TUF 18 **Spoilers**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Have no idea why Cody Bolinger didnt make weight in the last episode. There must have been something going on behind the scenes because he didnt seem to care. Seems to have gotten something though.

Tbh he was drying out for 2 hours and only lost half a lb. He had at least 5 lbs to go. He had a very slim chances of making it and mentally broke.
    Maybe this cut was bigger than usual but it looked like, to me, that he messed up the cut completely, didn't water load enough maybe.

That said, it was embarrassing to not even try. He didn't want it enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,391 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

How the buck did he get a 6 figure contract anywhere though? Unless it's for about a dozen fights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Gumbi

He seemed to have been messing it up and was lying about his weights, he apparently put on weight between all the running, sauna etc and what he apparently weighed in the morning, which is impossible. He definitely should have tried, though, if only for his own pride.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭welkin

Dana is a scumbag though, and a bully.

Ok the guy didn't make weight cause he broke mentally, but wtf would that fat arse Dana know about making weight for a fight?

It's funny how his output on not making weight changes when it's someone bankable like Rampage or that Russian Eagle guy who doesn't make it.

He's a bully and a coward and had no right to humilate Cody in front of everyone and on camera.

welkin wrote: »
    Dana is a scumbag though, and a bully.

Ok the guy didn't make weight cause he broke mentally, but wtf would that fat arse Dana know about making weight for a fight?

It's funny how his output on not making weight changes when it's someone bankable like Rampage or that Russian Eagle guy who doesn't make it.

He's a bully and a coward and had no right to humilate Cody in front of everyone and on camera.

I completely disagree. He f*cked up his weight cut. End of. 100% his fault. And he gave up. Didn't even try in the end. He did exactly what Dana said he did - he screwed someone else of their chance to perform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,135 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

he didn't need to make an example of him in front of everybody
    a head to head would have done

on the other hand maybe dana was right
    there's lads out there who wouldve killed for the
    opportunity bollinger was given

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,570 ✭✭✭weemcd

For a competition as valuable as TUF, there is no excuse not making weight. Winning that show is potentially worth millions of dollars. I can't fathom why anyone would go through the auditions to get to the house and sleep on themselves balooning in weight. You would think for all the time spent on the show (how long can it really be, a month or two?) someone could maintain their weight during the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭thehairyone

weemcd wrote: »
    For a competition as valuable as TUF, there is no excuse not making weight. Winning that show is potentially worth millions of dollars. I can't fathom why anyone would go through the auditions to get to the house and sleep on themselves balooning in weight. You would think for all the time spent on the show (how long can it really be, a month or two?) someone could maintain their weight during the time.

There did seem to be a couple of comments during the episode bu the other fighters that he wasnt eating right while in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭thehairyone

I also noticed that rousey came across better in this episode. They didnt show tate attempting to shake her hand after the fight (which im sure tate tried to do). Tate didnt come across well when bad mouthing Cody either.

Dana's attitude to guys missing weight will push someone to kill themselves during a weight cut, it's going to happen eventually, at least Cody knew when he had to stop.
    Need to bring in same day weigh ins to the UFC.

Dana's attitude to guys missing weight will push someone to kill themselves during a weight cut, it's going to happen eventually, at least Cody knew when he had to stop.

Why, it's not like he had plenty of time to prepare... Oh wait, he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,448 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Same day weigh ins will only lead to people getting into the cage even more severely dehydrated than they do now. It just too dangerous in my opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭welkin

These are bigs lads and they're trying to cut down to under 10 stone.
    It's beyond dangerous imo.

Some of them looked like they just arrived out of Aushwitz in 1945 at the weigh-ins.
    It's absolutely dangerous and Dana should just sTFU and consider that and how physically and mentally exhaustive it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

welkin wrote: »

Some of them looked like they just arrived out of Aushwitz in 1945 at the weigh-ins.
    It's absolutely dangerous and Dana should just sTFU and consider that and how physically and mentally exhaustive it is.

Why are you blaming Dana here? I'm pretty sure that Cody said he'd only ever fought at 145 before, it's his own fcukin fault for sayin he could do 135, there wasn't an ounce of fat on the guy

Same day weigh-in would be far more dangerous. There's a reason its not done.
    welkin wrote:
    Off topic, but he slated Rampage for missing weight vrs Bader. And given his performance he deserved it too. Rampage didn't give a fk towards the end.
    welkin wrote:

Fair enough, Dana wasn't exactly polite in the way he went about it. But I think he deserved a bit of a bollocking tbh.
    Look at the bigger picture. It's not just his own chances he fcuked up.

The guy was a 145lb fighter. Obviously he thought he could make weight when he decided to try out.
    He tried out along side 135ers, he makes the final stages. Then he wins his prelim to get a spot in the house, eliminating the other guy. Imagine how that poor bastard feels now. He was knocked him out by a 145er, somebody who shouldn't have been there if couldn't make the weight limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭JJayoo

You would swear these fighters are being forced to cut weight. They are cutting to give themselves an advantage. If they and their entire team are stupid enough to feck up their weight then it's their tough sh1t. IMO they should bring in same day weigh ins and have people fight in their correct weight division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Same day weigh ins are a real health hazard. These guys going in know that it's 135 and not 145 - they should either wait for another TUF with a different weight class to come along (like they do 3 times a year) or else just maintain weight throughout the house instead of ballooning 30lbs in the week running up to your fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,599 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Didn't Bollinger make 135 already to fight to get into the house? Surely the guys had to be 135 in the elimination fights?

So it's not true to say the guy COULDN'T make 135, he just didn't! If the show is 135 and he can't make 135, he doesn't go for the show. Simple! It's his responsibility to make weight and from what was said on the show it seems he was eating when he shouldn't have been etc.

Having said all that, Dana handled the situation very poorly IMO. Scolding a professional fighter like a school child?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Didn't Bollinger make 135 already to fight to get into the house? Surely the guys had to be 135 in the elimination fights?

So it's not true to say the guy COULDN'T make 135, he just didn't! If the show is 135 and he can't make 135, he doesn't go for the show. Simple! It's his responsibility to make weight and from what was said on the show it seems he was eating when he shouldn't have been etc.

Having said all that, Dana handled the situation very poorly IMO. Scolding a professional fighter like a school child?

Agree with everything but this. What he did was completely unfair on the person he beat to get into the house and every other person who lost their elimination match. There's no 2 ways about it - he did take away someone's life changing opportunity - someone who was/is more driven than him.

How you can sit there on camera and say "I'm away for 6 weeks to provide a better life for my wife and kids" to then give up on making weight is beyond me.

What you say is true, but these things should be handled in a professional manner. If I mess up in work, I don't expect my boss to have all of my work mates gather around while he shouts at me and fires me.

He did take someone's Lottery Ticket, but it could've been handled differently.

But it's not like Dana just sprung it on him the night before.. He knew going into the house that he would have to fight at least 1 more time at 135. As the weeks went on and he wasn't picked he should have realised that he was going to have less and less time to get on weight and should have prepared better.

The other thing is, with your example, if your boss gave out to you for something you didn't know or had no control over that's fair enough. Cody knew what he had to do and simply didn't do it. He wasn't disciplined enough to stay away from meals he shouldn't have had or eaten at times when he knew he shouldn't.

Giving out to him like a school kid was a little harsh but I've no sympathy for him and am some what glad it was said so openly like that. People will know that missing weight in the house gets you chucked out immediately.

I'm not certain that they do. They don't show it if they do. Maybe it's down to preventing making weight and fighting on the same day. Or because some of the guys will have to make weight and fight again shortly.

Mellor wrote: »
    I'm not certain that they do. They don't show it if they do. Maybe it's down to preventing making weight and fighting on the same day. Or because some of the guys will have to make weight and fight again shortly.

Interesting one, maybe the guys who fight to get in the house are paired up on their current weights??

Mellor wrote: »

I remember Jason Guida missing out on a fight in the Elimination Round due to missing weight. I think they have to make weight but they just don't show it

I remember that happening. But they used to show weigh-ins the day/before too. They don't now. That doesn't mean they dont' happen of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

Should of listened to McGregor's advice - STAY READY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

He shouldn't be there if he can;t make weight,
    Can't recall who exactlysaid it but a top fighter used to say, " making weight is what i get paid for , trianing and Fightings the fun part "

He shouldn't be there if he can;t make weight,
    Can't recall who exactlysaid it but a top fighter used to say, " making weight is what i get paid for , trianing and Fightings the fun part "

Anthony Johnson???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

scudzilla wrote: »
    Anthony Johnson???

I re-raise you a John Lineker :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

I also noticed that rousey came across better in this episode.

Tate didnt come across well when bad mouthing Cody either.

Have to say it really annoyed me they way Rousey came out after the meeting to tell everyone how bad Tate was for blaming Cody. Again like a jealous bully trying to make herself look better by putting someone else down (similar to when she tried to bring in the racism angle).

Would love to see Tate destroy her but its very unlikely & we will probably have to watch Rousey disrespect her after giving her a beating.