Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Declared war on the slugs in our veg patch today. Dug a trench round the patch then put in old guttering and put salt water in it, it'll leak out but I'll just put more salt in. Then ringed that with slug pellets. Any slug that gets through that deserves to eat!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Declared war on the slugs in our veg patch today. Dug a trench round the patch then put in old guttering and put salt water in it, it'll leak out but I'll just put more salt in. Then ringed that with slug pellets. Any slug that gets through that deserves to eat!:D

Get yourself a pack of Nematodes..
    Natural control and its extremely effective..

http://www.mrmiddleton.com/nemaslug-standard-pack/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I was away on hols for a week, great to get all the chat here. I missed not being able to go online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

one of the kids came to me before milking that she was dying and to get her to the hospital asap:eek::eek::eek: she was playing with a glowstick and had swallowed the stuff inside it, now she is 9 and should have more sense..... had to make her vomit... scary stuff ... she was saying her legs where gone weak and i was crapping myself , shes grand now but hate stuff like that, she had bought them today in dealz think they shouldnt be on sale at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan1 wrote: »
    one of the kids came to me before milking that she was dying and to get her to the hospital asap:eek::eek::eek: she was playing with a glowstick and had swallowed the stuff inside it, now she is 9 and should have more sense..... had to make her vomit... scary stuff ... she was saying her legs where gone weak and i was crapping myself , shes grand now but hate stuff like that, she had bought them today in dealz think they shouldnt be on sale at all

Used to cover myself in that stuff in nightclubs. Prob looked like a rainbow exploded on me under UV lights:P Possibly ingested some of it too but I'd say I blamed the shots more than UV glowstick fluid. Good to hear she's ok now, I'd have a complete panic attack if that happened to any kid I was looking after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

How many feet of slurry do you need in the tank to get decent agitation? 4 bay with agitation points either end.

had to send her to my mams house, so she could watch her, a few years ago she was given the wrong meds by chemist and ended up in convulsions, deffo scariest moment of my life

Now jeez that is scary. And all it was was a human error, any of us could have done it!

Rang eircom about our broadband speed during the week. As we're at the furthest point from the exchange we are lucky to have it all! We have a 1MB connection and normally we get about 800-850kB. It's fine but limited e.g. stuff like netflix is the stuff of dreams! As were at the end of the exchange a 3MB or higher connection would make no difference.

Anyway the fella said they've a new modem and he sent out one. Has no more or less ports for sticking in wires etc on the back and I've ran a speed test showing it's giving the exact same performance as the old one. What's the point?!

turned out there was no pharmacist on duty and techician made up meds wrong worst day of my life, thought she was dead...... anyways we are all here now to tell the tale.... never ever forget it as long as i live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 IPFree

turned out there was no pharmacist on duty and techician made up meds wrong worst day of my life, thought she was dead...... anyways we are all here now to tell the tale.... never ever forget it as long as i live

“A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.”
    ― Washington Irving

Whelan, you rock. Mothers are truly an amazing phenomenon. Hope little lass is back to divilment in no time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

just do it wrote: »
    Rang eircom about our broadband speed during the week. As we're at the furthest point from the exchange we are lucky to have it all! We have a 1MB connection and normally we get about 800-850kB. It's fine but limited e.g. stuff like netflix is the stuff of dreams! As were at the end of the exchange a 3MB or higher connection would make no difference.

Anyway the fella said they've a new modem and he sent out one. Has no more or less ports for sticking in wires etc on the back and I've ran a speed test showing it's giving the exact same performance as the old one. What's the point?!

I'm in exactly same boat. Funny thing is I tried Netflix on it, and it works very good.
    Typically a YouTube video, will stall and fart like a MF165 driving a Fusion baler.

Netflix rolls on no problem.

I'm told by a techie, that the format used by Netflix, is much less demanding on band width than YouTube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

just do it wrote: »

Does Lightnet service your area, check them out if they do, based in Loughrea.

IPFree wrote: »
    “A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.”
    ― Washington Irving

Whelan, you rock. Mothers are truly an amazing phenomenon. Hope little lass is back to divilment in no time!
    reported the chemist to relevant authorities, technician was sacked , pharmacy had to move premises and i said i didnt want any compensation just didnt want any one else to go through the same as us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Does Lightnet service your area, check them out if they do, based in Loughrea.

Only thing servicing west Clare, is the AI man -;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Kovu Murr wrote: »

Cheap lidl beer in a container, mate swears by it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

reported the chemist to relevant authorities, technician was sacked , pharmacy had to move premises and i said i didnt want any compensation just didnt want any one else to go through the same as us

when my eldest lady was about 7 a gp prescribed an adult dosage of some drug ( I forget what ailment )

Luckily the chemist knew our family fairly well and queried it, she could have been brain damaged

Glad the little lass is ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I'm in exactly same boat. Funny thing is I tried Netflix on it, and it works very good.
    Typically a YouTube video, will stall and fart like a MF165 driving a Fusion baler.

Netflix rolls on no problem.

I'm told by a techie, that the format used by Netflix, is much less demanding on band width than YouTube.

Laughed at the comparison with the 165.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Glad little lass is ok whelan1, being a parent is the most enjoyable and yet worry some experience out there,

Was at my eldest lads pre school day out today, to open farm, woman there with 3 young kids who's husband died suddenly 2 months ago, here was me going around thinking of all the jobs I could be at home doing, looking at her made me realise that you enjoy every minute you have with them and fcuk the jobs, went to playground and spent two hours milling around with him,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭dzer2

hugo29 wrote: »
    Glad little lass is ok whelan1, being a parent is the most enjoyable and yet worry some experience out there,

Was at my eldest lads pre school day out today, to open farm, woman there with 3 young kids who's husband died suddenly 2 months ago, here was me going around thinking of all the jobs I could be at home doing, looking at her made me realise that you enjoy every minute you have with them and fcuk the jobs, went to playground and spent two hours milling around with him,

Same here glad the little one is feeling better.

Have 5 here and have to mind the smallest 3 days a week as the OH is gone back to work. I get nothing done for those 3 days but its some craic. Teaching her words, walking the fields looking at the animals, and light tractor work. I get some looks when I take her into the shops and the coop. Between the little one and the eldest lads playing matches the week is as short as feck. have to find some one to mind her for a few days next week while I make a bit of silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

night off

beer.gif

Only thing servicing west Clare, is the AI man -;)

Lol have you asked after his upload and download speeds?

night off

beer.gif

Already finished what was in the fridge *hic* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Already finished what was in the fridge *hic* :D

just put the supper down:) and have six bottles of miller *horsepiss* before going to the bombay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭naughto

you dident want any compendation i would have asked for free prescribtions for the rest of the family for a yr or two if they ever needed them.
    if they said no,it would be my solicator that would be talking to them next.

you let them off far to easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭naughto

some goal in fairness

hon the red and green tomorrow
    a day on the beer after awaites

just put the supper down:) and have six bottles of miller *horsepiss* before going to the bombay

Try the homebrew forum on here Bob, kiss the horsepiss goodbye :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1353

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭adne

naughto wrote: »

some goal in fairness

Thats the good week of weather that caused ball to hop like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,988 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

naughto wrote: »

some goal in fairness

Always happens to the weaker team:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Always happens to the weaker team:(

The penalty should have been buried. It was a harmless attempt. I feel for the chap that took it, hope his next one is a good one.