Taking my bike on Ryanair with a CTC bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mp31

To the OP... just wondering if you made that trip with the bike... if so how did it go? Did the bike survive OK, did you have any hassles at the airport(s).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭fixie fox

There's no doubt that flying with a bike in a bag is stressing, no matter what way you go about it - you just can't be sure it will come out sound.
    A box relieves the stress, but then you have to be able to transport and store the box, etc. This isn't possible if you are touring or something.

The Aer Lingus setup at Dublin airport is brilliant. When I was booking my bike by phone I asked about 'terms and conditions' about getting the bike ready and I was told, more or less. "yerra it'll be grand - just roll it up and it'll be fine". I even rang back to make sure and then the guy looked up something and said about removing the pedals and turning the bars. I asked him if I needed a bag and he definitely said 'no'. The I asked him if I could let the panniers on it and he said 'yes'.

When I arrived the Aer Lingus guy said 'no way' - must have bag and no panniers. I panicked a bit, of course, but he soothed my down, gave me a clear plastic bag, and checked in one of the panniers for nothing. I was able to take the other as hand luggage. Brilliant service there. If it had been Ryan Air, I wonder?? But bad marks to Aer Lingus for poor phone advice

For those returning to Dublin Airport with a bike, there is a sign at the baggage hall which says (something like) 'Oversize Baggage'. I went there as my bike went into 'Oversize Baggage'. And I waited, and waited .... a .... loooong .... time ...! There was a sign pointing to (something like) 'Inquiries about baggage' and eventually I headed in that direction. On the way I saw another sign for (something like) 'Extra Oversize Baggage'. Any my bike was waiting for me there. What confusion!

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

fixie fox wrote: »
    For those returning to Dublin Airport with a bike, there is a sign at the baggage hall which says (something like) 'Oversize Baggage'. I went there as my bike went into 'Oversize Baggage'. And I waited, and waited .... a .... loooong .... time ...! There was a sign pointing to (something like) 'Inquiries about baggage' and eventually I headed in that direction. On the way I saw another sign for (something like) 'Extra Oversize Baggage'. Any my bike was waiting for me there. What confusion!
    I presume you were in T2. The two areas are opposite ends of the baggage hall and you don't know which to watch :) Ive done the same as you!

Oryx wrote: »
    I presume you were in T2. The two areas are opposite ends of the baggage hall and you don't know which to watch :) Ive done the same as you!

Ya, it was T2. It's silly signposting and you can't watch the second one if you don't know it's there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

There's no doubt that flying with a bike in a bag is stressing, no matter what way you go about it - you just can't be sure it will come out sound.
    A box relieves the stress, but then you have to be able to transport and store the box, etc. This isn't possible if you are touring or something.

The Aer Lingus setup at Dublin airport is brilliant. When I was booking my bike by phone I asked about 'terms and conditions' about getting the bike ready and I was told, more or less. "yerra it'll be grand - just roll it up and it'll be fine". I even rang back to make sure and then the guy looked up something and said about removing the pedals and turning the bars. I asked him if I needed a bag and he definitely said 'no'. The I asked him if I could let the panniers on it and he said 'yes'.

When I arrived the Aer Lingus guy said 'no way' - must have bag and no panniers. I panicked a bit, of course, but he soothed my down, gave me a clear plastic bag, and checked in one of the panniers for nothing. I was able to take the other as hand luggage. Brilliant service there. If it had been Ryan Air, I wonder?? But bad marks to Aer Lingus for poor phone advice

We had much the same experience last year with AL. Follow the buggies to the oversize counter (you even get to skip the regular queue).

We had our panniers booked in as checked baggage in advance. We were given a plastic bag at the counter. No need to mess with handlebars or pedals.

We didn't bother deflating the tyres but someone did it for us in transit anyway.

Coming back from France we didn't even have to put it in a plastic bag. The desk agent put a sticker on the top tube and we just wheeled it to a hatch beside the security queue and let the tyres down.

Bike boxes are no good if you're touring by bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭johnk123

I have travelled with AL with bikes in the CTC bags and all was very easy. Pedals off, tyres down and spin and drop the bars. That said, this was me going touring with an aluminium bike and a rack etc etc etc. Would I do it with a carbon bike I was going racing/training with etc? No...

AL in T2 are gas when checking in the bike though... They sort of just take them and leave them standing beside a counter and say "Ah yeah, they'll be grand..." while some lad of about 35 stone goes off to get another lad to help him with them... The first time, I remember leaving the check in and saying to myself that there is no way they'll be there when we arrived.. but low and behold they were!

We also had the same issue as Oryx when coming home... we were at either end trying to figure out where they were!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

3rd go at posting a reply without it disappearing! Typing from mobile
    Just going to give this link- go to post 'cut tyre but no broken bones'

hannahhauxwell.blogspot.com

Bike got a knock to the wheel which if I had kept my tyres a little inflated (allowed) I don't think would have happened.
    Baggage handler in Leeds said best using see through bags for bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,828 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Probably got snagged on a shard of metal somewhere looking at your blog post.

stetyrrell wrote: »
    Probably got snagged on a shard of metal somewhere looking at your blog post.

I think it was more like a bang off something, from the marks on the wheel rim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

Im departing from Brizzy via to Dubai tonight. Once in Dublin I have a Ryan air flight to Spain with my bike.

I have it packed up in a Scicon Aero Comfort. Im very happy with how it looks and feels now before travel. Its a clever design, its a soft case but with a steel frame. Protective padded side panels for the wheels also. $500.

Ill report on any experiences of the transcontinental leg and the Euro leg on finishing.

Any one know a friendly bike shop in Portmarnock, where I can re inflate on Thursday for a ride ?

Have a hand pump packed but never used it, not sure will it get to a required pressure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭boege

Have travelled Dublin Geneva on AL with two bike boxes this year and last year.

Both bikes have carbon frames so not taking chances. In both trips both bikes arrived, no issues. In both trips one of the two bike boxes was damaged.

It has to be said that a full bike box is a heavy enough item and can be tricky to manhandle.

I have a hunch that ground crew might take more care with an unboxed bike than they take with a bike box. Its just a hunch....

I suppose a personal experience with bike travel can trump what me or anyone else can post on a web forum, and I have to say I'll be in the soft bag camp myself when I get my Montague Paratrooper (There will be touring, ohh yes :) though the soft bag will be used more for bussing about) but I would certainly warn against thinking, having hunches, guessing etc that one way is better taken care of than another. I worked down there, manhandled what goes down there for some time. They're all taken care of as best they can be down in the baggage hall, no matter who you're flying with or which method of packing you use. It's easiest & least risky with a hard case, next a padded soft, next an unpadded soft, next the shopping clear plastic bag, finally the unprepared bike.

I'm reading about how impractical hard cases are for some of you, I wonder is there a market for a collapsible hard case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

Does anyone know if you can hand your bike over to Ryanair with the panniers attached (all under the 30kg)? Or if using a box can you stuff your tent, panniers etc in there with it?

DubVelo wrote: »
    Does anyone know if you can hand your bike over to Ryanair with the panniers attached (all under the 30kg)? Or if using a box can you stuff your tent, panniers etc in there with it?

From memory, Ryan Air have a pretty restrictive weight limit. I have a good hard box and with a carbon bike it was just under their weight. So, no scope for stuffing it with extra luggage. Try their website for the weight etc.

I'm reading about how impractical hard cases are for some of you, I wonder is there a market for a collapsible hard case?
    I think if you can't handle the full box - e.g. touring - you probably can't handle the collapsible idea either in most cases. However, someone has probably already got one on the market probably!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I think if you can't handle the full box - e.g. touring - you probably can't handle the collapsible idea either in most cases. However, someone has probably already got one on the market probably!

I've seen a box for a Bike Friday that converts to a trailer on arrival. Then you can throw the rest of your luggage in the box and tow it on your tour.

Maybe someone could build a similar contraption for a full size bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Cerdito

I flew from Budapest to Dublin last year with Aer Lingus having cycled there from Dublin. I just arrived at the counter with the pedals inverted, handlebars turned and tyres deflated (no bag or box). I tried to hand it to them like that but they weren't having any of it.

They pointed me to one of the baggage wrapping services, who wrapped up my bike in what amounted to really strong clingflim for €10, and I was good to go. Bike came back to Dublin T2 fine (though not an expensive frame/bike).

My plan for flying in the future is to source a roll of the strong clingfilm, cycle to airport, wrap up bike myself and hand over. Then do the same on the way back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

From memory, Ryan Air have a pretty restrictive weight limit. I have a good hard box and with a carbon bike it was just under their weight. So, no scope for stuffing it with extra luggage. Try their website for the weight etc.

Well, like I said it's 30kg for the bike. If my bike is only 11 or 12kg I was hoping to just roll up with panniers attached and hand it over. Or failing that, stuff the lot in a cardboard box from a bike shop.

If I'd be paying seperate baggage on top of the €50 for the bike it starts to not look like such a good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

30kg is twice the allowance of AerLingus so you'll be fine. I flew to Spain last year and had my bike and all my luggage in my hard shell case. Came in around 28kg.
    DubVelo wrote: »
    Well, like I said it's 30kg for the bike. If my bike is only 11 or 12kg I was hoping to just roll up with panniers attached and hand it over. Or failing that, stuff the lot in a cardboard box from a bike shop.

If I'd be paying seperate baggage on top of the €50 for the bike it starts to not look like such a good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

My baby awaits her fate! Be kind Aer Lingus. :D

BikePacked_zps37e45fb4.jpg

No CO2 cylinders in the bag. Some airlines *do* have a certain allowance, but the airport you might fly from may have a zero tolerance policy
    I had what I thought was one in my saddle bag outbound from Dublin and there was no issue.

However, last night, an eagle-eyed Munich security girl spotted it immediately on the scanner and 2 more which I didn't realise were in a lower pocket from a previous trip. She confiscated them and handed them to another girl who put them in her pocket! Perhaps she was a cyclist herself! :)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I had two co2 cartridges in a bike box last weekend. No issues at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Just back from the Pyrenees (Cork-Barcelona), 3 bikes put in a plastic bag with no problems on either journey. We just let down the tyres, turned the handlebars and wrapped them.

I returned from Leeds Sunday night, bike arrived at Dublin airport in its CTC bag completely unscathed. Could have cycled the bike home.
    I checked in 2 x Co2 cannisters no problem.
    All I had to do at Dublin and Leeds was remove pedals.
    I chose to deflate the tyres a little, but left handlebars as they were - no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

MB Lacey wrote: »
    I returned from Leeds Sunday night, bike arrived at Dublin airport in its CTC bag completely unscathed. Could have cycled the bike home.
    I checked in 2 x Co2 cannisters no problem.
    All I had to do at Dublin and Leeds was remove pedals.
    I chose to deflate the tyres a little, but left handlebars as they were - no problems.

good news. As a matter of interest what did you do with the pedals when you removed them??

Seaswimmer wrote: »
    good news. As a matter of interest what did you do with the pedals when you removed them??
    I put them in the bag I checked in, didn't know if it would be an issue carrying them on board with me.

By the way lads Aer Lingus have upped the weight limit from 15kg to 23kg. On the outbound flight I didn't know and was paranoid about being overweight but ended up at 13kg. The check in girl asked if I was sure I had all of the bike! She said it was increased to 23kg as almost no-one managed to stay under it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭Abhainn

By the way lads Aer Lingus have upped the weight limit from 15kg to 23kg. On the outbound flight I didn't know and was paranoid about being overweight but ended up at 13kg. The check in girl asked if I was sure I had all of the bike! She said it was increased to 23kg as almost no-one managed to stay under it.

Thats good news. Travelling to Amsterdam from Dub with AL next Thurs with bike bag. Booked bike a few weeks ago and was told limit was 15kg " Are you sure?". "Yes".
    Last Sept travelled to Barcelona with AL. Bag must have weighed 25kg. They made no comment at all about it

from website: The maximum weight allowable for carriage of sports equipment is 23kgs / 50lbs

I dont know if you saw, but it didn't do so well going from Dublin to Leeds :( got a knock to the tyre which put a hole in the tyre and inner tube.

photos here http://hannahhauxwell.blogspot.ie/2013/08/no-broken-bones-but-cut-tyre.html

MB Lacey wrote: »
    I put them in the bag I checked in, didn't know if it would be an issue carrying them on board with me.
    The simplest thing is to invert them (i.e. screw back onto the inside of the crank arm). It stops them going missing/falling out etc.