Lets be honest and make some money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

flanna01 wrote: »
    Glad some of you dudes seen sense and laid a wager....

Now... Don't be getting your panties up in a bunch when Cleverly takes some heavy punishment for the first four rounds of the fight - That's expected.

Once all the steam has been vented, the real boxing begins.

Cleverly will dance his way to a victory, let there be no mistake about that.

Now, sit back, and watch your investment begin to grow....

My guess is you have underrated Kovalev in the extreme. You have him down as a knock merchant of poor opposition who will crumble at sight of first resistance.

You are well and trully wrong. Kovalev can win a few different ways, he just has not had to show it yet.

Now i'm not saying he will win either, its a 50/50 fight.

I admire your bravery in fairness, you are simply taking a punt though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭flanna01

Erm.... I never take any boxers lightly.

I am well aware of Cleverly's opposition - He is light on his feet and can punch from all angles (A trait very few boxers can perform...)

This fight will not be decided by power or strength. No Sir... This fight will be a chess match with gloves on.

I study boxing with a clinical eye - I could nearly tell you the colour of their underpants on fight night...

When my wager collects - I will be looking for your response Sir... I think you have taken me lightly...... Big mistake.

Erm.... I never take any boxers lightly.

I am well aware of Cleverly's opposition - He is light on his feet and can punch from all angles (A trait very few boxers can perform...)

This fight will not be decided by power or strength. No Sir... This fight will be a chess match with gloves on.

I study boxing with a clinical eye - I could nearly tell you the colour of their underpants on fight night...

When my wager collects - I will be looking for your response Sir... I think you have taken me lightly...... Big mistake.

so you predict it will be a chess match with gloves on, but a chess match in which Cleverly will take heavy punishment for the first 4 rounds?

Before he dances to victory?

Thats a clinical eye you have their alright.

Cleverly has a shot at winning for sure, but its 50/50. Anyone who is claiming it will be a nailed on victory for either man is spoofing.

Ok... No problem.

My money says differently. I am prepared to back my prediction with cold hard cash.

As stated in previous posts, I don't care what anybody thinks about my bet.. It's like a dog barking in a big city - It means nothing to me.

You have your opinion, and you are indeed entitled to it... Mine is different. Cleverly will win, without a shadow of a doubt... And too be honest, I wouldn't be a great fan of he's either... But money is money none the less, if Cleverly has to have a hand in paying for my car tax - so be it!

And yes... Cleverly will have to withstand a stormy first couple of rounds, that is what this fight requires, be silly to stand there and trade now wouldn't it...? Get the first three/ four rounds over, then start to take control of the fight, dictate the pace, let the combinations earn the points...

You really should have invested in this recession busting wager, you wouldn't get 9/1 selling crack cocaine to the stars in Hollywood...

Cleverly is in for a rough ride, but the cream will always rise to the top.

Looking forward to your response after the fight...

Ok... No problem.

My money says differently. I am prepared to back my prediction with cold hard cash.

As stated in previous posts, I don't care what anybody thinks about my bet.. It's like a dog barking in a big city - It means nothing to me.

You have your opinion, and you are indeed entitled to it... Mine is different. Cleverly will win, without a shadow of a doubt... And too be honest, I wouldn't be a great fan of he's either... But money is money none the less, if Cleverly has to have a hand in paying for my car tax - so be it!

And yes... Cleverly will have to withstand a stormy first couple of rounds, that is what this fight requires, be silly to stand there and trade now wouldn't it...? Get the first three/ four rounds over, then start to take control of the fight, dictate the pace, let the combinations earn the points...

You really should have invested in this recession busting wager, you wouldn't get 9/1 selling crack cocaine to the stars in Hollywood...

Cleverly is in for a rough ride, but the cream will always rise to the top.

Looking forward to your response after the fight...

Fair play, I admire your bravery but you are simply rolling the dice.

No such thing as a certainty

Hope it works out for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Delighted for you flanna. lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

Lol at this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭HeadPig

HeadPig wrote: »
    You will lose.

Vindicated. Brutally.

I wonder will he grace us with his presence again?

Reminds me of when Fr Ted put the whole annual heating allowance on Chris the sheep :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

Glad some of you dudes seen sense and laid a wager....

Now... Don't be getting your panties up in a bunch when Cleverly takes some heavy punishment for the first four rounds of the fight - That's expected.

Once all the steam has been vented, the real boxing begins.

Cleverly will dance his way to a victory, let there be no mistake about that.

Now, sit back, and watch your investment begin to grow....

Pity he couldn't take Kovalev's punches and got destroyed in four rounds.

I mean, your "dead cert" to win got annihilated. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

I guess no car tax for the year flanna, best get that bike dusted off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I backed this accumulator as I thought Cleverly would outbox a man with savage power but with little means to deliver it. That was a bad call on my part. fianna1 you broke my heart, my kids will not eat this month; a high pox on your house!

FTA69 wrote: »
    I backed this accumulator as I thought Cleverly would outbox a man with savage power but with little means to deliver it. That was a bad call on my part. fianna1 you broke my heart, my kids will not eat this month; a high pox on your house!

Out of curiosity, had you seen much of Kovalev beforehand? I thought it was fairly obvious from his most recent bouts that he definitely had means of delivery for his crunching shots, given he showed superb movement, timing and accuracy against solid fighters. Not as if he was ever a limited banger, always seemed to be a compact machine. ;)

He destroyed a very good fighter tonight, has a very bright future ahead of him! Stevenson next if he gets past Cloud?

No to be brutally honest I hadn't. I watched a few snips of the man and thought that it was easy to look good against average opponents, and in fairness, Kovalev hadn't come against much. I saw Nathan shipping a few hard ones initially before dancing around him and him getting the decision; obviously Kovalev was the real deal and fair play to him. The question on whether he was a serious contender couldn't have been answered until tonight and he flew through it.

I honestly don't know where he'll go from here; the problem with showing such a dominant display this early is that there will be much bigger names with precious little incentive to fight you.

FTA69 wrote: »
    No to be brutally honest I hadn't. I watched a few snips of the man and thought that it was easy to look good against average opponents, and in fairness, Kovalev hadn't come against much. I saw Nathan shipping a few hard ones initially before dancing around him and him getting the decision; obviously Kovalev was the real deal and fair play to him. The question on whether he was a serious contender couldn't have been answered until tonight and he flew through it.

I honestly don't know where he'll go from here; the problem with showing such a dominant display this early is that there will be much bigger names with precious little incentive to fight you.

Credit to Clev for fighting Kovalev, could have defended his title against another average fighter in his backyard if he wanted to, delighted he stepped up and tried to deliver.

I don't think there will be many problems getting fights for the man. I reckon Stevenson would take him on, Hopkins would also IMO (though I wouldn't want to see him getting blasted by Kovalev at 48....). He's not an unknown quantity anymore it seems.

Never one to shy away from the spot light..

Boy, did I get that wrong!

Cleverly looked pale, thin, and over trained as he made his way to the ring. I passed comment to my Mrs stating the same... (My Mrs has as much boxing knowledge as our retarded cat)

Yep.. I stand before this forum with my head bowed in shame..

Alas though.. I will not be beaten by this temporary set back ... (where angels fear to tread and all that bo**oxs).

When I have swallowed the bitter pill of defeat, I shall return with a 5 star, rock solid money earner...

To anybody that waged on my 9/1 sure thing.... We lost the battle, but will win the war.

To the haters that said we'd lose - Enjoy your day in the Sun...

I will return shortly with a garanteed sure thing... (You can't kill a bad thing!)

In fairness - You need me on this forum... Half the punters are posting like they just returned from a funeral....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

It was a terrible, terrible bet, but fair play for being a sport and admitting you got it wrong. Good luck in future.

fair play to you for coming back

Never assume you have a sure thing, its a mugs game it really is.

The House ALWAYS wins whether it be now or in a years time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Gorman700

Cleverly will win, without a shadow of a doubt. Hahaha.

He's a bum, you know why? Because he's fought sparring partners since Bellew and he's a paper champion.

On a more positive note, Kiko Martinez put on a good show last night, while a little crude it was a good performance. Carl Frampton needs to get on the gas with his career now, he beat Kiko comprehensively, Kiko gets the nod for a title shot. Quigg now fighting for a title. IMO The Jackal will suffer under Warren.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭EireIceMan

In fairness this thread was a breath of fresh air. I lolled.
    Hard luck Flanna, thankfully the broadband bill wasn't on the slip.

Ok guys.... My period of wandering the mountains hiding my shame is over... I have accepted that I got Cleverly wrong - Very wrong.

However, just like Bill Clinton addressed the nation with regards to staining Miss Lewinski's dress, I shall follow suit..

Members of the forum, I have misled you.... But at no time, did I put a gun to anybodys head, and make them place a wager (Never!). I got it wrong... Even boxing betting guru's can be wrong sometimes...

Ok... That's that out of the way... Now on with the business..

I will shortly be posting the ''Redemption'' guaranteed dead cert... I have number crunched, studied, analysed and covered every scenario concerning this ''Redemption'' bet.

This is going to make money guys.... Of that you can be certain!!

I will be posting it on Thursday night (after I take advantage of the bookmakers first), don't want all ye cramming into the bookies slashing my odds!!. Make sure you are ready to take action (lay next months mortgage on it... or whatever). This is the bet of the year.

To my followers: Be brave my little soldiers, the war is about to be won. To the snipers and nay sayers: We lost the battle, but will win the war!

I look forward to making ye money - So my friends, we will meet again on Thursday night... be sure to have hard cash to lay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

This is hilarious!

Hillarious it may be sir... But money speaks all languages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭runman

Ah this is a great laugh... cant wait to see this bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Post a screen shot of your betting slip of the "bet of the year" or start posting in the comedy forum.

@ Thebitterlemon - The name suits you Sir by the way... As posted numerous times before, I couldn't give a hoot if anybody avails of my cunning wagers or not - It means less than nothing to me.

Two reasons I will not be posting a screen shot of the winning betting slip :

1) The leg iron (Mrs), does not realise she is in the company of a boxing investments legend... If boxing was stocks, I'd be on Wall St. To post evidence of such transactions would be foolish on my part, herself needs little cause to do what she does best - Whine.

2) Don't know how to post a screen shot (Even if I wanted to!)

Now my cherubs... Less cribbing and sniping. I shall have my investment placed within the next hour or so... I will then publish what can only be deemed as 'An open cheque', for any of ye brothers with the guts and heart to follow me for the final 'Redemption' money maker..

@ Thebitterlemon - The name suits you Sir by the way... As posted numerous times before, I couldn't give a hoot if anybody avails of my cunning wagers or not - It means less than nothing to me.

Two reasons I will not be posting a screen shot of the winning betting slip :

1) The leg iron (Mrs), does not realise she is in the company of a boxing investments legend... If boxing was stocks, I'd be on Wall St. To post evidence of such transactions would be foolish on my part, herself needs little cause to do what she does best - Whine.

2) Don't know how to post a screen shot (Even if I wanted to!)

Now my cherubs... Less cribbing and sniping. I shall have my investment placed within the next hour or so... I will then publish what can only be deemed as 'An open cheque', for any of ye brothers with the guts and heart to follow me for the final 'Redemption' money maker..

does this "investment legend" status extend into other sports?

You should tip across to the Gambling forum you would develop quite the following if you had other sports tips

You are a gas man, fair play

Hurry up and post the bet! I'm desperately chasing losses and need a sure-fire bet from yourself to cover my disaster last weekend.

Ok my fellow gold diggers... This bet will net you 16/1 and it's iron clad.

Ray Beltran
    Austin Trout
    Lucas Matthysse
    Floyd Mayweather

Oh Im sure the cribbers will be spouting their negative bile, this is wrong, that's wrong blah, blah, blah... Simple solution - Don't invest in it!

For the tempted - Lets have a look at the facts:

1) Poor old Ricky Burns, nearly got clobbered in his last fight, has had a 'inconsistant' training camp. His Mrs is about to drop a spog and is never off the phone to him... He is driven half demented by her aches and pains... So much so, that he even released a statement, stating that his camp could stop at anytime, as he must attend to his parental duties when the time comes.... (Not exactly focused I'd say..?). On the other hand, Beltran is one tough Mexican, don't let his record fool you (Google his last fight, you'll see what I mean). Ricky is as over rated as Beltran is under rated.

2) Austin Trout - This guy came within a whisker of beating Canelo. His speed is scary, he is a champion in waiting.

3) Danny Garcia is in big, big trouble.... Matthysse will destroy him.

4) Moneymay is too slick to be bothered by the likes of Alvarez.

So there it is my little possums... A 16/1 money spinner.

Ps. Please don't harass me about Ricky Burns - Watch the last four rounds of his last fight. Burns is a good kid, unfortunately, his bit off more than he can chew this time.

Get on and get rich....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Good luck with it, I don't see Burns losing myself. Think he will win a comfortable decision.

As for Burns being overrated, I don't think he is. I've never seen him being hyped up that much. He's one of the most improved fighters I've ever seen.