Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Revenge of the Post Here When You Get Something New thread

A good start murphy!
    Basically your standard wiring so games are compatible across different makes of cabinets.(sega,taito etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

urbanledge wrote: »
    A good start murphy!
    Basically your standard wiring so games are compatible across different makes of cabinets.(sega,taito etc)

I see, its to do with Cabs.

Unfortunatley I dont have the room in the house so ignore all cab talk otherwise its just teasing myself! :P

Will have to make do with the consoles and arcade stick for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,460 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Is it an MGCD one? could never get mine to work. Stupid pinout on the edge connector runs buttons through the ground - wont let me coin up.

Hmmmmm,
    just tried it out.

on the E2,
    have sound and picture but screen has a severe green tint .
    no controls working.

On the blast,
    picture and sound but less green and controls work 100%

any ideas?
    the pictures looks like it'd be class if the green tint was gone

Master of the Universe

If it's an MGCD then it's suffering the same issues as all other MGCDs :(

Whatever eejit made them ran controller buttons through the ground pins on the Jamma harness. The result is an issue with grounding. In the case of my one, I've full picture, but can't coin up so no controls.

Only way to fix is it to build a fingerboard fixing the grounding issues like on this one;

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ7gYmPxS_fAcxKEUa0sRD1Z1OIhjQi1XfM4csozxTRTQxmla__

Guide here

http://arcadefever.blogspot.ie/2010/05/hacking-mgcd-part-1.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

urbanledge wrote: »
    Hmmmmm,
    just tried it out.

on the E2,
    have sound and picture but screen has a severe green tint .
    no controls working.

On the blast,
    picture and sound but less green and controls work 100%

any ideas?
    the pictures looks like it'd be class if the green tint was gone

Fungus killer. In Dealz, only €1.49

Master of the Universe

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

That reminds me, I must do a pad hack and try to get my DC running on the AWSD.
    I think I have all the components I'll need here.

Have both the ps3 and xbox mgcd devices and both suffer from the same non-jamma pinout, its a load of work messin around to get controls working and the picture is always too dark, best solution i've found is the viletim scart to jamma adapter (safteyboy has one up at the moment on adverts) great picture/sound quality on these and with a couple of ps padhacks/adapters you quickly swap any system you like on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

PS2 outputs RGsB (sync on green), as the sync signal is much stronger than the normal colour signal this leads to the green tint. You need to strip off the sync signal from the green.

Ffs bull****

Really wanted this to work without hassle,.
    How do i strip off the sync?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

It should only happen when progressive scan mode is enabled, so try turning that off.

Very difficult to strip off without specialised video converters like the XRGB or similar. But depending on the model of PS2, its possible to mod it to permanently disable the sog generation.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Those things are just designed to crush your dreams, I had a load of O1s1ns one and had a head full of dreams of Raiden III on the cab, not to be, the piece if crap gave me nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭MrVestek

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    That reminds me, I must do a pad hack and try to get my DC running on the AWSD.
    I think I have all the components I'll need here.

I have some third party Madcatz peices of ****e controllers you can have as doners if you don't want to mess up a decent pad.

Achilles wrote: »
    I have some third party Madcatz peices of ****e controllers you can have as doners if you don't want to mess up a decent pad.

It's ok, I have some innards I can poke about with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

o1s1n wrote: »
    If it's an MGCD then it's suffering the same issues as all other MGCDs :(

Whatever eejit made them ran controller buttons through the ground pins on the Jamma harness. The result is an issue with grounding. In the case of my one, I've full picture, but can't coin up so no controls.

Only way to fix is it to build a fingerboard fixing the grounding issues like on this one;

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ7gYmPxS_fAcxKEUa0sRD1Z1OIhjQi1XfM4csozxTRTQxmla__

Guide here

http://arcadefever.blogspot.ie/2010/05/hacking-mgcd-part-1.html

Wouldn't it just be possible to just cut the trace at the JAMMA edge connector if you just need to disconnect it? Cheaper/quicker/easier than an edge connector and can be undone with a patch solder should it be needed in the future and the board wouldn't look more funkier than it already does :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

KeRbDoG wrote: »
    Wouldn't it just be possible to just cut the trace at the JAMMA edge connector if you just need to disconnect it? Cheaper/quicker/easier than an edge connector and can be undone with a patch solder should it be needed in the future and the board wouldn't look more funkier than it already does :)

I had the same thought, you could even fit a switch to it to enable/disable the ground connection

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

As mozie81 mentions above just fork out for a Viletim adapter and the relevant PS2 hacks and job done. More expensive but it works and saves time arsing about with modding.

If I could sort out the green screen first it'd be grand,
    Then It'l work in my blast city.
    Im planning on tating that full time also.

Feck!
    Looks like my Namco Museum collection is sitting in Irish Customs.
    Anyone know how long this is going to take?
    I have a number here I'll ring, hoping it won't incur any charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

hoping it won't incur any charges.
    Afaik it has to be worth over €22 and be from outside the EU to get fees

Sera wrote: »
    Afaik it has to be worth over €22 and be from outside the EU to get fees

Well, it's worth about €70....
    Feck, feckless feckless feckers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

They'll kick Operation: Roast into gear so.

EnterNow wrote: »
    They'll kick Operation: Roast into gear so.

I can see some penpusher in Customs looking through an Argos catalogue wondering where Namco Museum games for the PS1 are at.....
    Bugger....

Hi guys,

I just bought a wii on adverts with a few games. Will post them up when I pick them up in the coming days.

But I have a question. Seller has just texted me saying he has a special edition wind waker for the gamecube as well and would willing to sell that too.

The price seems to be at least €30 on ebay for a copy.

Is that the normal price for this game? I know its not a common game but I didnt think it was €30 plus type rare either.

thanks
    Eoin

Hi guys,

I just bought a wii on adverts with a few games. Will post them up when I pick them up in the coming days.

But I have a question. Seller has just texted me saying he has a special edition wind waker for the gamecube as well and would willing to sell that too.

The price seems to be at least €30 on ebay for a copy.

Is that the normal price for this game? I know its not a common game but I didnt think it was €30 plus type rare either.

thanks
    Eoin

I think €30 is a good price for that game, certainly if it includes the bonus disk and that price can include postage.

bonus disc is the one with oot and the master quest right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Yeah Cidonalad is correct in his assertions. I sold a double of it from my collection recently for 45 and I thought that was cheap compared to some of the mad ebay prices.
    Twilight Princess seems to have dropped a good bit in price over the last while, which is nice to see and hopefully some other games can follow that trend. I'm looking at you Megaman on SNES.

edit: It's a get but not retro or arcade. Got a Advance Reading Copy (ARC) of Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie for 1 euro! It's a mad bargain as 1st editions can go for close to 200 times that, now an ARC isn't as desirable but it is still rare and considering 1st editions of that book are less than 1000 copies, well it's genuine rare not L@@K RaRe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Remember, the value is 'goods value+shipping costs' and then they work out the duty on that :) you will most likely get a letter in the next 2 days with a request for either a valuation if there isn't an invoice in the box OR a letter with a bill.

Fun times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

got stung a while back meself. Have your pound notes ready ciderdude!