Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Actually ive had a rethink on that d5 Volvo - seeing as this is Ireland where anything with a 2.4 is considered bad - it needs to be cheap for it to sell.

Its got high miles as well at 166,000 miles - although reports im hearing back from the Uk suggest - they are well able for the miles.

Not having a good day with these cars lol - back to the drawing board I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Old diesel wrote: »
    Actually ive had a rethink on that d5 Volvo - seeing as this is Ireland where anything with a 2.4 is considered bad - it needs to be cheap for it to sell.

Its got high miles as well at 166,000 miles - although reports im hearing back from the Uk suggest - they are well able for the miles.

2.4 is hardly a big engine for that car, especially with it being the fuel of the divil
    Sure anything below a 2.0 in that yoke and it wouldn't pull a guard/nurse in coppers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

2.4 is hardly a big engine for that car, especially with it being the fuel of the divil
    Sure anything below a 2.0 in that yoke and it wouldn't pull a guard/nurse in coppers ;)

Its not but to most irish people looking at 02 cars will think "its massive" even with it being a diesel.

To be honest I mostly stuck it up just to have something different :D - im very naughty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Old diesel wrote: »

That Volvo is well capable of a another 200k miles. It will run and run. Bulletproof:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

mazda mx 5, new nct, 1295. No mention of tax

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/madza-mx5-convertible/5629469

Full-22914177.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

That is extremely cheap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,976 ✭✭✭tinofapples

nd wrote: »

Seems cheap for a 2001.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,578 ✭✭✭✭unkel

More smiles per €1 than any other car ever posted in this thread :)

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Someone will buy that car, and it will fall to pieces, and it will break their heart trying to keep the car running.

Gorgeous piece of kit though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Someone will buy that car, and it will fall to pieces, and it will break their heart trying to keep the car running.

Assuming you are talking about the Mazda please do expand. Do you personally know something about that very car in particular? The Mazda MX5 is not known to be a badly built car, in fact it most likely is one of the better built cars in its segment.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Assuming you are talking about the Mazda please do expand. Do you personally know something about that very car in particular? The Mazda MX5 is not known to be a badly built car, in fact it most likely is one of the better built cars in its segment.

I don't, it just seems like a case of too good to be true! I'm full of shite though, pay no heed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Once the timing belt was done I time and it's not burning oil that car should a grand.
    It's got the less powerfull 1.6 though, detuned to less than 90bhp. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

job seeker wrote: »
    It would seem this is back for sale. That ad above is the engine for sale now and only 7days old.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-155-wide-body-sport/5942870

Something ain't right..

The chap who is selling the engine is well regarded in the italian circle in this country. Has a gta track car and 2 lancia delta integrales.
    He's probably responsible for keeping half the alfa v6's in this country alive at this stage. A few on here can vouch for him.

Don't know whats up with the 155, but Pat is genuine.

I don't think its the same car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Scortho wrote: »
    The chap who is selling the engine is well regarded in the italian circle in this country. Has a gta track car and 2 lancia delta integrales.
    He's probably responsible for keeping half the alfa v6's in this country alive at this stage. A few on here can vouch for him.

Don't know whats up with the 155, but Pat is genuine.

I don't think its the same car.

Ah ok, I'll take down that post. I don't want to give a genuine person a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

I wouldn't say those mk5s are that well built.

Those mk2s have very serious and nasty rust issues. They literally do fall to pieces.

here is a link http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?t=1169343

I wouldn't be buying one at this stage. If I wanted something like an mx5 I would gladly spend the extra money and get an s2000. They are a much, much better car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

JohnBoy26 wrote: »

Those mk2s have very serious and nasty rust issues. They literally do fall to pieces.

I wouldn't be buying one at this stage. If I wanted something like an mx5 I would gladly spend the extra money and get an s2000. They are a much, much better car.

Ah, I see you've picked a forum from the land of rust!
    Anything used over the winters in the UK is going to end up with the rust.
    Permitting it's not raining tomorrow I'll jack my first Gen (23 years old) up and show you (with pics) how most of them look underneath.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Ah, I see you've picked a forum from the land of rust!
    Anything used over the winters in the UK is going to end up with the rust.
    Permitting it's not raining tomorrow I'll jack my first Gen (23 years old) up and show you (with pics) how most of them look underneath.
    Your first gen is different. The mk2s chassis is made up of layers of metal for it's crumple zones. Very Poor rust protection and a build up of condensation between the metal causes this problem, it happens from the inside out.

It's a widespread problem that's not confined to the uk.

My neighbour had a fresh 99 Jap import eunos a few years back and that was even showing signes of rust at the front chassis. Admittedly it wasn't as bad as the one above though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Mechanically at least they are supposed to be one of the most reliable cars in the Uk it seems

http://www.reliabilityindex.com/reliability/search/169

nd wrote: »
    Mechanically at least they are supposed to be one of the most reliable cars in the Uk it seems

http://www.reliabilityindex.com/reliability/search/169
    They have pretty solid mechanicals. Reliability is good in them.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »

Fair points JohnBoy26. I didn't know that rust was such a serious issue on the Mark 2 until I read that PistonHeads thread you linked to. I was basing my comments on a long term test I recall reading many moons ago in Auto Express. The Mark 1 MX5 was pitted against a BMW Z3, a Fiat Barachetta and something else which I cant recall. The MX5 didn't win the test but it did come first in terms of ease of ownership and reliability as I recall. But of course that was a Mark 1 of course.

I'd be aspiring to a Honda S2000 too if I was in the market for a small roadster, not that I am or will be any time soon. They wont be had for bangernomics money though. The cheapest on donedeal at the moment is a 99 asking just €50 shy of €5k. There isin't even a mention on NCT on it either for that matter. They would be a fantastic drive...no doubt in my mind there.

Heres a couple for ye's

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/xantia-tested-quick-sale/5380840

Ok, it needs an engine mount to be fitted but seemingly there is one supplied with the car and that shouldn't stop you from sitting in and driving away either. 238k kilometres is less than 150k miles assuming seller is quoting correctly. Should be reasonable on one of them if minded. Would guess being a 2000 its the 2.0 hdi as opposed to the 1.9 though.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1999-nissan-permara-nct-07-14/5620994

Ad is up for 62 days so already be sold. If not though he might be eager to shift it and may do even better on the price. You could do worse for your money. Not sure about his comment "car is in pristine con inside and out". Would look a bit rough and ready to me but who cares at this price...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1999-nissan-permara-nct-07-14/5620994

Ad is up for 62 days so already be sold. If not though he might be eager to shift it and may do even better on the price. You could do worse for your money. Not sure about his comment "car is in pristine con inside and out". Would look a bit rough and ready to me but who cares at this price...

and the prize for the worst spelling of "primera" ever goes to...
    and the fecking lino floor mats :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Heres a couple for ye's

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/xantia-tested-quick-sale/5380840

Ok, it needs an engine mount to be fitted but seemingly there is one supplied with the car and that shouldn't stop you from sitting in and driving away either. 238k kilometres is less than 150k miles assuming seller is quoting correctly. Should be reasonable on one of them if minded. Would guess being a 2000 its the 2.0 hdi as opposed to the 1.9 though.

There isn't a hope in hell that car is in KM and not Miles...
    It shouldn't need an engine mount @ 150k miles.
    Just sayin.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

cadaliac wrote: »
    It shouldn't need an engine mount @ 150k miles.

why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

That car is definitely in miles.
    Also it isn't unreasonable for a car to need a mount after 150k miles. My car has 240K km on it and it needs one at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Short test - Feb '14
    Asking €950
    Not for everyone, but I like 'em and it looks honest.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-mondeo/5917803

Worth about half that tbh.

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

Here's an '05 Mondeo, NCT '15, taxed till end of the year

Asking €1,550

View2-24303009.jpeg

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

unkel wrote: »
    Here's an '05 Mondeo, NCT '15, taxed till end of the year

Asking €1,550

View2-24303009.jpeg

I know there is lots of bangernomic Mondeos.
    I only posted that one as clean, honest, low milage Mondeos of that era are thin on the ground.
    An asking of €950 might sell for closer €800. If its genuine, and that's a big if, I'd be happy drive it for a year at that price.
    But point taken.

But why on earth would you take a massive risk (short NCT) paying €800 for a 16 year old car when you can get the newer version, half its age taxed and with a very long test for only a few hundred more? :confused:

My ads on adverts.ie: