TUF 18 **Spoilers**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,946 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

SevereMMA wrote: »
    Can results from TUF be considered spoilers after it airs? The fights happened months ago and the show airs at the same time as in the US over here on BT Sport

Well I haven't seen it yet so don't spoil it for me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Did anybody else think all the fighters were wearing wierd contact lenses during the interview segments, i only realised last episode it's the stupid lights from the studio reflecting in their eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,448 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

scudzilla wrote: »
    Did anybody else think all the fighters were wearing wierd contact lenses during the interview segments, i only realised last episode it's the stupid lights from the studio reflecting in their eyes

Yeah it was the same in the last season too. It's a bit strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

It's all right now, it's all been cleared up....ronda's mother created the monster that she has become using er...tough love :rolleyes:

Sweet Jebus there's a pair of them in it lol!

That English guy looks decent (& a likable chap too). Good to see him get through but its a pity he is on the wrong team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭Roar

Yeah they're using a ring flash to light those shots which results in that effect in peoples eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,599 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Really good fight this week. David Grant looks an absolute savage, it was like a man against a boy.

Was actually disappointed that Louis gave up the way he did but he was taking a serious pounding so maybe it was the smart thing to do.

I'm really enjoying this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Really good fight this week. David Grant looks an absolute savage, it was like a man against a boy.

Was actually disappointed that Louis gave up the way he did but he was taking a serious pounding so maybe it was the smart thing to do.

I'm really enjoying this season.

For the fights alone I'll +1 this. The pre fight talking is a load of garbage.

That Davey is a friggin' beast. He made a fool of Louis which wasn't easy considering his performance to get into the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

Wow!
    That was some fight, brutal enough stuff, they really did leave it all in there!

Editors seem to have toned down on portraying Rousey as a complete **** (must be getting seriously worried about her falling popularity), but still left in the bit where she refused the handshake just to let us know that nothing has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭stealinhorses

Yeah, good fight. I think Duke could have won it with a little more stand-up training under her belt, didn't really use the reach advantage as much as she could.
    Ronda giving Meisha the finger after the fight just reaffirms how childlish she is.

Great fight, proper war!

Rousey telling Tate to go f*ck herself, nice! Rousey can beat Tate as many times as she wants but Tate will always be the one with integrity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,391 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Duke reminded me of Struve. Great height and reach advantage but just hasn't learned to use it properly and ends up just being a bit gangly and awkward.

She'll do well with more experience. Would have loved to see her shoot a takedown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

There was no losers in that fight IMO. Surprised it was a UD for the 3rd round. Thought someone would have given it to Duke. Not saying I did but it was sort of close.

Fight of the Season for sure so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭thehairyone

great fight alright. duke gave some nasty leg kicks and her knees could have done some serious damage. Think it was the right decision in the end, rockys punches got through where dukes didnt. Not overly impressed with the 'gas' displayed by some of the women fighters though, ive noticed that they seem to visibly tire as the fights progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Be like Nutella

one of the most entertaining fights I've watched this year.... any fight that has ya shoutin at the screen like an eejit is great !

That girl is tough as fukin nails I'm not sure I could knock her out tbh. She never panicked, always aware, nice and compact, always taking angles and conserving her energy for hard smart shots..but didn't chase too much and get drawn in for a knee. I think we'll see the loser fight on a UFC card anyway.

Rousey is not comin off well it's fair to say haha what an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

Why does Rousey keep putting on that pit bull face? What the hell is wrong with her?

I think she's under the impression that because she's a fighter she's really really hard, and she's gotta act like a hard nut all the time, and that includes pulling the scowling face and hardly ever cracking a smile.

Sure she thinks she's great, all i see is a complete fcukin tool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

She seems very insecure as highlighted by her behaviour in the first episode when she thought she had been replaced in the first ten minutes of the show.

She has easily surpassed Sonnen as the biggest tool in the UFC at least Sonnen uses humour and actually proved himself to be a decent coach in TUF.

crybaby wrote: »
    She seems very insecure as highlighted by her behaviour in the first episode when she thought she has been replaced in the first ten minutes of the show.

She has easily surpassed Sonnen as the biggest tool in the UFC at least Sonnen uses humour and actually proved himself to be a decent coach in TUF.

Ah come on, Sonnen was great, if ya really wanna go down the Tool Road then look no further than Dampage and Matt Hughes's coaching efforts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

Ah come on, Sonnen was great, if ya really wanna go down the Tool Road then look no further than Dampage and Matt Hughes's coaching efforts

TUF really changed my opinion of Sonnen, I thought he came across as a really decent bloke and a very good coach.

Rampage really was a disgrace that season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,448 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Lads, I know we all feel the same but just be careful. Some of the posts in here lately would be considered fighter bashing, which is against the charter. Try tone it down a bit to avoid getting carded.
    Cheers.

Yeah but Ronda Rousey is a complete and utter
    -ly nice person
    !!!!!!!

crybaby wrote: »
    TUF really changed my opinion of Sonnen, I thought he came across as a really decent bloke and a very good coach.

Rampage really was a disgrace that season

Yeah, Dampage really was awful, i'll always remember when his fighter was on the ground he just kept shouting 'GET UP, GET UP', don't ya think he wanted to, maybe shouting to him HOW to get up would have worked.

And as for Hughes, his training was just dire, the amount of injuries his team picked up i was amazed they managed to finish the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,135 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

dampage will go down as the worst coach in tuf history
    Mind you I said that about shamrock after his stint so
    anything is possible

And as for Hughes, his training was just dire, the amount of injuries his team picked up i was amazed they managed to finish the season

Not to mention the bloody Bible Study sessions.

"Who am I in the story? I am The Queen!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Gumbi

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Not to mention the bloody Bible Study sessions.

"Who am I in the story? I am The Queen!"

Oh Jesus, I gotta check that out!

Gumbi wrote: »
    Oh Jesus, I gotta check that out!

Wanna real laugh? Check out his autobiography ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭welkin

Hughes is the very epitome of a stupid white thrash American - retardedly religious, and thinks trophy hunting defenseless animals with sniper rifles makes him a big man.
    Plus I'd imagine in his school and college years he was a major bully.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭welkin

Surely Ronda's days are numbered anyway. once female fighters learn to defend the armlock which surely isn't far off.
    She's a one trick pony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭JJayoo

welkin wrote: »
    Surely Ronda's days are numbered anyway. once female fighters learn to defend the armlock which surely isn't far off.
    She's a one trick pony.

100% disagree, she is choosing to use armbars because it has turned into her gimmick. The only fighter that could possible give her a challenge on the ground is Cyborg as she would be capable of landing hard head shots while Ronda works on submissions and Ronda hasn't had to deal with this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

welkin wrote: »
    She's a one trick pony.
    I'm honestly not sure if you are serious or joking about.

If only grappling was as simple as learning a magically armbar defense.
    They aren't getting armbar'd because they don't know how to defend against them (Kaufman was a brown belt for example). Its because they are getting dumped on their back while Ronda maintains a over/underhook. The armbar is exposed before they've hit the mat.

She is hunting for the armbar now, as its a record of sorts that she probably likes. But it's a huge stretch to call her a one trick pony. If anything, the one trick to her success is her judo throws - the armbars are a byproduct of that.