Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

dgt wrote: »
    That makes 2 of us.... Wait I'm a year younger :pac: Wouldn't mind a good thrash around in a field sometimes (have thought of a demolition derby) but can never seem to get the time! :(

Or a empty field!:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Scortho wrote: »
    Or a empty field!:(

I still have to find out who's field that is.... The hill would make it fairly interesting to say the least, I've driven down it before! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Next meet is at mine, I have ample room and scramblers for all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

Dunno what you're eating :pac:

I would but I can't afford to pay for parking, so i'd to give it a miss this week to my great discontent
    Where is your college again? I can't remember exactly :o

It's hardly DIT is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I feel your pain. I love nothing more than having my car in town and hopping into it straight after college, but I can't afford to run it as a daily hack during the week.
    It was never bought as a daily though.
    barura wrote: »
    Man, that sucks. :(
    Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    That sucks man :( Are you still in town or did you get home?
    dgt wrote: »
    That a load of arse dude..... If I were about I'd have given you a lift back!
    YbFocus wrote: »
    That's crap man, parking must be a cnut! Parking when I was in college in Athlone was €10 for the year!

Oh and here's something some of you may get a kick out of but we have a strange sense of humour up this part so maybe I'll look stupid :)

Friend of mine is very good/brave at the filming and good at editing so made a video with the volvo 340 thats here and this is the result!

The 340 meshed with various gymkhana video's sounds, giving a kind of silly parody :rolleyes:

Awaiting being shot down and banned :)

Thanks lads :) Yeah I'm home safe and sound now haha, also that video is mental :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Thanks lads :) Yeah I'm home safe and sound now haha, also that video is mental :D

Where in Kildare are you travelling in from?

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Where in Kildare are you travelling in from?

Just out past the curragh boss

That Green N7 bus will leave you to the Red Cow, it stops in Newbridge

Indeed it does, but there's a bus stop up from my house and it stops at ormond quay :)

Ya but I thought that bus fecked you up lol

No no just today it did :pac:

Ah I see :)

Ah I see :)

-mumbles profanities at bus eireann- :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Ill bring me quad;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

pred racer wrote: »
    Ill bring me quad;)

Deal :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,692 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Dgt you were hardly in Limerick the week before last?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'm in! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I'm in! :)

Mind your motox knees old man :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

€200 to go on my dad's insurance 'till February. That should see me enough time to get something new for myself. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Mind your motox knees old man :P

Be grand! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Wouldnt trust the bus eireanns from Kildare, they always seem an hour late when I have to get them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Wouldnt trust the bus eireanns from Kildare, they always seem an hour late when I have to get them!

Thats some name change there dude :D

pred racer wrote: »
    Thats some name change there dude :D
    In fairness I stole it from a list in a humor forum :D:P

Just went by linders in chapelizod and see that they're changing from toyota to Renault and Dacia.
    Are toyota doing they badly in Ireland?
    I thought the garage out on the north side was Renault while the one at chapelizod was staying toyota.
    Showroom was full of renaults as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭h3000

Just went by linders in chapelizod and see that they're changing from toyota to Renault and Dacia.
    Are toyota doing they badly in Ireland?
    I thought the garage out on the north side was Renault while the one at chapelizod was staying toyota.
    Showroom was full of renaults as well.

Toyota are the second biggest selling car behind VW.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

OSI wrote: »
    Bah, I think the cam follower is going on the GTI. Slowly starting to regret buying a high mileage car.

Sure once you bought one with FSH, the difference in price between a high miler and a low miler should cover the wear and tear items?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Yep, knocked a solid 2k off the price. Still it's the effort :pac:

What kind of mileage is on it??? Must be crazy high or probably just a faulty lifter from day 1.

h3000 wrote: »
    Toyota are the second biggest selling car behind VW.

I thought as much which is why I was shocked to see the showroom full of renaults as I went past. They've been toyota for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Just shy of 140,000km. The Cam Followers are a known weak spot in the FSI though. Guys in the states having to replace them almost every 30k miles, which is insane.

Like so:

mk5fuelpumpcamfollower.jpg

50 quid for what amounts to an oversized thimble. FFS.

Wow that's shocking :eek: looks like you did well to get 140k km out of them relatively. Is there updated/improved oem or aftermarket ones available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

At least you know what it is though