Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Just had the two babies christened proudest day of my life. Everyone's left and now just me am a bottle of Jamieson. Got my dad a bottle of whiskey for our wedding and he's kept it till today. Me and him had a right charge ar it. For an oul fella he now realises what he missed out on spending time with his children and I miss it too. It won't happen this generation but he probably said that too. Warning to all farmers; work life balance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Just had the two babies christened proudest day of my life. Everyone's left and now just me am a bottle of Jamieson. Got my dad a bottle of whiskey for our wedding and he's kept it till today. Me and him had a right charge ar it. For an oul fella he now realises what he missed out on spending time with his children and I miss it too. It won't happen this generation but he probably said that too. Warning to all farmers; work life balance!

Be careful expressing sentiments like that around here AG. I was told I sounded like somones wife for saying similar a couple of months ago. I've been getting it well wrong for the past month but we're away for a holiday next week so something had to give, they'll be sick of the sight of me Fri week so I reckoned they could do with less of me for the past few weeks. The two oldest really aren't gonna want to see me in a few mins when I'm calling them for work though, there's the work life balance out the window completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

happy fathers day to all the daddys, have a great day

naughto wrote: »
    you dident want any compendation i would have asked for free prescribtions for the rest of the family for a yr or two if they ever needed them.
    if they said no,it would be my solicator that would be talking to them next.

you let them off far to easy
    i rang the chemist after i gave her the first dose as i knew it didnt look right, they insisted it was right, i brought it in to them and she said that it wasnt right, meanwhile the child was in the car with my husband, when i went out she was having a fit, no one in the chemist knew what to do with her so we raced in to the hospital, she was kept in for 3 days, this was christmas week:mad: my friend was working in the chemist at the time and she left her job as she was fed up of the mistakes that where being made and said what happened to my child was the final straw.... They had been getting away with no pharmacist on duty on a saturday for months, its illegal for a chemist to open with out a pharmacist on duty. Anyways i still go to that chemist , it was awkward for the first few times after but i just still say, is this correct every time i pick up a script

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭dzer2

Bizzum wrote: »
    The penalty should have been buried. It was a harmless attempt. I feel for the chap that took it, hope his next one is a good one.

Could see all the way from Kilkenny that he was going to miss it. Never let a leftie take a peno. My young lad of 12 would have at least made the keeper move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

whelan1 wrote: »

Relief milker booked for this evening heading off with herself and two smallies for the day. Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

[/B]
    Be careful expressing sentiments like that around here AG. I was told I sounded like somones wife for saying similar a couple of months ago. I've been getting it well wrong for the past month but we're away for a holiday next week so something had to give, they'll be sick of the sight of me Fri week so I reckoned they could do with less of me for the past few weeks. The two oldest really aren't gonna want to see me in a few mins when I'm calling them for work though, there's the work life balance out the window completely.
    Oh the memories of the ould lad outside the bedroom window shouting up at me " are you going to get up at all today " at quarter to six .
    Then fifteen minutes later if I wasnt up he would have to come as far as the bottom of the stairs to shout up a gentle reminder :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Always happens to the weaker team:(

At least ye did not get knocked out by "LONDON" :mad:

Cheers had Father's Day dinner last night as OH is working today, got my first Father's Day mug,:D been a while coming, nice homemade chocolate cake and hand made card, it's the small things really,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

delaval wrote: »
    I have them on tractor. I can't scan but Farmhand would have them I got new book with new spreader.
    Let me know what setting you are looking for and I can look up for you
    Sound, just the vane settings for 18 meters The fert of choice at the moment is,
    cAN
    Sulpha can
    18-6-12
    and urea

I got a book with the spreader, but no Irish ( gouldings) ferts on it

PS. The disks are OM 18-24's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

maxxuumman wrote: »
    Sound, just the vane settings for 18 meters The fert of choice at the moment is,
    cAN
    Sulpha can
    18-6-12
    and urea

for the urea its 24/48 and 41 for bag and a 1/4 @24m @ 16kmh
    use the online database http://www.amazone.net/78.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

hugo29 wrote: »
    Cheers had Father's Day dinner last night as OH is working today, got my first Father's Day mug,:D been a while coming, nice homemade chocolate cake and hand made card, it's the small things really,

Wicklow and back from West Cork yesterday bad tempered daughter, half -f***d truck, and pony..

didn't get in until after midnight, on fumes of diesel seriously thinking we'd be walking the last of it..

but once ponies were done and cattle fed the 1am "thanks & happy fathers day" text from the bedroom down the corridor made it all worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Anyone know where to get the vane settings for Amazone ZAM. Have tried everywhere but can only get info for non Irish ferts.

http://ddb.amazone.de/ddbweb/pages/main.jsf#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

just do it wrote: »
    Keep on rockin muckit :D Was nearly going, we could have hooked up.

There's an article in the journal for you by the way, buttercups gone mad ;)

Well f**k me was queuing up at the heineken tent yesterday when I seen what I presume were two foreigners in the Q along side bending down taking macro photos of a bunch of buttercups!!!!!! Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder I suppose....

RE concert best gig EVER. It was like a time machine, I was 14-15 again :cool: If I'm half as fit as Tico at his age I'I be happy, 3 hours solid (no break) of banging the sh*t out of that drum kit... savage, savage savage. Phil X a great replacement for Sambora, and main man Jon still has the voice.

Have to say Bressie (even though I think he's a d**k) was also very good, as were ham sandwich and the Coronas.

If ye weren't there ye missed the gig of the summer!! I'm not a bit biased) :D:D

muckit getting warmed up for Bon Jovi

:D:D Very funny Bob, the likeness is uncanny. I'd say that's more your theme tune though..... 'up all night (in my speedos) to get lucky'

Muckit wrote: »
    Well f**k me was queuing up at the heineken tent yesterday when I seen what I presume were two foreigners in the Q along side bending down taking macro photos of a bunch of buttercups!!!!!! Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder I suppose....

RE concert best gig EVER. It was like a time machine, I was 14-15 again :cool: If I'm half as fit as Tico at his age I'I be happy, 3 hours solid (no break) of banging the sh*t out of that drum kit... savage, savage savage. Phil X a great replacement for Sambora, and main man Jon still has the voice.

Have to say Bressie (even though I think he's a d**k) was also very good, as were ham sandwich and the Coronas.

If ye weren't there ye missed the gig of the summer!! I'm not a bit biased) :D:D

ham sandwich are good and I dont mind listening to the coronas aswell, played on same rugby team as bressie and Jon Bon is a legend still but I wouldnt have went to Slane for that gig, was lashing here and reports from there at 7 were saying it was sun shining.

:D:D Very funny Bob, the likeness is uncanny. I'd say that's more your theme tune though..... 'up all night (in my speedos) to get lucky'

got lucky to "get lucky":D:D

was lashing here and reports from there at 7 were saying it was sun shining.

Twas mainly sunny, baking at half3 just as going in the gates. We did get two small showers though during the day. Slane is a class venue Bob do you not think?

good venue, last time I was there was rolling stones :cool: and had to walk back to a friends house 3 miles away. unwanted excerise during crucial drinking time. Was it not rumored that the stones were playing this summer?? Probably head along to Longitude festival for a couple of days next month in Dublin some goodish bands playing. It would be way too young for you Muckit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

lads at what age can ye sell calves before having to be tested, is it 6 weeks??

kevthegaff wrote: »
    lads at what age can ye sell calves before having to be tested, is it 6 weeks??
    anything over and including 42 days has to be tb tested and must be bvd tested too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

thanks. jes yed think theyd make it 3 months instead, bloody hassle!

How many feet of slurry do you need in the tank to get decent agitation? 4 bay with agitation points either end.

I got contractor to put out half full tanks recently, ~3.5'-4' in bottom of them - no probs. Don't let that put you off getting them out, you'I have feck all storage for next winter if you don't and best get it out now than trying to travel land late jan/feb '14. Easy add water if needs be and it will soak in quickly this type of weather. A lot of contractors just twiddling their thumbs and be too glad of the bit of work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

I got contractor to put out half full tanks recently, ~3.5'-4' in bottom of them - no probs. Don't let that put you off getting them out, you'I have feck all storage for next winter if you don't and best get it out now than trying to travel land late jan/feb '14. Easy add water if needs be and it will soak in quickly this type of weather. A lot of contractors just twiddling their thumbs and be too glad of the bit of work
    'twas the contractor that reckoned there wasn't enough in there to get a good agitation!

Ahhh...:rolleyes: sure when does he expect you to get it out?! Please God we'I have a decent enough summer to leave them out so the tanks are not going to get any higher til they go back into the shed in the back end.

You should ring another contractor and see what they're answer is!!

Some contractors would try run your farm for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

cAN
    Sulpha can
    18-6-12
    and urea

Can 15/46
    Super net I don't have but same as above IMO
    18/6/12 15/46
    Urea gran 19/45
    Urea prilled 13/45

That's with 18/discs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Just lit the stove. ..... de ja vu of ladt summer

:eek: stove, jayus lads you must be getting it bad down south,

Hope it stays down that way, we usually get it but grand so far, lot lads putting slurry out today, would they not be better waiting till back end at this stage

seriously:eek: lovely evening here

Kids runnin around lawn here in shorts and t shirt, not boiling but def not stove weather,