Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Revenge of the Post Here When You Get Something New thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,278 ✭✭✭MrVestek

The Jogcon can jogon as far as I'm concerned...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

The car boot sale was PS2 shovelware/sportsfest central today. Nearly every stall had PS2 games. Spotted a bag full of PS1 games but the majority were sports games and anything somewhat decent was missing manuals/covers/parts of the case so I left it. However, I did get one item. Well 2 items. I've wanted a pair of Nike Hi-Tops for ages and when I spotted these I had to get them.

4776E050-074A-40AD-B1AD-B3600FDA40C2-78793-000008C54079650B_zps92bc081b.jpg

They are second hand, but they should be grand after a good clean and disinfect. Only paid a tenner for them so happy enough with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

The car boot sale was PS2 shovelware/sportsfest central today. Nearly every stall had PS2 games. Spotted a bag full of PS1 games but the majority were sports games and anything somewhat decent was missing manuals/covers/parts of the case so I left it. However, I did get one item. Well 2 items. I've wanted a pair of Nike Hi-Tops for ages and when I spotted these I had to get them.

4776E050-074A-40AD-B1AD-B3600FDA40C2-78793-000008C54079650B_zps92bc081b.jpg

They are second hand, but they should be grand after a good clean and disinfect. Only paid a tenner for them so happy enough with that.

What?! You didn't wear them home. They are soooo cool.

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    What?! You didn't wear them home. They are soooo cool.

I know I have many fetishes but feet is not one of them!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Nice shoes, your size and all?
    I never knew Nike made Ninty branded trainers. 

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Nice shoes, your size and all?
    I never knew Nike made Ninty branded trainers. 

A size bigger than me but they do fit fine which is good.

I'm not sure if they're limited edition or what but they are legit and not knock offs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,461 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

o1s1n wrote: »

Thanks! They have an awesome 90's vibe to them

Seem to be the only pair on eBay too. Mine are in about the same condition as those. Maybe slightly better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Donatron

tenner each, good start to my NTSC ps1 collection!

rdzj.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Wot no Legend of Dragoon??? ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Note: Ton of pics below just in case anyone is on a crappy connection.

Picked up two packages from Parcel Motel tonight; a Madcatz GBA charge kit yoke, RGB scart cable for the GameCube and the screen modded GBA mentioned recently.

H2k4YRZ.jpg

IHNz8m7.jpg

The modded GBA is just incredible, even better than the jump in clarity between a non-modded Nomad and a modded one. Makes the GBA worth playing. Really happy with this purchase.

On the left is the standard GBA playing Super Mario World, on the right is the modded one playing (the superior :P) SMB3. Literally is a night and day jump in picture quality.

UKQdzZn.jpg

Bunch of pics of various games in action.

qB5NzoC.jpg

WG1rYRe.jpg

G0wboB0.jpg

L4Q5Du6.jpg

1ZZRE9M.jpg

Wn6y4wl.jpg

kxpW7D0.jpg

AOuOwpE.jpg

SsQmotb.jpg

9hPZXnR.jpg

That GBA screen looks f*cking gorgeous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Wow, incredible is the difference! AGS101 beater?

EnterNow wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Wonder if its an Afterburner kit or an AGS-101 backlit LCD bodged in?

If Afterburner kit, it won't be as good as an AGS-101
    If its an AGS-101 screen bodged in then it wouldn't be any difference. Would just be like an SP but the screen might get scratched

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Cheers. I've never seen a 101 in the flesh but from videos it looks just as good. I love the look of my SP but it never gets played as the screen is a bit dim and it's a bit uncomfortable to play for long. The Micro has a beautiful screen but is way too small for me. This is a perfect solution.
    KeRbDoG wrote: »
    Wonder if its an Afterburner kit or an AGS-101 backlit LCD bodged in?

If Afterburner kit, it won't be as good as an AGS-101
    If its an AGS-101 screen bodged in then it wouldn't be any difference. Would just be like an SP but the screen might get scratched

Not sure if you're trying to sh1t on my get, retr0 style, or what's with all the negative "bodged" comments.

It's not an afterburner kit, it's a new back lit LCD screen according to the auction, surely you can tell the difference from the pics. Ags101 is mentioned in the auction title but I don't know if it's an actual ags101 lcd or just some generic new lcd that fits perfectly and gives the same effect as one. It certainly doesn't look "bodged in".

Either way I don't care as it's easily as good and the GBA is more comfortable than the SP imo. Also means some games will get played now rather than sitting in a drawer because I had no decent screen for them. As for the screen getting scratched, I take care of my stuff and also have a carry case.

Master of the Universe

The Afterburner kit was front light which threw white wash out light across the screen -think standard SP but far worse.

These GBAs use a new backlit LCD. You can get the LCDs in a kit and do the mod yourself if you were so inclined.

Anyway, looks gorgeous Amdrew76! Ultimate GBA solution. Think I'll buy one today :)

Steady on now lads, I don't think anyone was crapping on anyones purchase.
    The GBA looks great Andrew, well done, the difference the screen makes is incredible.

The issue about the scratched screen is legitimate though, any GBA's I've owned wound up with a scratched screen, and I wasn't hard on them, same with the GB Micro.
    It's the one big advantage of the SP, the closing mechanism means the screens are better preserved, my 101 has a badly scratched casing but the screen is as fresh as a daisy.

The comment of GBA's being hacked with a 101 screen is also unfortunately true, some people have done the hack with parts sourced from China,
    http://www.racketboy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=38742

Master of the Universe

The scratched screen issue is no more of an issue as it is for a micro/nomad/gamegear and any other non clamshell handheld. Just get a screen cover and you're sorted.

These definitely arent salvaged 101 screens. It would make no sense business wise with the price 101s go for -theyre kits with new LCDs.

In the end it comes down to ergonomics for me; old gba is far more comfortable.

There really isn't any issue, as you said it's a problem with all handheld, phones too for that matter, only clamshells have the solution but not everyone likes them.
    And, no, I don't believe they are 101 screens, and the device looks lovely, as I said.
    And non-man hands probably do prefer the old GBA, so good luck with that ;)

Truthfully, if I had a wedge of dosh I'd buy one myself, but sadly recent purchases have cleaned me out, but I'd say they'll be about for a while so I'll wait.

One of the really great features of these as well as the 101 is the opportunity to finally play the entire GB and GBC catalogue as the developer saw it on their dev PC screen, rather than the compromising screens of the GB and GBC.
    I'm still playing Picross and the occasional game of Mr Driller on the 101 and they look wonderful, while on the original hardware they now look a bit pants.
    That said, the GB Pocket has an amazing, crisp mono screen as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

http://gbatemp.net/threads/gba-backlight-agb-001.328487/

Thats the thread about those GBAs over on GBA temp. Chinese seller making kits....lots of positive talk about them. meaning to get one myself for the longest time now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Not sure if you're trying to sh1t on my get, retr0 style, or what's with all the negative "bodged" comments.

Sorry dude - didn't mean anything negative. Replace the word bodged (which I would mean as stuck in) to modded.

Nice all the same, be interested in getting the kit and doing the mod myself.
    Ciderman, want a funky GBA to go along with that Nomad... you still have it don't you?! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I'd agree that these could be a better solution than a 101, assuming the screens are as good as each other, I think the original GBA is far more comfortable to use. The SP is nice, but the claw doesn't take long to kick in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

In the post this morning:
    • A magnifier for the Kinect (bought more out of curiosity than anything)
    • A PS2 multitap
    • PS2 -> Xbox 360 convertors mainly to connect my namco arcade stick to the 360 for shumps and Street Fighter 4 (although that said I'm still not sure how I feel about Street Fighter 4 tbh, maybe I just need the fightstick to get into it.)
    • PS2 extender cables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

I got a Gamecube Freeloader and Suikoden V, Retr0 got Resident Evil NTSC all from a friend online

VR Racing, Valis, Strider and Gynoug all arrived this morning, all Japanese, all Megadrive.
    Now I have all three regions of Virtua Racing, I just love that game!

I got a ps2 jamma converter in the post,
    will report back later!

urbanledge wrote: »
    I got a ps2 jamma converter in the post,
    will report back later!

Stupid question but whats a ps2 Jamma Converter?

lets you hook a ps2 straight up to a jamma cab,

urbanledge wrote: »
    lets you hook a ps2 straight up to a jamma cab,

Looks like have some googling to do as I dont know what a Jamma Cab is. :o