Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guinness n' Rollies 2: Off Topic Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Panthro wrote: »
    Handed in my notice in work, asked for a reference letter.
    The manager told me I'm "quiet, courteous and comedic"
    Emmm...whohoo!:pac:
    Those words pretty much sum you up :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,054 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Pembily wrote: »
    Those words pretty much sum you up :p

Haha thanks!:)
    I was expecting more of "he's a bit of a bollocks!":pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

Handed in my notice in work, asked for a reference letter.
    The manager told me I'm "quiet, courteous and comedic"
    Emmm...whohoo!:pac:

Quiet? WTF? Has this man met you at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Haha thanks!:)
    I was expecting more of "he's a bit of a bollocks!":pac:
    I can arrange that reference :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Morning all..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Morning all..

MOAR COFFEE

I mean morning!:o

I'm back off coffee again somehow

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Daisies wrote: »
    MOAR COFFEE

I mean morning!:o

359582.jpg

:D:D:D

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    359582.jpg

:D:D:D

If you had seen me getting up this morning, that may very well have been your reaction. Drinking on a school night when teaching at 8am =bad idea!

Daisies wrote: »
    If you had seen me getting up this morning, that may very well have been your reaction. Drinking on a school night when teaching at 8am =bad idea!

Get some mints so or you'll have a load of pissed pupils. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Coffee <3
    I recently found an awesome coffee/tea house that stays open late in city centre.

Zombienosh wrote: »
    Coffee <3
    I recently found an awesome coffee/tea house that stays open late in city centre.

Do share..

I think it's called Oolong Cafe, It's near break for the border opposite The Wok Inn, they have like 300 teas/coffee beans. Pretty damn awesome.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I think it's called Oolong Cafe, It's near break for the border opposite The Wok Inn, they have like 300 teas/coffee beans. Pretty damn awesome.

Oh, that is near me. I keep meaning to go in for a look. It's the one beside Accents, right? :)

miamee wrote: »
    Oh, that is near me. I keep meaning to go in for a look. It's the one beside Accents, right? :)

I think this place used to be accents.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

No Accents are still there, I just passed by yesterday. It (Oolong) used to be some Artisan food shop/deli for a little while. Can't remember what was there before that though. A printers or something maybe.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Had my ACL reconstruction surgery on Wednesday there, finally home now after 2 days in a hospital bed. Being a cripple isn't much fun. Also, the painkillers make me drowsy as hell.

Boourns. I want to be able to run! Now, damnit, nowwww!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Nasty op Pepe. Just don't rush it man, otherwise you'll be fecked!

Get yourself onto netflix and enjoy it for a while, all will be grand in the end dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

so are we all a bunch of red skins?

Not anymore, but last Sunday this happened...

184441_632060033489092_1595460992_n.jpg

And I went out drinking that night, despite the fact I'd to be up for work by 5:30 the following morning.

Not the best decision I ever made.

Dr Galen wrote: »
    Nasty op Pepe. Just don't rush it man, otherwise you'll be fecked!

Get yourself onto netflix and enjoy it for a while, all will be grand in the end dude
    Hope so! I'm seeing good progress in some movements but getting a very worrying pain (that I had before the injury, only now it's way worse) too. Seeing the physio tomorrow, hopefully he can advise.

So happy to be back in work this morning :pac:

At least there's coffee.

So happy to be back in work this morning :pac:

At least there's coffee.

The good news is that Monday is over though. Week only gets better from here.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 19,079 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

How's life in Canada, Kev? Any cultural oddities we should be aware of?

Tiring and expensive. Working 45+ hours most weeks. Not too long left now though. I was planning to go home for 5 days at the end of July, but I'm going to wrap up things here and move back home. I'm being a little bitch and moving back to be closer to family.

Cultural oddities? Believe it or not, nothing springs to mind. Drugs appear to be remarkably easy to get your hands on here, but maybe that just reflects more on the type of people I'm associated with. Am...I'm really drawing a blank here. Panthro has been here longer, he probably knows more than I do.

How're things with yourself TBO? Anything strange with you?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 19,079 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

All grand here. Writing up policy stuff for work, planning stuff around that for the summer...keep the boss happy. :P Trying to take advantage of the good weather when it shows up.

If I'm honest, writing up policy stuff doesn't sound like much fun. If I was in charge of that there would be very few policies. The main one would probably be "Don't be a dick." That seems to cover a lot of bases. :pac:

Ha, yeah, heard ye pawned all your rain off on Europe for a while there. Village in Austria got two months worth of rain in two days I think. Mad stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,228 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Happy Friday! One week to payday.

Rally weekend here. So a weekend of avoiding the rally ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,054 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I'm after flicking an elastic band at the girl in HR for no real reason.
    Hit her in the girly bits.
    She must be delighted I'm finishing up this day next week!:pac:

nice, i just burnt my finger on the damn pan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I just had savage bacon and eggs,noice.