Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    This has been done a million times dude - doubt it will ever happen and I can see why to be fair.
    It's cropped up time and time again - Basically you're affiliating yourself with boards, which if you drive like an asshole then reflects badly on them and so on so forth.

In short, It won't ever happen.

Ahh well then when you put it that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Just a random thought but how many people would be interested in getting a boards sticker for their car, one to go in on the window or something? I seen Ded_zebra's sig and it got me thinking, could have our user names on them or something like that?

Basically what we're saying is that allowing you to have one would more than likely close the site :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    Basically what we're saying is that allowing you to have one would more than likely close the site :D

Well that's the last thing I want! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,588 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I remember as a child I used to make my own stickers. As I recall they looked sh!t so I imagine any effort at a boards sticker would end up the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

It's cropped up time and time again - Basically you're affiliating yourself with boards, which if you drive like an asshole then reflects badly on them and so on so forth.

In short, It won't ever happen.

Me arse.

I have a boards tshirt. ... im gonna use it to rob the local tesco.

Say what ye now ?

The cyclists have a full boards outfit. .. what about if they go breaking lights etc !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Me arse.

Say what ye now ?

The cyclists have a full boards outfit. .. what about if they go breaking lights etc !
    Rabble rabble, cyclists rabble rabble:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Absolutely nothing stopping you from getting one made up by a vinyl sticker maker, just don't try and sell them/advertise them.
    It is bollocks though, I don't see where the admin are drawing these lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Me arse.

Say what ye now ?

Exactly, if the cyclists have them and I/loads of people have the T shirt then why can't there be a car sticker. I mean like the people from ah could go on a night out all in the T-shirt and cause trouble. The only time motors people are together is at meets and any meet that I have been at has been a very tame event.

Where did ye get the tshirt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Exactly, if the cyclists have them and I/loads of people have the T shirt then why can't there be a car sticker. I mean like the people from ah could go on a night out all in the T-shirt and cause trouble. The only time motors people are together is at meets and any meet that I have been at has been a very tame event.

I've been saying it for ages and had it n my sig for a while but got gobbed off each time.

I say yes to the idea

I can't be arsed right now to start a thread but someone should start s thread on it for a proper discussion instead of General chat thread

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I've been saying it for ages and had it n my sig for a while but got gobbed off each time.

I say yes to the idea

I can't be arsed right now to start a thread but someone should start s thread on it for a proper discussion instead of General chat thread

What's the point though? It's been vetoed multiple times in the past.

Stheno wrote: »
    What's the point though? It's been vetoed multiple times in the past.

If they can make a very inactive forum for bus enthusiasts or bird watching then it wouldn't be much for a sticker for one of the biggest forums with a demand for this.

If it's available then people will get it

I want a boards tshirt now, feck the sticker!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Ichisaq wrote: »
    Where did ye get the tshirt?

From the cycling forum! :P

Anyone that can't see why it's a bad idea would probably contribute to why it's a bad idea.

Dafuq you want a boards.ie sticker on your car for anyway? Anytime I see it on a cyclist I automatically think 'dick'. Don't y'all do the same!?! :D

Anyone that can't see why it's a bad idea would probably contribute to why it's a bad idea.

Dafuq you want a boards.ie sticker on your car for anyway? Anytime I see it on a cyclist I automatically think 'dick'. Don't y'all do the same!?! :D

Ah right, I probably wouldnt be welcomed there so. Nvm

Saying that every time you see a cyclist you think dick is like saying that every time you see a car you think dick :confused:

I would like one and tbh I drive in a very sensible way, I very seldom speed or drive in an antisocial manor. My car is always taxed, insured and NCTed. What's the problem?

The only thing I dont like is the double standards, cyclists can have a boards thing but not the motorists?

Saying that every time you see a cyclist you think dick is like saying that every time you see a car you think dick :confused:

I would like one and tbh I drive in a very sensible way, I very seldom speed or drive in an antisocial manor. My car is always taxed, insured and NCTed. What's the problem?

TBH every time I see a cyclist I think that! :D

Some cyclists may break traffic lights and block drivers by riding two abreast. Drivers rarely break traffic lights but groups can get giddy and end up doing doughnuts and burnouts. I think it's fairly obvious why boards.ie would not want to be associated with same. ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

THere was a competition last year to design a tshirt then it went on general sale.

I'd not put a sticker on my car even if it was available. Enough stalking goes on here without that as an aid!

TBH every time I see a cyclist I think that! :D

Some cyclists may break traffic lights and block drivers by riding two abreast. Drivers rarely break traffic lights but groups can get giddy and end up doing doughnuts and burnouts. I think it's fairly obvious why boards.ie would not want to be associated with same. ;)

You have a very narrow minded view of cyclists:pac: I presume you don't post much in cycling :p

What I'm saying is that the meets are never like that (definitely none that I have been to) so what would the problem be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,147 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

i'd put the sticker on me bike!

Have you got the boards cycling gear?

I've never noticed any cyclists with this gear, and where I live is infested with them, especially at the weekend, hogging the roads in their groups :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

What I'm saying is that the meets are never like that (definitely none that I have been to) so what would the problem be?

There has been quite a bit of spastic-acting at/on the way to the meets in the past. Say for instance, lads in convoy going to a meet, they get excited on the motorway and start acting the clown. They all have boards stickers on their cars so boards will be associated with this behaviour. If there's no stickers, they can do what they want and boards isn't associated with it.

Yes, the same could be said for the cycling forum but as we all know, young lads in cars is viewed with a level of contempt in this country due to all the clowns in their tin cans. No one looks at a cyclist this way no matter what they do (outside of Dublin of course :P )

It does not matter how angelic a driver we all think we are, this will never happen at an official level.

There has been quite a bit of spastic-acting at/on the way to the meets in the past. Say for instance, lads in convoy going to a meet, they get excited on the motorway and start acting the clown. They all have boards stickers on their cars so boards will be associated with this behaviour. If there's no stickers, they can do what they want and boards isn't associated with it.

It does not matter how angelic a driver we all think we are, this will never happen at an official level.

It could be something subtle though like the o with the eyes (like in my sig)

thread for discussing it here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=86811802#post86811802

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I've yet to see a cyclist going 120mph....

Some drivers on here though...*ahem*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I've seen a few (ho)motorcyclists doing that speed though :pac:

You have a very narrow minded view of cyclists:pac: I presume you don't post much in cycling :p

Commuter cyclists aren't great on the road. Cycling enthusiasts, e.g. boards.ie jersey wearers, have a lot more sense on the road. Giving a boards.ie sticker to 'any' driver is a bit like putting a boards.ie jersey on every cyclist commuting in and out of town (Dublin Biko!) every day.

Pretty soon you would end up with everyone thinking the whole community are d1cks coz only the d1cks stand out! ;)

Commuter cyclists aren't great on the road.

Not to mention the Dublin Bike scheme users :mad:

Commuter cyclists aren't great on the road. Cycling enthusiasts, e.g. boards.ie jersey wearers, have a lot more sense on the road. Giving a boards.ie sticker to 'any' driver is a bit like putting a boards.ie jersey on every cyclist commuting in and out of town (Dublin Biko!) every day.

Pretty soon you would end up with everyone thinking the whole community are d1cks coz only the d1cks stand out! ;)

IMO lots of cyclist enthusiasts are just as bad. There is a group of them that cycle up my way on the weekends and they are totally obnoxious. They cycle 3-4 abreast and maybe 5 deep (if that makes sense) and generally make life difficult for all other road users.

Some drivers on here though...*ahem*

Yeah I agree.

I've yet to see a cyclist do anything exciting at all.

It's a Good point you're making though. They are all quite dull, I agree.