Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Eringobragh I'm stumped and never was that good at I spy... I can haz clue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

But where????? It's amazing that I don't get done for speeding a lot :p

Not that I ever speed of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Little white van tucked in at the top left - How many penalty points have you got! :P

275202.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Little white van tucked in at the top left - How many penalty points have you got! :P

He was there Monday morning also. I go that way to work each morning. :pac:

None amazingly!

Your speed pic1 = 73km/h

Your speed pic2 = 47km/h :P

I put my lack of points down to good brakes when I do eventually see them :pac:

Actually, just remember it was a traffic corps van but in the same location.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

YbFocus wrote: »
    Behind a vito van today lads couldn't have been standard, he gunned it as I was behind him and he had been doing 60mph in slow traffic, all of a sudden it was accelerating as hard as the 530d could!
    Never seen the like of it! Are these things notoriously fast or what?

Just looking there they could be got in 93,116,150 or 204 bhp. Most the ones sold in Ireland would be 93 or 116 bhp. But maybe it was a 2.2 150bhp version. I don't think any of the v6 204 bhp ones were sold in Ireland. With a lot of vans if there empty and driven on the acceleration wouldn't be too bad and infairness most of them company vans are driven to within an inch of there life anyway :pac: I remember driving my dads master 120bhp empty a few times and you would hit 120kph fairly generally fairly torque. Still I can't imagine any if them keeping up with a 530d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,561 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Got a spin in the 200hp vito once, guy was looking to trade it in for a jeep. Those things are mental. There's something great about a fast van.
    I'm a big fan of the Hyundai H1 van too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Bpmull wrote: »
    Just looking there they could be got in 93,116,150 or 204 bhp. Most the ones sold in Ireland would be 93 or 116 bhp. But maybe it was a 2.2 150bhp version. I don't think any of the v6 204 bhp ones were sold in Ireland. With a lot of vans if there empty and driven on the acceleration wouldn't be too bad and infairness most of them company vans are driven to within an inch of there life anyway :pac: I remember driving my dads master 120bhp empty a few times and you would hit 120kph fairly generally fairly torque. Still I can't imagine any if them keeping up with a 530d.

He hit 120 alright but it wasn't kph! I mean this was laughably fast! He smiled and waved as I passed with total disbelief on my face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

None amazingly!

Your speed pic1 = 73km/h

Your speed pic2 = 47km/h :P

I put my lack of points down to good brakes when I do eventually see them :pac:

:D - what can I say :cool:

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Got a spin in the 200hp vito once, guy was looking to trade it in for a jeep. Those things are mental. There's something great about a fast van.
    I'm a big fan of the Hyundai H1 van too.

So they did sell them in Ireland. Probably rare enough. I'd imagine there quick. The 170 bhp 4 motion transporter aren't bad either although probably not as quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,561 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bpmull wrote: »
    So they did sell them in Ireland. Probably rare enough. I'd imagine there quick. The 170 bhp 4 motion transporter aren't bad either although probably not as quick.

This was an import, yer man was in software or something, wasn't impressed with the 160hp the Landcruiser had or the pittance I was offering him for it.

He hit 120 alright but it wasn't kph! I mean this was laughably fast! He smiled and waved as I passed with total disbelief on my face!

Sounds seriously quick. Sounds like the driver has fun everyday with people trying to keep up with him. I know a guy with a completly standard looking Laguna 99 I think. I mean completly standard looking inside and out identical to any other Laguna. But this one has a 172 Clio engine. He has serious craic in it. He said the look on peoples face when they can't keep up with him in there high power cars and of course the boy racers.

Brilliant, I love a good sleeper :)
    Not a rare car but one with a transplant, kudos to them boys!

Only problem with the vito would be it disintegrating at speed. They seem to be some of the worse afflicted Mercs by rust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I spy with my little eye...something beginning with g

275198.jpg

YEP I mentioned this a few pages back, at East wall. Its part of the Road safety week, there are vans everywhere this week. I take this road going to work and in 5 years I have only seen 2 cops with hairdryers in ths location.

Brilliant, I love a good sleeper :)
    Not a rare car but one with a transplant, kudos to them boys!

I know there is something class about a car that looks standard and isn't even more so with vans. Maybe it's just the suprise the fact your not expecting it to be quick.

There's a pretty famous Cosworth transit in England that is just nuts :)
    and the old Ford super vans, although they ain't sleepers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Dartz

Had an interesting day at work...

There's a property on our industrial estate which I thought was unused, and had parked near it for 12 months or more (Along with everyone else, for that matter. Trucks, jeeps, vans, anyone coming and going.). Until a Garda knocked on the door letting me know I was blocking someone's entrance and they'd called the cops to ask me to move it ....

Overreaction much?

I mean, they could've just knocked in themselves and I'd have moved it. The building was shuttered and locked - and had been for a long time. I've been reliably told that the owner was spotted marching up and down the estate counting out parking spaces and the like beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

In fairness why should they come looking for you, an entrance is usually marked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

penalty points I got for alleged speeding in August have been removed. I paid the fine got a letter saying points were added to my licence and got a letter a few days ago saying that they are now removed. Will I get my money back?
    What happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Katunga wrote: »
    penalty points I got for alleged speeding in August have been removed. I paid the fine got a letter saying points were added to my licence and got a letter a few days ago saying that they are now removed. Will I get my money back?
    What happened?

There was something on the news a little while back about speed limits being reduced for road works without the correct paper work beign filed. I believe all points had to be revoked.

Edit:
    This is the story actually http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/speedlimit-blunder-sees-1306-drivers-get-points-struck-off-29563282.html

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

What happened?

You were caught in a zone where the posted limit wasnt legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

pred racer wrote: »
    You were caught in a zone where the posted limit wasnt legal.

It was a 50kpH in Ballyforan Roscommon my alleged speed was 64 KpH.
    Will I get my money back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

It was a 50kpH in Ballyforan Roscommon my alleged speed was 64 KpH.
    Will I get my money back?

Yes, or at least thats what seems to be happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Is it wrong that I really want this?

I've wanted one for ages now... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

CianRyan wrote: »
    Is it wrong that I really want this?

I've wanted one for ages now... :eek:

I thought you were extremely anti auto.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I thought you were extremely anti auto.:confused:

I am. :p
    And anto anything that's not either high revving or heavily turbocharged but I just have a thing for those.

Total guilty pleasure.