The Prince of Burma appreciation thread

Johner wrote: »
    Full sister to Dawn Approach going in the 2.15 today. Cost €775,00.

Is it trained by bolger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Is it trained by bolger?

It is droidy! Is it you who hates him? :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

They have just put 10c on a can of beer and 50c on a bottle of wine:eek:
    Looks like my Shiraz drinking days are well and truly over:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭shamdrog63

I see Imperial Commander is back in training.He,ll be 13 come next Gold Cup and surely owes connections nothing.He couldn,t possibly win another Gold Cup and I,d hate to see him come to harm ala Dorans Pride when he should be out in a field enjoying well earned retirement.Any thoughts?

shamdrog63 wrote: »
    I see Imperial Commander is back in training.He,ll be 13 come next Gold Cup and surely owes connections nothing.He couldn,t possibly win another Gold Cup and I,d hate to see him come to harm ala Dorans Pride when he should be out in a field enjoying well earned retirement.Any thoughts?

I'd agree that he should be retired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

If they want to run Imperial Commander, why not get a hunters cert for him?? Run him in a few hunter chases, give the horse a nice few days out, he owes connections absolutely nothing... Then take a shot at the Foxhunters at Cheltenham or Aintree, whichever... I'd rather see him being retired myself, but if connections (or NTD himself) insist on running him then they should have looked at that as an option

Didn't see the 2.15 at the curragh, but I see that the O'Brien trained winner opened at 11/10 and then won at 4/9, must have been a lot of unhappy bookies up there...

It is droidy! Is it you who hates him? :cool:

Haha yeah..hope she never wins a race!!!! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

How on earth was she declared for the Moyglare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

I heard a yarn about Jim Bolger actually... He was at a funeral here in Wexford a couple of years ago, had a cabal of the local hangers on around him (ie politicians, GAA County Board chairman, hotel owner who has GAA connections etc) as seems to be the usual when he's at an event around here. Anyways, a bloke who used to be in school with Bolger was at the funeral, spotted Jim outside the church.. Walks up to Bolger, goes to shake his hand saying "Howaya Jim I'm (name removed to preserve anonymity), I was in your class in school, how are you keeping"... To which Bolger replied "You might have been in my class then, but you're certainly not in my class now", turned on his heel and went off, leaving yer man gobsmacked. What. A. C-unt.

No denying he's a bloody clever man though...

carmanard wrote: »
    I heard a yarn about Jim Bolger actually... He was at a funeral here in Wexford a couple of years ago, had a cabal of the local hangers on around him (ie politicians, GAA County Board chairman, hotel owner who has GAA connections etc) as seems to be the usual when he's at an event around here. Anyways, a bloke who used to be in school with Bolger was at the funeral, spotted Jim outside the church.. Walks up to Bolger, goes to shake his hand saying "Howaya Jim I'm (name removed to preserve anonymity), I was in your class in school, how are you keeping"... To which Bolger replied "You might have been in my class then, but you're certainly not in my class now", turned on his heel and went off, leaving yer man gobsmacked. What. A. C-unt.

No denying he's a bloody clever man though...

That must have been droidy he said that to!

Haha if it was he would of got a swift kick in the trollix!!

Reading an absolute in classic the boxing forum. This lad has put up a load of losers in a row only to be greeted by a classic here.
    SRFC wrote: »
    I suggest you lay anything this magpie fancies,he couldnt tip sh*t out've a bucket.
    @SRFC,

I think you're being a little hard on him, of course he could tip ****e out of a bucket, it's just that it would end up all over him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Backed Mary's Daughter in the 5.20 at Nottingham 16s each way, down in the weights and caught the ye the run before last at York, good claimer on here and there is some support for her, she loves soft ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭shamdrog63

Would agree with you on Chaloner.He,s a good lad.

I'm not the only one on her today backed into 6/1 but nowhere

Michael Winters sends one over to Wincanton tomorrow. Moon Prince in the 4.20, currently 2/1 and won last time out at Tipperary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Michael Winters sends one over to Wincanton tomorrow. Moon Prince in the 4.20, currently 2/1 and won last time out at Tipperary.

I seem that earlier. You'd think the form winters is in that this would be in the bag. I reckon landenstown star under a plot could run a big one at bottom weight tomorrow that might ruin the party..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

What happened to the thread title?

Dog rough behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭kksaints

What happened to the thread title?

Dog rough behaviour

Guess Convert wasnt happy with it after those posts in the grand national tickets thread and Slattsy perving on everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Oh yeah blame Slattsy O:-)

Anyone know what the going forecast is for ascot on saturday? I think i read somewhere its supposed to be soft/heavy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

shamdrog63 wrote: »

Connections are a shower of *****, I was disgusted they ran him in the national after missing the Gold Cup. He won a Gold Cup and plenty of top races for them, was off for 2 years and got 2nd in the Argento, they should be happy with that from a 12 yo.

That said he might be well enough treated/ retain enough ability to win a few nice pots.

Mark dependant he could well be entered in something like The Hennessy and might be worth an ew squeak if Brennan is back on board

Anyone know what the going forecast is for ascot on saturday? I think i read somewhere its supposed to be soft/heavy?

They reckon soft is guaranteed.
    Plenty of rain expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

The Ol Jonjo Jockey Switcharoo could be on for the 2.30 at uttoxeter have stuck money on the two that mccoy doesnt ride:D

Threw just a fiver each way on Baily Dusk at Punchestown in the wide open 3 mile handicap chase. Was good enough to win a maiden hurdle two years ago and whilst he has been bitterly disappointing since, he has hinted on occasions that a big run could be in him. Runs off 86 with a good three pound claimer hopefully he can show some improvement today. Hopefully the well handicapped Westlife doesn't show up at a price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Bendala Bleu has a great chance today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

alright boys whats happening?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

http://www.joe.ie/sports/betting/harry-wilsons-grandfather-pockets-e150000-from-e60-bet-thanks-to-debut/

Nice win or is it a publicity stunt from Hills to get people punting on their kids :D

SRFC wrote: »
    http://www.joe.ie/sports/betting/harry-wilsons-grandfather-pockets-e150000-from-e60-bet-thanks-to-debut/

Nice win or is it a publicity stunt from Hills to get people punting on their kids :D

Nah its legit.
    He tried to cash it in 4 years ago when he signed for Liverpool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Man Utd vs Southampton market is a puzzler

Utd are 1.58. The main Asian line is a 1 goal line, Utd are odds against. I don't think I've ever seen a team as big as odds against -1 when they're 1.58 straight

Sporting supremacy mid point is 1.2 goals

Thought it could be due to a low goals expectation but sporting pitch goals at 2.9-3.1 and (as expected from that) over 2.5 is odds on

Weird one. One is wrong, just not sure which!