Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

OSI wrote: »
    Annnnnddd.... VW say my car isn't covered under the Coil Pack recall...

Did they say why?
    Sucks anyway, but atleast you were expecting it;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Does that make a fart noise? Or what effect does it have?

OSI that sucks massive unicorn wang :( how much are to coil packs?

Yep farting noise :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭tossy

I was just thinking of a rubber glove on each wiper and fold in the passengers side mirror but whatever you want :D

Disclaimer: I didn't touch the car ( yet :pac:) but wouldn't mind a chat and a look at it if he is around :)

It's not the girl guides,if you are going to prank do it right lol

An Iveco Eurocargo just charged up through Slane, either with a straight pipe or a knackered exhaust. There was an epic boooooooo as he changed gears :cool:

Thats made my day! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

About €27-50 each depending on what quality I want.

That was the dealer, he looked up the reg and chassis number for any field action items, and said nothing came up so basically you're on your own.

Trying to decide if I can justify a set of red top Audi R8 coil packs instead of one regular auld GTI one :pac:

That's not too bad tbh I thought they might have been something crazy for a GTI. I meant to ask you this ages ago but I didn't. Did I by any chance see you at st Patricks cathedral Tuesday or Wednesday last week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

dgt wrote: »
    An Iveco Eurocargo just charged up through Slane, either with a straight pipe or a knackered exhaust. There was an epic boooooooo as he changed gears :cool:

Thats made my day! :D

Exhaust brake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Thursday evening/Friday daytime maybe? Would have been the only times I was around there.

It might have been Thursday alright. Didn't get a chance to see if the front lip was red or not.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Exhaust brake?

Nope as it was charging uphill, I know me cooos from the muffly fart sounds from the exhaust brake :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

dgt wrote: »
    Nope as it was charging uphill, I know me cooos from the muffly fart sounds from the exhaust brake :p

Ah cool, I know you said he was changing gears but he coulda been down-shifting too which is why I thought exhaust brake. It was mostly the 'Booooooooooooo' bit though! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ichisaq wrote: »
    With or sans bulge?:P

Sans bulge!
    What floor? We should leave a message for him :p
    It was 1a I do believe :) Although I'm not too sure it was actually his

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Annnnnddd.... VW say my car isn't covered under the Coil Pack recall...
    PM Fizman about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Offs

It seems from two weeks time I'll need a fob to get in and out of my estate however we've never been given one.

Any cheap solutions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Offs

It seems from two weeks time I'll need a fob to get in and out of my estate however we've never been given one.

Any cheap solutions?

If you need a fob, it's not an "estate" unless you have it all to yourself.

Marcusm wrote: »
    If you need a fob, it's not an "estate" unless you have it all to yourself.

Sorry I'm not posh enough to call it a private development :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Sorry I'm not posh enough to call it a private development :p

Not sure what a public development would be; I guess you live in a gated community - the sort that like to keep others out. My brother lived in one in Dublin in the early 90s; I think they wanted it to be posh but as 1/2 of the places fronted onto the DART line, much of it was student heaven. The gates had to be opened by keypad which would have made it a faff if he had a car - he passed his test last week at 43 after less than a year's driving. Funny thing is an uncle of ours bought one of them as a Dublin pad at the height of the boom. Not a nice loss to take if he ever sold. More of the pension savings down the drain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Not sure what a public development would be; I guess you live in a gated community - the sort that like to keep others out. My brother lived in one in Dublin in the early 90s; I think they wanted it to be posh but as 1/2 of the places fronted onto the DART line, much of it was student heaven. The gates had to be opened by keypad which would have made it a faff if he had a car - he passed his test last week at 43 after less than a year's driving. Funny thing is an uncle of ours bought one of them as a Dublin pad at the height of the boom. Not a nice loss to take if he ever sold. More of the pension savings down the drain.

Could have been worse, could have been anglo paper:eek:

Need a stat but almost afraid to ask how much it'll cost.... :eek:

Exactly where was this as it sounds EXACTLY like where I'm living. Would it be named after the most expensive square on the monopoly board?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Basically I want to get 1/4 inch ratchet set. They seem to be very handy my dad has a very good c.k one that I use a good bit. But I'd like to get my own I found this one in halfords and has everything I want specially the torx bits which seem to come in very handy. What's halfords tools like ? Would anyone recommend a different set or is this as good as it gets for 30 euro? Finally does anyone know how the axa discount card works i found out my dad has one would this give me discount in halfords ?
    http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_177537_langId_-1_categoryId_212410

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

If your only doing your own work there perfect man, they take abuse and haven't broke on me :)
    I think they are good quality tools for the work I do on my own car and family cars.

YbFocus wrote: »
    If your only doing your own work there perfect man, they take abuse and haven't broke on me :)
    I think they are good quality tools for the work I do on my own car and family cars.

That's all I'll be using it for just light work on my own car and maybe the odd family car. I think it would be handy to have one and every time I go looking for my dads he's either gone off with it or it's lost at least I can put this one in my boot and know I have it handy. And for 30 euro can't really go wrong.

I got one for christmas man, it had every tool any of us lads could ever want.
    It was about €130 at the time or that and was a chest with drawers and all.
    Just that you'd get way more if you can outlay that much.
    Where you based by the way as I have a contact in Portlaoise ;)

@Ybfocus that sounds good alright for 130 euro. But I just need a small set to leave in my car. My dad has a good few of all those bigger sets so I can use them if I need them. I just want to get a small handy little set if you know what I mean. I'm in Kilkenny by the way.

Ah right sure they'll do fine then sure, I don't even know if they have them anymore :)
    Ah right you ain't a million miles from me really :)
    Anyway the tools will be 100% for what you want to do with them. Ask about the guarantee because on the expert ones I think that there is lifetime cover on them... Again could be wrong so don't go giving out to me if you look like a silly billy :D

Grand thanks. I'll see if they have any left in Kilkenny at the weekend when I'm home from college. There is no major rush anyway. Not the end of the world if I dont get one for a month or two. Thanks for the help Ybfocus good to know there fairly decent tools and will do me for the bit they will be used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Haven't seen one of these for sale around before, and in Roscommon of all places!! http://www.godirect-cars.com/details.php?id=107

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Got the tax off the road stuff for the C5 done earlier in Swords police station the female cop was lovely, told us she was sick of stamping forms and they'd to replace the ink in the stamper :D

Stheno wrote: »
    Got the tax off the road stuff for the C5 done earlier in Swords police station the female cop was lovely, told us she was sick of stamping forms and they'd to replace the ink in the stamper :D

Legend has it that there was close to 500 people outside kildare coco today

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Legend has it that there was close to 500 people outside kildare coco today

I just stuck it in the post :p

Stheno wrote: »
    I just stuck it in the post :p

Ooooh look at me and my brain! :pac: