Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Historicity of Jesus. Now serving Atwil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭oldrnwisr

robindch wrote: »
    oldrnwisr - have you ever considered publishing something on this topic? Or have you already done so?
    Obliq wrote: »
    Yes, have you/will you? I actually look forward to your posts (like many others) - as well as all the easy to understand information, you don't have a harsh word for anybody :cool:

Thank you both for the kind comments. No, I haven't published anything on this topic. I think this field is already well-stocked with proper scholarly books and papers, it doesn't need the likes of me clogging it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

oldrnwisr wrote: »
    .... clogging it up.

I was thinking more along the lines of untangling issues and adding clarity. Y'know, the way your posts do :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,537 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Obliq and oldrnwisr, sittin' in a tree...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Firstly, you haven't addressed the ontological implications of what I wrote at all. I entirely understand why of course, since it renders the oblique point you're trying to make at best irrelevant and at worst invalid. Secondly, you appear to have misunderstood (deliberately?) at least part of what I wrote, since my point about the relative validity of secondary sources was made solely in the context of ontologically disputing the extent to which we here and now can 'know' anything about the past we did not personally inhabit.
    I will attempt to do better by actually replying to the substance of what you wrote in the hope you will eventually respond to the points I raised.
    Firstly, definitions of history abound and change from era to era with whatever way the academic wind blows. If your definition of history is solely predicated on the existence of evidence, then we're into the area of debating what the meaning of evidence is. This arose earlier in the discussion and was somewhat ignored, and I touched on it myself too. The quality of historical 'evidence' from antiquity varies from reasonable to non-existent. Archaeological evidence is predicated on the interpretation of whatever contemporary knowledge and technology is available, and hence is no more or less fallible than that, and is open to clarification, correction and improvement over time. Textual evidence is always open to interpretation, self-evidently. Your whole argument is predicated upon a particularly narrow and self-serving definition of what evidence is.

If they claimed Thatcher could walk on water and raise the dead, I might find that highly unlikely. But I would not be inclined towards doubting that there had been someone called Margaret Thatcher, given so many people were moved to write about her.
    What I find most curious here is the why rather than the what. What in your mind would be different if something adhering to your definition of evidence was suddenly uncovered in the Negev desert tomorrow? If the historicity of Jesus became indisputable by your own narrow requirements, what exactly would that change? To my mind, it might slightly embolden adherents of Christianity, but for those who are not believers it would amount to a curiosity, nothing more, since it would not materially affect any interpretation of the history which took place between the time of Jesus and today. (Obviously, this precludes evidence which indicated Jesus was a woman, or some similar shock element.)
    In short, what do you believe is important about your assertion that there is no (by your constrictive definition) evidence for Jesus?

I haven't addresses ontological implications as that strays into the area of philosophy and is more concerned with theoretical than empirical. For the same reason I am not discussing Theology. I am neither a philosopher or a theologian, I am a historian so I am discussing the historicity of Jesus and examining statements made as to his existence and the availability of sources which prove his existence beyond doubt from that perspective. I'm afraid if you want to discuss the ontological implications you will have to seek elsewhere as philosophy gives me a headache.

We could get into a discussion about whether anyone can 'really' understand the past - or indeed can anyone 'really' understand the present as everyone's present is different. These are philosophical questions and, as I am more than willing to admit, I am no philosopher so you will have to seek elsewhere for that.
    I do have many philosopher friends. One of whom was doing a cross discipline PhD who nearly came a cropper when she applied the 'rules' of philosophy to her thesis and presented it to her supervisor in a history dept. A total rewrite and a frantic crash course in empirical history was required or she would fail. No one in the history dept was interested in having a debate about ontological implications or theoretical discussions- they were interested in her producing empirical evidence for her statements, complete with lashings of footnotes and a large dollop of primary sources.

Empirical history has dominated academic history since Von Ranke set the standards in the 19th century. It has not varied from era to era- the same standards are applied across all respected academic institutions and all of those who wish to profess themselves Historians are expected to abide by the rules of empirical investigation - they may, however, differ in the methodologies they employ to gather and interrogate sources.

I have never claimed to be anything other than an empiricist historian or to be arguing from any other perspective so I fail to see why I should be called to task for not dealing with philosophical concerns.
    Empiricism remains one of the most influential methods of doing history because it focuses on method. It is about accuracy with primary sources, close work that extracts the evidence and produces an account of the past as close to the evidence as possible. Many footnotes or references should be expected. The sources should be generated at the time the history work is focussing upon.
    http://www.pluralist.freeuk.com/learning/history/empiricism.html

It is not 'my' definition of history as you repeatedly state - it is the most widely used and influential definition of history and, much as you seem to dislike it, it is the one I will continue to employ. As hopefully will the many thousands of history students I have taught over the years in a number of universities.

In my field I often come across things for which there are no extant sources, or only secondary sources such as The Annals of the Four Masters - in these situations I have no option but to acknowledge the gaps in the evidence and clearly state where I am conjecturing based on probabilities but without evidence to support my conjecture I cannot state anything with absolute certainty. When the sources to hand are secondary only - that is also stated and they are examined in a way which keeps this 'hearsay' in mind.

All of the sources available on Jesus himself (as opposed to Christianity) stem from the period after his death and were produced by those who either claimed he was The Messiah or were reacting to those who claimed he was the Messiah - any historian worthy of the name would find this, in itself, interesting and would immediately search for other sources which did not issue from people with a vested interest in Jesus' divinity or lack thereof. We would look at official Roman records, private correspondence, artifacts, works of art etc etc - the reality is to date nothing has been found. Therefore it is incumbent upon the historian to declare that the available sources have an investment in a particular perspective and as no independent corroboration has been found the sources must be treated with extreme caution and no definitive conclusions may be drawn until such time (if ever) as outside corroboration is found.

Were I to produce a work on 16th century Ireland using only sources from the English side I would not be creating a balanced portrayal of 16th century Ireland and would be unable to claim it was anything other than a work dealing with the English perspective as I would be producing a work that deals only with one side. This is exactly what the available sources on Jesus do - deal with one side only.
    In order for me to be able to say I have produced an 'historically accurate' work on 16th century Ireland I would also need to look at the Gaelic Irish, Old English and Gallowglass perspectives and compare all of these accounts side by side.

Creating an historically accurate account is akin to making a jigsaw puzzle - would you have me ignore the fact that pieces are missing and declare the incomplete jigsaw fit for purpose? I simply will not do that. I will say this jigsaw is half the picture and until such time as we find the other pieces we can only conjecture as to what it will look like when finished.

I am sorry if you do not like the way academic history is governed, but quite frankly that is the was it is and I don't see it changing anytime soon.
    More importantly, from a personal perspective - I resent your statements which imply that I am off on some personal crusade and your accusations that I am using a 'narrow and self-serving definition' for employing the rules of Historical research as defined in the 19th century are bang out of order. There really is no need for that kind of needless personalisation of the discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

TheChizler wrote: »

C-I-T-I-N-G
    R-E-L-I-A-B-L-E
    S-O-U-R-C-E
    M-A-T-E-R-I-A-L

I think this may have been why I never hung out with the 'cool' people in school. :D

Ah c'mon! It's more just a harmless bit of hero worship :D The tree would be rather crowded, what with robindch and all the rest.....

Crosslegged below tree, listening carefully I'd say. Careful oldrnwiser, you'll end up with followers and look where that got Jesus :eek:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Careful oldrnwiser, you'll end up with followers

If he owns a gourd then it's a fait accompli.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Beruthiel wrote: »
    If he owns a gourd then it's a fait accompli.
    I had oldrnwisr down as more of a sandals kind of guy.

I was thinking more along the lines of untangling issues and adding clarity. Y'know, the way your posts do :D

As John the Baptist may or may not have said to Jesus ' Thank God you're here - I softened 'em up for you.'

robindch wrote: »
    I had oldrnwisr down as more of a sandals kind of guy.

That'll do too.

I have a gourd from Argentina.

coinmate5.jpg

Just throwing it out there now in case it becomes relevant at a later date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

72500-minions-cheering-gif-Imgur-CQso.gif

I am so quoting this gif and I am so bookmarking it and saving it to harddrive. :D

Jernal wrote: »
    I am so quoting this gif and I am so bookmarking it and saving it to harddrive. :D

arn't we all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I'm not. As a researcher I try to end up being the one cited. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    arn't we all.

No.
    *Smacks Bannasidhe on the head.*

BAAANNAAAANNNNAAAAA!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

There are no extant writings by Pilate as far as I know.
    Not writings per se, but there is a dedication to Tiberious "signed" by him.
    Plus the anti-stratfordians deny that Shakespeare wrote that stuff. That's their point.
    Don't get me started on those eejits. No one was suggesting Willie didn't write the plays and poems until the 19th century and more than a little bit of snobbery was involved. How could this northern oik write such brilliant works kinda guff.
    m4smith wrote: »
    Jesus came from one of the lowest levels of society and owned practically nothing.
    I always had trouble with this Jesus = dirt poor idea myself. Why? Well he was a carpenter's son, a highly skilled trade in a very wood based society, so work for his da would likely have been brisk enough. They weren't a peasant family scraping in the dirt for food. He's more than well schooled in rabbinical matters, again unlikely for the average peasant. At the age of 30, he's able to swan around preaching going from town to town with an entourage, a support system for this. It wasn't just him and 12 blokes. One theory has it that Mary Magdalene was one of their "sponsors". Given how near completely later women important to the spread of the faith have been written out it wouldn't surprise me at all. Hell your average punter thinks Magdalene was a reformed prostitute when she wasn't(the only mention of a back story they give is that he cured her of "pains/spirits"). Poor Jesus? I'd say more likee lower middle class kinda Jesus. Nothing is written about the "lost years" between his early teenage and 30. He may well have been a "proper" trained rabbi with an existing local following who then went off on his own religious tangent. Not so unusual back then, given how many Jewish sects there were.
    endacl wrote: »
    Spartacus, anybody?
    Yes, but Spartacus was or ended up being very loud historically. Raising a rebellion large enough to worry Rome will tend to get you noticed.
    Now you're applying modern standards. Average life expectancy at the time was 50-55. Anybody who was old enough at the time of Jesus to provide a coherent account would have been well past their sell-by 40 years later. Unless you'd take the 40 year old memory of a Jesus-contemporary ten year old as 'gospel'.
    Well yes and no. In the words ascribed to Jesus in the sermon on the mount he states that 3 score and 10, 70 years of age is an "average" span(and adds 80 if you're particularly strong). Now this is apparently to an audience of dirt farmers. If getting to 70 was a rare event it would have not made sense to that audience and following audiences of the ancient world. Yes there would have been far fewer old folks compared to today and childhood mortality was truly shocking, but there would have been a fair few 70 years olds knocking about in a population.
    Actually one thing we can be pretty much sure about is is name wasn't Jesus. That was dealt with in another thread, anyone remember which one? I think it was the one where we talked about biscuits...
    Well yea as has been pointed out it would have been Yeshua Ben Josef. This is alluded to in the texts themselves when people mistake him for the born again Joshua. Play on words sorta thing.

Very interesting stuff from oldrnwisr and makes perfect sense with it. The Jesus trial by the Romans reads like something shoehorned in after the fact. Even within the texts the Romans are saying "wtf has this guff got to do with us?" and try to send him back to the religious types. Theologically and culturally Romans in general wouldn't have the same concept of blasphemy as the local Jews. Comes with a culture with a pantheon of gods and religions*. You're more likely to accept another's god as unthreatening if you're exposed from an early age to a multitude of gods and goddesses. "Oh you follow Jupiter eh? Me I'm a Diana man". Monotheistic religions on the other hand are gonna take umbrage at the very suggestion of other gods. Look at the story of early Islam, where the Kaaba was originally a neutral place where there were many gods under one building, so whatever floated your boat you could come in and worship and make offerings to in peace. Muhammed comes along and tears that down and this was supposed to be an improvement? For me, far from being an evolution in theological thought, monotheism was one of the biggest backward steps we took as a species.

BTW does this mean believers need to wear little stones on pendants now? :)

*even when they went all Christian later on the Romans still clung to the many "gods" vibe with all the saints in the Catholic faith and they replaced the female gods with female saints and at their head Mary. Given she barely gets a mention in the canon overall that shows how old habits die hard. It also helped spread Christianity into "pagan" cultures. I have a feeling that if they had followed the more strict reading of the later Protestant Christianity then it would have been a much harder sell back then. "So let me get this straight Flavius, you're saying we have to get rid of all our gods and demigods and just have one. Well one who is also three. TBH we're still head scratching that one ted. Oh and no godesses? Eh WTF? No sorry mate, no sale, I'm closing the door now".

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    BTW does this mean believers need to wear little stones on pendants now? :)

I'd point out how poor in taste that would be, but it's no worse than what they do now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Don't suppose there's any reference to jebus' biscuit preferences at all...?

I remember reading (no I do not have a linky - It's in a book I bought in Geneva and it's in French and I have no intention of typing/translating it cos I are on my biscuit eating holliers) that in Calvin's Geneva there was much debate about whether laughing was permitted as there are no reference in the Bible to Jesus having a chuckle.

The book makes no reference to biscuits sadly (I checked) ... shoddy work there University of Geneva - shame on you!

Must have been a dull 'official' diet there in Geneva what with no mention of garlic and the like in the Bible - 'what is for dinner Papa?', 'Bread and fish Ezekiel, my petit puritan, avec vin.' 'Oh Papa we are so lucky to 'ave this bread et fish what with us living so very far from the sea.' 'Oui, mon sanctified son, the Lord 'as provided for us his children by giving us the magnifique Lac Léman and all of these fresh water fish.' '....Papa...could I someday 'ave a mackerel with my baguette...?'

The book does go into some detail about the regular punch-ups at Christening time - as is common in many societies people had 'family' names - eldest son called after paternal grandfather/father, that kind of thing. But Calvin and the rest of the No-Chuckle brothers weren't having that. If the name wasn't in the Bible it wasn't being used in the water dribbling ceremony.
    So up rocks the proud Daddy (no women as this was men only holy stuff) and declares his son is Louis like his Daddy and his Daddy's Daddy before him - only to be told he most certainly is not Louis he is... ummmm .... *opens Bible at random page, closes eyes and jabs at page* ... Adonijah ... yes. Adonijah.'

Cue Punch-Up. :D

Whatever about your empirical history, when you do conjecture, you do it well missus!

Jernal wrote: »

I do love minions....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I am sorry if you do not like the way academic history is governed, but quite frankly that is the was it is and I don't see it changing anytime soon.
    More importantly, from a personal perspective - I resent your statements which imply that I am off on some personal crusade and your accusations that I am using a 'narrow and self-serving definition' for employing the rules of Historical research as defined in the 19th century are bang out of order. There really is no need for that kind of needless personalisation of the discussion.

I'm just going to pick up on this bit, since the rest of what you wrote continues not to engage with the points I made. Now, I appreciate that you don't like a philosophical questioning of history, given its your trade. That's fair enough, but it's still philosophically in order to question the empirical validity of what you practice, if you don't mind.
    I have no problem whatsoever with how history is practised or conducted (though the notion of people 'governing' it concerns me greatly.) Nor did I personalise anything in the manner you describe. By way of a very simple thought experiment, I invited you to explain why this matters. After all, there appears to be a large consensus of your historian peers who happily accept that someone called something like Jesus did exist and is the person whom the early Christians were referring to in their almost contemporaneous and later documents. You haven't thus far explained to me what the exact importance of the point you're making is yet.
    Full disclosure: I'm neither Christian nor historian and have no axe to grind. I'm just curious and the more you evade the question the more curious I get.

Nothing is written about the "lost years" between his early teenage and 30. He may well have been a "proper" trained rabbi with an existing local following who then went off on his own religious tangent. Not so unusual back then, given how many Jewish sects there were.

Forgive me if I'm wrong, but I think a number of the apocryphal gospels cover that period and some do indeed have him preaching and training in rabbinical matters. I'm too lazy to check, but I think the Gospel of Thomas may be one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 m4smith

Not writings per se, but there is a dedication to Tiberious "signed" by him.

Where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Is that a primary source, that gospel? That stuff's kind of important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭oldrnwisr

m4smith wrote: »
    Where?

I believe this is what Wibbs is referring to:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 m4smith

oldrnwisr wrote: »
    I believe this is what Wibbs is referring to:

And how do you know that he Pilate signed it?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Now, I appreciate that you don't like a philosophical questioning of history, given its your trade.
    267125.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Yes, but Spartacus was or ended up being very loud historically. Raising a rebellion large enough to worry Rome will tend to get you noticed.
    But that's my point precisely. According to records, Spartacus was a little known Thracian gladiator until his participation in the Third Servile War. He was a historical non-entity, yet as soon as he became a thorn in the side of the Empire, there are all kinds of written contemporary documentary evidence of him, and of his actions. Which coincidentally were of the same historical period as the writing of the gospels. How come this rebel was so carefully documented, and the 'King of the Jews', also a rebel of a sort and a thorn in the side of the empire was not?

I'm just going to pick up on this bit, since the rest of what you wrote continues not to engage with the points I made. Now, I appreciate that you don't like a philosophical questioning of history, given its your trade. That's fair enough, but it's still philosophically in order to question the empirical validity of what you practice, if you don't mind.
    I have no problem whatsoever with how history is practised or conducted (though the notion of people 'governing' it concerns me greatly.) Nor did I personalise anything in the manner you describe. By way of a very simple thought experiment, I invited you to explain why this matters. After all, there appears to be a large consensus of your historian peers who happily accept that someone called something like Jesus did exist and is the person whom the early Christians were referring to in their almost contemporaneous and later documents. You haven't thus far explained to me what the exact importance of the point you're making is yet.
    Full disclosure: I'm neither Christian nor historian and have no axe to grind. I'm just curious and the more you evade the question the more curious I get.

Firstly I have no problem with the philosophical questioning of anything - that does not mean I have to engage in it just because some bloke on the internet wants me to because he doesn't 'like' what I am saying so wishes me to go off on some tangent of his own devising.

If that doesn't suit you then you can always find someone else to play ontological philosophical ball with you. I am busy with the discussion on historiography I am already engaged in thank you very much.

Failing that perhaps you can go into the motors thread and start asking car mechanics about jet engines - as that is the equivalent of what you are asking me to do.

I. do. not. do. philosophy.
    I. do. History.

Is that clear enough?

I have also explained many times what I am doing and the following quotes are the why of it:

Historically he did exist, whether you believe him or not, that's up you. Many didn't believe him at the time, that's well documented.
    Well if you rule out all evidence then of course there is none, and by that standard Alexander the Great and Socrates never existed either. Now you're in tin foil hat terrority so I'll leave you to it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Historicity_of_Jesus

In addition to this most accurate ancient historical narrative, we have archeological evidence to verify biblical stories. Not to mention the physical evidence of Jesus' body

I queried the accuracy of those definitive statements - that is all.
    The subject of these statements makes no difference to me. Passing conjecture off as established historical fact does - so I objected.

Some. people. made. inaccurate. statements. on. the. internet. so. I. questioned. them.

Happy now - or am I going to be accused of further evading your question oh grand master Inquisitor?

As for whether or not you personalised it
    If your definition of history
    Your whole argument is predicated upon a particularly narrow and self-serving definition of what evidence is.
    your constrictive definition

You attempted to dismiss over a 100 years of accepted historical practice by portraying it as My personal self-serving, narrow and constrictive viewpoint. Perhaps you should review the implications of your use of language as that comes across as very personal verging on attacking the poster simply for following best practice in their trade.

If you wish to discuss why these 'rules' are in place in historiography I am more than happy to do so. However, I will not tolerate a repeat of those statements of yours I just quoted as they are not true and are needlessly personalising the discussion.

That's a lot of words there, yet somehow you still can't seem to find your way to explaining why this matters to you. Your fellow historians accept by a vast majority the historicity of Jesus, so what semantic point are you seeking to prove or demonstrate?