Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Exact same keeper, full back line and midfield that took to the field against Cork in the quarters in 2011. Most people (myself included) were critical of the lightweight and inexperienced nature of them at the time. 2 years down the line and its anything but same sentiment. Lets hope for an even better display from these lads against another reigning AI champion on Sunday. They're more than capable now. Maigh Eo abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

The rumours were correct on the two changes. O'Connor will be well up for the heavy hits and he won't hold back himself however hes likely play in the half forward line than FF line. Dillion is due a good game played very well against Down,Dublin in Croker last year. I can imagine Kevin McLoughlin will be given the sweeper role. Vaughan won't play at 6 will probably swap roles with Boyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

The rumours were correct on the two changes. O'Connor will be well up for the heavy hits and he won't hold back himself however hes likely play in the half forward line than FF line. Dillion is due a good game played very well against Down,Dublin in Croker last year. I can imagine Kevin McLoughlin will be given the sweeper role. Vaughan won't play at 6 will probably swap roles with Boyle.

How do you expect the forwards to line out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Exact same keeper, full back line and midfield that took to the field against Cork in the quarters in 2011. Most people (myself included) were critical of the lightweight and inexperienced nature of them at the time. 2 years down the line and its anything but same sentiment. Lets hope for an even better display from these lads against another reigning AI champion on Sunday. They're more than capable now. Maigh Eo abu

12 of that team started the 2011 Connacht final A Feeney,T Mortimer, J Doherty the three out. http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2011/0716/282418-roscommon_mayo/

With a lot of the same players Mayo have come along way in a short space of time.

How do you expect the forwards to line out?

Kevin McLoughlin to be given the sweeper role

Half forward line of Richie Feeney Cillian O'Connor Alan Dillon

Two man full forward line of Alan Freeman Andy Moran

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Kevin McLoughlin to be given the sweeper role

Half forward line of Richie Feeney Cillian O'Connor Alan Dillon

Two man full forward line of Alan Freeman Andy Moran

Feeney will fall back to hassle McFadden as Monaghan did, force him onto his right foot.

Note: Mayo and Monaghan met last week to confirm that tactic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

12 of that team started the 2011 Connacht final A Feeney,T Mortimer, J Doherty the three out. http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2011/0716/282418-roscommon_mayo/

With a lot of the same players Mayo have come along way in a short space of time.

10 of the team that lost to Longford in the qualifiers in 2010!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Sensational comments from Gallagher. Collusion between Mayo & Monaghan. Lovely
    This is turning into some memorable game Hopefully match lives up to the hype

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

TBH I'd expect Vaughan to hold the centre.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

10 of the team that lost to Longford in the qualifiers in 2010!

Galway thread must be very quiet. Have you not an oyster festival or something like that to be preparing for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Rawhead wrote: »
    Galway thread must be very quiet. Have you not an oyster festival or something like that to be preparing for?

It's better fun here!

I think Richie Feeney will be back as Sweeper. He's taller and stronger than McGloughlin. Makes no sense to have McGloughlins back close to our own goal. He's one of the best passers of the ball in the game. Need him delivering it in to the full forward line.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

The sense of anticipation for this game is unbelievable. I think that the whole county feels we are capable of the big one finally and Sunday will be the acid test. At least we'll know if our optimism is justified early in the year. The big problem Horan will have after Sunday if we win is tampering the excitement because it'll reach 96/97 proportions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Sensational comments from Gallagher. Collusion between Mayo & Monaghan. Lovely

I think Richie Feeney will be back as Sweeper. He's taller and stronger than McGloughlin. Makes no sense to have McGloughlins back close to our own goal. He's one of the best passers of the ball in the game. Need him delivering it in to the full forward line.

As Yop has pointed out Feeney will also drop back to help out. McLoughlin is well use to defensive duties having played there at underage level he also has the engine to get up the field and deliver those passes closer to goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Rumours that Higgins will be sent up to the half-forwards like the London game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Rawhead wrote: »
    The sense of anticipation for this game is unbelievable. I think that the whole county feels we are capable of the big one finally and Sunday will be the acid test. At least we'll know if our optimism is justified early in the year. The big problem Horan will have after Sunday if we win is tampering the excitement because it'll reach 96/97 proportions.

Heaven forbid that sort of thing starts up again,absolutely no guarantee that we will come through on Sunday.One swallow a summer does not make.Dublin in spite of all their frailties and crazy hype would be my favourite's for the All Ireland.I am as quietly confident as one can afford to be,lots of battle scars.I think James Horan is best placed to keep any OTT hysteria in check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Rumours that Higgins will be sent up to the half-forwards like the London game?

If that was to happen, would it involve a switch with Feeney? I dont see any other switch they could make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

995157_10151922756443488_467004223_n.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭simonmln

As a complete neutral, and a big fan of football in a county with no football, I hope to God Mayo win.

This boring Donegal blanket defence style, where its more important to be big than skilled, is horrible to watch and horrible for the game. I hope ye batter them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Anyone see 'Cahmapionship Matters' last night

Three individuals on , two went for Donegal, one for Mayo

Eoin Mulligan - 'Donegal', they will get motoring once they get back to Croke Park
    Sean Armstrong - 'Donegal', Mayo have not had a test
    Niall Carrew - 'Mayo', fresher going into the game, better than last year

The talk of Donegal being sluggish and picking it up when they get to Croke Park is a carbon copy of what we heard about Dublin in 2012
    Martin Carney mentions it also in his RTE piece, even though he himself is not saying it will be the case,

...they appeared sluggish in disposing of Down before they crashed under the force of the Monaghan juggernaut. Against Laois last weekend they took their first steps towards footballing rehab.....

...There is a sense that a return to Headquarters will provide Donegal with the spark that up to now has been absent....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭overshoot

naughto wrote: »
    Fr Ted
    even as a donegal man i have to admit i got a laugh out of that after the last weeks going ons!
    The talk of Donegal being sluggish and picking it up when they get to Croke Park is a carbon copy of what we heard about Dublin in 2012
    Martin Carney mentions it also in his RTE piece, even though he himself is not saying it will be the case,
    it strange saying it in a mcguinness era but it depends what donegal shows up, 2013 and there will only be one winner, 2012 and we could have a hell of a game on our hands and we may sneak it. There were added signs of life and a hunger there against laois that wasnt v monaghan and down. Hopefully monaghans dismissal of us was the kick up the ass needed as relegation wasnt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

simonmln wrote: »
    As a complete neutral, and a big fan of football in a county with no football, I hope to God Mayo win.

This boring Donegal blanket defence style, where its more important to be big than skilled, is horrible to watch and horrible for the game. I hope ye batter them!

Mayo have dished out a fair amount of pain to my county(Dublin) in recent times but I will be 100% behind them on Sunday.

You couldn't begrudge Mayo an AI to be fair, and James Horan seems a decent bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

overshoot wrote: »
    even as a donegal man i have to admit i got a laugh out of that after the last weeks going ons!

it strange saying it in a mcguinness era but it depends what donegal shows up, 2013 and there will only be one winner, 2012 and we could have a hell of a game on our hands and we may sneak it. There were added signs of life and a hunger there against laois that wasnt v monaghan and down. Hopefully monaghans dismissal of us was the kick up the ass needed as relegation wasnt!

Well your post is proving my point.
    The hope for Donegal fans is that the 2012 team turns up.
    But do the 2012 team even exist in 2013 ?
    I don't think so, they are without McHugh, Lacey is not what he was, and as a whole they have yet to prove to us that they have anything like the intensity of 2012.

Mayo on the other hand everyone tells us are even better than 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭overshoot

Well your post is proving my point.
    The hope for Donegal fans is that the 2012 team turns up.
    But do the 2012 team even exist in 2013 ?
    I don't think so, they are without McHugh, Lacey is not what he was, and as a whole they have yet to prove to us that they have anything like the intensity of 2012.

Mayo on the other hand everyone tells us are even better than 2012.
    yep hope indeed & probably not, lacey & mchugh were a crucial part of out quick counter attacking. Ryan is going to be a better footballer than his brother imo (well the consensus is the mchughs get better as they go!) but he doesnt have the style to replace his brother. i think their father is meant to have described ryan as a shooter, mark as a runner.

overshoot wrote: »
    yep hope indeed & probably not, lacey & mchugh were a crucial part of out quick counter attacking. Ryan is going to be a better footballer than his brother imo (well the consensus is the mchughs get better as they go!) but he doesnt have the style to replace his brother. i think their father is meant to have described ryan as a shooter, mark as a runner.
    Just one major weakness I see in Ryan McHugh is that he is a bit light yet for this level. Being tackled or making tackles I see him at a major disadvantage. But he's for sure a skillful player. He's only 18/19?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Just one major weakness I see in Ryan McHugh is that he is a bit light yet for this level. Being tackled or making tackles I see him at a major disadvantage. But he's for sure a skillful player. He's only 18/19?

18. He's good on the ball but he looks too slight for Donegal's system and for this game in particular. He has potential in the years ahead, however, but it speaks to how threadbare Donegal's bench is if one injury means an 18 year-old is starting for the AI champions.

If Mayo have sense they'll be running down his channel all day long.

Syferus wrote: »
    18. He's good on the ball but he looks too slight for Donegal's system and for this game in particular. He has potential in the years ahead, however, but it speaks to how threadbare Donegal's bench is if one injury means an 18 year-old is starting for the AI champions.

If Mayo have sense they'll be running down his channel all day long.
    Ya it's going to be interesting to see how McHugh is used. He'd be a good option for winning frees as the temptation is always there to go aggressively at the smaller man when in posession. I think Donegal should use him as a runner coming through towards the big full forwards.
    - Win frees
    - Take an odd score
    - Keep one Mayo half back more focussed on defensive duties closer to their own goal
    Dropping back into his own half I can't see him having a big impact

I don't recall ever seeing such anticipation and controversy before a quarter final! It's almost like the 3rd Sunday in September. The Indo are reporting that the GAA expect about 60,000 to attend on Sunday, will be a far better atmosphere than the previous 2 QFs that Mayo played in, last year in particular was as dead as a doornail. Even the Dubs couldn't generate any sort of buzz.

How will the marking shape up at the backs? Cunniffe on McFadden, Caff on Murphy and Higgins on McBrearty? I can see Cunniffe moving onto Murphy if he becomes a problem, no guarantee he will though, he was quiet enough against Laois.

All in all Donegal are looking tired and the antics from the management this week can't have helped them in any way. Donegal are under pressure and they're feeling it, they will need a bigger performance than last year's final to get past Mayo. I don't see it happening so I'm calling this one for Mayo by four points.

If that was to happen, would it involve a switch with Feeney? I dont see any other switch they could make?

Feeney would be the only natural back to switch with, unless of course Barrett or McHale are brought on and the switch is made then. It would be a good tactic to deploy if things aren't going our way. Could bring on Barry Moran at midfield and move O'Shea up towards the forwards. Didn't exactly work a treat last year though or throughout the league even.