If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

The GAA should have no place for American eggball, disaster waiting to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    The GAA should have no place for American eggball, disaster waiting to happen.

Rubbish. Soccer, rugby, the NFL, concerts etc etc are all sources of revenue for the GAA. As long as those monies trickle down to clubs and counties and coaching programs and ground and equipment, long may they continue imo.

Do think that having something on the day before an AI semi is a bit mad though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

What was the name of the Dublin hurler who took the frees a couple of years ago? He would play midfield or number 15 sometimes. He was pretty much Dublin's star player when Daly took over. Cant think of his name and its been bugging me since yesterday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

What was the name of the Dublin hurler who took the frees a couple of years ago? He would play midfield or number 15 sometimes. He was pretty much Dublin's star player when Daly took over. Cant think of his name and its been bugging me since yesterday!

Alan McCrabbe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

Alan McCrabbe.
    A fine hurler..had cruciate problems didn't he.Did he win an all star?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Thank you! That was driving me insane. I was saying to myself "Its something like McCambridge but that doesnt sound right!".

Has he retired now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,814 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

A fellow Craobh hurler, he couldn't play this year due to work commitments. Last year he was in the States all summer and had cruciate problems, missed a fair few of our club games too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭The Rooster

listermint wrote: »
    Complete Long shot.

But if anyone knows where I can get approx 4 Tickets for the Dublin V Kerry match. I checked ticketMas and tickets but they only have nally or upper tier.

Reason for asking is they are for some 'corporate' americans trying to show them what good GAA is like while they are over here.

If anyone can point in the right direction hopefully lower tier or it would be massive if premium tickets would be able.

(dont ridicule my please :) )

Four tickets in the premium section for an All Ireland football semi-final between Dublin and Kerry from strangers on a message board! "Complete long shot" doesnt do that justice!

I would imagine tickets.ie and ticketmaster will have some lower deck available closer to the game as clubs may return tickets. There'd be plenty of club members who would buy on the internet as soon as their team makes it, rather than wait until the club allocation arrives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭Ranelite

stetyrrell wrote: »
    A fellow Craobh hurler, he couldn't play this year due to work commitments. Last year he was in the States all summer and had cruciate problems, missed a fair few of our club games too.

He's been playing for the Craobh footballers in Division 5 all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

Ranelite wrote: »

Real shame he walked away.

Ranelite wrote: »

Yeah he's been playing club games, I was referring to inter-county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Looks like the planets are aligning again .. '83 Coghlan wins gold medal, '95 O'Sullivan wins gold, 2013 Heffernan wins gold ....;) ... I'll have to dig a bit deeper for 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭freddiek

No posts on here in 10 days??!!

i never believed that stuff about fair-weather fans lol.

Anyway, I've got dogs abuse on this site and elsewhere for saying that Dublin GAA is run by country folk but top culchie, Dublin resident and editor of the Indo Gerry O'Regan agrees with me.... :D

"And then 'up the road' lay the south Dublin GAA citadel that is Kilmacud Crokes. The Stillorgan-based club seems to operate like one giant finely tuned sporting factory, churning out scores of teams week after week, in football, hurling, ladies football and camogie.

One can often see those keen-faced fathers from Kilkenny, Tipperary and Clare transporting young sons, complete with hurley and helmet, to sporting encounters across Dublin city and county
    ."

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/gerard-oregan/on-dark-days-we-rejoice-in-sport-as-opium-of-the-masses-29524595.html

Did you return from a ban or something? Just go away will ye.

freddiek wrote: »

Anyway, I've got dogs abuse on this site and elsewhere for saying that Dublin GAA is run by country folk but top culchie, Dublin resident and editor of the Indo Gerry O'Regan agrees with me.... :D

"And then 'up the road' lay the south Dublin GAA citadel that is Kilmacud Crokes. The Stillorgan-based club seems to operate like one giant finely tuned sporting factory, churning out scores of teams week after week, in football, hurling, ladies football and camogie.

One can often see those keen-faced fathers from Kilkenny, Tipperary and Clare transporting young sons, complete with hurley and helmet, to sporting encounters across Dublin city and county
    ."

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/gerard-oregan/on-dark-days-we-rejoice-in-sport-as-opium-of-the-masses-29524595.html

Wouldn't use Kilmacud as proof of Dublin being run by boggers at all, it's one of hundreds of Dublin GAA clubs, but it's vast numbers from a catchment are full of civil service workers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

."

No posts in here in 10 days is due to the fact we were posting on other threads, that and we didnt have you annoying us.

Well if its said in the indo it must be true, as I'm sure that journalist stopped every parent and asked where are you from.

But still more to the point, what is your agenda, seriously?
    You obsessed with are family aren't pure Dublin blood so we didnt win or do anything!
    Because every other county only takes on players that have parents of pure blood.

The O'halpins from cork, one of there parents is from Fiji.

Go to some other county thread and peddle your racist sh1t cause I'm not buying here.
    Even if I have bitten and responded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

."

There is something wrong with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Can't say I'd fancy our chances against that Mayo side if we manage to get past Kerry. They look immense this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Can't say I'd fancy our chances against that Mayo side if we manage to get past Kerry. They look immense this year.

Ah sure if we get past Kerry we may as well give it a go.

I was more encouraged by today actually.

Its the first time this year i've seen a team good enough to test their defensive structure and i wasn't that convinced. Not to get ahead of ourselves of course but their half backs can be got at. Vaughan, Boyle and Keegan were poor defensively in the first half. They give no cover in behind and they aren't great at stopping runners through the middle. A better attacking unit and, crucially for Dublin, an attacking unit that moves the ball faster would have put them in serious difficulty.

The workrate from their forwards wasn't good enough either and against Dublin they are going to have to chase runners all day. Dublin are also the only side capable of matching their energy output (if that makes sense) too. They're good but i'm not convinced they're infallible anymore.

Kerry first though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,798 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

corny wrote: »

Its the first time this year i've seen a team good enough to test their defensive structure and i wasn't that convinced. Not to get ahead of ourselves of course but their half backs can be got at. Vaughan, Boyle and Keegan were poor defensively in the first half. They give no cover in behind and they aren't great at stopping runners through the middle. A better attacking unit and, crucially for Dublin, an attacking unit that moves the ball faster would have put them in serious difficulty.

The workrate from their forwards wasn't good enough either and against Dublin they are going to have to chase runners all day. Dublin are also the only side capable of matching their energy output (if that makes sense) too. They're good but i'm not convinced they're infallible anymore.

Kerry first though.

Agree with this completely. Dublin, or even Kerry, would've been 6/7/8 points up at half time today. I don't think they're actually poor defensively, moreso Tyrone caught them on the hop a bit. But yea, a better side could easily have beaten Mayo today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

corny wrote: »

Kerry first though.

I understand your point but I just felt Mayo only really got going after the peno. To manage to stay right in there in an All Ireland semi final without playing your best is impressive. Plus I could see the two O'Shea's destroying us in the middle of the park.

Like you say though, Kerry first :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Will you all dampen the hype down lads. We have to focus on Kerry first who I am sure will raise their game against us and form will go out the window. Anyway if we and hopefully we do get over that hurdle Mayo will be favourites I think for the final which would take a bit of the pressure off. The injury to Cillian O'Connor is a huge blow though.

billyhead wrote: »
    Will you all dampen the hype down lads. We have to focus on Kerry first who I am sure will raise their game against us and form will go out the window. Anyway if we and hopefully we do get over that hurdle Mayo will be favourites I think for the final which would take a bit of the pressure off. The injury to Cillian O'Connor is a huge blow though.

Are ye jokin me?? Absolutely no chance of that happenin. The Dubs will be favs against Mayo believe me. And if by any slim chance the bookies made Mayo favs it wouldnt be long before that changed when the Dublin boyos splashin the cash backin their team to win! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Are ye jokin me?? Absolutely no chance of that happenin. The Dubs will be favs against Mayo believe me. And if by any slim chance the bookies made Mayo favs it wouldnt be long before that changed when the Dublin boyos splashin the cash backin their team to win! :D

True with regards to the Dublin fans placing bets on us and slashing the odds if of course we get to the final but if we sneak a win against Kerry or play badly and still win I reckon most pundits and media journalists (apart from some Dublin based ones) will tip Mayo for Sam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

STB wrote: »
    There is something wrong with you.

Probably from generations of inbreeding, keeps the blood pure dont you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Gerrymac16

Is Reservoir dubs down tonight?

my ban was expired on Res Dubs and I was going to post the above on there but they don't like outsiders

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Dont put to much heed on the media in the coming week. Anyone who thinks we will give Kerry a trimming should think again.

I think Kerry are improving by the game and while Tomás and Mark O'Sé have big miles on the clock they will give this a right lash. Gooch is playing well at CHF, O'Donohue is doing very well if fit and Galvin is finding a bit of form. Mid field could cause us serious trouble, Kerry have 4 or 5 lads who could play there Buckley, Sheehan, Moran, Donaghy, Maher who are all good ball winners.

Dublin have a lot of positives with good displays all over the field however Midfield and our ability to compete here will be vital. We must win 40% of ball in this area. I would stick with Connolly and I think Gavin will too. If he can get a half decent start he could cause mayhem. Cant see a place for either Cullen or O'Gara ahead of him. Despite the scores drying up Brogan has proven himself with some great team play. I think Rock will start and he will take some serious handling. I think the tempo of the game will be very important and Dublin need to hit the ground running. For me Paul Flynn could hold the key as if we can get him on the ball and running at Kerry he could do huge damage. Brennan v Gouch will be some battle.

Kerry will be so fired up for this I would take a 1 point win.

Cluxton
    Daly
    O'Carroll
    O'Brien
    McCarthy
    Brennan
    McCaffrey
    MDMA
    O'Sullivan or Bastic
    Flynn
    C.K.K
    Connolly
    Mannion
    Rock
    Brogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

my ban was expired on Res Dubs and I was going to post the above on there but they don't like outsiders

:(

That's a shame because i'd say you gave them all a great laugh with your theories .