Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Bit of timetravelling into the future there muckit, nov 2013 :P, hope you got the lotto numbers for that night also?

Point taken about heavy land, thankfully 90% of ours is good, this photo below was what a "shower" did last Jan. The biggest problem with the weather last few years is the intensity of the showers, drainage just cannot cope. All that has been dry as a bone last 2/3months, still think I'll either dig an open drain through the middle of it, or at least put in a 8inch pipe to replace the clay drain through it now.
    Zj36Hfc.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    FIXED :D
    02qt.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

muckit them is nice elephants you are breeding, how do they cross with the Limo:D

have a heifer calf with a enlarged navel, calf is fine dancing around field, eating suckling, thriving, just navel is larger than usual but other than that no signs of infection or discolouring, has anyone had anything similar and did ye threat

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,910 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Timmay if that was mine I'd mound it and put trees on it.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Muckit wrote: »
    This is my farm on 24 November 2012

Right good land isn't it? I had majority of cattle housed here til 1 June.

I made the first of my bales silage on the 29 May and made another batch of bales and a small pit on June 8. I now have 40bales of silage and 9 acres of pit.... all off 40 acres of ground, 15ish of which floods, the rest is very wet.

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But sure some lads love complaining....

That's a bit harsh on the guys I'm talking about. Guys who put stock in last August. Ate all left over fodder from previous year. Ate a good portion of new season fodder, well before winter proper came in.
    Then had to ride out worst spring in memory. Buying feed all through.
    Silage ground grazed several times this year because of no other choice.

I'm just saying, these guys simply couldn't make silage when fine weather came. Didn't have it. Won't have it for several more weeks.

No lemons in the lemon grove there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I'm saying I couldn't graze my silage ground this spring because ground so soft. I didn't go off crying about it.

That's a bit harsh on the guys I'm talking about. Guys who put stock in last August. Ate all left over fodder from previous year. Ate a good portion of new season fodder, well before winter proper came in.
    Then had to ride out worst spring in memory. Buying feed all through.
    Silage ground grazed several times this year because of no other choice.

I'm just saying, these guys simply couldn't make silage when fine weather came. Didn't have it. Won't have it for several more weeks.

No lemons in the lemon grove there.

Was I living in a different country??? I went through the exact same winter. I had cattle in til 1June. SO off you go cry into your hanky, I don't want to know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Muckit wrote: »
    Was I living in a different country??? I went through the exact same winter. I had cattle in til 1June. SO off you go cry into your hanky, I don't want to know
    time of the month:eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

we where saying this this morning you use what you have the best you can, we have very heavy land, cows in at night well into may, we got our first cut done, have 20 acres ready for bales, had no grass at all here in april, sure i felt like crap having to deal with those conditions but you have to plod on and work with it

anyone else driven mental with crows.... have a few small bags of calf crunch in shed , have them covered with a blanket and a plastic cover, the ****ers are eating through the blanket, had to move the bags into a closed shed, hate crows

leg wax wrote: »
    time of the month:eek::eek:
    :P:P

Ha ha! Time for lunch I think... cranky f**k when I'm hungry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

whelan1 wrote: »
    anyone else driven mental with crows.... have a few small bags of calf crunch in shed , have them covered with a blanket and a plastic cover, the ****ers are eating through the blanket, had to move the bags into a closed shed, hate crows

I store my bags in a coal bunker keeps all pests out. Prob not much use if your buying a good bit at a time I suppose.

have ya ever heard of a "scareCROW" :D

hugo29 wrote: »
    have ya ever heard of a "scareCROW" :D
    i have 3 of them but they are at school today

hang a picture of Luis Suarez Teeth on the bags, if that dont work nothing will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

blue5000 wrote: »
    Timmay if that was mine I'd mound it and put trees on it.

Ha the cheek of such a suggestion :P But nay, farm is abit of a bowl, and everything drains into that lowest spot in the middle of the block, where it runs off to a local river on the edge of our land, just need to fix the drains and get a subsoiler and I should be able to make it all work alot better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Timmaay wrote: »
    Sorry, yes the 3ton/ha figure was for the 1st 6months. I went and found a grass excel file on the teagasc website here: http://www.agresearch.teagasc.ie/moorepark/ (bottom right hand side), it tells me that with my cow numbers, SR, milk supply and concentrate use (which I've worked out is about 700-750kg/cow/yr), anyways that program says I need on average 7t/ha to sustain that number of cows with that feed. I know that if we carry on as per last yr, we will be able to sustain what we have definitely, although its always interesting to be able to actually go put a figure on the likes of the tons/ha of myown farm, knowing that the top lads do 13t is pointless unless I know how to compare it to myown.

And just on yourown example, I have a very low overall farm SR of 1.8, the rented farm never gets pushed that much, but I did use it this year as part of the milking platform to allow me to fill the grass deficit during April. Moving forward it does all give me a nice amount of room to try push on the amount of grass grown on the farm, through reseeding/drainage/utilization etc.

Anyways, going back to what I was more trying to get at, has anyone else worked out what grass they have grown on average up to now, and roughly what figure is it down on normal years etc, given the late start to the spring?

Multiply your peak by 225 will give you very close to annual yield

Smoke coming from mower this am, never a good sign!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

Quick question, if I sprayed some ragwort now with mcpa, how long should I wait before I could let young calves in?! There doesn't seem to be as much in this particular field as other years but want to get at it before it flowers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

delaval wrote: »
    Smoke coming from mower this am, never a good sign!!!!!

its what happens when you use it to cut lawn grass:) and the bed heats, are you guys able to travel fields this afternoon :eek:

royaler83 wrote: »
    Quick question, if I sprayed some ragwort now with mcpa, how long should I wait before I could let young calves in?! There doesn't seem to be as much in this particular field as other years but want to get at it before it flowers

rule of thumb is you do not let any cattle in til the ragworth is fully dead . can take up to 3 weeks. Ragworth is palatable when dying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭dzer2

Never spray ragworth always pull it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

dzer2 wrote: »
    Never spray ragworth always pull it

I spot sprayed a field earlier over two of the lovely sunny evenings..
    Killed off a ton of them as they were just at the small rosette stage.. I do notice loads more but they are too big now to spray..

Straight pulling isnt an option with my bad back, considering buying one of those ragforks, or more likely cobbling together my own version :o

feckin hate it

its what happens when you use it to cut lawn grass:) and the bed heats, are you guys able to travel fields this afternoon :eek:
    Bearing gone tankfully that's all as mower only 3 yrs old.
    Got the contractor in no bother travelling ground here. We will bale in am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

You should always mow when its spilling rain keeps the bed cool ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,976 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The contractor I got to do a few acres said 2 weeks. I'm giving it 20 days to be sure to be sure.

Lovely morning here really glad we mowed paddocks yesterday. Giving week good till Friday??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

delaval wrote: »
    Lovely morning here really glad we mowed paddocks yesterday. Giving week good till Friday??

Fellas need to take the chance at grass now, no point leaving it and not being able to go at it for 10 days or more due to bad weather

hope to mow 20 acres today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

hope to mow 20 acres today

Same here - block of 10 acres. Asked the contractor to mow as late as possible n the morning (not available pm).