Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

dgt wrote: »
    Be jaypers whats going on heyor.... :pac:

Flaaaat battery

In the light of day I found that the stater motor cable had lost it's nut and had fell off. Replaced nut and we're a goer. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Its fair enough if he had to leave a rank position or you called him. If you flagged him down the fare would hardly be that much so quickly would it?

He wasn't at a rank and had no meter on, pure greed. Should've asked him for a receipt.

Turns out it was 600m, but look how ridiculous it looks on a map:

https://maps.google.ie/maps?saddr=Francis+Street%2FR132&daddr=Rampart+Lane&hl=en&ll=54.003071,-6.398045&spn=0.003664,0.010568&sll=54.00355,-6.396747&sspn=0.003664,0.010568&geocode=FU4HOAMdWVGe_w%3BFYUIOAMd8mue_w&t=h&mra=me&mrsp=1,0&sz=17&z=17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,726 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

The most shocking thing about that map is that Louth has a museum. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Haha, its actually a very good museum. We all got running water last week too, quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Got Bluetooth working in the car again.

Yay

Wasn't working since battery went kaput

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

You lucky lucky bastard :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

OSI wrote: »
    600 Miles to Miami and back in the Camaro with the roof down, epic. This car is the most fun I've had with my pants on, and better than some I've had with them off. Definite must for anyone heading out this way.

17 MPG, but who cares when a tank of Premium is $50!! Will try and get a video of it up in the next day or two.

Is it a V8 though?

Hire companies alway shaft you on Mustangs with V6s. Is it the same for the Camaro?

It's the full fat, 400bhp, 6.2L V8 Camaro SS. Part of Hertz "Supercar" collection. Booked it months and months ago and got it for 2 weeks for $1100. Cheaper than the 12 seater the rest of the family got.

Mr-Burns-Saying-Excellent.gif

Hertz won't be getting their rear tyres back will they:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

It's the full fat, 400bhp, 6.2L V8 Camaro SS. Part of Hertz "Supercar" collection. Booked it months and months ago and got it for 2 weeks for $1100. Cheaper than the 12 seater the rest of the family got.

So that's about.. €60 a day? :eek:

You'd get a Passat or something here for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Bye bye s2000 :(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Mini meet in dgts this morning with toasted and myself.

Lovely to meet the guys :)

I have now been told I will be banished if I fail to attend the next meet :)

Edit: Forgot to add that I got to drive the smoke machine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Stheno wrote: »

Thanks for the invite, losers! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Does your OH know you were in a garage with two strange oil covered men !

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Does your OH know you were in a garage with two strange oil covered men !

He does indeed :D

They were both remarkably clean, no oil anywhere :) We'd some fun keeping the gazebo on the ground, it nearly took off with toasted clinging to it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Did he show you the Merc?
    It's the most dangerous car I've ever seen, nearly killed 4 of us one day, and it didn't even move! :pac:

CianRyan wrote: »
    Did he show you the Merc?
    It's the most dangerous car I've ever seen, nearly killed 4 of us one day, and it didn't even move! :pac:

Nope :) He was too busy telling stories of people being decapitated by car jacks :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Jaysus, that sounds like the doctor alright!

Found out today that the e60 has an anti tilt alarm :)
    Was doing an arm in the back and started off with the car locked, car got most of the weight off the suspension then band off she goes.
    Scared the hell out of me :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Found out today that the e60 has an anti tilt alarm :)
    Was doing an arm in the back and started off with the car locked, car got most of the weight of the suspension then band off she goes.
    Scared the hell out of me :)

doing what in the back? :pac:

BX 19 wrote: »
    doing what in the back? :pac:

Ha ha :)

No sadly just a track arm :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I've made a habit of over shooting junctions, pulling up to the next set of lights, TC off, gearbox in first, hard lock and as soon as the lights turn green hit the gas and fling the arse around, quick lift off the gas to straighten her up and back on the gas and try to hide the giggles.

Still, 275/40/ZR20 on the rear, so plenty of grip.

Ive gotten a ticket in the states for "excessive tyre noise" in a V6 camry;)

pred racer wrote: »
    Ive gotten a ticket in the states for "excessive tyre noise" in a V6 camry;)

Were you hoping to win the coolness battle here pred :) v6 camry won't cut it man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

YbFocus wrote: »
    Were you hoping to win the coolness battle here pred :) v6 camry won't cut it man :)

No! (but in 93 a v6 camry was cool because all the american cars of the time were muck)
    Just letting Osi know that some american cops have a very limited sense of humour:P

I was also kicked out of a supermarket car park in the middle of the night by the cops for pulling handbrake turns in the snow (in a celica) they were ok though.

On the other side Rural cops in the states can be cool, my mate got a choice one night, be dragged down the station in rural oregon for DUI (we were both trashed and doing doughnuts on gravel roads in his bronco) or grab his ankles on the side of the road and get kicked in the arse :eek: he chose the latter and the sheffif nearly booted him into next week.....and then let us go:D

Ahhh jaysus. Lou Reid died. :(

Stheno wrote: »

When you drove the 406 did you go like this :eek:

I couldn't believe how fast it was at the last meet:D I'll never forget Pred's evil hysterical laugh when he was driving it:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Heard a punto van earlier that sounded like dgt's pug. :eek:
    It was louder than the Porsche behind it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

pred racer wrote: »
    No! (but in 93 a v6 camry was cool because all the american cars of the time were muck)
    Just letting Osi know that some american cops have a very limited sense of humour:P

I was also kicked out of a supermarket car park in the middle of the night by the cops for pulling handbrake turns in the snow (in a celica) they were ok though.

On the other side Rural cops in the states can be cool, my mate got a choice one night, be dragged down the station in rural oregon for DUI (we were both trashed and doing doughnuts on gravel roads in his bronco) or grab his ankles on the side of the road and get kicked in the arse :eek: he chose the latter and the sheffif nearly booted him into next week.....and then let us go:D

Reminds me of the story my gfs dad tells. When he was a chung fella he was mad into his cars and driving them as fast as he can as most young lads do. His father was the Sergeant and organised that he be pulled over some night to be given a bollocking. So anyway, one of the gardai spots him out one night and pulls him in. He gives the car a good inspection and tells the FIL he has a tyre bald. No I don't says FIL. Bend down there and have a look says the Garda. FIL bends down to inspect and receives the most unmerciful boot up the hole and stern warning to slow the fook down. He says to this day it was the best lesson he learned!

Heard a new noise in the car today when I had the window open. There's a feint ticking noise coming from the drivers side front wheel area. Sounds kinda like "tick tick tick... tick tick...". Not that loud and sounds a bit like a clock. Any ideas?

Dord wrote: »
    Heard a new noise in the car today when I had the window open. There's a feint ticking noise coming from the drivers side front wheel area. Sounds kinda like "tick tick tick... tick tick...". Not that loud and sounds a bit like a clock. Any ideas?

Stone stuck in the tyre? Close the window and the problem will go away!

Reminds me of about this time last year I had no radio in my car for about 3 weeks (doing about 600km a week at the time) and I was full sure that something was about to go catastrophically wrong with all the noises my car was making. Put the radio back in and all the problems went away :D

Perhaps. I'll check the tyre properly in daylight tomorrow. Yeah, my car has a few interior creaks that kind of necessitate the need for music or radio being on. It's mostly down to the rear parcel shelf which I'm going to get rid of and replace with a blind.