Most annoying mispronunciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

tallus wrote: »
    Because aluminum is an example of incorrect spelling ?

Except it is not. Guess what trivial thing annoys me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Except it is not. Guess what trivial thing annoys me :)

The professor who originally named it first called it alumina, then aluminum, he settled for aluminium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Chigargo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

tallus wrote: »
    The professor who originally named it first called it alumina, then aluminum, he settled for aluminium.

The Americans stayed with aluminum and the British choose the newer variation.

Alumina is oxidised aluminium and is still used.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

People pronouncing their "th"'s p1ss me right off.

This is IRELAND. Pronouncing th's should be punishable by corkscrew insertion to the nipples, and deportation to the world's most magnetic mountain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

"fill-ums"

No... Its pronounced FILMS you cousin-lovin b@$tard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Chara1001

Luddy instead of lorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Umbreal

Gurdles instead of girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

volka

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭lovesfatgirls

chimley
    hospidal
    hostipal

when an american says caribbean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Film / Fil -um
    Peugeot / Peeyoujoe
    Slippery / Slippy

Empty / Empy

The list is endless....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

Listen to Bryan Dobson any eveneen on the news pronounceen any word endeen in 'ing' as 'een' ...ugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Tiv = to

e.g , He went tiv his aunty's house..

Aunty = aunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Wollongong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

I have heard people from Northern Ireland pronounce 'to' as 'till'. "she went till the shop.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭BOHtox

To many to mention.
    RTE seem to be in the process of inventing their own dialect.
    Fin-ance.
    Inn-iss-ee-ah-tiv
    say-z

ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

You sound like my uppity, elocution obsessed sixth class teacher. That's not a mispronunciation, it's how people with Irish accents say those words.

Delighted nobody thanked this. 'Ye' isn't a mispronunciation, it's a colloquialism.

People did thank it. 'ye' is an abomination. Only beaten by 'sangwich'. Why, Lord, Why?
    And then there is the missing g in ing...Hurlin, mornin, diggin, washin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

LorMal wrote: »
    People did thank it. 'ye' is an abomination. Only beaten by 'sangwich'. Why, Lord, Why?

You... might want to go back and check when my post appeared. At that time, there was no thanks.

I should also point out that that abomination appears in this very website's motto, or at least did until very recently. It's not an abomination, it's Hiberno-English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Raekwon wrote: »
    Everybody from outside the pale saying "Ye" instead of "Yous"
    Fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Yup, it's standard in Hiberno-English. It has an entry in the OED noting the fact, even though the OED doesn't seek to document Hiberno-English comprehensively. And of course it used to be standard in England too; it turns up all the time in Shakespeare. It wasn't eclipsed by "you" until the end of the sixteenth century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Not so a mispronunciation, but more so the spelling;

Your / You're - e.g. "Your stupid" / "You're ma"

There / Their / They're - e.g. "There car" / "Their he goes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭silly

Should OF instead of Should HAVE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

BeerWolf wrote: »

silly wrote: »

Abusers of these should be charged with federal offences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Jimmy444

LordSutch wrote: »
    Never ever heard the 'R' pronounced in either a British accent or a Gibraltarian accent!

Here's one of many examples > https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lji7k8eTeCM&feature=player_detailpage

The English are saving up their 'R's to use them in Australyer, Canader and Chiner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

grrrrr - misspelling from a mispronunciation - without text-based social media, these would be the private hatred of teachers. Now we can all get out the red pens. :)

I don't really like the US pronunciation of tu/du, e.g. "toob" for "tube", but saw a good one tweeted on the Miss America winner:

"with all do respect"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭donegal_man

BeerWolf wrote: »

I would add - "mute" for "moot", "ect" for "etc" and a colleague of mine who wouldn't disagree with something "per say"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Yup, it's standard in Hiberno-English. It has an entry in the OED noting the fact, even though the OED doesn't seek to document Hiberno-English comprehensively. And of course it used to be standard in England too; it turns up all the time in Shakespeare. It wasn't eclipsed by "you" until the end of the sixteenth century.

Nah. In Elizabethan times 'th' was written as 'y'. Hence, 'the' was written as Ye'... As in 'Ye Merry Wives of Windsor' put pronounced 'the'.
    Nothing to do with the plural of you, which is you.
    Hiberno English. Meh. Is just wrong English. Youse, yiz, yer, ye etc are all listed as Hiberno English..but that just means bad English spoken in some parts of Ireland.
    Did we get to Sangwich?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭kavanada

Saint Stephensississis Day.

Grrrrrr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

kavanada wrote: »
    Saint Stephensississis Day.

Grrrrrr.

exactly, everyone knows the correct pronunciation is "Boxing Day" ; )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

LorMal wrote: »
    Nah. In Elizabethan times 'th' was written as 'y'. Hence, 'the' was written as Ye'... As in 'Ye Merry Wives of Windsor' put pronounced 'the'.
    Nothing to do with the plural of you, which is you.
    Hiberno English. Meh. Is just wrong English. Youse, yiz, yer, ye etc are all listed as Hiberno English..but that just means bad English spoken in some parts of Ireland.
    Did we get to Sangwich?

Are you serious?