Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Revenge of the Post Here When You Get Something New thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Kealy1994

Aghhh **** I'm gonna need a new power supply.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,325 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Kealy1994 wrote: »
    Aghhh **** I'm gonna need a new power supply.

Did you do the amateur mistake of using a holiday adapter? Uh oh if so.

You need to get a transformer to plug your NTSC machines into. Holiday adapters are only for things with dual voltages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,460 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

How did you blow a PAL snes PSU in a European 220v socket? I am confused!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Speaking of Snes,
    got the RGB cable for mine yesterday, tested it in situ this evening, works a treat!
    60hz, full screen Chronotrigger here we come!

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Did you do the amateur mistake of using a holiday adapter? Uh oh if so.

You need to get a transformer to plug your NTSC machines into. Holiday adapters are only for things with dual voltages.

I knew I needed an adapter that controls
    Voltage look up a few comments but I wanted to check if the console was working and I had a standard universal one my cousin was
    Using for her heat gun and she had no problems so I assumed it would only heat up but I only wanted to test the console but the console wouldn't turn on at all and I only had it plugged in a minute.
    But it didn't smoke or make any noise so Im convinced I just blew the socket on the adaptor.

Or at most the power supply.

I was told if there wasn't any sparks,
    Smoke, or noise the motherboard should be grand and if not I can replace the blew compassitors on the board worst case scenario.

What do you think the chances are that the boards fried ?

o1s1n wrote: »
    How did you blow a PAL snes PSU in a European 220v socket? I am confused!

It was an NTSC snes.
    The adapter I had I
    Thought might control
    The voltage since my cousin
    Was using it with a US heat gun.

I plugged it in a scart lead and it just wouldn't turn on.But it might still work
    Any recommendations were to get a transformer in the city centre so I can test this ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I got a Snes from the states, simply soldered the US connector to a spare PAL psu, the voltages coming out are common, only the current going into the transformer is different.
    So, find a compatible multi voltage adaptor in your local pound shop, make sure it can be set to 9v, 1.2amps, centre negative, then snip the US Snes connector from the borked PSU and solder it to the end of one of the available wires coming from the new PSU, problem solved and should cost you a fiver.

I do not take responsibility for
    Snes going on fire
    House burning down
    Decrease in sperm motility
    Difficulty in maintaining an erection
    or any problems after doing the above.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I got a Snes from the states, simply soldered the US connector to a spare PAL psu, the voltages coming out are common, only the current going into the transformer is different.
    So, find a compatible multi voltage adaptor in your local pound shop, make sure it can be set to 9v, 1.2amps, centre negative, then snip the US Snes connector from the borked PSU and solder it to the end of one of the available wires coming from the new PSU, problem solved and should cost you a fiver.

I do not take responsibility for
    Snes going on fire
    House burning down
    Decrease in sperm motility
    Difficulty in maintaining an erection
    or any problems after doing the above.

You can just get a spare mega drive power supply and use the Snes NTSC jack and solder it on and itl cost me nothing or I can buy a 3rd party NTSC snes power supply that fits in the socket and I think that outputs 10 volts which is a more accurate voltage the snes should be receiving.

I am more concerned of the probability of my snes being fried but I will be in a pound shop in the morning to get a proper voltage controlled adapter to test if the power supply is really gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

deathrider wrote: »
    Picked up Fahrenheit and Gradius V today... And another thumb.
    Always wanted to know the craic with Fahrenheit, so I'll look forward to checking it out over the weekend.
    meant to reply, I loved Fahrenheit and it did get super silly, but it's still fun.

Not 100% but there was a part I looked in the press and there was only beans in it, he got depressed and I got Game Over shortly afterwards.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,325 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

More than likely the power supply is just fired. You can replace that. You'll know next time anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭MrVestek

No... YOU'RE FIRED!

Finally got a Mega CD. Bought it in Retropolis today. I got ThunderHawk with it and an unboxed Hook.

Also got INXS make my video. For ciderman's next beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Swap ya for "Marky Mark" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Finally got a Mega CD. Bought it in Retropolis today. I got ThunderHawk with it and an unboxed Hook.

Was that the one for €50 on Adverts? Seemed a decent price, esp for a model 1.

Must have been I saw he had it on Facebook though. Seems to be working fine and it's not an ugly model 2 :)

Now, have the region free bios fitted to it & do yourself a favour.

Master of the Universe

No need for a region free bios now that the Everdrive exists :)

I think there might even be an Everdrive model now which records Mega CD saves too.

Oh thats right! A fantastic thing that they could implement that feature into the Everdrive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Mega Everdrive does this.

Good thing I won that everdrive from stone age gamer last year :)

Damn you!
    I wanted that!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Damn you!
    I wanted that!

If you want INXS make my video so much you can have it.

Master of the Universe

Good thing I won that everdrive from stone age gamer last year :)

Finally a use for it :)

Just whack the Mega CD bios roms on the cart and load them up like you would a standard game. It'll then go directly to the Mega CD boot menu and let you play a game. Absolutely brilliant so it is. Took me ages to cop on that that would be a use for it.

Unfortunately my Everdrive predates Mega CD save features.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Xtra-vision Stillorgan are closing down so I popped in to see what they had.
    Picked up a set of PS2 Buzzers, PS2 IR Remote and GBA link cables, all brand-new and boxed.

Total cost: €4.98

Still a few up there if anyone else wants anything. Loads of unboxed DS and PS2 games for cheap as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flaregon

just got Digimon world platinum at retropolis, manual and all 10 euro xD.

So eh, do I take the red cover off the megadrive connector to attach it to the mega CD. Bloody thing won't come off.

Master of the Universe

Hahahahahaha! :D

Yes, yes you do!

So eh, do I take the red cover off the megadrive connector to attach it to the mega CD. Bloody thing won't come off.

Nope, you leave that on. Blast processing ensures the pins don't need to make a proper contact

Well got it working after finding pliers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Finally received this after a bit of a debacle with Fedex not knowing how apartment buzzers work.

266386.png

The gun itself is fine, feels a bit cheap but that's ok I didn't want to spend mental money for an Aimtrak.

The sensors are ugly as sin on the cabinet so I think what I'll do is use the spare plexi I have left over and do up a brand new marquee with holes cut out for the sensors.

Think I'll be using a cardboard marquee this time instead of spraypainting the plexi...

Anyway used it last night playing HOTD on an Sega System 2 emulator. Brought back so many memories. Speaking of which anybody know how to get Time Crisis and Time Crisis 2 running perfectly? It stutters a bit for me via MAME.

Thanks.