Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Computer games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

TO_ARTHUR! wrote: »

What took ye?:pac:

You should play GTA IV online. It's pretty good. That and any FIFA game:)

Well for the first few years my internet connection was so sh!te that it was not possible, and since I moved into a house with a proper connection, I have just not really been playing Xbox... I tried to set it up about a year ago and there was some error with Xbox Live at the time and it said to try again in a few hours. Instead I just waited a year!

It was so annoying though, I couldn't connect my existing profile to Xbox Live, so I just created a new one so I have none of my achievements on this profile. Ah well, I will just use that as an excuse to go back and replay all the Fable Games and Marvel Ultimate Alliance and the others that I played to death! Oblivion can wait though. No way am I going to start that from scratch after all these years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Tainor

Where should I start LOL...I am a gaymer :P and I love both PC and console games , but my most favourite games ever are:

the God of War series...I mean those games have the most amazing storyline ever :D
    Uncharted - Hello, NATHAN DRAKE! - SEXY
    The new Tomb Raider (2013) is very good,
    Mass effect series
    The New Devil May Cry - Hello, DANTE (melting) - 'nough said :P
    Call of Duty series
    Darksiders 1 & 2

Used to really like wrestling games back on the PS2 - had all of the WWE games, but now meh been long time since I watched wrestling, tho sweaty, beefy men in skimpy outfits, up, close and personal...hmmm might get back into it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

Vojera wrote: »
    Your first is always special ;) I know when I picked it up on the back of the manual there was an ad for playstation memory cards with the tagline "Try beating Final Fantasy without it". Considering I was coming from playing the mega drive, where all the games were done with either password access or all in one sitting (pausing when your mammy called you for dinner :P), I remember thinking "How long could FF really be?" Little did I know it would be fourteen YEARS before I finally got that last cut scene! (Shocking, I know!)

Yeah, It was my first too ;) It says that on the back of my manual too.I think I'd go mad if I tried to beat FF7 without the memory card:pac: but I am proud to say that I beat it just the once, nearly three years after getting it albeit with the help of the Xploder cartridge:o I think I'm at 80 odd hours of play in my current game but I'm looking forward to getting back to it:) I'm glad that I got the most tedious part over with - Chocobo breeding, I like the racing though:pac:
    Phareon wrote: »
    Aw, but Gary Oak's so hot though. Maybe it's all the PalletShipping slashfiction I've been reading . . .

This make me see pokemon in a whole new light now;)
    Davyhal wrote: »
    It was so annoying though, I couldn't connect my existing profile to Xbox Live, so I just created a new one so I have none of my achievements on this profile. Ah well, I will just use that as an excuse to go back and replay all the Fable Games and Marvel Ultimate Alliance and the others that I played to death! Oblivion can wait though. No way am I going to start that from scratch after all these years!

There's never a better excuse to play them again:cool: Marvel Ultimate Alliance is a good game. I've played Fable and it reminds me a little of GTA meets FF. Have you played any of the Modern Warfare games? They can get a bit addictive...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭manic mailman

I get a sci-fi hard-on for all things Halo (my dirty little secret)....even though it'd by no means the most original of stories.

Haven't played the xbox in yonks though, probably will "donate" it to the family next door, reckon the 3 kids will get more use out of it then I at this stage. I blame work and all these newfangled "responsibilities"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

This thread has gone dead and with new consoles coming that shouldn't be the case :p I'm getting a PS4 myself and it seems like it's going to be a beast.

Just played through The Last of Us recently and it's hands down the best game I've ever played. Fantastic gameplay, story and actors. Anyone with a PS3 that doesn't pick it up is a fool because it's worth all the hype.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

1ZRed wrote: »
    This thread has gone dead and with new consoles coming that shouldn't be the case :p I'm getting a PS4 myself and it seems like it's going to be a beast.

Just played through The Last of Us recently and it's hands down the best game I've ever played. Fantastic gameplay, story and actors. Anyone with a PS3 that doesn't pick it up is a fool because it's worth all the hype.

Good man yourself!!
    I have a PS+ subscription and I am currently struggling to keep up with the free games that PSN offers every month. Between work and studying, I don't have much time to play PS3.
    I think PS4 will have to wait for a while. . .

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I'm too busy spending my money on the Steam sale. Mark of Ninja is brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Yeah I'm looking forward to getting a PS4 myself, I've been an XBOXer for a long time, but I have to switch. XBOX One holds no appeal to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭Rick_

XBOX ONE? PlayStation 4? Pfft.

Give me a NES, SNES or a Mega Drive any day. :P

Paddy C wrote: »

Pfft. Even my 3 year old, dyslexic iPhone 4 has more power than them :p

The X1 is some train wreck of a console though in seriousness.

Oh I know they do, but you just can't beat that feeling of nostalgia when playing an 8 or 16-bit Mario game on a TV screen and are instantly transported back to a happier, more innocent time in your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Over the past week I have bought

For the WiiU:
    Batman AC
    (Might get Pikmin 3 in the next few weeks)

For the PS3:
    A Super Slim PS3 :-)
    Assassins Creed 1&2, Brotherhood & Revelations.
    Uncharted 1 & 2
    Half Life 2 (again)
    The Last of Us
    PS+
    Jax & Daxter Trilogy HD
    Infamous (not liking it at all)
    ModNation Racer

Feck the PS4 and XBone for the next 2 years a least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭Daith

Hmm is there any venue that that you can rent out and play video games in? An Irish Gaymers group could be interesting and different from the usual pub and club stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Daith wrote: »
    Hmm is there any venue that that you can rent out and play video games in? An Irish Gaymers group could be interesting and different from the usual pub and club stuff?

I'm sure something could be arranged in Outhouse, like a LAN party for example. Could be fun. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Paddy C wrote: »

Oh well I class them differently. I collect retro game systems, but I do also like my next gen ones too. My fave to play is probably my NES, and I really REALLY want a SNES and a Megadrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Meesared

azezil wrote: »
    I'm sure something could be arranged in Outhouse, like a LAN party for example. Could be fun. :)
    Count me interested :D

Over the past week I have bought

For the WiiU:
    Batman AC
    (Might get Pikmin 3 in the next few weeks)

For the PS3:
    A Super Slim PS3 :-)
    Assassins Creed 1&2, Brotherhood & Revelations.
    Uncharted 1 & 2
    Half Life 2 (again)
    The Last of Us
    PS+
    Jax & Daxter Trilogy HD
    Infamous (not liking it at all)
    ModNation Racer

Feck the PS4 and XBone for the next 2 years a least

Got infamous 2 free on PS+ and it's great fun. Be evil, it's far more fun again!

Get The Last of Us btw, you won't be disappointed by it.

1ZRed wrote: »
    Got infamous 2 free on PS+ and it's great fun. Be evil, it's far more fun again!

Get The Last of Us btw, you won't be disappointed by it.

Yeah I have no problem buy inFAMOUS 2 soon. The first inFAMOUS just seemed very repetitive when I tried it, maybe I'll give it another shot and play evil.

Can not wait to get TLoU! At the moment I finished Uncharted 2 last week so playing through Uncharted 1, then its onto Uncharted 3. The graphic's leap from U1 to U2 is pretty unreal, cant wait to start U3. Fancy Drake a lot too :o

Yeah I have no problem buy inFAMOUS 2 soon. The first inFAMOUS just seemed very repetitive when I tried it, maybe I'll give it another shot and play evil.

Can not wait to get TLoU! At the moment I finished Uncharted 2 last week so playing through Uncharted 1, then its onto Uncharted 3. The graphic's leap from U1 to U2 is pretty unreal, cant wait to start U3. Fancy Drake a lot too :o
    Infamous 2 is a lot better. Not as dark and repetitive, plus your powers get way stronger. The graphics are far better too. It's like the uncharted 1 to 2 jump.

Hmm... you did it wrong, you should've played U1 first :p I actually prefer the first to the second because I like that jungle setting more. He's better looking in the first too ;) Still though, great games that I'll never trade them in.

TLoU blows all of them away though, and I'm a big fan of uncharted, so that says a lot.

Lol yeah I go the PS with U2, played that, signed up to PS+ and saw U3 was free, so d/l'd that and bought U1 from the PSNstore.

I think Drake looks a hell of a lot better in U2, ridey.

TLoU, going to put off playing that for a little while (as its going nowhere anytime soon) I'm sure there is games I wont want to hold onto that I have picked up over the last couple of weeks. Like Resistance fall of man, I know I'm not going to get into it, I gave it a couple of hours, but not for me.

So many games to get through! And all the games comeing to the WiiU and 3DS over the next 6 months, crazy!

And to think, I nearly bought a Vita last week just to play, you guessed it, Uncharted lol.

EDIT: I am actually a nerd!

Lol yeah I go the PS with U2, played that, signed up to PS+ and saw U3 was free, so d/l'd that and bought U1 from the PSNstore.

I think Drake looks a hell of a lot better in U2, ridey.

TLoU, going to put off playing that for a little while (as its going nowhere anytime soon) I'm sure there is games I wont want to hold onto that I have picked up over the last couple of weeks. Like Resistance fall of man, I know I'm not going to get into it, I gave it a couple of hours, but not for me.

So many games to get through! And all the games comeing to the WiiU and 3DS over the next 6 months, crazy!

And to think, I nearly bought a Vita last week just to play, you guessed it, Uncharted lol.

EDIT: I am actually a nerd!
    Sure, no harm in it I suppose :p I've never been so into games, but PS+ is the handiest thing ever. Only bought 3 games in the last 2 years so handy enough.

Tbh there's no point getting a vita until the PS4 comes out, then you'll be able to play all PS4 games on it wherever you are and it'll probably get a price cut too.

Trying to think of other games now. Heavy rain is good, as well as killzone and god of war

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Ash885

You're all so violent! :P What ever happened to the dashing knight trying to save a princess from a locked tower?

Maybe I'm playing too much FFXIII-2. Gave it a break for a week and now I have absolutely no idea what to even do! -_-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,250 ✭✭✭Daith

azezil wrote: »

Having a looking at the Gaming forum here there seems to be a place of Liffey street that we could rent? For XBox/Ps3 people need to bring their own games, controllers.

Anybody interested and I could look at it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Guyanachronism

Daith wrote: »

That is a really good idea but it would be difficult. All the cons are gay friendly, the whole nerdy/gamer scene is gay friendly from my experience but a dedicated gaming night for LGBT community would be great. I think the best would be if you knew somebody who owned a LAN centre and asked them to host it on a quiet night and you take responsibility for promotion. I doubt it would be large to start with but if people were committed promotion at places like Dublin Comicon, Brocon etc.

The best step towards an Irish gaymers group would be keeping this thread moving. :)

In general it's really good to see a positive thread on the LGBT forum.

I don't know if I would class myself as a hardcore gamer, I don't play MMORPGs or online multiplayer and altough I enjoy modern warfare I would be destroyed in an online deathmatch. I only recently got my boyfriends Xbox360 since he now has a super gaming computer and doesn't use his Xbox and I tend to play older stuff on my netbook. I am currently obsessed with Crusader Kings II. Your charchter can be gay in that, but it's really a negative thing because the game is really focused on you keeping your dynasty alive by having children. It's just historical accuracy.

I was also obsessed with Skyrim, first game I played obsessively that allowed same sex relationships, Argis the bulwark (long blonde haired viking *swoon*) was my favourite and always had him as my follower but also Farkas (from the mercenary guild) and Ghorbash the Orc were cool. I am also playing some Xbox 360 classics, bioshock II which is amazing just for the envirnoment and detail as well as Fallout: New Vegas which while cool I am finding it very clunky.

I know Dragon Age has same sex elf relationships and even a sex scene, well it doesn't depict anything graphic.

Also has anyone played "My Ex Boyfriend the Space Tyrant"? It's a gay indie game, poorly made but very funny, it's like a parody of day of the tentacle or monkey island, point and click. It's not porngraphic but a little cheeky erotism in terms of the outfits and a load of gay jokes while a bit cliche is very funny. I particularly like the wise cracking elevator on the ship.

Also I've played Final Fantasy 1 - 9, I am mostly a strategy fan: total war, cossacks, crusader kings, star wars empire at war, Civilisations but I also enjoy the occasional FPS but they get reptitive. I kind of fell behind while doing my postgrad but trying to catch up now. I also have a list of retro games to compelete but I am failing miserable, tops of the list was Chrono Trigger, Ogre Battle: March of the Black Queen and Final Fantasy 6 (which I've never finished).

I'd be interested to see how something like this would go.
    I never go into 'LAN(?)' places, I'm a home gamer, ps3 and wiiu at the moment.
    Just finished The Last of Us at the weekend :eek: subtle ending.
    Started RE: Revelations on the PS3, played it on the 3ds last year, I think its just as good on the PS3. Got Super Luigi U too, jaysus its tough as nails!

Ash885 wrote: »
    You're all so violent! :P What ever happened to the dashing knight trying to save a princess from a locked tower?

Maybe I'm playing too much FFXIII-2. Gave it a break for a week and now I have absolutely no idea what to even do! -_-
    Even Mario is violent, he's killing turtles, plants and creatures evolved from mushrooms and more in his quest to save a woman he loves, but is too stupid to protect herself from getting captured time after time.

Anyone going to Dublin ComiCon this weekend? I am really annoyed I missed the arcade-con in July, I just learnt about it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Ash885

Anyone going to Dublin ComiCon this weekend? I am really annoyed I missed the arcade-con in July, I just learnt about it today.

First I've heard of it. I've been to a few ComiCons in other countries so might give this a whirl if I'm about. Anything to damage the bank account a bit for some niffy comics :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Meesared

ArcadeCon was awesome :D