Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Child removed from Roma gypsies-This time in DUBLIN *Mod Warning Post #1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Nodin wrote: »
    O no, there was a good few on the roundabout allright (or the island in the road, whatever it was). I was just saying it wasn't tolerated, not that it didn't exist.

Correct, they were actually within the roundabout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

The whole thing is so weird. Am just wondering what the Roma stand to gain from kidnapping these kids? That little girl in Greece was with them for a number of years it seems, so it doesn't look like they wanted to 'sell her off'? And not to sound bad but if they were gonna kidnap a kid and claim it's their own then why didn't they go for less conspicuous looking kids - someone with black hair or more sallow skin who would fit in better with their group?? I would not be surprised if it did transpire that someone gave their kid up to the Roma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭el pasco

emo72 wrote: »
    That is the funniest post on here today.

On a serious note. Any Roma holding girls like this will get really worried. Wonder will kids be dumped and turn up out of nowhere

How is it a funniest post here today?
    If these illegal camps weren't allowed then maybe they wouldn't be here and this wouldn't if happened
    It is easier for illegal activities to happen in these illegal camps

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

O no, there was a good few on the roundabout allright (or the island in the road, whatever it was). I was just saying it wasn't tolerated, not that it didn't exist.
    One of the access points to the area was on the Ballymun road just after the roundabout, but the camp was a bit further beyond that in the direction of where Homebase is. There is an access road that runs behind Homebase that leads to another entrace to Santry Woods/NorthWood which the camp was closer to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

The whole thing is so weird. Am just wondering what the Roma stand to gain from kidnapping these kids? That little girl in Greece was with them for a number of years it seems, so it doesn't look like they wanted to 'sell her off'? And not to sound bad but if they were gonna kidnap a kid and claim it's their own then why didn't they go for less conspicuous looking kids - someone with black hair or more sallow skin who would fit in better with their group?? I would not be surprised if it did transpire that someone gave their kid up to the Roma.

Apparently they get more money having fair-skinned kids beg for them as they are considered cuter.

I think you are very naive a blond girl is more valuable as they may have plans to do terrible things to her when she is older if you know what I mean

So Nodin..... What do you think happened??

Thank you :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Some media talk of the child (in Greece) being "given" to the Roma family by traffickers (who they presumably knew) when a deal to sell the child abroad went sour....not entirely convincing...surely they'ed just try to sell the child to someone else.

The other urban myth/explanation is that a fair skinned/haired child would earn more money begging AND that there is a desire amongst the Roma to introduce more fair skinned genes so that they might be more accepted in wider society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

Or gave a kid up not necessairly theirs which is a concern - theres something more to this that makes me uneasy about the whole thing. I read both stories and cant see the motive, it makes no sense.

Hopefully an in depth investigation will take place and the true extent and motives are found - and hopefully innocent children rescued, but as someone posted before there are NO winners here kids will be ripped from what tthey have been led to believe are their families.

nelly17 wrote: »
    there are NO winners here kids will be ripped from what tthey have been led to believe are their families.

The kids may win if they spend the rest of their lives away from the influence of these families. For example, the girl in Greece was said, by "family" to be much-loved and very well cared for by her "parents" - yet the pictures show her unwashed and unkempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

What with all the child abduction cases lately? I hope the two poor kids found in Dublin and the kid in Greece can have some sort of normal life.

Jester252 wrote: »
    What with all the child abduction cases lately?

It's not that there's suddenly a spate of them lately, this is going on wholesale and it's just fortuitous that a number of cases have caught the attention of the media at once. Hopefully human trafficking will now get the attention and coverage that it deserves. Ireland has a poor record in this regard so if this makes people keep their eyes and ears opened then this can only be a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,060 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Can't figure out the purpose of the Roma having these children except for begging purposes.
    Both children seem to have been looked after well enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭josip

Roma who are trafficking children see the children as a commodity, like a landlord might see a house. They purchase them at the best price they can. If that child is "hot" and troublesome they will sell them on to a Roma trafficker in another country where the child is not being sought. When the child is small they will make as much income as possible from them via multiple Social Welfare claims and begging. When they get older they will then sell the child into prostitution before the child can cause problems. The traffickers have no emotional attachment to the children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,060 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

josip wrote: »
    Roma who are trafficking children see the children as a commodity, like a landlord might see a house. They purchase them at the best price they can. If that child is "hot" and troublesome they will sell them on to a Roma trafficker in another country where the child is not being sought. When the child is small they will make as much income as possible from them via multiple Social Welfare claims and begging. When they get older they will then sell the child into prostitution before the child can cause problems. The traffickers have no emotional attachment to the children.

Any links to support that claim please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

ted1 wrote: »
    I wonder could it be a case of the mother having an affair with a local ?

Possibly, but she'd still have to give birth to that child at some point...

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

fúcking hell ...

that poor 12yr old girl found at the GPO yesterday and now this poor 7yr old in Tallaght.

What the hell are they doing at our airports, borders, ports and social services?

I know its hard to police but for crying out loud this family in Tallaght are living in a housing estate, not some locked down compound.

If this turns out as feared then there is going to have to be (and rightly so) a shít storm as to how this child can be missed at so many levels.

But hey lets put some social service road blocks up to catch a worker doing nixers- feck the containers, and cars containing trafficked kids.

Banana Republic Argghhhhhhhhhhhh !!!

/rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

Just out of interest to what we do know in regards to this case.
    Is it unusual the the Coombe hospital have no evidence of the birth.

Do hospitals usually keep a full record of all children born?

elfy4eva wrote: »
    Do hospitals usually keep a full record of all children born?

Christ, I'd hope so!!!!

I thought this was pretty much common sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

I got banned last week for my opinions on Roma... I wont be saying anything derogatory about them today...and then these two stories pop up in the media. ...grand bunch of lads!

Christ, I'd hope so!!!!

Sorry if it seemed an idiotic question to ask, as I don't have children I don't know the procedures.

Merkin wrote: »
    I thought this was pretty much common sense?

How is it?
    If it's true then there must be loads of links surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭josip

It's what I would have known from my background when growing up.
    Here's a couple of links that support that.
    They're not hard to find if you need to search more.

http://www.errc.org/cms/upload/file/breaking-the-silence-19-march-2011.pdf
    Page 55

http://www1.american.edu/TED/czech-child-trade.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

.....there's nothing concrete proven yet....

No, but as the HSE and Gardai have said, its very unusual for them to remove a child from its family. Combined with the hospital records not matching up it looks very suspect

elfy4eva wrote: »
    Sorry if it seemed an idiotic question to ask, as I don't have children I don't know the procedures.

Well, the hospital would keep their own medical record and (in some parts of the country at least) you can register a birth with the Dept of Social Welfare before you leave the hospital.

Well that alone makes this very interesting as there's definitely something sour there. Interested to see how this will develop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I said to my Dad the other day:

Dad, I have a question. How come I don't look or speak like you or Ma?

He says:

停止问问题,然后回去工作。

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Can't figure out the purpose of the Roma having these children except for begging purposes.
    Both children seem to have been looked after well enough too.

Think harder. There is another way to make money from enslaved girls as they get older (or maybe not older sadly). They'll be more saleable if looked after too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

It really is getting truely depressing with the whole stranger danger thing in Athlone a couple of weeks ago and now this - the world really is a dangerous place. it makes me wonder was it always as dangerous or were we just ignorant to it?