Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Yellow reg looks better in most cases imo. Looks awesome on nice black and red German cars especially

Anyone know a good exhaust guy in Cork? want to get a resonator removed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

166man wrote: »
    Both...;)

Ah Jesus now. Whatever about 5 alfas 6 won't fit in your drive.
    Lucky dgt. You'll just have to stop him stripping the v6's for "parts".
    Let us know If you get a car with a proper engine ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Got accepted into dit today

Awwwww yeah! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Congrats, what you studying??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,812 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Autosport wrote: »
    Up in Dublin or the big smoke to us culchies and the amount of Mercs and Audi's is unreal, some nice vehicles have been spotted too :D

Come join us over in London; meeting up with 5 fellow culchies tonight. On a bad day,would probably see 5-6 Bentleys, RRs, Lambos, 20 Porsches. Onthe flip side, yesterday I saw 2 Insignias. Could easily go a month without seeing either an Insignia or an Astra despite being in top 10 (or so) best sellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

you on for the Arch Tech course then? need anything just drop me a message.

well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Marcusm wrote: »
    Come join us over in London; meeting up with 5 fellow culchies tonight. On a bad day,would probably see 5-6 Bentleys, RRs, Lambos, 20 Porsches. Onthe flip side, yesterday I saw 2 Insignias. Could easily go a month without seeing either an Insignia or an Astra despite being in top 10 (or so) best sellers.

I'll send you pics of the Insignia and Astra at my house so :D I used to love walking down Oxford st. I always passed by a Bentley outside a bookies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Screw everyone that says Irish drivers are CRAZY. I've just been passed by a old Starlet pulling a horse box (double mare) in Amsterdam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,232 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

260335.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

4TL3XQx.jpg
    BELFAIR — The photos were dramatic after a single-vehicle crash left a man and his dog covered in paint.
    Washington State Patrol Trooper Russ Winger says the driver was hauling 5-gallon buckets of latex paint in various colors Tuesday afternoon, June 26, when he somehow lost control of his SUV and ran off a state highway near Belfair, southwest of Seattle. The paint went flying, coating the man, his black dog and the interior of the vehicle.
    KOMO-TV said the man suffered minor injuries and was taken to a nearby hospital. Winger did not identify him.
    The trooper and an off-duty firefighter who happened by found a nearby resident who let them bathe the dog in her yard. Using her water hose and some borrowed shampoo, they turned the "gray dog" back to black.
    Winger says the local humane society agreed to care for the dog temporarily.

Tl;dr: man and dog covered in paint after single vehicle collision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Anyone know if its much of a job to replace the AC in a Mark IV Golf? Mine went today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,420 ✭✭✭Dartz

I was almost expecting a case of severe motion sickness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Anyone know if its much of a job to replace the AC in a Mark IV Golf? Mine went today.

Big money for a new compressor, leak test and regas if you're using a new part. 6-700 maybe? You could get a second hand compressor but that might not last either. At least with the new one you have a warranty on the part.

Jeez that's a lot. Will look around for one so

Congrats, what you studying??

Architectural Technology :)
    you on for the Arch Tech course then? need anything just drop me a message.

well done :)

Yep that's the one, Will do, likewise for you, this ol dog has a few trick up his sleeve ;)

Thanks captain :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

Had the same thing happen to me on an old Peugeot I had. Found it cheaper to wind down the window on those three warm days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Yep that's the one, Will do, likewise for you, this ol dog has a few trick up his sleeve ;)

Ah cool cool. :)

Best of luck with it dude. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

But what part are your trying to replace? There are many parts in an AC system, "replace the AC" as a statement doesnt mean anything specific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,232 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Did some shopping today.

260371.jpg

Side skirts will wait, as they have to be painted in matching colour, rear anti-roll bar will be put on tomorrow.

Factory fitted one has 15mm diameter, this one's 19mm. I hope I'll get rid of understeer at last!

if i need any help with spatial awareness or the feng shuei i'l be sure to give you a call. as a technologist i like to just get **** done, you know? :P :P

seriously though fair play, D.I.T. is a hard one to get into! did you cover much technology as an artist architect?

if i need any help with spatial awareness or the feng shuei i'l be sure to give you a call. as a technologist i like to just get **** done, you know? :P :P

seriously though fair play, D.I.T. is a hard one to get into! did you cover much technology as an artist architect?

Well....-fanciful architect talk that you possibly couldn't understand- :P

In short, yes :P

all i ever see you architects doing is making **** out of cardboard and sketching plants and all, while we're in next door number crunching to make sure the roof stays up and getting u-values right :pac:

to be fair in first year architecture and technology are virtually the same course (in WIT anyway) so having spent a few years in architecture will be a great base for you.
    i'm sure i'l be in touch to pick your brain

all i ever see you architects doing is making **** out of cardboard and sketching plants and all, while we're in next door number crunching to make sure the roof stays up and getting u-values right :pac:

to be fair in first year architecture and technology are virtually the same course (in WIT anyway) so having spent a few years in architecture will be a great base for you.
    i'm sure i'l be in touch to pick your brain

Haha yeah looking back on it now, I'm like, why did I do it??

Sure it'l keep me on my toes ;)

Matt Simis wrote: »
    But what part are your trying to replace? There are many parts in an AC system, "replace the AC" as a statement doesnt mean anything specific.

Yeah sorry. When the dial is at 1,2 & 3 the AC doesn't work but at 4 it works fine. It's strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

ToastedPickles, does this mean that you will be in Bolton street next year then?

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    ToastedPickles, does this mean that you will be in Bolton street next year then?

It does, over in linenhall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

It does, over in linenhall

Oh linen hall, never mind.

you bolton street lads are all a bit jumped up anyway :pac:

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Oh linen hall, never mind.

You don't associate with those types I take? :P Well guess whos not coming go karting :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yeah sorry. When the dial is at 1,2 & 3 the AC doesn't work but at 4 it works fine. It's strange.

That's most likely just a resistor