If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Clearly the wimmin of Listowel were behind this...I'd be careful around North Kerry if I were Berno!

As a Kerry, nay NORTH Kerry man and Kerry football fan I couldn't give a fiddlers who turns on the lights...I just wish Bernard Senior had stayed working in the power station in Tarbert all those years ago, we might have a few more titles under our belt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Squareball

Clearly the wimmin of Listowel were behind this...I'd be careful around North Kerry if I were Berno!

As a Kerry, nay NORTH Kerry man and Kerry football fan I couldn't give a fiddlers who turns on the lights...I just wish Bernard Senior had stayed working in the power station in Tarbert all those years ago, we might have a few more titles under our belt!

Best post I have seen in a while!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,865 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Donaghy for the Grafton Street lights IMO!

keane2097 wrote: »
    Donaghy for the Grafton Street lights IMO!

Recipe for dropped/smashed bulbs on current form I'm afraid Keano!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭freddiek

Question

name a footballer that won an All-Ireland with Dublin whose parents were actually from Dublin??

tough one I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Yeah, all sixty parents of the thirty panel members who won Sam two months ago, are all from outside The Pale. And so were all the 2011 parents. And the 1995 and 1983 parents. All 120 of them. Every single one. Lord above ! :rolleyes:

I bet the people of Listowel who know of Berno's family connections to the town, who actually know his family, and know how often he and his family go back there, don't have a problem with any of this. It's the people who just see the headline "Dublin Footballer to Turn on The Listowel Christmas Lights" and don't bother to look past it for the back ground info, are the ones who are getting their knickers in a twist imo.

Two years ago, Berno and Jonathan Sexton (who also has a parent from Listowel) were invited down there to officially open the Listowel Food and Wine Festival. I don't recall anyone one kicking up at fuss then, that two Dubs were doing it and not a Kerry fooballers or local dignitary. They were only too happy to have two such well known sports stars come "home" to open their festival. The novelty factor of getting them to do it, got the event more nationwide publicity, that it probably would not have gotten if they rolled out Kieran Donaghy, or one of the Healy Rae's to do it. But two Sam Maguires later (at Kerry's expense :D:D:D ) and all of a sudden, Berno is persona non grata in some quarters down there? A tad hypocritcal no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭El Viz

freddiek wrote: »
    Question

name a footballer that won an All-Ireland with Dublin whose parents were actually from Dublin??

tough one I know.

You have some serious issues to work out when it comes to Dublin my friend.
    I'd simply laugh at ya, but having a quick look at your most recent posts paints a very pathetic picture.

its my experience that Real Dubs don't play gaelic sports. many wouldn't look at it on the telly even.

the ones with the country parents however, lap it up just like any fella from Laois, Cork, Donegal etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

Question

tough one I know.

Name a muldoon who is earning his bread and butter in the capital, and lives there and is greatful !!!!!!!!!!!

Tough one I know :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Jaysus Freddie did a Dub piss on your corn flakes or shag your missus??? Either that or you are a very bitter and twisted person. Any way I'm a Dub and love all things GAA, as well as Rugby, Soccer, Tennis, F1 and pretty much all sport.

You'd be better off staying out threads with Dublin in the title as they seem to wind you up a tad.

how is bitter and twisted if I make a point about the players that come through the ranks to the Dublin team?

A Dubs supporter should be able to see this.

The rural influence is so prevalent you would almost think it was the law for a Dublin player to have a parent(s) from 'down the country'.

But its not. It just happens to be the case that the vast majority of Dublin inter-county footballers tend to have parents who are not from Dublin.

The conclusion I arrive at is that without the country influence Dublin GAA would have died out many years ago. Dublin would not be winning or even contending for All-Irelands. A Leinster title even would be too much to hope for.

Shame about Kildare, was really looking forward to the Friday evening fixture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Brilliant.

And don't feel the troll lads, just report/ignore the bitter little man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Cheers Fred, so it's plain and simply jealousy at Dublins perceived success. We must have been getting all the shyte footballers until 2011!!!!! Last AI before that was 95. I hope you start up a thread when all the Dubs currently exiled in the surrounding counties start producing inter county footballers for their parents adopted county.
    how is bitter and twisted if I make a point about the players that come through the ranks to the Dublin team?

A Dubs supporter should be able to see this.

The rural influence is so prevalent you would almost think it was the law for a Dublin player to have a parent(s) from 'down the country'.

But its not. It just happens to be the case that the vast majority of Dublin inter-county footballers tend to have parents who are not from Dublin.

The conclusion I arrive at is that without the country influence Dublin GAA would have died out many years ago. Dublin would not be winning or even contending for All-Irelands. A Leinster title even would be too much to hope for.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Yeah, all sixty parents of the thirty panel members who won Sam two months ago, are all from outside The Pale. And so were all the 2011 parents. And the 1995 and 1983 parents. All 120 of them. Every single one. Lord above ! :rolleyes:

I bet the people of Listowel who know of Berno's family connections to the town, who actually know his family, and know how often he and his family go back there, don't have a problem with any of this. It's the people who just see the headline "Dublin Footballer to Turn on The Listowel Christmas Lights" and don't bother to look past it for the back ground info, are the ones who are getting their knickers in a twist imo.

Two years ago, Berno and Jonathan Sexton (who also has a parent from Listowel) were invited down there to officially open the Listowel Food and Wine Festival. I don't recall anyone one kicking up at fuss then, that two Dubs were doing it and not a Kerry fooballers or local dignitary. They were only too happy to have two such well known sports stars come "home" to open their festival. The novelty factor of getting them to do it, got the event more nationwide publicity, that it probably would not have gotten if they rolled out Kieran Donaghy, or one of the Healy Rae's to do it. But two Sam Maguires later (at Kerry's expense :D:D:D ) and all of a sudden, Berno is persona non grata in some quarters down there? A tad hypocritcal no?

PD, I've been talking to relatives from home about this (some of whom would be as hardcore as you'll get as Kerry football fans) and have not heard one bit of begrudgery about it to be honest..so I'd suggest a very small minority of idiots/small minded people have strong opinions on this, that's all..no need for the exaggerations and going on about BB being "persona non grata" etc IMO.

For arguments sake, if Gooch were switching on the Xmas lights in O'Connell street (in an alternative universe where Eircom are the government or something..) there would be a fair bit of dissension amongst Dubs of a GAA persuasion and others, but in the same proportion as we've seen in the BB case I'd imagine. It's just symptomatic of humanity that there are idiots everywhere unfortunately and North Kerry certainly isn't immune..one look at our current public representatives confirms that..:rolleyes:

End of rant and discussion as far as I'm confirmed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

ciarriathuaidh, last Friday, I listened to a discussion about all this on a live stream of the lunchtime program that airs on radio Kerry. The head of the Listowel Traders Assoc was on talking about all the kerfuffle. The host read out a lot of texts that were sent into the program afterwards. A lot of them were quite nasty. There was more than one person who said that they were going to boycott the event because BB was invited over one of their own footballers. She said that the feedback that they were getting was about 50/50 for & against. There is probably a podcast of the show on the Radio Kerry website, if you want to go back and listen to it for yourself.

That is largely what I based my opinion on. I didn't pull my opinions on all this out of thin air. Nor did I make them up or exagerate them with an intent of taking a pop at Kerry people. I'm surprised at this happening as anyone, as I thought they they were very proud of the Brogans being half Kerry men. I've lost count of the discussions I have had with Kerry people over the past few years, who like to cheekily tell me that Dublin only won our two most recent All Ireland's, because we had 2 Kerry men on board.

Comparing Colm Cooper turning on the lights up here, to BB doing it in Listowel, is not a valid comparison imo. CC has no ties (that I know of) to Dublin. BB has loads of ties to Listowel. If CC had all the ties to a regional Dublin town that BB does to Listowel (mother from there, still has family there, still visits there, is well known in the local community of the town, talks about the place a lot in post match interviews whenever the two counties play etc etc) I honestly do not think that the residents of that town would have a problem with him turning on the lights. They would see him as a native returning, son due to his mother being from there. If we got some random lad, with no connection to the Dublin, then yeah, people might be up in arms about it, but Listowel people are not doing that, so I don't see what all the fuss is about really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,865 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

One thing to remember is that in any instance, the people who have an issue with something are the ones most likely to say something about it. I'd like to think the nasty stuff you are talking about wouldn't account for the views of 50% of the people in Listowel or Kerry.

ciarriathuaidh, last Friday, I listened to a discussion about all this on a live stream of the lunchtime program that airs on radio Kerry. The head of the Listowel Traders Assoc was on talking about all the kerfuffle. The host read out a lot of texts that were sent into the program afterwards. A lot of them were quite nasty. There was more than one person who said that they were going to boycott the event because BB was invited over one of their own footballers. She said that the feedback that they were getting was about 50/50 for & against. There is probably a podcast of the show on the Radio Kerry website, if you want to go back and listen to it for yourself.

That is largely what I based my opinion on. I didn't pull my opinions on all this out of thin air. Nor did I make them up or exagerate them with an intent of taking a pop at Kerry people. I'm surprised at this happening as anyone, as I thought they they were very proud of the Brogans being half Kerry men. I've lost count of the discussions I have had with Kerry people over the past few years, who like to cheekily tell me that Dublin only won our two most recent All Ireland's, because we had 2 Kerry men on board.

Comparing Colm Cooper turning on the lights up here, to BB doing it in Listowel, is not a valid comparison imo. CC has no ties (that I know of) to Dublin. BB has loads of ties to Listowel. If CC had all the ties to a regional Dublin town that BB does to Listowel (mother from there, still has family there, still visits there, is well known in the local community of the town, talks about the place a lot in post match interviews whenever the two counties play etc etc) I honestly do not think that the residents of that town would have a problem with him turning on the lights. They would see him as a native returning, son due to his mother being from there. If we got some random lad, with no connection to the Dublin, then yeah, people might be up in arms about it, but Listowel people are not doing that, so I don't see what all the fuss is about really.

See Keane's response below. Would just add clowns who ring/text radio chat shows are exactly the kind of idiots I was talking about. So some woman sent in a text that was nasty, so what? Go ask anyone from Listowel Emmetts or any other club in the area and I'll bet the reaction would be 99% positive or neutral. Anyone talking of boycotting the event isn't worth talking about IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭dring

Question

tough one I know.
    Well, two Brogans, Rock, McCaffrey and McCarthy's fathers all played for Dublin so I guess that's at least five from this year.

yeah he's half a culchie. Like basically all of the Dublin panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

Christmas is stupid anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 millhouse11

Haha this fredderick guy is actually from the soccer county of louth,lol how ironic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

dring wrote: »
    Well, two Brogans, Rock, McCaffrey and McCarthy's fathers all played for Dublin so I guess that's at least five from this year.

That's the father but where's the mother from?

I'm not 100% but I remember reading somewhere that both of Bobby Doyle's parents were Dublin born.
    As for the few who have issues with Dublin players with parents from outside Dublin playing for Dublin, without them they would have to rely on the grandchildren of the Dublin women who laid down with the Black and Tans in Monto

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    As for the few who have issues with Dublin players with parents from outside Dublin playing for Dublin, without them they would have to rely on the grandchildren of the Dublin women who laid down with the Black and Tans in Monto

:rolleyes: And with that statement, this thread has officially jumped the shark.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Question

tough one I know.
    You were warned.
    Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Hank Schrader

:D Good man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Freezing cold outside today, staying at home I looked again at the Dublin/Kerry SF and then the All Ireland, sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Anyone heading to the Vincents game this afternoon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    Would love to but cant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    Would love to but cant.