Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Semi final in the championship in ten days time. If we lose it will be a name change to "retiredhurler". Win and its only one more game.

Are you on the team? Me in my half befuddled state before college here.

Anyone ever timed the walk to college before? I've to leave in t-.....9 mins.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Kovu Murr wrote: »

Anyone ever timed the walk to college before? I've to leave in t-.....9 mins.:pac:

Get going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Kovu Murr wrote: »

those were the days when you used moan that you had 3, nine o clock starts a week :( that were more often than not missed

Never had the pleasure of college

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Never had the pleasure of college

dont worry there is only two good things about college, the women and the cheap beer, after that its not all its hyped up to be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

hugo29 wrote: »
    dont worry there is only two good things about college, the women and the cheap beer, after that its not all its hyped up to be

jebus i wish i could turn the clock back a few years and go back to college, best years of your life surely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I was at a book launch last night. It was compiled and written by a friend and his wife.

It's an account of a year on their large suckler farm located in Ballacolla Co Laois. It's not a farming manual but the photos and commentry are excellent.

It includes te good the bad and the ugly. Good explanations for urbanites, pics of animals hanging in athe cold room. They went through an IBR out break in 2012 and shows the animals that made it and not. It is a real look at the farm not a real sanitised version.

If you are into farming it would be a lovely book to have

Writing and photos by Robin and Ann Talbot. You may be familiar wit Robin from his colum in the Farming Indo. Ann was also editor of the Farming Indo

Thought we had good land in KK but Ballaacolla is among the best you'll see

'A year on our farm' by Ann and Robin Talbot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

delaval wrote: »
    I was at a book launch last night. It was compiled and written by a friend and his wife.

It's an account of a year on their large suckler farm located in Ballacolla Co Laois. It's not a farming manual but the photos and commentry are excellent.

It includes te good the bad and the ugly. Good explanations for urbanites, pics of animals hanging in athe cold room. They went through an IBR out break in 2012 and shows the animals that made it and not. It is a real look at the farm not a real sanitised version.

Writing and photos by Robin and Ann Talbot. You may be familiar wit Robin from his colum in the Farming Indo. Ann was also editor of the Farming Indo

Can it be got on line . Sounds good

Get yer book and eat at home were my lecturers words!!!
    But ffs everyone knows a cows gestation.
    and we all know about gloves
    and gownes
    and ......eh.....other organs.....

BLOODY HELL WOMAN IT'S A COW CALVING!

am i to dine with th ese cretins (please tell me you know gunther)

sounds interesting

jebus i wish i could turn the clock back a few years and go back to college, best years of your life surely

nah, i always said 21-26 was the best years, salary coming in, money was for wasting on drink and women:D and if ya wanted to spend a day or 6 in the pub you didnt have to ask permission;)

or if ya spent a few days doing silage ya didnt come home to "where were you" or "what time do you call this" :D:D

you would be also looking for a Sean? Hmmm ranm his wife just in case

I would love to have had a paid job in 20's as being self employed ate up so much time and money. I dont mind being short of money but there isnt enough hours in the day anymore. :mad:

when i earned my first salary i thought it was brillant,
    people on the social get more a week now, than i earned back then, :rolleyes:

self employed is tough alright bob, at least you are yer own boss but

but feck all of a salary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

At 16 I was got my first paycheque for £134. 56 hours in trenches laying 6 inch water mains. I was the king!

reilig wrote: »
    At 16 I was got my first paycheque for £134. 56 hours in trenches laying 6 inch water mains. I was the king!

If you went full time farming nowadays you could also made that kind of money . :D

I think mine was 180 or so :( but I was in the exams at the time

My accountant is bombarding me with calls and emails for my 12 accounts. Thats a day of misery ahead, have lost count the amount of time he has rang and I couldnt bring myself to answer :rolleyes:

Give him my number!!! He'll never ring back!:P:P:eek:

i know the feeling, must call mine too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

delaval wrote: »

'A year on our farm' by Ann and Robin Talbot

Funny I'd often read the column in the farming indo and assumed he was a batchelor, no mention ever of the wife and I think I read a few times that he farms in partnership with his mother. Anyways, re the book, yes I would think it would be a good read. He appears to be on top of his game re sucklers and beef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

12 accounts you must pay a ****1 laod in banking fees.
    i worked in a ****1 supermarket yrs ago and was on 2 pound 50 an hour with a grand total of about 5 hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

That time of the year is fast approaching for all us last minute filers . Sure you must get a ball of money back bob , considering all the money ye finishers claim to lose !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

was in accountants yesterday, a lad came in with 4 letters about an upcoming revenue audit, the audit is to be held over 2 days , going back over 4 years accounts:eek::eek: the accountant that deals with him is on holidays and the client has only moved to this accountant in the last few months... whats the story there does the accountant apply to the old accountant for the details from the last few years?

Muckit wrote: »
    Funny I'd often read the column in the farming indo and assumed he was a batchelor, no mention ever of the wife and I think I read a few times that he farms in partnership with his mother. Anyways, re the book, yes I would think it would be a good read. He appears to be on top of his game re sucklers and beef

Anytime I read his column I got the impression all his geese were swans so havnt bothered reading it anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Anytime I read his column I got the impression all his geese were swans so havnt bothered reading it anymore.

I can assure you they're swans alright. Absolute professional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Jeez you're right, it's that time of year again :rolleyes:

just do it wrote: »
    Jeez you're right, it's that time of year again :rolleyes:
    im going into hiding