 205| 1,038.51 | 283 | 1,892

Over 800 mile increase on last year's total. Managed all of the targets for the year too. Done 11 races in total with 9 pb's over the year. First race wasn't until April which was later than I expected but they came regularly after that. Had also set myself a target to get my weight down from 90.5 kg to 80 kg and managed that. The sub 20 5k was easily the hardest target so it was a highlight getting that.

2014 Targets
    Race Distance | Current PB| 2014 Targets
    5k | 19:50 |18:59
    5 Mile |35:35| 31:59
    10k | 41:29 |39:59
    Half Marathon | 1:38:47| 1:29:59
    Marathon | 4:41:06 | 3:14:59

Targets for the year ahead are definitely more challenging than those for the year past but I think they are all achievable if the work is put in and I have nothing major to worry about on the injury front. I am already registered for the Derry Marathon in June so that will be the main focus for the first half of the year. Hope to fit in some tune up races beforehand but won't be feeling any pressure to knock off any of the other targets during them. I am hoping that a completed marathon cycle will help with shorter distances and close the gap needed.

Should fit in some 5/10ks over the summer and then a half in September, probably another go at the Waterside half in Derry.

Another aim for the year ahead is to give cross country a go. Will think about joining the local club in the summer and give the county novice a go in October.

Still think there is room for more improvement with my weight. It is yo yo-ing between 78-80kg at the moment. I think a bit better diet and consistent running will do the trick. Aim would be to get it under 75kg.

Also like to see how low I can get my pb over a mile. The quickest one yet has been 6:15 which was in a 5k race and started on a decent. Initial goal is to get under 6 mins. This is more of a fun goal so the Garmin will always be right regardless of elevation gains, wind assistance etc.

Marathon training starts last week of January so next few weeks hope to try and get some consistency going again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Great training dazza over the last few months. Just 2 miles less than me for the year.

Fancy a 3 miler tonight? :D;)

Best of luck for 2014!