Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

whelan1 wrote: »
    just reading yesterdays farming indo, theres a serious amount of farmland for sale in meath, why is this?

Im going to get hammered for saying this - but no other county has such farmers that are living in the past with big notions as meath people. big estate farms and they doing F all with in and living in a big broken down gentry place. Im drawing my conclusions from friends I know and the finer sex I have being better friends with. now lynch me for my taughts.

nashmach wrote: »
    NAMA land perhaps especially given the proximity to Dublin?

doubt some of the farms are. Farmland never comes up for sale locally to me and there have being two over a hundred acre farms in the last week and a couple of sale agreeds aswell in the last month with our neighbouring county men as usual very strong in the market. Coop shares are bankrolling land in my area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

aldi have a petrol hedgecutting thinginmebob tomorrow for 99 euro does anyone have one of these, after spending the last few mornings cutting weeds by hand i might invest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

doubt some of the farms are. Farmland never comes up for sale locally to me and there have being two over a hundred acre farms in the last week and a couple of sale agreeds aswell in the last month with our neighbouring county men as usual very strong in the market. Coop shares are bankrolling land in my area

I may have been a bit general in my statement :o but I bet it applies in some of the cases plus large sale prices for some places like the one near Dowth may have driven some to sell?

We are also looking at further changes in CGT and CAT in the budget by the looks of things....

Oh and well wear Bob :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

aldi have a petrol hedgecutting thinginmebob tomorrow for 99 euro does anyone have one of these, after spending the last few mornings cutting weeds by hand i might invest

Had one, piece of crap!

It fell apart after about 2 months of using it once a week.

Brought it back and they refunded me. Ended up buying a flymow rechargable one which cuts far better than the petrol one and so far seems to be a lot sturdier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Could be a combination of last years summer and long winter plus the fact that most young lads don't want to get into farming. My father has even strongly advised me against it.

You've got it right there, age profile of farmers is like a ticking time bomb, supply of land will soon overtake demand....land is way overpriced at the moment and the price has to drop soon.
    What does everyone else think, the non farmers/builders who bought land around here during the tiger years are well sick of it now.
    Decision on CAP supposed to the end of next week, that'll introduce a dose of realism into the market as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

quadboy wrote: »
    You can come to new zealand with me if you want ;)
    Be right there, just painting my nails.

8i33.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

rancher wrote: »
    You've got it right there, age profile of farmers is like a ticking time bomb, supply of land will soon overtake demand....land is way overpriced at the moment and the price has to drop soon.
    What does everyone else think, the non farmers/builders who bought land around here during the tiger years are well sick of it now.
    Decision on CAP supposed to the end of next week, that'll introduce a dose of realism into the market as well.

Supply versus demand though will depend on the area you are in to be honest and in many areas what you say won't come to pass for a while.

No sign of those non-farmers selling out though!

Given the lack of a true relationship between land and its earning capability (unlike other assets), I don't necessarily see the current CAP negotitaions having a large impact on land values.

But I could be wrong...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Nah, I'm gonna save my grant and skip off to Canada :D

Don't mind her Quadboy she's off to Belgium, doesn't want to hurt your feelings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

The right job would be to take away a 12 foot stone wall where a machine went in years ago and put a gate there, 12 foot wide btw not 12 foot high

gear is only getting bigger.

we sold bales last year that went out on a 33-34 foot trailer, onto a road with grass down the middle! thankfully we'd planned on widening the gap anyway, it's now 28 feet wide, was 12 feet a few years ago.

no was would I put in less than 16 feet, and that'd be on a wide road where there's loads of room to swing in. If you're going at a gap do it for 20 years, not just this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Judging by the smirk on the faces of the pony club mafia I ran into last week, I'd have said the good people of Meath were selling spare land to give themselves a war chest ready to "buy in at the bottom" of the "inevitable" return to boom. They're hoping that when they wake up the last few years will just have been a bad dream.

But if farmland will be a single euro cheaper as a result, why would I be the one to disabuse them of their notions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

kowtow wrote: »
    Judging by the smirk on the faces of the pony club mafia I ran into last week, I'd have said the good people of Meath were selling spare land to give themselves a war chest ready to "buy in at the bottom" of the "inevitable" return to boom. They're hoping that when they wake up the last few years will just have been a bad dream.

But if farmland will be a single euro cheaper as a result, why would I be the one to disabuse them of their notions?
    WHAT ??
    To buy in at the botom of what, another property boom?

9087108976_a342c469f8_z.jpg

Perhaps someone who understands cows can suggest what I should do with this, born late march. Mother FRX, father unknown, still suckling (the calf, not the boy).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

wed evening bbq wine some job some country:D:D:D

leg wax wrote: »
    wed evening bbq wine some job some country:D:D:D
    well for some, i'm off to mass

and I taught I had a hard evening ahead of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Are you the priest so bob :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭PMU

Damo810 wrote: »
    "Experienced Driver For Hire"
    21277_523964154331870_1225640554_n.jpg

Oh Deere.
    quadboy is looking for someone to get a fusion thru a 9ft gap

Are you the priest so bob :D

the body of christ, the body of christ, christ - what a body:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Jaysus bob the last time I was at mass there weren't too many bodies there to catch the attention. The only one who would be eyeing them up would be the undertaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Could be a combination of last years summer and long winter plus the fact that most young lads don't want to get into farming. My father has even strongly advised me against it.

His reverse psychology is working ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

delaval wrote: »
    Don't mind her Quadboy she's off to Belgium, doesn't want to hurt your feelings

Shur theres plenty of women waiting for me in NZ anyway, might be staying at a pub too so that will be handy, giggidy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Shur theres plenty of women waiting for me in NZ anyway, might be staying at a pub too so that will be handy, giggidy :D[/

Have you been practicing the haka , apparently it's a form of courting

home now, time for wine, was the end of year mass for eldest lad, he finished primary, mass went well til my lad asked the prick that was bullying him to get into a photo and the bollox just walked away:mad::mad: ignorant or what.... anyways time to move on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Secondary school will make that situation easier Whelan. The bully will be a smaller fish in a bigger pond and your lad will have less and less to do with him as there will be a lot more of a divide with different class groupings etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Was bullied a fair bit in secondary school myself, and to be honest the solution came from within myself I learned how to give as good as I got and turn from the butt of a joke to turning the whole thing around on the bullys and making a fool out of them.

Easier said than done but once your fella realises that its the bullys that have the problem and not him they cant touch him.

he has come on in leaps and bounds since earlier in the year thinks your man it a total tool, all he was doing was saying to get into a photo with him and yer man was able to make him feel like ****e in 1 second:( they wont be at the same school next year and the other lad has to go to the next parish to have friends, speaks for itself really

they wont be at the same school next year

you'll have to remind your boy of this in a year or two; he'll have forgotten the other lads name in half the time - even if it seems a big thing now.

ah have had nearly 8 years of crap from this lad , til i blew a fuse:p, was a long time coming, my lad has had counselling and is much stronger for it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Off to Edinburgh now for the weekend, don't wreck the place while I'm gone :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Off to Edinburgh now for the weekend, don't wreck the place while I'm gone :D

Tis only mid week yet