Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

hugo29 wrote: »
    Right that's me beat, 62 bales in, 18 left,
    God I'd murder a pint,
    Nothing like walking a silage field after its finished

It'll be finished when you bring in them 18. Back out there with ya. Otherwise it's up before the crows get at em in the morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Just back today from two great weeks in France...
    Couldn't think what else to get ye all so I brought back a few weeks good weather for ye to be getting on with :D:D

There was some amount of hay being saved there.. They'd just had two wet cold weeks before we arrived so every field of hay was being knocked... The sheer scale of the grain production is staggering..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

bbam wrote: »
    Couldn't think what else to get ye all so I brought back a few weeks good weather for ye to be getting on with :D:D

There was some amount of hay being saved there.. They'd just had two wet cold weeks before we arrived so every field of hay was being knocked... The sheer scale of the grain production is staggering..

Great for some. Rest of us at silage..

Went for a drive from Mayo (where i'm from) down to Waterford to the collage down there. Was amazed at the differences you see the further east you travel. Fine fields of Maize, spuds and luscious green grass, a change from here to say the least! Not to mention the plant...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Did the dog on it last night. I now have a decision to make, I drink more regularly or never again, am tending towards the latter!!!!

This mornings milking will not be forgotten for a while!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Not a fan of giving hay to calves,Find it gives them pot bellies and slows them down eating ration/Nut.Good wheaten or oaten straw is what i use and they go mad for it
    Do you not find the oaten straw as rough as barbwire? Didnt think it would be great for calves. Great for bedding though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

pakalasa wrote: »
    Do you not find the oaten straw as rough as barbwire? Didnt think it would be great for calves. Great for bedding though.
    afair oaten straw is the best for "tickle factor" in the rumen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Muckit wrote: »
    Are U not afraid they will sag?

No they are good solid bales from fusion baler, will be sound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

delaval wrote: »
    Did the dog on it last night. I now have a decision to make, I drink more regularly or never again, am tending towards the latter!!!!

I say never again about every 5 or 6 weeks. .... saying it again this morning

Bizzum wrote: »
    It'll be finished when you bring in them 18. Back out there with ya. Otherwise it's up before the crows get at em in the morning!

Lol no fcuking crows here thank god, all in now

we are plagued with crows here, cant wait for them to fook off to someones corn

Go for a regular few every couple weeks, keep the system ticking over;)

Where did you bbam, going ourselves in a few weeks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Charming article from the UK independent this morning on the "Moo Man"... a farmer who sells raw milk and is the subject of a forthcoming film:

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/food-and-drink/news/the-farmer-who-wouldnt-cowtow-rather-than-supply-supermarkets-and-face-financial-ruin-steve-hook-has-developed-a-market-for-raw-milks-8692664.html

For this farmer anyway, raw milk appears to be a cure for hayfever as well as a route to profit. delaval did you ever think of trying it?

thats mad, was just going to post that i have started giving the kids the milk from the tank, eldest lad would easily drink 2 litres in a day, they love it and they couldnt believe the difference in taste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Will we send for the knackery to put you outa your misery? Opposite with me today like a blue arsed fly, up at 6am to help setup a local athletics race, then milked, off to tullamore now for more athletics for the day.

whelan1 wrote: »
    thats mad, was just going to post that i have started giving the kids the milk from the tank, eldest lad would easily drink 2 litres in a day, they love it and they couldnt believe the difference in taste

We used to drink it from the tank as students. Mind you, we'd have drunk from the diesel tank as well if there hadn't been a chain on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

What part of France were you in?

You should have had a can in each pocket while walking for the cows and you'd have been sound :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

FFS, who owned it, Elvis Presley. €20 for a 1996 390T, 4WD.
    http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/1996-mf390-t/4685028

No they are good solid bales from fusion baler, will be sound

You should be grand because your crop was heavy and lodged, but if baling paddocks or short stuff, the bales definitely WILL sag no matter how dry it is. I nearly got caught out with this a few weeks ago. And Yes a Fusion baler.

pakalasa wrote: »
    FFS, who owned it, Elvis Presley. €20 for a 1996 390T, 4WD.
    http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/1996-mf390-t/4685028[/QUOTE]

I know a good few massey addicts that would buy it! At least she's not a heap of sh*t like a lot of stuff on DD!

Cows are definitely domesticated now. In January you couldn't get into the field with them, they were so wild.

This morning they were all gathered by the gate looking a bit hot.

Ten minutes ago they unhooked (not broke) their spring gate, gathered up their calves, and trooped in orderly fashion up 600m of lane, past the fresher paddocks, past the cars & the ponies, past the feed room and into the yard where they let themselves into the cubicle shed to enjoy a little bit of shade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭funny man

yep heard all the stories, OH is a nurse and reckons that the bouncy castles are worse, she wont have one of those around the place but will go with a trampoline, funny ya put up the net to make them safe and they try to climb them
    wont be much bouncing here today its lashing rain

Yea we had one here for the Grand kids and i never liked the thing, so i got the digger man when he was tidying up a field to dig a hole and bury it in the garden so the top of it is flush with the grass and done away with the safety nets. just hope i don't forget it someday and drive the lawnmower over it :eek:.

funny man wrote: »
    Yea we had one here for the Grand kids and i never liked the thing, so i got the digger man when he was tidying up a field to dig a hole and bury it in the garden so the top of it is flush with the grass and done away with the safety nets. just hope i don't forget it someday and drive the lawnmower over it :eek:.

Kids eating crips/sweets and going jumping on it... you've created a lovely rats nest :eek: Same with BBQ's on timber decking

You should be grand because your crop was heavy and lodged, but if baling paddocks or short stuff, the bales definitely WILL sag no matter how dry it is. I nearly got caught out with this a few weeks ago. And Yes a Fusion baler.

Your right about that, the few paddocks I baled last month have lost all their shape , but the heavy bales from dedicated silage ground are still the same as day one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭funny man

Kids eating crips/sweets and going jumping on it... you've created a lovely rats nest :eek: Same with BBQ's on timber decking

That's life! we use poision to control the rats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

kowtow wrote: »
    Charming article from the UK independent this morning on the "Moo Man"... a farmer who sells raw milk and is the subject of a forthcoming film:

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/food-and-drink/news/the-farmer-who-wouldnt-cowtow-rather-than-supply-supermarkets-and-face-financial-ruin-steve-hook-has-developed-a-market-for-raw-milks-8692664.html

For this farmer anyway, raw milk appears to be a cure for hayfever as well as a route to profit. delaval did you ever think of trying it?

Yea all milk here straight from bulk tank, kids love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

kowtow wrote: »
    Cows are definitely domesticated now. In January you couldn't get into the field with them, they were so wild.

This morning they were all gathered by the gate looking a bit hot.

Ten minutes ago they unhooked (not broke) their spring gate, gathered up their calves, and trooped in orderly fashion up 600m of lane, past the fresher paddocks, past the cars & the ponies, past the feed room and into the yard where they let themselves into the cubicle shed to enjoy a little bit of shade.

Shade ? It still dull as feck here in the west, where is the heatwave there promising

Yea all milk here straight from bulk tank, kids love it

But no impact on the hay fever?

My bloody 21 month old has taking to chasing bees, FFs it's going to be a long summer,