Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

naughto wrote: »
    off to balla tomorrow with two cows
    then to drink the profits in the big smoke on sunday and all week to celebrate us winning sam

Do ya think Mayo will win? And why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

What is the stand name?

We are Probooks Ltd t/a Farmaccounts.ie
    Stand 447, Row Y, Block 3.

We are beside ACC Bank, Samsung and near JCB, Toyota etc

We're in the sheep tent. Vendeen.
    Only have to do a few hours but it gets us in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

Bizzum wrote: »
    yes iam very confident that we will win but a lot of things need to go or way.the first 10 mins will be crucial for us we have to go at them with every thing we have.
    if you seen the 1st half against meath they where not able for them when they ran at there back line.dub have prob the best forwards in the crountry but i feel we have the best back line in the crountry.or mid filed is very strong but if we have to keep clukton to the long kick outs we will have an edvantage her.
    they will go short with there kick outs but if or forwards are standing on there backs toes as kerry did it makes them very uncomfortable playing out of defence.
    the other side of this is if we play higgns as sweeper then we cant push
    up on there forwards.
    its going to be very close have me tickets got and cannot wait for the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

off to balla tomorrow with two cows
    then to drink the profits in the big smoke on sunday and all week to celebrate us winning sam

If It'd mean mayo would win, I'd give you one of my bullocks to sell and you could drink the money too. Really hope Mayo can do the business. .....

yes iam very confident that we will win but a lot of things need to go or way.the first 10 mins will be crucial for us we have to go at them with every thing we have.
    if you seen the 1st half against meath they where not able for them when they ran at there back line.dub have prob the best forwards in the crountry but i feel we have the best back line in the crountry.or mid filed is very strong but if we have to keep clukton to the long kick outs we will have an edvantage her.
    they will go short with there kick outs but if or forwards are standing on there backs toes as kerry did it makes them very uncomfortable playing out of defence.
    the other side of this is if we play higgns as sweeper then we cant push
    up on there forwards.
    its going to be very close have me tickets got and cannot wait for the game.

The games you mean, it wouldn't do to forget your minor team! I think they've a right chance.
    The more I think about the Senior game the more I see Mayo winning. I expect a cracking game when the nerves settle. Kerry really showed us how to go about troubling Dublin, and only for two point attempts going short and ending up in the net Kerry could have won. They didn't though and the Dubs did show some metal to keep pluggin away at their own game.
    I'm thinking O Shea could have a massive influence on the game ably backed up by a very decent Mayo half back line.
    Whats the news from inside the county on O Connor? Will he start? Is he training away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

ya hes starting better to start him then having to risk using two subs to repalce him.he has being training very well and has played in full contact AvrsB games
    or bench will be the winning of the game.
    i can see a third midfielder coming in to play at some stage as in barry moran(i could be way off the mark on that but we will see)
    dillion on brenann will be a very good match up,brenann confidence has to be low after only playing 20mins against kerry.it will suite dillion to be on him cos brenann does not wander all over the pitch meaning less running and racing.
    i have a feeling he will shine on sunday,he is not a the player he was yrs agao but he is very good a setting up o connor and has being doing it with his club,(dillion,o connor in same club)all yr.
    iam nervous i can tell you that the yrs off loosing is still fresh in or minds its heartbreaking loosing a final but to loose 7 i think it is well it can break a man.

ya hes starting better to start him then having to risk using two subs to repalce him.he has being training very well and has played in full contact AvrsB games
    or bench will be the winning of the game.
    i can see a third midfielder coming in to play at some stage as in barry moran(i could be way off the mark on that but we will see)
    dillion on brenann will be a very good match up,brenann confidence has to be low after only playing 20mins against kerry.it will suite dillion to be on him cos brenann does not wander all over the pitch meaning less running and racing.
    i have a feeling he will shine on sunday,he is not a the player he was yrs agao but he is very good a setting up o connor and has being doing it with his club,(dillion,o connor in same club)all yr.
    iam nervous i can tell you that the yrs off loosing is still fresh in or minds its heartbreaking loosing a final but to loose 7 i think it is well it can break a man.

Good to hear Cillian o C is motoring well. I'm sure the dubs will test the shoulder early on!
    Brennan was exploited the last day, but by no lesser than the Gooch, it's no fault in any man to have problems handling the Gooch.
    History is a funny thing alright and can be a difficult cross to bear but at some stage a team has to make it's own history and push on and win the thing. Mayo are good enough to do that, but that doesn't mean they will do it. Finals are funny things, in a way all things go out the window, and I've seen it many times over the years it's often the last man you think of that does something special that can swing it.
    From what I see of Mayo this year, they have everything they need to win it, but that's no guarantee of anything. They need to tough it out and come out the right side of it. Hopefully they will. Time will tell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Bizzum wrote: »

The poor bastards luck has to change sometime, I hope they do

hugo29 wrote: »
    The poor bastards luck has to change sometime, I hope they do

Id say there are at least 30 counties backing mayo. ..... as you say, thevpoor bastards luck has to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Id say there are at least 30 counties backing mayo. ..... as you say, thevpoor bastards luck has to change.

Deserving something and being good enough to pull it off are very different.
    I'd love to see Mayo win, but from the little I've seen of both teams tells me the Dubs have the upper hand.

bbam wrote: »
    Deserving something and being good enough to pull it off are very different.
    I'd love to see Mayo win, but from the little I've seen of both teams tells me the Dubs have the upper hand.

That's why ive my 50 yo yos on the dub. But Id still love to see mayo win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Mayo shouldn't fear Dublin, or fear their own history of failure in finals.
    1. This looks the best prepared Mayo team in a long time. Physically fit and tough. Big tackles. Young Harte of Tyrone can vouch for that!!
    Look mentally tough also.

2. Dublin. Considering their GAA population, number of big clubs, financial resources, support and not least the media support, their history of failure in finals is worse than Mayo.

3. This Mayo team experience in Croker will stand to them this year.

Come on Mayo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

jaysus just dehorned an ERE bull calf about 2 week old, now no doubt he will be a good calf but jebus he was as wild a bastard as i ever handled,the calf crate earned its keep anyway. have a few limos this year and im not used to them, granted they have be born outside and have no handling got yet really but they are very wild

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

jaysus just dehorned an ERE bull calf about 2 week old, now no doubt he will be a good calf but jebus he was as wild a bastard as i ever handled,the calf crate earned its keep anyway. have a few limos this year and im not used to them, granted they have be born outside and have no handling got yet really but they are very wild

Welcome to my world :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

as long as he didnt dehorn you ,vander we are getting old face it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Welcome to my world :(

you have being keeping a very low profile as of late Redzer:D, you busy calving?

leg wax wrote: »
    as long as he didnt dehorn you ,vander we are getting old face it:D
    true dat ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Had a bull calf from CWI few weeks back. Absolutely MENTAL fkuker.
    Off a pet of a lim heifer.

why do FRS get a locked sticky dedicated to themselves a private business?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Why are ould fellas so effing stubborn. Just figured a way for mine to make around 12k tax free and without considering it, no was the the answer.

tell us all my friend.

Planting a piece of land Bob, I wouldn't mind but he's always bitching about the access to the place.

I taught you had something very enterprising lined up for him. Auld boys and land are a difficult split. god only knows the amount of slavery family might have put into that land in times gone by that still registers with your auld man. Planting maybe considered failure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Buy the land off him

Had a bull calf from CWI few weeks back. Absolutely MENTAL fkuker.
    Off a pet of a lim heifer.

had a cwi bull last year..he was quiet enough so its hard to know with them, big animal but stayed very plain

I taught you had something very enterprising lined up for him. Auld boys and land are a difficult split. god only knows the amount of slavery family might have put into that land in times gone by that still registers with your auld man. Planting maybe considered failure

It's rough SAC boggy type land Bob, not able to do Jack Sh1t with it otherwise without ministerial consent. The combined SFP, other grants + sales off it wouldn't come near the forestry amount. He was the first of our family on that piece of land so there's no huge history to it.
    moy83 wrote: »
    Buy the land off him

Lol, my sister came to me once and asked what Dad would say if she offered to buy the house off him on that land. He gave her the answer I gave her, "no way".

Look it, it's his land at the heel of the hunt but it's very frustrating when there's handy money being left behind from my POV. I wasn't looking for a schilling of it, parents are getting on now and it'd be a help to them in the long run.

That's my bitching done for the year :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

It's rough SAC boggy type land Bob, not able to do Jack Sh1t with it otherwise without ministerial consent. The combined SFP, other grants + sales off it wouldn't come near the forestry amount. He was the first of our family on that piece of land so there's no huge history to it.

Lol, my sister came to me once and asked what Dad would say if she offered to buy the house off him on that land. He gave her the answer I gave her, "no way".

Look it, it's his land at the heel of the hunt but it's very frustrating when there's handy money being left behind from my POV. I wasn't looking for a schilling of it, parents are getting on now and it'd be a help to them in the long run.

That's my bitching done for the year :o

There was a crowd at the oughterard show claiming to get the forestry premiuns on that type land so the old lad told me to try them out on ten acres . I rang them and gave yer man the folio number , he was to be out within a week . No sign since and thats over a month ago at least . Id say they are just sniffing out what they want and still leaving the boggy stuff after them .

moy83 wrote: »
    There was a crowd at the oughterard show claiming to get the forestry premiuns on that type land so the old lad told me to try them out on ten acres . I rang them and gave yer man the folio number , he was to be out within a week . No sign since and thats over a month ago at least . Id say they are just sniffing out what they want and still leaving the boggy stuff after them .

Could be the case, who was at the show? This was a presentation done at a Mayo IFA meeting there a couple of weeks back, they'll have a stand at the ploughing so I'll go for a nosey. They'd do a site assessment and take care of a lot of the paperwork prep work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

you have being keeping a very low profile as of late Redzer:D, you busy calving?

Fighting Cork lads on the GAA forum, No time for farming :P;)

Handbags Redzer, the real battle lies ahead!