Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Will soyahulls replace silage, or needed to complement it? If say Kevs silage was only 60dmd, would he be better off not feeding it at all to milkers, and instead say use straw and soyahulls?

Also, how soon can you test your silage? Got the pit for the autumn milkers filled myself on June 5th, I'd be hoping for in around the 73dmd mark again, It was cut 10days later than last yr, but in much better conditions. But if it's much under that, then I think I'll look at buying in some maize. Feeding the autumn ladies a proper diet this year is most certainly going to be a bigger priority, they didn't milk great at all last winter, and quite a few slipped around due to low BCS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Hows about we approach it from a different angle.

Kev is spring calving so what about feed extra meal for the last 6 weeks of milking before dry off. This will drive solids and lactose and hopefully put majority of cows into good condition. then he will get away with the ok silage and minerals for dry period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

pakalasa wrote: »
    Went to the Clare match. :( Game over 5 mins into the second half. Terrible stuff. The wind was very strong and there is a slight fall in that pitch. It made the game into a game of two halves. Will it be enough for Davy to walk, I wonder?

I can't see the team developing much more under him unfortunately and there is talent there but I can't see him walking. A great player he was but I don't think he's up to speed for management at inter county level. No good having lads that can run the 100 meters in 10 seconds and lift a half a ton if they have no first touch and that's a lack of stick work causing that. They should be lacing balls down on top of honan to make some use of him and have Conor McGrath and Podge Collins playing off him. Pussy footing around on your own 45 is asking for trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I can't see the team developing much more under him unfortunately and there is talent there but I can't see him walking. A great player he was but I don't think he's up to speed for management at inter county level. No good having lads that can run the 100 meters in 10 seconds and lift a half a ton if they have no first touch and that's a lack of stick work causing that. They should be lacing balls down on top of honan to make some use of him and have Conor McGrath and Podge Collins playing off him. Pussy footing around on your own 45 is asking for trouble.

At least Clare are still in the championship, a big performance in the next game will put them well in the shake-up.
    We on the other hand are gone. It's a long time till 2014 now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Offaly have got a harsh year alright. Kilkenny then Waterford.
    Compare that to my own county, Wexford, who lost to Dublin then got Antrim and Carlow. The back door needs looking at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/massey-ferguson-590/5163871

What a beauty. Credit to the owner, he'll never get 12,500 but shes well done up.

Also, Delaval, care to give it a try?

amXXmOv_460s.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Offaly have got a harsh year alright. Kilkenny then Waterford.
    Compare that to my own county, Wexford, who lost to Dublin then got Antrim and Carlow. The back door needs looking at.

Make it a champions league format,run all other comps as a warm up.eg, winners group A play runners up group B and vice versa there you are semis and a final at least teams get to play around five matches a year alternate home and away for fans at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Sent away 28 bullocks to the factory this morning. I don't think we'll be buying more than 15 as replacements. They are too expensive at the moment. And we are going to drive on with fertilizer as we are getting orders for silage and have 2 fellas signed up. There will be more money in contract growing feed this year that buying expensive cattle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

jeez i think they are going backwards..i mean if he wants them to play a certain style they should be on top of it by now but hand pass after hand pass seems to go astray yesterday, had to turn it off in the 2nd half, disgusted :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

jeez i think they are going backwards..i mean if he wants them to play a certain style they should be on top of it by now but hand pass after hand pass seems to go astray yesterday, had to turn it off in the 2nd half, disgusted :mad:
    And Davy won't go either, not with Daddy at the helm. I'd love to know how much they are taking in between them, in this so called amatuer game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Up Whest tis alive and well.....and now with all the rules and regulations is the only decent chance ya get to burn 'brush':)[/QUOT
    Was out last night....saw a field in the distance....'those pesky kids' from Scooby Doo must have lit a bonfire in it:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

pakalasa wrote: »
    And Davy won't go either, not with Daddy at the helm. I'd love to know how much they are taking in between them, in this so called amatuer game.

need to go outside the county, for a manager and the co board needs to be booted

loughnane wouldn't have won 2 all Irelands only for the ground work done by len gaynor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Ah lads, ye have it tough!! :D

Inside job managers are never a good thing. He was too hyped up anyway. I've never heard him do anything but complain about being unfairly treated. Even yesterday he hinted that Clare were cheated. It took him a spluttering to say that Cork was the better team. He failed to say that he as a manager had come up short in preparing his team. He failed to accept any responsibility. At the end of teh day, the buck stops with him.

My own county had a bit of a debacle yesterday too. After dropping 4 of the best players a month ago and trialing them by media for the last 4 weeks, we could only manage a draw with London - and we were lucky with that!

At the end of the day, there are several clubs with bigger populations than our county. The town of Ennis has a greater population than our whole county. But as Davy was shown up yesterday, GAA is about having the balls to take responsibility and drive forward - not look for excuses to dodge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I am a lazy so and so. Bush touching fence, was passing with loader decided 2 minute job so moved it. That was at 11.30 now dinner time and just finished.

I bulldozed without checking or getting chainsaw which was 20m away. I forgot 2" main water pipe and destroyed it. Two trips to town 2x2" joiners and length of pipe and a wasted 1.5 hours. In all I recon €120. As the saying goes there's 2 ways to do a job the right way and the wrong way and I chose the latter.
    Anyway all fixed I'm off for spuds and to mow 25 acres for bales,….........lazy sod!!!!!

reilig wrote: »

Inside job managers are never a good thing. He was too hyped up anyway. I've never heard him do anything but complain about being unfairly treated. Even yesterday he hinted that Clare were cheated. It took him a spluttering to say that Cork was the better team. He failed to say that he as a manager had come up short in preparing his team. He failed to accept any responsibility. At the end of teh day, the buck stops with him.

My own county had a bit of a debacle yesterday too. After dropping 4 of the best players a month ago and trialing them by media for the last 4 weeks, we could only manage a draw with London - and we were lucky with that!

At the end of the day, there are several clubs with bigger populations than our county. The town of Ennis has a greater population than our whole county. But as Davy was shown up yesterday, GAA is about having the balls to take responsibility and drive forward - not look for excuses to dodge!

I said it from day one he wasn't the man for the job at hand anyway and plenty more have said it. They threw the game away at the start of the second half yesterday looking for silly goal chances when they could have tapped over a few points and settled themselves. You can be sure the cork lads got a big boost from all the clare attacks coming to nothing and they drove on from there. In fairness there was a few questionable ref decisions against clare but it wasn't the winning or losing of it. Davy is too closely connected to the county board and I would love to see him booted. The thing he is best at is controversy.

delaval wrote: »
    I am a lazy so and so. Bush touching fence, was passing with loader decided 2 minute job so moved it. That was at 11.30 now dinner time and just finished.

I bulldozed without checking or getting chainsaw which was 20m away. I forgot 2" main water pipe and destroyed it. Two trips to town 2x2" joiners and length of pipe and a wasted 1.5 hours. In all I recon €120. As the saying goes there's 2 ways to do a job the right way and the wrong way and I chose the latter.
    Anyway all fixed I'm off for spuds and to mow 25 acres for bales,….........lazy sod!!!!!

Sounds like something my auld lad would do :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I said it from day one he wasn't the man for the job at hand anyway and plenty more have said it.

Would ya take Ollie Baker?

I suppose it's easy to bitch and moan about the format of the championship, but with a bit of luck in the draw it can leave ya in a good position, like Wexford this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

got stuck in a field there, neighbour/friend had to pull me out, chain broke at smashed hes windscreen, lucky he wasnt hurt. he said hel claim windscreen cover. What should i do, i offered to pay for the damages:confused::confused: oh ya me iphone aaint working either now, someday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

kevthegaff wrote: »
    got stuck in a field there, neighbour/friend had to pull me out, chain broke at smashed hes windscreen, lucky he wasnt hurt. he said hel claim windscreen cover. What should i do, i offered to pay for the damages:confused::confused: oh ya me iphone aaint working either now, someday!

I would be on my knees praying in thanks to the man above. Someone was watching over you guys today

always always tie a weight to the middle of the chain which will help if this happens, have seen a lorry tyre used with the chain just passed through it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

You're lucky men that could have been nasty. Call your insurer and check if your public liability will cover. Probably quicker for your neighbour to claim off his own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

you mean the chain by passed him in the cab ? he was lucky indeed

delaval wrote: »
    You're lucky men that could have been nasty. Call your insurer and check if your public liability will cover. Probably quicker for your neighbour to claim off his own

don't think PL would cover, maybe employers liability should..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

maybe his first call should be to see if the windscreen is covered.... and he was very lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Similar happened my neighbour over 20 years ago and a weight block followed him into the cab....

Spent a lot of time in hospital after that but was very very lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

nashmach wrote: »
    Similar happened my neighbour over 20 years ago and a weight block followed him into the cab....

Spent a lot of time in hospital after that but was very very lucky.

Driving to work one morning many years ago. Large truck approaching on its side of the road. As I passed by the truck, the car behind it pulled over the white line to try to overtake it. (the truck)
    Saw me, swerved back in to its own side, but not before our two door mirrors met full on at probably combined speed of over 90mph, or more.
    All I rememberd at the time was a huge bang. When I stopped my car and got it together, I realised, my door mirror had broken off in impact, it had been driven through my door window. It flew across in front of my face, hit the passenger door window, smashed it, and bounced back into the passenger footwell.
    I was covered in broken glass, but not as much as a scratch on me!!
    Now if that missile had taken a course, just a few inches further back into my car, I would probably have been decapitated!!
    Talk about thankfull, to a greater power than me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Just goes to show, all metal is highly elastic, like an elastic band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

jomoloney wrote: »
    you mean the chain by passed him in the cab ? he was lucky indeed .
    I always use a good heavy chain in case it breaks, towing a jeep one day and the towing eye broke off the the jeep and the heavy chain came in through the open back window luckily the hook hit something on the way in :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

ya did you ever see the way large h irons can bend and sway when a shed is partly erected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Lads have any of ye used Flectron Fly tags in cows , and if so how did you find them???
    Ordered some of magenta on Saturday for cows that are being weaned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

25 years banking with them and this year so far I have had charges of over €150. Got the motivation last night when I saw that they had removed €75 from my account as fees and I opened a new fee free account with Permanent TSB this morning. I have to say it was a pain free experience and would recommend it to anyone who is being charged by a bank for minding money that they are getting interest on!
    local shopkeeper- village shop- told me this evening the quarterly charges for the last quarter where 960 on his account,- bank of ireland- so neary 4k a year, was telling him about permanent tsb, said he is calling them tomorrow, total rip off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Now now, London are a super outfit I mean they beat us:D