Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Has Logie "called" it yet?

Never mind Logie, I just can't wait for Championship Matters on RTE tonight to see which goon tells us that 'Mayo have not been tested'

Actually Mulligan was on it a few weeks back and not only tipped Donegal to beat Mayo but also tipped Tyrone for the All Ireland
    I hope they have asked him back this week

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Never mind Logie, I just can't wait for Championship Matters on RTE tonight to see which goon tells us that 'Mayo have not been tested'

Actually Mulligan was on it a few weeks back and not only tipped Donegal to beat Mayo but also tipped Tyrone for the All Ireland
    I hope they have asked him back this week

I had to laugh at him, he was cock sure Donegal would turn us over. Between himself and Logie they seem to have believed their own hype for that match.

We seem to be bringing up a massive crowd for this match! The amount of "sunshiners" I know going to this semi is nuts! Should be mental atmosphere.
    I really hope the lads tune out of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

yop wrote: »
    I had to laugh at him, he was cock sure Donegal would turn us over. Between himself and Logie they seem to have believed their own hype for that match.

We seem to be bringing up a massive crowd for this match! The amount of "sunshiners" I know going to this semi is nuts! Should be mental atmosphere.
    I really hope the lads tune out of it all.

As long as the sunshiners come for the minors too. They need big support too. Good team this year.

And regards (some) of the northern pundits, they live in their own bubble with regards GAA and thats why they are so biased to their own.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Fowler87 wrote: »
    As long as the sunshiners come for the minors too. They need big support too. Good team this year.

And regards (some) of the northern pundits, they live in their own bubble with regards GAA and thats why they are so biased to their own.

Uummm, I highly doubt it. The "day outers" will be having the brekkie and then a few pints in the big Tree before the main match.
    They barely know the senior players, never mind have interest in the minors... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Article here in the Indo
    Mayo have the highest to frees against to frees for ration.

The main question being asked is if a team like Mayo are hammering all around them why are they conceding more frees ?
    I really don't know, would it be anything to do with the ref going soft on the poor feckers that are loosing by 20+ points, thus giving them soft frees ?
    Kerry also gave away a lot of frees v Tipp and Waterford, teams they were hammering at the time
    MARTIN BREHENY – 22 AUGUST 2013

TYRONE'S fightback against cynicism claims has received a major boost ahead of Sunday's All-Ireland semi-final clash with Mayo.

An Irish Independent study reveals that Tyrone are the only one of the four semi-finalists whose players have been fouled more than they have fouled the opposition in this year's championship.

Our figures show Mayo, Kerry and Dublin have a higher frees-against than frees-for return, albeit very narrowly in the case of the latter two.

However, the Mayo differential is significantly greater, while they also have the highest proportionate foul rate of the four semi-finalists. Mayo's frees-against figure is 14 higher than their frees-for total in their four wins, all of which were achieved easily.

Tyrone have a higher proportion of red and yellow cards than the other three but were involved in closer games, which were always more likely to create flashpoints. Dublin have the lowest average foul and yellow card rate.

Tyrone have been under the spotlight since Sean Cavanagh's goal-saving foul on Monaghan's Conor McManus in the All-Ireland quarter-final, which under rules could only be punished by a yellow card. Joe Brolly's subsequent tirade against Cavanagh turned the focus on Tyrone's approach, much to the annoyance of the camp.

They fought back by circulating a document last week, outlining how they were more sinned against than sinners when it came to fouls, and while their figures for the championship differ from those compiled by the Irish Independent, they all support the Tyrone case.

Our figures show that Tyrone committed 132 fouls in their six games, while they were fouled 140 times. It's a small but significant differential on the plus side for the only semi-finalists that did not win their provincial championship.

Mickey Harte has insisted that negativity forms no part of their game plan.

"If you ask any of the players – and I would open this to anyone who has ever played under me – I would defy anyone to say that I ever said, 'foul a player. I've actually said quite the opposite," he said.

Full-forward Stephen O'Neill insisted that whatever the perception, Tyrone are not a cynical team.

"I've played under Mickey Harte since 1997 and I've never been coached any cynicism. He tells you to express yourself, to work hard for the team and to do yourself, your family and your county proud. That was Mickey's message back then, and it's the same now," he said.

Concerns have been expressed in Tyrone that the allegations of cynicism could result in referees seeing them in a negative light, resulting in close calls going the opposition's way.

Maurice Deegan (Laois), one of the most experienced referees in the country, will take charge of next Sunday's game, for which Mayo are overwhelming favourites.

Here's how the four semi-finalists have shaped up in the discipline stakes in this year's championship:

MAYO

They have the highest free differential against them, having conceded 93 while being awarded 79. It's surprising that a team which won its four games by an average of 15.5 points conceded more frees than it was awarded, since they were clearly enjoying levels of ascendancy rarely seen in the championship.

Teams tend to foul more under pressure but Mayo's average was the highest of the All-Ireland semi-finalists despite easily controlling their games against Galway, Roscommon, London and Donegal. Aidan O'Shea picked up their sole red card (a double yellow), while they have averaged just under three yellows per game.

TYRONE

They have fought back against allegations of cynicism, and while the adage 'when you're explaining, you're losing' comes to mind, they do have a point, certainly when it comes to frees.

However, they have had more players (three) sent off than any of the other semi-finalists, but two of them (Joe McMahon v Donegal and Stephen O'Neill v Meath) were on double yellows, while Martin Penrose saw a straight red for an incident after the half-time whistle sounded against the Ulster champions in the All-Ireland quarter-final.

Tyrone also have the highest number of yellows (27), averaging 4.5 per game.

However, on the free count, Tyrone's concession rate is well within the normal range, while they have been awarded more frees than they gave away.

Unlike Mayo, Kerry and Dublin, all of Tyrone's games, with the exception of the qualifier win over Offaly, were tight, tense affairs where players were far more likely to concede frees and pick up cards.

KERRY

They have conceded slightly more frees than they were awarded. Like Mayo, it raises questions as to why that is the case since they had easy wins against Tipperary and Waterford.

They actually conceded more frees than Tipperary in the Munster first round, which they won by 17 points. They have had no red cards and average two yellow cards per game.

DUBLIN

Like Kerry, they have, on average, conceded slightly more frees than they were awarded but have the lowest average concession free rate of the four semi-finalists.

Their yellow card average is also the lowest of the remaining quartet. They gave away a total of 81 frees in four games.

OTHERS

Cork have the lowest free concession rate (17 per game), which may lead to suggestions among their fans that a lack of cynicism, however good for the game as a spectacle, may be counter-productive.

Conversely, Galway's fortunes improved once their free concession rate increased.

They gave away fewer frees than Mayo in the Connacht quarter-final, which they lost heavily, but the reverse was the case against Tipperary, Waterford, Armagh and Cork where they won three and lost the fourth by a point after fouling more than the opposition.

Cavan had the highest average free concession rate, while they were joint-highest with Tyrone on yellow cards. Kildare were next highest behind Mayo on the free differential, conceding 91 while having been awarded 78 in four games. Dethroned All-Ireland champions, Donegal also conceded more frees than they were awarded.

Article here in the Indo
    Mayo have the highest to frees against to frees for ration.

The main question being asked is if a team like Mayo are hammering all around them why are they conceding more frees ?
    I really don't know, would it be anything to do with the ref going soft on the poor feckers that are loosing by 20+ points, thus giving them soft frees ?
    Kerry also gave away a lot of frees v Tipp and Waterford, teams they were hammering at the time

Well we had the 2 duffy muppets ref us, thats already a guranteed 10 frees each against us before the match starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

That Brehany comes up with the same s%ite every year against Mayo. Anyone that wants to know what LAZY JOURNALISM is, just read any of his so called articles.

Real stats/facts here; http://dontfoul.wordpress.com/

mayo.mick wrote: »
    That Brehany comes up with the same s%ite every year against Mayo. Anyone that wants to know what LAZY JOURNALISM is, just read any of his so called articles.

Real stats/facts here; http://dontfoul.wordpress.com/

Funny that Brolly mentioned him also in that interview I put up, and not in a great light :d

Team: Hennelly, Cunniffe, Cafferkey, Barrett, Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle, A.OShea, S.OShea, McLoughlin, Higgins, Dillon, OConnor, Freeman, Moran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Team: Hennelly, Cunniffe, Cafferkey, Barrett, Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle, A.OShea, S.OShea, McLoughlin, Higgins, Dillon, OConnor, Freeman, Moran

Wonder what the mandatory prematch change will be for this game?

Unless Feeney comes in and AOS is actually injured I think thats it. As strong a team we can name now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Rumours that Aiden O'Shea will be playing in goal and Rob Hennelly will move to corner forward with Andy Moran moving to midfield. We will have to wait and see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Seans_Username

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Rumours that Aiden O'Shea will be playing in goal and Rob Hennelly will move to corner forward with Andy Moran moving to midfield. We will have to wait and see!

A shrewd move by Horan indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Higgins named centre forward, expect him to play in the half forward line alright

Yeah same role as Donegal. Good to have him in that sweeper role when we're defending and of course there's no better man to have on the ball when you're going forward, he'll add another headache to Tyrone's defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Does everyone expect Cunniffe to start? Heard he hadn't trained since the Donegal game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Any ye lads heading to the OTB roadshow in castlebar later? Should be bit of craic

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Any ye lads heading to the OTB roadshow in castlebar later? Should be bit of craic

Its all ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Shall be listening to Newstalk, don't want to miss Championship Matters in case they have Eoin Mulligan on again! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

I have two adults and two kids spare tickets for the upper cusack. If anyone is interest, please pm me. Will sell at face value or if there is a few mayo people stuck for cash will give a discount :D

Audioslaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 angelclar

the article in the independent just sum up what coc is like. he will never panic always willing to make perfection

At 21 he is already a key member of the side. His free taking is excellent but his all round play has come on big time in the last 12 months.
    I've no doubt he will be given some rough treatment on Sunday, hopefully we will come through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 angelclar

COC can handle pressure like no other player even if only 21 years old. he doesnt let thing to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

That's a great piece on O'Connor, if he keeps going at this rate, I wonder how old he'll be when he breaks Mortimer's record as Mayo's top Championship scorer? Still early days obviously, but given his drive to improve constantly and what he's achieved already he should go on to be one of our greatest ever players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Any thoughts on the minor semi final against Monaghan? Ulster champions are always a tough nut to crack at this level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Superquinn

What colour jersey will Mayo wear tomorrow ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Superquinn wrote: »

Blue.....From the ass out!!!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭mattser

Best of luck tomorrow & in the final, please God. Love to see ye do it. From An Mhí.

Superquinn wrote: »

Could be the red one, saw Kevin McLoughlin in Croke Park wearing it when he was promoting the game along with Stephen O'Neill.