Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you attract weirdos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

My friend does. Just like flies to youknowwhat. She's a psychiatric nurse and I think she just had that kinda non judgemental patient face.

I can't be dealing with weirdos I have enough of them at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Yeah I think so, although maybe that's cause I'm a bit odd myself and birds of a feather and all that.

I once stormed out of a hotel one Friday night about 4am round temple bar, phone less, after a row with the boyfriend at the time. After marching through it and down the quays and back up college green, this guy falls into step with me, asking if he could walk with me and making small chat. I was like a bull anyway, so stomped up around again with him following me. Decided I'd go to the Internet cafe that was open on the quays, cause it was cold. Guy walked in after me, and asked if he could sit with me. I said no. My boyfriend happened to pass by, in a taxi and seen my big head and came in for me, brought me back to hotel. We went for Chinese next day, and there's your man, sitting across from us haha

Weirdo is such a relative term nowadays I don't know what you mean.

Your relatives are weirdos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I don't really, being cursed with a chronic b!tchface has its perks.

My friend is a magnet for loopers though. This one lady used to sit near her on the train everyday, slipping her notes signed off with 'The Goose'. A well-meaning lady but utterly bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭topcatcbr

Your relatives are weirdos?

If you don't know who the weirdo in your family is. Then it must be you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

If you can't spot the weirdo, it means you ARE the weirdo... something like that :D

I do seem to be a bit of a weirdo magnet though (I'm a guy btw, majority of weirdo magnets here seem to be girls), but like Rasheed says- I do seem to have that sort of face that says my ears are open for business.

They'll usually spend about five minutes with me before I start freaking them out, unintentionally of course, but it's usually because I'm probably far more friendly to them than maybe they're used to, I'm a go with the flow kinda guy that takes his social cues from other people, so if they get funky, the way I see it, it's ok for me to get funky too! :D

I met a fellow boardsie for lunch the other day and she told me I talk A LOT. I do when I'm comfortable. It's not intentional :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭cupcake83

Yes! It's almost humorous...

Czarcasm wrote: »
    If you can't spot the weirdo, it means you ARE the weirdo... something like that :D

I do seem to be a bit of a weirdo magnet though (I'm a guy btw, majority of weirdo magnets here seem to be girls), but like Rasheed says- I do seem to have that sort of face that says my ears are open for business.

They'll usually spend about five minutes with me before I start freaking them out, unintentionally of course, but it's usually because I'm probably far more friendly to them than maybe they're used to, I'm a go with the flow kinda guy that takes his social cues from other people, so if they get funky, the way I see it, it's ok for me to get funky too! :D

I met a fellow boardsie for lunch the other day and she told me I talk A LOT. I do when I'm comfortable. It's not intentional :o

Usually when someone gets funky that's my cue to run lol, you're a brave soul!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

when does that happen? that a homeless person offers to buy you coffee? :pac: I love that sorta thing though :D
    I ended up sitting in Eyre square playing music with a homeless guy years ago, and afterwards he offered me a cigarette, then booze, and then money. I declined. Bizarrely, I bumped into him again in Bundoran a few months later and he offered me money then too. Maybe I looked a bit scruffy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

also, often when myself and my girlfriend are out having a drink together, we get some really weird creepers approaching us. some of them can be... special.

I remember one time this guy plonked himself next to me at the bar while herself had gone to the shop for something, he couldn't seem to take the hint I've no interest at all, so luckily she comes back and I give her a kiss. well the guy just bolted upright and stormed out, even left his pint after him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Yes, an absolute magnet for weirdos.

On planes, trains, restaurants, I attract some weirdo who wants to tell me about their lost dog, themselves, or whatever.

Perhaps I have a friendly face, which makes people want to talk to me.

My wife blames me for responding to them, indeed she says that I talk to everyone. Perhaps I am the weirdo:confused:

Ficheall wrote: »
    I ended up sitting in Eyre square playing music with a homeless guy years ago, and afterwards he offered me a cigarette, then booze, and then money. I declined. Bizarrely, I bumped into him again in Bundoran a few months later and he offered me money then too. Maybe I looked a bit scruffy.

That's class!

That's what life's all about sure, meeting different people and having the chats :D

Most of my encounters aren't with the homeless but with the opposite sex lol. I don't even want to tell a few of my stories about creepy "normal" men who approach , because nobody would believe me if I did lol or maybe they would?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Ive attracted some nutjobs over the years but from my experience crazy girls are always the demons in bed :pac:

cupcake83 wrote: »
    Most of my encounters aren't with the homeless but with the opposite sex lol. I don't even want to tell a few of my stories about creepy "normal" men who approach , because nobody would believe me if I did lol or maybe they would?

I'm all ears....... of course I would believe you;)

Carry on.............:D

That's class!

That's what life's all about sure, meeting different people and having the chats :D

Exactly! I'm normally a neurotic bag of nerves on the inside and I look reserved on the outside, but then if I instantly click with somebody I'd wear the ears off them! I'd have a lot of homeless friends with the voluntary work I do and some of them are gas, I can kinda let myself out a bit more, whereas in a business environment and I even noticed this today when I was writing an e-mail earlier on- I'd to be SO formal and really think about what I was saying and how to say it in "business speak", whereas with weirdos I feel much more relaxed! :D

I'm kinda like that on boards too, I can tend to cut loose a bit in AH, then in other forums I tend to be much more reserved :o

I'm all ears....... of course I would believe you;)

Carry on.............:D

Fcuk me, it's like you read my mind! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Ive attracted some nutjobs over the years but from my experience crazy girls are always the demons in bed :pac:

Sure had my share of crazy girls in my life. Nice........:D

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Fcuk me, it's like you read my mind! :pac:
    I'm almost too embarrassed to talk about it really. I had a guy (stranger)come up to me at a social gathering and ask me out of nowhere after the usual hi how are yas ,dead serious if I liked to dominate men in the bedroom. I was like wait ,what? That's just one time. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

After reading all these posts, I wonder what would happen if all the weirdo-magnets gathered together in one room... Imagine all the weirdos that would appear outside :pac:

Agree with the theories in this thread that it's the people who tolerate most weirdness and those with "open-looking" facial expressions that attract the most loonies. I like weirdness, but only in certain quantities: quirkiness is fine, stalking strangers and offering to clean their shoes, not so much :p

Also, honourable mention to the weirdos I forgot in my OP: the older man who told me I could "leave those heels on" (*shudder*) and the man who muttered about "animal magnetism" while leaning in too close to me. (*shudder*)
    IvaBigWun wrote: »
    MMmmm weirdos
    <video>

I love that you came to a thread about attracting weirdos with your signature saying "I wanna be stalked!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

I have a slight anxiety disorder and in certain social situations I tend to get really worried and nervous , I think sometimes that I might come across as a weirdo when im chatting to people, I hope im not any of the weirdos some of ye met :pac:

I'm almost too embarrassed to talk about it really. I had a guy (stranger)come up to me at a social gathering and ask me out of nowhere after the usual hi how are yas ,dead serious if I liked to dominate men in the bedroom. I was like wait ,what? That's just one time. Lol

And..................?:Tell me more ! D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

it's like you're the Joe Duffy of boards here!

I have a slight anxiety disorder and in certain social situations I tend to get really worried and nervous , I think sometimes that I might come across as a weirdo when im chatting to people, I hope im not any of the weirdos some of ye met :pac:

No , you sound quite normal, that is just like the rest of us:)

I didn't take my eyes off my drink and inched towards the exit , the end lol ;)

RossieMan wrote: »
    it's like you're the Joe Duffy of boards here!

Ah............talk to Del:D

I didn't take my eyes off my drink and inched towards the exit , the end lol ;)

The end:confused: And what happened next?;)

C'mon talk to del:)

Or should I introduce my Red Chair and Lever?

Regards Graham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Ah, no, that wasn't the type of thing I meant! Being anxious or nervous isn't at all the same as being a creepy weirdo!

(Plus, we're probably all weirdos in someone else's eyes...)

The end:confused: And what happened next?;)

C'mon talk to del:)

Or should I introduce my Red Chair and Lever?

Regards Graham

Creeper ;)