Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

dgt wrote: »

I'd miss the diesel clatter and smoke though

Sure just chuck a peat burnin stove in the boot...be grand sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Sure just chuck a peat burnin stove in the boot...be grand sure!

Or I could stick with my original plan, still a V6 but dayyyysel :p I'm horrid fickle :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Or I could stick with my original plan, still a V6 but dayyyysel :p I'm horrid fickle :pac:

daysul v6? ye have yer shyte!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Busso diesel?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    Busso diesel?

Ah now, that's just sacrilege

I am a rather unbecoming lobster colour having spent too much time in the sun today

Stheno wrote: »
    Ah now, that's just sacrilege

I am a rather unbecoming lobster colour having spent too much time in the sun today

Diesels sacrilege.

There was sun today? Stupid library.

daysul v6? ye have yer shyte!

2255765150_98a049fcc1.jpg

Ah heyor!! :eek:

Found in Citroens, Peugeots and Land Rover Discoveries :pac:

Well I've clearly had too much internet today :pac:

I'm already researching compounding..... If there's room I'll experiment with quad compounding (2 per bank)

Injectors are the huge stumbling block, will need to be mechanicalised, machined to accept a VE pump. Injection pitch and angle are critical or pistons will melt fast....

Should be a very fast diesel if I get to do this :D would need serious funds and time though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

I'm already researching compounding..... If there's room I'll experiment with quad compounding (2 per bank)

Injectors are the huge stumbling block, will need to be mechanicalised, machined to accept a VE pump. Injection pitch and angle are critical or pistons will melt fast....

Should be a very fast diesel if I get to do this :D would need serious funds and time though!

Where could you source one of those engines? Yard?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Scortho wrote: »
    Diesels sacrilege.

There was sun today? Stupid library.

There was :) Hours and hours of lovely sun, along with in my case, a very chilled out day sailing and then mucking about with tuning a boat :D

Fear not however, I've a thesis rearing it's ugly head in the next year.

166man wrote: »
    Where could you source one of those engines? Yard?

They had one one day, saw it, put 2+2 together and got 6 cylinder ideas! :p

Injectors could cost maybe $200 an injector to get right :eek: I'm thinking something GT20 sized compounded to something TD06 sized but I need the stats then do my sums.... Hopefully at least 100bhp per litre :)

Hopefully someday the lion transplant will happen :)

They had one one day, saw it, put 2+2 together and got 6 cylinder ideas! :p

Injectors could cost maybe $200 an injector to get right :eek: I'm thinking something GT20 sized compounded to something TD06 sized but I need the stats then do my sums.... Hopefully at least 100bhp per litre :)

Hopefully someday the lion transplant will happen :)

So much power, mega brake upgrade etc though for that?

Auld Laim won't know what hit 'em, neither will the RS4 TDI's!

So much power, mega brake upgrade etc though for that?

Auld Laim won't know what hit 'em, neither will the RS4 TDI's!

Not the power but the low down torque should be something else!

Brembos from a 406 coupe and at least 305mm discs.... Rear discs obviously, I have a set in the making already :D polybushes too and coilovers.... Means I lose my wheels though, unless I find some seriously good pads and discs!

Feck the 1.9/2.0 TDI's they haven't a hope they're mince meat already :pac: I'm after the bigger engined somewhat powerful petrol cars!

Not the power but the low down torque should be something else!

Brembos from a 406 coupe and at least 305mm discs.... Rear discs obviously, I have a set in the making already :D polybushes too and coilovers.... Means I lose my wheels though, unless I find some seriously good pads and discs!

Feck the 1.9/2.0 TDI's they haven't a hope they're mince meat already :pac: I'm after the bigger engined somewhat powerful petrol cars!

Max Power ain't gonna know what hit him, except the smoke of course!

A 300+bhp diesel Peugeot, the shame of it :pac:

I don't know if I'm mad, stupid or both and then some to consider doing this :p

But lads, did you know that it's a 535d? and not just a regular peasant wagon 530d? :pac:

heart you maaaaax :o

I think you're perfectly sane to be honest....maybe it's something wrong with me to think that?? :eek:

Phew I must be normal so, along with all these turbos in my sitting room! :D

perfectly normal behavior! :D

I think you're a legend if you do it and succeed...;)

I think he's gained legendary status already.
    Who doesn't come on and wonder what he's done to his car today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

A man after my own heart.

I may annoy you about an engine swap at some stage, I just need money. :D

In other news, herself has decided ah want to learn to drive so I no longer have to feel guilty about the Mazda, she can drive the dogs around in the Almera. :D

Gonna NCT the Almera an give it to her, then it's slider time. :cool:

CianRyan wrote: »
    A man after my own heart.

I may annoy you about an engine swap at some stage, I just need money. :D

In other news, herself has decided ah want to learn to drive so I no longer have to feel guilty about the Mazda, she can drive the dogs around in the Almera. :D

Gonna NCT the Almera an give it to her, then it's slider time. :cool:

Kinda doing what I'm doing so?

Giving away a car so you're no longer a taxi? :D

Meeeh, selling it to the brother so i won't be as much of a taxi :D

it's my favorite game y'know

Haha, your way seems more intelligent
    I said I'd just give it to her but I'd be surprised if she didn't throw me a few quid for it, nothing much seeing as I bought it from her dad for €200 about a year ago.

Haha, your way seems more intelligent
    I said I'd just give it to her but I'd be surprised if she didn't throw me a few quid for it, nothing much seeing as I bought it from her dad for €200 about a year ago.

Haha everyone keeps asking why don't i just give him it, I'm not that nice, besides i need to pay my insurance on the next one, whatever it may be :pac: