The Prince of Burma appreciation thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Happy Birthday Urban :) Have a great day!! X

Be better if you were here xx

...sucking me off :pac:

Two seconds in my Lucky 15 so far, I think I'll let the golf amuse me for the next few days

The housemate bought me a round for my birthday tomorrow. First time to play a course that isn't links, will be 38 degrees though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

UrbanSea wrote: »
    The housemate bought me a round for my birthday tomorrow. First time to play a course that isn't links, will be 38 degrees though

You'll be roasted :pac: If you get a buggy you might just survive the 3/4 hours haha

Hope the two of us don't get paired with anyone they always do that here. Im ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Just had a Rogue Dead Guy Ale

Another triumph. Lovely beer

Urban, seriously get some Rogue beers into you if you can over in the US of A

They're tremendous

Colonel for the night that's in it ill tale your advice and try a few IPA's. All the best things in life end in A: IPA, vaginA, golfA, days offA, burritoA, MDMA.

Hope the two of us don't get paired with anyone they always do that here. Im ****e

I know that feeling haha, sure fuck them, you'll never see them again :pac:

Colonel for the night that's in it ill tale your advice and try a few IPA's. All the best things in life end in A: IPA, vaginA, golfA, days offA, burritoA, MDMA.

slutsA

Do it man. Those Rogue beers are ****ing exceptional

Rogue+Dead+Guy+Ale+S.jpg

Thinly veiled attack on Cash's Majestic Benbulben ride the other night from Kevin Blake is his Irish Field blog:
    It is a sad reality that Irish racing does not have the best of reputations in terms of integrity as far as Joe Public is concerned. One only has to walk around a racecourse with ears open or read the racing forums on the internet to hear/read that many people do not have full confidence in the policing of our sport.

As a professional that spends his days studying Irish racing in great detail, I am happy to stand up to any naysayers and defend our sport, as the vast majority of it, particularly on the Flat, is as straight up as anywhere in Europe.

However, inevitably there will be occasions that someone takes a liberty on the racecourse. To be fair to the stewards, they tend to pick up on the majority of them and hold an inquiry, but on occasion, the results of those inquiries can prove very frustrating.

In the recent past, there have been a few occasions where horses have been give extremely “eye-catching” rides. Personally, I will always look at every possible angle to find an innocent reason for what occurred, as there almost always is a reasonable explanation if one is prepared to look for it, but on a few occasions, I found it almost impossible to make any conclusion other than the rules had been broken.

One expects such blatant instances to result in bans for all concerned and they often do, but in a handful of cases, the stewards have decided not to take action, seemingly due to post-race reports from the veterinary surgeon which reveal that the horse in question had something physically wrong with it after the race, for example lameness, coughing or having burst a blood vessel.

While I would love to discuss the individual cases here, the reader must understand that from a legal perspective, once the stewards have opted not to take any action, it very much restricts what can be written about those cases.

However, on a general point, one would naturally expect a horse that is found to be lame or having burst a blood vessel to be weakening at the finish, so if it was the case that the horse in question was still finishing so strongly under minimum pressure from the saddle that it would almost certainly have won the race granted any sort of meaningful assistance, in my opinion there are still grounds to conclude that the rules have been broken.

I am fiercely proud of our sport, but instances such as the above are not easy to reasonably defend. Perception is everything and if Irish racing is to shake off its largely unfair reputation of questionable integrity, the stewards are going to have to be more ruthless in their policing of the sport.

Must admit I've never seen a bleeder finish a race like that before full of running. And in any case bleeder or not Cash blatantly strangled the horse. A blind man could have seen that

Word of warning Urban, once you start drinking decent beer you'll never go back to the swill most publicans serve over here

I'm not a wine or whisk(e)y drinker but I assume it's the same if you get a taste for decent kinds of those

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

The reason the horse bled is because it was nearly choked to death. Irish racing has a reputation and with good reason when you see this type of shenanigans. There should be a type of TMO/citing commissioner that can overrule the grey haired clowns in the long beige coats that stand at Irish racetracks. That would stamp out most of this type of nonsense.

Lest we forget The Real Article at Tipp his run before the Galway Hurdle. Shocking stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

Thursday night treat: Kopperberg naked apple cider. Christ, it's like an alcopop. Tesco are selling it for €1.25 a bottle. It's rare enough I go for a cider unless its as a cure, this is pretty inoffensive in fairness, could see myself putting away a few of a sunny afternoon....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Right so Kevin Blake is an armchair vet now as well as an armchair jockey is he??

This uninformed crap is just written to provoke supportive tweets from his twitterfan followers which he can print alongside his column on Saturday.

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Right so Kevin Blake is an armchair vet now as well as an armchair jockey is he??

This uninformed crap is just written to provoke supportive tweets from his twitterfan followers which he can print alongside his column on Saturday.

Did you see the ride? What are your thoughts on it?

Just watched the race there, disgraceful. I have to say, Im a Kevin Blake fan, fantastic tipster too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

carmanard wrote: »
    Thursday night treat: Kopperberg naked apple cider. Christ, it's like an alcopop. Tesco are selling it for €1.25 a bottle. It's rare enough I go for a cider unless its as a cure, this is pretty inoffensive in fairness, could see myself putting away a few of a sunny afternoon....

Used to drink the pear Kopparberg the odd time, could never put away more than 4 due to how sweet they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Did you see the ride? What are your thoughts on it?

I didn’t see the ride actually – just the blog you posted up where KB casually states ……”one would naturally expect a horse that is found to be lame or having burst a blood vessel to be weakening at the finish” as if he is some sort of scientific authority. Give me a break.

Basically he either:

1. is defaming the racecourse vet; or
    2. has decided to disregard conventional veterinary wisdom on the effects of mid race lameness/busting.

Kevin and his twitter followers and lots of lads in the bookie shops and on forums who wouldn’t know how to put a head collar on may “naturally expect” a lot of things and jump to conspiracy theory conclusions.

How much did he have on the yoke anyway do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

Johner wrote: »
    Used to drink the pear Kopparberg the odd time, could never put away more than 4 due to how sweet they are!

Got 2 of the apple ones down me this evening, wouldn't put them high on my list of favourite sups but wouldn't refuse one if offered. Grand for a sweltering night like this...

Not too long until i finish up a quiet but very good night :cool:

Come on Westwood! Repay my faith in you.

What's happening Johner? In work

But can see Woods & Westwood are breaking away at the head of the Betfair market

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    I didn’t see the ride actually – just the blog you posted up where KB casually states ……”one would naturally expect a horse that is found to be lame or having burst a blood vessel to be weakening at the finish” as if he is some sort of scientific authority. Give me a break.

Basically he either:

1. is defaming the racecourse vet; or
    2. has decided to disregard conventional veterinary wisdom on the effects of mid race lameness/busting.

Kevin and his twitter followers and lots of lads in the bookie shops and on forums who wouldn’t know how to put a head collar on may “naturally expect” a lot of things and jump to conspiracy theory conclusions.

How much did he have on the yoke anyway do you think?

Do you reckon looking at it might be an idea before slating someone else's view?

I'm not a vet but have never seen a bleeder actually finishing out a race strongly. Neither has anyone I know. Happy to be corrected on that from someone more well versed in equine biology.

As for defaming the vet I know several people who have owned horses, told the stewards it was lame when it wasn't & that was that. No idea if the stewards even bothered to check with a vet but do know it was accepted when there wasn't a thing wrong with the horse

As for how much he'd on, I'm guessing zero as it was a 25/1 rag

What's happening Johner? In work

But can see Woods & Westwood are breaking away at the head of the Betfair market

5 birdies for Westwood on the front 9 with no dropped shots. :eek: Playing unreal stuff. Woods is -1 through 6 and -3 for the tournament going well. I always back Westwood always thought if it gets his putting together for a weekend at a major he would be hard to beat. His putting usually lets him down though and its still early.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

5 birdies for Westwood on the front 9 with no dropped shots. :eek: Playing unreal stuff. Woods is -1 through 6 and -3 for the tournament going well. I always back Westwood always thought if it gets his putting together for a weekend at a major he would be hard to beat. His putting usually lets him down though and its still early.

I used to back him quite often a few years back and his putting was awful yet he placed highly in a good few majors. Was always worth an EW punt.

Have to say that I have never seen him play this good before. He has been immaculate today. Wonder if he can keep his head clear if still in contention on Sunday.

Another unreal shot. Birdie chance.

fangee wrote: »
    I used to back him quite often a few years back and his putting was awful yet he placed highly in a good few majors. Was always worth an EW punt.

Have to say that I have never seen him play this good before. He has been immaculate today. Wonder if he can keep his head clear if still in contention on Sunday.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/golf/theopen/10167538/The-Open-2013-Lee-Westwood-teams-up-with-Australian-Ian-Baker-Finch-to-help-him-putt-like-a-kid-again.html

Looks to be working so far!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 786 ✭✭✭fangee

Time will tell but and looks amazing today.

I stopped backing him completely a couple of years ago when I felt he was losing competitions he should have walked. I got fed up waiting for his putter to 'get hot ' on a weekend.

His iron play is unreal.

Yes Westwood!!! Up the boys!